Victoria Double Decker Bus Tour Excursion Reviews

Victoria Double Decker Bus Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
See Victoria in comfort with a classic double decker bus tour.
Member Image A.P.
1 review
Aug 2016
This was a nice way to see a lot of sites. Where we obtained our tickets (we pre-purchased through Groupon) was a busy stop and had a hard time finding seats on the bus. Also, the schedule seems to get behind as the day went on, so the pick-up times were always off by at least 10-15mins. However, one of the drivers said he had an extra 5mins and did stop at a picture point stop to let us get off for a quick pic and get back on (as it was not really a place you would want to stay for 30mins for the next bus to come).
Read A.P.'s full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Victoria Big Bus Hop On Hop Off Tour
Member Image Dmrutkowski1@gmail.com
1 review
May 2016
Overpriced. Just quick orientation to the city. Probably horse drawn carriage would have neen better.
Read Dmrutkowski1@gmail.com's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image vanessa0604
1 review
May 2016
I've never been on a Double Decker bus but it was really cool and the driver was really nice. It was a great way to see the city without having to walk around everywhere.
Read vanessa0604's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image marlowe
5 reviews
Apr 2016
We thought the tour was going to be in an open air double decker bus. Instead it was a closed bus with a tour mostly of houses and real estate prices.
Read marlowe's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image mmooneys
1 review
Aug 2015
If you take the hop on/off bus, be sure and go the full circle to decide where to visit. Don't miss Fishermans Wharf. It as a quaint floating village with a mix of residential/commercial establishment.
Read mmooneys's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image sdfgsdfg
1 review
Aug 2015
The tour was good, and we enjoyed the old buildings
Read sdfgsdfg's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image lori1969
1 review
Jul 2015
Very poor---DO NOT BOTHER! -Busses run only every 30-40 minutes, recorded narration very annoying. Pick something else.
Read lori1969's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Gray line
Member Image TX-Bruce
1 review
Jun 2015
Great views and narration. Given the opportunity to leave the tour near the end to stay and see Empress Hotel so we did. Caught a cab back to the ship later for 12 dollars.
Read TX-Bruce's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image takasat
1 review
Jun 2015
The city is beautiful but the bus driver was absolutely crazy! We thought we'd be in accident many times!
Read takasat's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: n/a
Member Image lag9122
4 reviews
Jun 2015
The bus was really great you could get on and off as you wanted .
Read lag9122's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image GABirder
1 review
Jun 2015
No A/C so it was warm, but the driver was very informative and we saw a lot. Not enough time to do more than one excursion so pick the one you really want to do.
Read GABirder's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image HouseRulz
3 reviews
May 2015
We enjoyed the tour but because we were arriving so late we had to Hop on without hopping off. Still a nice tour that was narrated via recording (much preferred to those tours where the driver is talking/driving instead of just driving). Victoria is an absolutely beautiful city. Next time I'd like to go for a weekend.
Read HouseRulz's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image cessna98f
3 reviews
Apr 2015
Yes, our bus tour was this double deck bus. It is by Gray Line, who usually does a credible job. This taped deal is not what it could be,, but there are so many guides that this takes away from getting a real stinker.
Read cessna98f's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image joromay
2 reviews
Not Rated
Jul 2014

We booked the Victoria Hop-On, Hop-Off Bus tour so we could take our time seeing the city. Victoria is absolutely gorgeous! Clean, pristine, and very welcoming! Our first stop was at Beacon Hill Park where they gardens are beautiful, the ducks and peacocks plentiful, but the highlight was the running of the goats from the petting zoo! At 10:10 every morning, they "run" the goats from their pens to the petting zoo area. Too much fun and too adorable! We lucked into it, but if your'e around, don't miss it! Next stop was Craigdorroch Castle, built by a coal baron for his family, but he died before it was finished. Absolutely amazing what money can build! We then stopped by the marina and had a wonderful lunch at Red Fish, Blue Fish. It's just a takeout place with a long line, but well worth the wait for the fish and chips! After that we walked around a bit and shopped a little at Roger's Chocolates (amazing) and bought our requisite magnet and Christmas ornament. After a fast-moving 5.5 hours, I wish we had more time to spend in this lovely city!

Read joromay's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image dosi33
1 review
May 2014

My biggest complaint about Victoria is that we weren't there long enough! A beautiful city that I wish we had more time in!

Read dosi33's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Crentist
1 review
Not Rated
Aug 2013

Unfortunately we had little time in Victoria so we took a bus tour of the town and surrounding area. And the tour didn't begin till 8:00 pm so it became too dark to see many of the sites. But the tour was enough to whet our appetite and make us want to return. Victoria seems like a charming and interfering city.

Read Crentist's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image merrie1108
4 reviews
Aug 2013

Rained!! Apparently unusual for Victoria. Again, fog. Defrosters did not work, could barely see out of the window & my window leaked so I was soaked by the end of the tour.

Read merrie1108's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Tancyn
1 review
May 2013
This was the only cruise excursion we took, and it was very overpriced. We did it because we'd never been to Victoria and wanted a quick overview of the city, which we got from a friendly driver/tourguide, before exploring on our own. It had been raining earlier, so the people who had to sit outside in the back of the upstairs part of the bus were stuck with soaking-wet seats. Maybe in future the drivers could at least towel off seats? The inside part of the upstairs was immediately filled which left us sitting sideways downstairs -- not a great way to sightsee, and very conducive to locked necks. The lady next to us had doused herself in Giorgio perfume that morning; we got off as soon as possible, by which time I had a splitting headache, but thankfully a little fresh air cured that. Loved Victoria, even though it rained on and off all day. Had a great pub lunch at the Irish Times. Walked to the Emily Carr House. Took a million photos. This would be a wonderful place to retire!
Read Tancyn's full Sapphire Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image cabarr
2 reviews
Jun 2012
Quick way to see Victoria...A bit pricey for what it was...
Read cabarr's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?