Victoria Butchart Gardens Excursion Reviews

Victoria Butchart Gardens cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Over a hundred years old, the world famous Butchart Gardens in Victoria have been named a National Historic Site of Canada. These more than fifty beautifully manicured acres attract in excess of one million visitors each year.
Member Image JulieMorr
2 reviews
Aug 2016
Felt like I was in a post card.
Read JulieMorr's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image allrural
1 review
Aug 2016
The ship didn't get in until 7:30pm. They tried to tell us how much better it is at night. They lied but it is so wonderful, I still have to give it 4 stars.
Read allrural's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Kevin R
1 review
Jul 2016
The gardens were amazing! We could have spent a lot more time there. The tour also provided a picnic basket for each person that we ate on the grass. Very good food, and a lot of it.
Read Kevin R's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image westwindies
1 review
Jul 2016
Unique experience with lighting
Read westwindies's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image AvgMom2
16 reviews
Jul 2016
We booked an excursion to the Butchard Gardens when we got onboard Celebrity Solstice. This place was more beautiful in person– so many gorgeous colors! I like to know how they maintain the flowers in full bloom! We were glad we chose this tour rather than walking around the town on our own.
Read AvgMom2's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image markam
1 review
Jul 2016
Beautiful but stay at gardens was WAY too brief. Could have stayed at least another hour - especially since we had plenty of time before dinner and departure.
Read markam's full Regatta cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image Christine81
1 review
Jul 2016
Butchart gardens are NOT TO BE MISSED
Read Christine81's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Jayoh
2 reviews
Jul 2016
This was a fabulous city tour, then the gardens including high tea which was outstanding
Read Jayoh's full Crystal Serenity cruise review
Provider: Crystal Cruises
Member Image LovingRetirement67
1 review
Jul 2016
If you love flowers, this is your place. Otherwise, pick something else.
Read LovingRetirement67's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image trystran72
2 reviews
Jul 2016
Beautiful and well worth the ride! We got in a bit late so our daylight was limited but still worth it. It's quite a sight to see!
Read trystran72's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image MarkF9441
1 review
Jul 2016
We went here after hearing my parent's experience many years ago. The tour guide gave us a running commentary as we want and returned. The gardens were magnificent. It was more walking and hills than we anticipated, The served us a light lunch of interesting things grown lat the gardens or locally.
Read MarkF9441's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Donna Davis
1 review
Jul 2016
Lovely British couple got us to the Gardens an hour before the buses and then took us on a city tour with a couple of stops. Had us back to the ship 30 minutes early.
Read Donna Davis's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Victoria's London Taxi
Member Image JohnAM
1 review
Jul 2016
The gardens were beautiful and took about an hour and a half to walk through. The one thing I did not like is the 45 minute drive to and then back to the port (1.5 hrs total). It did not give a lot of time to explore the city. But the driver was very informative and gave us a tour of the city. If we were to go back would probably just rent a bike and ride through the park near the port, then go through the city exploring China Town and some of the other historic places. Beautiful architecture in the city.
Read JohnAM's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image karenbink@aol.com
1 review
Jul 2016
We took the 3.5 hour mini tour of town combined with 2 hours at Buchart Gardens. The time was just about right. The Gardens are on your own, but easy walking and soooo beautiful! Glad we went!
Read karenbink@aol.com's full Maasdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Aubiedu
1 review
Jul 2016
Simply breathtaking!
Read Aubiedu's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image balmybreeze
2 reviews
Jun 2016
The gardens are beautiful, but we were disappointed that our tour did not stay for the fireworks as had been advertised before we boarded the ship.
Read balmybreeze's full Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image travelingboomers1946
1 review
Jun 2016
Garden was great but time allotted was poor- only 1 hour before it got dark
Read travelingboomers1946's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Shortridge
1 review
Jun 2016
A beautiful garden with an amazing story of how it came about.
Read Shortridge's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Pennstatedj
7 reviews
Jun 2016
beautiful
Read Pennstatedj's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Supertwinsmom
1 review
Jun 2016
Only had an hour and half to spend here, could have spent a couple of days. Loved all the different gardens.
Read Supertwinsmom's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image belkin58
2 reviews
Jun 2016
The gardens are beautiful but we did not have enough time to see them and they were severley overcrowded.
Read belkin58's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image csmith_44
1 review
Jun 2016
The gardens were beautiful, what we could see! We got into port later than expected and then when we boarded the bus, we had to wait for stragglers or something, not sure, but it was late taking off. I didn't expect to drive through the middle of town to get to the gardens, but it seemed to take forever. Once we got to the gardens, we had about 30 minutes before it got too dark to see well. Even though some of the displays were lighted with colored spotlights, it was too hard to really see and enjoy what we were looking at. I would not do this excursion again unless it was available during the daytime hours. If there was a way to avoid the downtown drive and narration, I could do without that as well. We didn't feel like we got our money's worth at all on this excursion, mainly because of getting there too late to be able to enjoy it.
Read csmith_44's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image rocklinmom
5 reviews
Jun 2016
Absolutely gorgeous gardens and top notch experience. Lots of walking so could have used more time there. There are free umbrellas to borrow if rainy. Great gift shop, hot dog stand, and coffee bar. Even a carousel for the younger kids.
Read rocklinmom's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Chris92057
1 review
Jun 2016
Nothing outstanding; a very beautiful garden but fell short of expectations. The trip to and from the garden did give us some good background of Saanich and Victoria.
Read Chris92057's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image cinesage
3 reviews
Jun 2016
Butchart Gardens
Read cinesage's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?