Victoria Butchart Gardens Excursion Reviews

Victoria Butchart Gardens cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Over a hundred years old, the world famous Butchart Gardens in Victoria have been named a National Historic Site of Canada. These more than fifty beautifully manicured acres attract in excess of one million visitors each year.
Member Image Savencash
1 review
May 2017
Stepped off the ship and took a taxi for $55 Canadian. Got there before the tour busses and the hordes of people. Entrance fee is only $32 Canadian. Saved a ton of cash ($200 USD) by not booking this through the ship.
Read Savencash's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Gilbert Cruisers
2 reviews
May 2017
The garden tour through NCL as more expensive and super crowded (my Aunt and Uncle went with them as they had excursion credit) We went with CVS and it was a smaller group (23 of us) a roomy bus and we got a little bit longer visit. The gardens were spectacular and I would totally go again!
Read Gilbert Cruisers's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Discover Card tours/CVS
Member Image frufc
1 review
May 2017
When we eventually got off the ship the Taxi for 4 people was very good value and very quick to the venue
Read frufc's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Took Taxi
Member Image 40 Years between cruises
1 review
May 2017
Shared a limo with another family, cost was about the same as ship excursion.
Read 40 Years between cruises's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Lori Hawaiian
1 review
May 2017
Absolutely beautiful gardens! We had a little more than 2 hours, from about 7:15p - 9:30p, at the gardens. Thankful that the restaurant and gift shop were open to accommodate our evening visit.
Read Lori Hawaiian's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image gdaym8
1 review
May 2017
Butchard Gardens is a must. Its so hard to explain how incredibly beautiful this place is......definitely well worth the trip. Bloggers said rent a car at Avis in Downtown Victoria and drive. We did this and it worked out great. We docked at 230pm. Took cab to Avis downtown Victoria for 10.00CAD (they take USD). Rented car for 30.00CAD. Was at Butchard Gardens by 330pm until 515pm. Was able to get back and turn rental car back in by 6pm and was able to have a nice sushi dinner in Victoria and back on boat by 830pm. Renting car is much cheaper than shore excursion (99.00USD per person) or even renting a taxi to Butchard Gardens which is 60.00CAD each way.
Read gdaym8's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Avis Rental
Member Image CruzinTampa
2 reviews
May 2017
Great day spent at the Butchart Gardens. Local tour operator had frequent buses going back downtown, so we could stay all day. Saw plenty of Cruise excursioners from our ship who wished they could stay longer. Victoria was the best port of the entire cruise,
Read CruzinTampa's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: CVS
Member Image coopco
3 reviews
May 2017
We took one of those pedicabs from the cruise terminal to the front of the Fairmont Empress Hotel. It was $14 American per person plus tip. It was enjoyable to go through the residential area of Victoria. It’s such a beautiful city. From there we went to Butchart Gardens, which we really enjoyed. It’s beautiful in May with lots of tulips. We bought our tickets at the tourist information building across the street from the Empress Hotel. I believe tickets cost a few dollars more if you purchase them at the booth outside the Empress where the buses pick you up. Taxi back to the ship costs $10 Canadian so it’s quite reasonable.
Read coopco's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: CVS Tours
Member Image OhBlahDah
1 review
Apr 2017
Phenomenal botanical gardens. It was TULIP TIME! Google Butchart. You have to see it to believe it. Amazing. So great. Can't say enough good things. Martin was a great tour guide -- just perfect. We had another sunny day! We got dropped at the Empress Hotel to snoop around and shop. Went stopped at Roger's Chocolates. mmmmmm. Next we walked to a lovely pub called The Churchill, had Poutine and draft beer. We caught the shuttle to the cruise terminal for $6/each and shopped on the wharf for cheapie souvenir gifts. GREAT DAY!
Read OhBlahDah's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image BailGrac2
6 reviews
Apr 2017
Very good excursion. Flowers blooming all over. Very beautiful. Had about 3 hours, which was more than enough time for viewing all over the gardens and time for lunch.
Read BailGrac2's full American Spirit cruise review
Provider: American Cruise Lines
Member Image osufans
1 review
Apr 2017
Enjoyable day. Beautiful gardens. Also had high tea. Fun experience!
Read osufans's full American Spirit cruise review
Provider: American Cruise Lines
Member Image Riley15
1 review
Sep 2016
Beautiful gardens and a great excursion!
Read Riley15's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image great49er
1 review
Sep 2016
Liked Butchart but need WAY more time. Would book independently next time.
Read great49er's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image DD10
2 reviews
Sep 2016
To enjoy the gardens you need two hours minimum. Mine included the butterfly gardens which gave only 1.5 hours in the gardens. This made the excursion feel rushed to get back to bus in time. September is late in the season so the colours were not as vibrant as mid-summer but it was still very beautiful.
Read DD10's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image LSGDRG
4 reviews
Sep 2016
Since we did not have much time in port, we took a trip to Butchart gardens through the ship. The bus driver gave commentary en route to the gardens. I was glad that we went early since it was getting crowded when we were leaving. I wish that there had been a longer visit available
Read LSGDRG's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image reneelorenzo
1 review
Sep 2016
Unbelievable gardens - something everyone should see at least once.
Read reneelorenzo's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image chintze
1 review
Sep 2016
The best, but too short!
Read chintze's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Holomoku
7 reviews
Sep 2016
2nd time to Butchart Gardens and the 1st time to the Butterfly Gardens. Both were great as was the bus tour guide. Enjoyed seeing more of Victoria than on my own the previous times there.
Read Holomoku's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image TerrikBailey
1 review
Sep 2016
Because of what time we docked and how far it is from the dock, we only had about 40 minutes of daylight to see them, which wasn't nearly enough time
Read TerrikBailey's full Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Carnemom
2 reviews
Aug 2016
This was our second visit to Butchart Gardens and we booked with the cruise line because of the short time in port. The gardens are breathtaking and we loved them as much the second time round. Our only disappointment was we only had about 1 hour and 15 minutes there. On our prior visit we spent an entire day there! I hope that Princess will consider extending the time in Victoria. There is so much to do in this port! The disembarkation in this port was nothing short of chaotic. Due to the short time in port, multiple excursions departing at the same time it seemed like EVERYONE was trying to get off at the same time. The stairways were blocked - elevators jammed etc....and there were two very long lines getting back on the ship. We were grateful for lovely weather because otherwise it would have been very uncomfortable.
Read Carnemom's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image srbrazil
2 reviews
Aug 2016
Ship arrived in victoria, bc on time but at dusk, paid $60/ea to see the gardens, even with the lighting the gardens were dark and 95% hidden from enjoyment. Princess cruise lines only stops in victoria bc to get a port of call that is non-usa, so the ships crew can be the cheaper labor cost then an american crew. We were ripped off here..
Read srbrazil's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image cdskurat@gmail.com
1 review
Aug 2016
one of my favorite parts of the trip
Read cdskurat@gmail.com's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Garmanr
1 review
Aug 2016
Way beyond expectations. Place looks like paradise. A must do trip. Takes about 80 minutes to get there from the ship so no time to tour the town afterward with the schedule our ship was on.
Read Garmanr's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image kboldt
1 review
Aug 2016
Again, very expensive. you pay for a four-hour tour of the gardens, but you actually are only there for two hours. you have enough time to see one part of the gardens, fireworks, then you're heading for the bus ride back to the ship. very disappointing and very expensive!!!!!!
Read kboldt's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image deanfromseattle
1 review
Aug 2016
SKIP IT!!! Price is not bad, but they oversell the fireworks/evening event so much that we couldn't find a place to see the fireworks.
Read deanfromseattle's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?