Victoria Craigdarroch Castle Excursion Reviews

Victoria Craigdarroch Castle cruise excursion
Overall Rating
This beautiful Victoria-era mansion makes for a lovely visit.
Member Image yorkshireyank
1 review
Sep 2016
I guess a highlight of Vancouver Island but if you have been to the UK, you have seen plenty of castles with similar decor and more grandeur. Very lovely home and nicely curated.
Read yorkshireyank's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Looking4somethingspecial
1 review
Aug 2016
I love historic homes so I enjoyed this tour very much. Unfortunately, the ship didn't dock till 7pm so by the time we got on the bus it was dark. The driver took us all around the area, but it would have been nice to see it all in the daylight. The castle was great but we couldn't spend much time there because we had to back on the ship, so I took pictures of every room and scrutinized them later. Bad timing for an excursion.
Read Looking4somethingspecial's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Fort Apache
1 review
Aug 2016
For us, going to the Castle for one hour was a complete waste of time on a 2 1/2 hour tour. The bus driver was very informative but the tour of the city via bus was not at all good. The bus driver saved the tour.
Read Fort Apache's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image LindaGraham15
1 review
Jul 2016
Very interesting to learn the history of the castle. Interior was very ornate.
Read LindaGraham15's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image judithrose
1 review
Jul 2016
It was interesting to see how people lived and to learn a little of the history of the 25,000 square foot "home".
Read judithrose's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Lrtalk
1 review
Jun 2016
We did this one on our own. We walked to Fisherman's Wharf for a fish and chips lunch and to feed the seals. Then we took the water ferry to town and walked to the castle. We used the city buses to bring us back to town. The castle is extremely interesting, mainly from learning about the family members who lived there.
Read Lrtalk's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Posaune
3 reviews
Aug 2015
I would give it five stars, but with the late arrival it was really dark at the castle and we missed seeing the stained glass that is a real feature of the building.
Read Posaune's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image lauriedl
1 review
Jun 2015
Nice house - we enjoyed the walk there from the ship more than anything.
Read lauriedl's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: self
Member Image lag9122
4 reviews
Jun 2015
The castle was really nice . I loved the stained glass windows .
Read lag9122's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image vacaxnsetc
1 review
May 2014

Victoria was a quaint town with a lot to see and do. If you're a history buff a tour of Craigdarroch Castle is worthwhile. The grounds are lovely and the castle well maintained providing a window to the past.

Read vacaxnsetc's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image cathycaz
1 review
Jul 2013

Our final port was a brief, 4.5 hour, stop in Victoria, Canada. Not having obtained much information on Victoria in advance, we chose to book the Craigdarroch Castle and City Highlights tour through the ship. Victoria is an absolutely gorgeous town and I would have loved to have had at least a full day there. Our tour guide was Chris, and you could tell he truly enjoyed sharing his city with us. The castle, built in 1890, is a magnificent 25,572 square feet, with 4 floors and 17 fireplaces. Youre completely on your own to walk through all 4 floors of exquisite stained glass, intricate woodwork and lavish Victorian-era furnishings. Chris then drove us through the city, pointing out highlights and stopping to allow photographs. When the tour was over there was not enough time to go into town on our own (it was also nearly 11:00pm, so nothing much would have been open anyhow).

Read cathycaz's full Carnival Miracle cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Chiguy1957
1 review
May 2013

For those who love old houses with great architecture and colorful histories, the castle tour is a must. Note that there is a lot of walking and climbing of a steep street, so one should be reasonably fit. The city part of the tour pointed out the places of interest, but we didn't have a whole lot of time to explore since we were in port for only a few hours.

Read Chiguy1957's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Chryssie
1 review
Aug 2012

This mansion is lovely but is still in progress with the restoration. Lovely to visit though and I don't regret it at all. I do wish that they mentioned the walk up hill to get to it from the bus. They do mention the 87 steps in the house but neglect to mention the 2 blocks uphill. It's a self guided tour once you get off the bus so you have a lot of reading to do. There are people in the 'castle' that can answer questions. No gift shop at this venue.

Read Chryssie's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image dandman14
1 review
Jun 2012
A fun and short tour that satisfies (if you like castles).
Read dandman14's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?