Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Victoria Butchart Gardens Excursion Reviews

Victoria Butchart Gardens cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Over a hundred years old, the world famous Butchart Gardens in Victoria have been named a National Historic Site of Canada. These more than fifty beautifully manicured acres attract in excess of one million visitors each year.
Member Image tipitina
5 reviews
Sep 2015
Don't book this with Princess they do not allow you enough time. CVS will pick you up at the boat and take you there and provide an entry ticket all for about $68 Canadian. (55USD.) The gardens are stunning and worth every penny. The Blue Poppy Restaurant is great for dining. Nothing but praise for the Butchart Gardens.
Read tipitina's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: CVS
Member Image Crystyn
1 review
Aug 2015
You have to go for the fireworks. It was the best show I've ever seen. They only do it once a month.
Read Crystyn's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Hawaiidan
7 reviews
Aug 2015
well done tour
Read Hawaiidan's full Regatta cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image tuitionowed
1 review
Aug 2015
Amazing. Beautiful. Bob was a great driver and historian. The gardens must be seen! There was plenty of time to tour the gardens. Bob was gracious enough to let us go in downtown Victoria so we could explore on our own. Beautiful city.
Read tuitionowed's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image jean74
1 review
Aug 2015
Butchart Gardens very pretty
Read jean74's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image MikeyTexasT
1 review
Aug 2015
Loved the gardens, but the ship docks at 5pm and a one hour trip to the gardens made us rush to try to get it in before dark, would have liked to spend a little more time there, the bus driver was great.
Read MikeyTexasT's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image SusanVM
1 review
Jul 2015
We booked with cruise line because we had such a big group and limited time in port...so it worked great and enjoyed the gardens. ....ANd the butterfly gardens were especially enjoyed by the children in our group. If I was on my own, I would have done it myself as I have before taken this tour by catching it outside of the Empress Hotel....if you look around you can figure it out....can save some money there. But for our big group this worked well and was enjoyed by all. Princess did NOT spend enough time in this port however!!
Read SusanVM's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Catlover54
7 reviews
Jul 2015
A lot of time on a stuffy bus to get to and from these beautiful gardens. Consider getting your own ride there if you afford the extra cost.
Read Catlover54's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image vpowerfiles
1 review
Jul 2015
The bus driver gave a great narrative of the city while we drove, and dropped us off back at the dock. We saw the lovely Empress hotel while waiting for the bus to pick us up. The gardens where lovely, and had spectacular gift and food shops.
Read vpowerfiles's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image stl2012
1 review
Jul 2015
It was very pretty. Enjoyed the time at the butterfly house and the Butchart Gardens
Read stl2012's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image kcooke316@gmail.com
1 review
Jul 2015
The gardens are absolutely breathtaking. I have never seen (or smelled) anything like it. I loved it. Though, I was disappointed that we didn't get to see the fireworks, which we were told we would be able to do. Also, our bus diver was a bit of a drag.
Read kcooke316@gmail.com's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image bloversmish
1 review
Jul 2015
Mind-blowingly gorgeous. Go. Just go. Stop thinking about it. On the bus ride to Butchart Gardens (which takes 40 minutes), my husband was lamenting that "maybe it's because [he's] color-blind that [he doesn't] appreciate flowers." And he thought the place was completely spectacular. Even my 2 year-old loved the flowers, and all the fountains, and the paths to walk/run on. There is a cute cafe with a nice selection of food, including soft-serve ice cream cones. There is a big gift shop. We hardly saw any of the gardens (it's a HUGE place), so we would've preferred to have more time. We purchased a combination city highlights/Butchart gardens tour. I would skip the city highlights next time (although we saw some nice things on the way back).
Read bloversmish's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image battleaxel@msn.com
1 review
Jul 2015
We've been to Victoria many times and in the past have done most of the listed activities. Recommend them all, but this time we just did the Gardens and went to Nautical Nellies for lunch. Had a lovely day !
Read battleaxel@msn.com's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Happy1211
4 reviews
Jun 2015
Darwin was a great driver nd guide who loves his city and knows it insie and out. He listened to what we wanted to do and adapted on the fly during our 4.5 hours together. he met us docksidethen gave us a 90 minute overview of fisherman's wharf, city sights, the castle and the Governor's House where we met the Governor's chaffeur and were invited into his home to see his train collection. Butchart gardens is gorgeous and worth the more tha the 75 minutes we could spare to be there. By this day of the cruise we were exhausted. I would hire Darwin again - it was worth $250 not to be in a big bus but in a private SUV where the three of us were all that mattered.
Read Happy1211's full Statendam cruise review
Provider: Tours By locals
Member Image ConDunk
1 review
Jun 2015
Beautiful, unbelievable gardens. We did not have enough time here.
Read ConDunk's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image shorebirdno9
1 review
May 2015
The gardens are nice, but the afternoon we were there it was quite crowded and a hot day.
Read shorebirdno9's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image marilu0379
1 review
May 2015
The gardens were exquisite! There were so many flowers blooming and it was absolutely beautiful. There were many different types of flowers and trees to look at. The coffee shop was great too! Make sure and try the scones!
Read marilu0379's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image VetDrm
4 reviews
May 2015
The gardens were closed to the public so we avoided the crowds. It was an evening tour which was perfect. One of the best excursions I've been on. Polite bus driver and the gardens were in excellent shape. I could've spent another 2 hours just wandering around.
Read VetDrm's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image catgirl398
5 reviews
May 2015
The trip on the bus might make one "seasick" but worth the ride. The gardens are very impressive and a nice way to spend part of the day. There was enough time after our excursion to walk around town and have lunch and enjoy a local beer.
Read catgirl398's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Chef Rob
1 review
May 2015
A wonderful day, perhaps a bit tight on time allowed at the gardens and hour longer would be better
Read Chef Rob's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Forestview
1 review
May 2015
Went with Princess excursion due to limited time in port. Very good bus driver who gave us a tour of the city also. NEED MORE TIME IN VICTORIA! Would have loved to see Chinatown and due some shopping.
Read Forestview's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Debz62
1 review
May 2015
If in Victoria you don't want to miss Butchart Gardens. It was one of, if not the best excursion we took. So glad we didn't miss this one. Was hesitant due to my husband not being keen about flowers. He love it! The best way to relax on our last night of the cruise. Absolutely beautiful! We live in Salt Lake and have Red Butte Gardens....Butchart put it to shame! Loved, loved this garden.
Read Debz62's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image NC Kroozer
2 reviews
May 2015
Butchart Gardens is a must-see if you are in Victoria. It's about a 45 minute ride but the foliage and surroundings are wonderful. It was a little disappointing that the rose garden wasn't yet in bloom but the rest of the flowering plants more than made up for it.
Read NC Kroozer's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jimpilcher
1 review
May 2015
third time and it was as great as I remember plus this was before the roses bloom and still worth it. The bus driver gave us a wonderful tour of the city on the way out thru the town and thru China town on the return. Could not have been happier.
Read jimpilcher's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image cambriah
3 reviews
May 2015
Beautiful! We were fortunate to have a wonderful, sunny day and although The Gardens were crowded, we did have ample opportunity to to explore all the sections of The Garden at our own pace,
Read cambriah's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises

Sponsored links

 
Have you taken a cruise before?
Thank you!

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.