Victoria Butchart Gardens Excursion Reviews

Victoria Butchart Gardens cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Over a hundred years old, the world famous Butchart Gardens in Victoria have been named a National Historic Site of Canada. These more than fifty beautifully manicured acres attract in excess of one million visitors each year.
Member Image LSGDRG
4 reviews
Sep 2016
Since we did not have much time in port, we took a trip to Butchart gardens through the ship. The bus driver gave commentary en route to the gardens. I was glad that we went early since it was getting crowded when we were leaving. I wish that there had been a longer visit available
Read LSGDRG's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image reneelorenzo
1 review
Sep 2016
Unbelievable gardens - something everyone should see at least once.
Read reneelorenzo's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image TerrikBailey
1 review
Sep 2016
Because of what time we docked and how far it is from the dock, we only had about 40 minutes of daylight to see them, which wasn't nearly enough time
Read TerrikBailey's full Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Carnemom
2 reviews
Aug 2016
This was our second visit to Butchart Gardens and we booked with the cruise line because of the short time in port. The gardens are breathtaking and we loved them as much the second time round. Our only disappointment was we only had about 1 hour and 15 minutes there. On our prior visit we spent an entire day there! I hope that Princess will consider extending the time in Victoria. There is so much to do in this port! The disembarkation in this port was nothing short of chaotic. Due to the short time in port, multiple excursions departing at the same time it seemed like EVERYONE was trying to get off at the same time. The stairways were blocked - elevators jammed etc....and there were two very long lines getting back on the ship. We were grateful for lovely weather because otherwise it would have been very uncomfortable.
Read Carnemom's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image cdskurat@gmail.com
1 review
Aug 2016
one of my favorite parts of the trip
Read cdskurat@gmail.com's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Garmanr
1 review
Aug 2016
Way beyond expectations. Place looks like paradise. A must do trip. Takes about 80 minutes to get there from the ship so no time to tour the town afterward with the schedule our ship was on.
Read Garmanr's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Todolm
1 review
Aug 2016
Our excellent driver, John Roberts, gave us a splendid city tour and a lovely drive to Butchart Gardens. Easy way to get to the gardens and a nice amount of time spent there...and the price was right.
Read Todolm's full Maasdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image JulieMorr
2 reviews
Aug 2016
Felt like I was in a post card.
Read JulieMorr's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image jeanabean
1 review
Aug 2016
Absolutely beautiful !
Read jeanabean's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image allrural
1 review
Aug 2016
The ship didn't get in until 7:30pm. They tried to tell us how much better it is at night. They lied but it is so wonderful, I still have to give it 4 stars.
Read allrural's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image munozj421@comcast.net
1 review
Aug 2016
Arrived to gardens late in evening. It go dark awfully fast and we could not see or take photographs. We then went on city tour. The Empress Hotel was closed so we just drove by. We could not see the water in the harbor. Everything was so dark. Do not recommend tour.
Read munozj421@comcast.net's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Kevin R
1 review
Jul 2016
The gardens were amazing! We could have spent a lot more time there. The tour also provided a picnic basket for each person that we ate on the grass. Very good food, and a lot of it.
Read Kevin R's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image westwindies
1 review
Jul 2016
Unique experience with lighting
Read westwindies's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image AvgMom2
16 reviews
Jul 2016
We booked an excursion to the Butchard Gardens when we got onboard Celebrity Solstice. This place was more beautiful in person– so many gorgeous colors! I like to know how they maintain the flowers in full bloom! We were glad we chose this tour rather than walking around the town on our own.
Read AvgMom2's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image markam
1 review
Jul 2016
Beautiful but stay at gardens was WAY too brief. Could have stayed at least another hour - especially since we had plenty of time before dinner and departure.
Read markam's full Regatta cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image Christine81
1 review
Jul 2016
Butchart gardens are NOT TO BE MISSED
Read Christine81's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image edwardtravels
1 review
Jul 2016
Buchart Gardens is beautiful and worth a visit. I've lived in Seatlle and we've been to Victoria many times and this was my first trip to Buchart Gardens, it's a must see
Read edwardtravels's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image edwardtravels
1 review
Jul 2016
Buchart Gardens is beautiful and worth a visit. I've lived in Seatlle and we've been to Victoria many times and this was my first trip to Buchart Gardens, it's a must see
Read edwardtravels's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Jayoh
2 reviews
Jul 2016
This was a fabulous city tour, then the gardens including high tea which was outstanding
Read Jayoh's full Crystal Serenity cruise review
Provider: Crystal Cruises
Member Image LovingRetirement67
1 review
Jul 2016
If you love flowers, this is your place. Otherwise, pick something else.
Read LovingRetirement67's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image trystran72
2 reviews
Jul 2016
Beautiful and well worth the ride! We got in a bit late so our daylight was limited but still worth it. It's quite a sight to see!
Read trystran72's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image MarkF9441
1 review
Jul 2016
We went here after hearing my parent's experience many years ago. The tour guide gave us a running commentary as we want and returned. The gardens were magnificent. It was more walking and hills than we anticipated, The served us a light lunch of interesting things grown lat the gardens or locally.
Read MarkF9441's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Donna Davis
1 review
Jul 2016
Lovely British couple got us to the Gardens an hour before the buses and then took us on a city tour with a couple of stops. Had us back to the ship 30 minutes early.
Read Donna Davis's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Victoria's London Taxi
Member Image JohnAM
1 review
Jul 2016
The gardens were beautiful and took about an hour and a half to walk through. The one thing I did not like is the 45 minute drive to and then back to the port (1.5 hrs total). It did not give a lot of time to explore the city. But the driver was very informative and gave us a tour of the city. If we were to go back would probably just rent a bike and ride through the park near the port, then go through the city exploring China Town and some of the other historic places. Beautiful architecture in the city.
Read JohnAM's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image karenbink@aol.com
1 review
Jul 2016
We took the 3.5 hour mini tour of town combined with 2 hours at Buchart Gardens. The time was just about right. The Gardens are on your own, but easy walking and soooo beautiful! Glad we went!
Read karenbink@aol.com's full Maasdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?