Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Victoria Butchart Gardens Excursion Reviews

Victoria Butchart Gardens cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Over a hundred years old, the world famous Butchart Gardens in Victoria have been named a National Historic Site of Canada. These more than fifty beautifully manicured acres attract in excess of one million visitors each year.
Member Image JohnAM
1 review
Jul 2016
The gardens were beautiful and took about an hour and a half to walk through. The one thing I did not like is the 45 minute drive to and then back to the port (1.5 hrs total). It did not give a lot of time to explore the city. But the driver was very informative and gave us a tour of the city. If we were to go back would probably just rent a bike and ride through the park near the port, then go through the city exploring China Town and some of the other historic places. Beautiful architecture in the city.
Read JohnAM's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Aubiedu
1 review
Jul 2016
Simply breathtaking!
Read Aubiedu's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image balmybreeze
2 reviews
Jun 2016
The gardens are beautiful, but we were disappointed that our tour did not stay for the fireworks as had been advertised before we boarded the ship.
Read balmybreeze's full Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image travelingboomers1946
1 review
Jun 2016
Garden was great but time allotted was poor- only 1 hour before it got dark
Read travelingboomers1946's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Shortridge
1 review
Jun 2016
A beautiful garden with an amazing story of how it came about.
Read Shortridge's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Pennstatedj
7 reviews
Jun 2016
beautiful
Read Pennstatedj's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Supertwinsmom
1 review
Jun 2016
Only had an hour and half to spend here, could have spent a couple of days. Loved all the different gardens.
Read Supertwinsmom's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image belkin58
2 reviews
Jun 2016
The gardens are beautiful but we did not have enough time to see them and they were severley overcrowded.
Read belkin58's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image csmith_44
1 review
Jun 2016
The gardens were beautiful, what we could see! We got into port later than expected and then when we boarded the bus, we had to wait for stragglers or something, not sure, but it was late taking off. I didn't expect to drive through the middle of town to get to the gardens, but it seemed to take forever. Once we got to the gardens, we had about 30 minutes before it got too dark to see well. Even though some of the displays were lighted with colored spotlights, it was too hard to really see and enjoy what we were looking at. I would not do this excursion again unless it was available during the daytime hours. If there was a way to avoid the downtown drive and narration, I could do without that as well. We didn't feel like we got our money's worth at all on this excursion, mainly because of getting there too late to be able to enjoy it.
Read csmith_44's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image rocklinmom
5 reviews
Jun 2016
Absolutely gorgeous gardens and top notch experience. Lots of walking so could have used more time there. There are free umbrellas to borrow if rainy. Great gift shop, hot dog stand, and coffee bar. Even a carousel for the younger kids.
Read rocklinmom's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Chris92057
1 review
Jun 2016
Nothing outstanding; a very beautiful garden but fell short of expectations. The trip to and from the garden did give us some good background of Saanich and Victoria.
Read Chris92057's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image cinesage
3 reviews
Jun 2016
Butchart Gardens
Read cinesage's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image CEOofVacation
1 review
Jun 2016
Butchart Gardens was beautiful as always. Great driver who took us on a drive around the area and gave good narrative.
Read CEOofVacation's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image NCJJCPJC2013
3 reviews
Jun 2016
Both tours were fine. I thought the Garden were fantastic.
Read NCJJCPJC2013's full Maasdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Naplesqt
1 review
Jun 2016
We were there from 6:30-9:30. This was only enough time to see half of the gardens. They are beautiful, surely you've never seen anything like this. One tip - you can skip the Japanese gardens to save time and you won't miss much. All of the plants/trees are green and not stunning/unique. It got dark as we were leaving. Norwegian had advertised the evening edition would be lighted paths through the grounds, the pictures looked beautiful. I would not have bought tickets to this excursion had I known nothing would be lit because it's light out. This is the first week of June. Norwegian should not have advertised the lights.
Read Naplesqt's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Cruise nonna
2 reviews
Jun 2016
You must go once in your life! Amazingly beautiful.
Read Cruise nonna's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image howsit
1 review
Jun 2016
The Butchart Gardens was beautiful, but the Grey Line people were horrible. I showed them my voucher, but didn't say anything about being able to catch any of the non-Grey Line buses. Also didn't collect my voucher to give me the actual ticket needed to board the bus. Book through CVS because you end up on their buses anyway
Read howsit's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Grey Line Victoria
Member Image kbhome
1 review
May 2016
arrive to the port late and we only have two hours and there is not a lot we can see due to late arrival
Read kbhome's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image wywiseman
1 review
May 2016
An ok tour, bus driver was excellent, gave us tour of the city and kept us spell bound with his stories. The Gardens were not in full bloom in late May, early June. The Japanese Garden was nice.
Read wywiseman's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image sw100177
1 review
May 2016
Not too much excitement. I think walking along the shore way or taking the city tour might be better.
Read sw100177's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image disillusi
1 review
May 2016
Nice to have the gardens to ourselves (they're closed to the public after 5pm, but open still for cruise lines), but $79 per person is STEEP, for 1hr45min in the gardens, though it does include the 30 minute or so bus ride in and out. Either way, far too pricey. Beautiful gardens, but a lot of money for what you get, compared to, say, the Golden Gate Park Arboretum in SF.
Read disillusi's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image joevancil
3 reviews
May 2016
While the Gardens were not in full bloom, I enjoyed seeing and exploring them. We had a small meal before; wasn't impressed, but it's just that it's not my kind of thing.
Read joevancil's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image cruzlvr4545
2 reviews
May 2016
The gardens are so beautiful, I couldn't begin to describe them! Took lots & lots of pictures though. Had plenty of time for the gardens & their gift shop.
Read cruzlvr4545's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image catwrangler4
1 review
May 2016
All I can say is wow.
Read catwrangler4's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image reuterdon@yahoo.com
1 review
Apr 2016
Always beautiful. Takes a couple hours of easy walking.
Read reuterdon@yahoo.com's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.