St. Thomas Snorkeling Excursion Reviews

St. Thomas Snorkeling cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Experience marine life and coral forms on a snorkeling adventure in St. Thomas. Coral ledges and bay walls offer superb views.
Member Image Heathmarie
1 review
May 2017
Would love to go back and explore some more! The island life and people there is something I could get used to. The excursion was nice. The weather was overcast, but we still snorkeled, saw lots of fish, a sea turtle, a sting ray and enojoyed the Honeymoon Beach. The crew aboard the Virgin Breeze was the best!! You can tell they love what they do and want to share it all with you!!
Read Heathmarie's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image stacysparty
1 review
May 2017
Aboard "The CAT" Young friendly staff, fun ,approachable, informative. It rained before/after our trip(beyond control), Very helpful in the water, My b/f not a strong swimmer..but he got instruction, and did great. Saw one turtle, many colorful fish,coral, Fun ride back with snacks/drinks
Read stacysparty's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image sblech
1 review
Apr 2017
FastCat 2 Snorkeling at Buck Island with the stop at the Honeymoon Beach. Awesome time, saw quite a few turtles and the Honeymoon Beach was relaxing and quaint. The crew were great and attentive.
Read sblech's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image greninja2017
1 review
Apr 2017
We docked at St. Thomas at 10:30am, and the tour started at 11:45. It gave us some time to shop at those street vendors and stores at Crown Bay. The Sail to Christmas and Honeymoon Coves excursions was fun, the crew members were super nice, and we did see four sea turtles. The BBQ lunch was delicious. However, the excursion is 6 and half hours long and there is no time to go to the downtown area to shop before getting back to the ship. If you want an excursion and time for shopping, don't choose a whole day excursion.
Read greninja2017's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image aamato27
2 reviews
Apr 2017
Castaway girl 3 with Zach was great. The crew was fun the boat was new and clean. It was a great time.
Read aamato27's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image SarahJoa
1 review
Apr 2017
The crew on the Dancing Dolphin were amazing. You could jump off the boat or walk down steps. They had noodles if you needed them.
Read SarahJoa's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image LUVMY5
1 review
Apr 2017
This was a fantastic shore excursion. A great boat ride to get to turtle bay to snorkel. Beautiful, clear water with lots of turtles, sting ray, and fish to see. The boat was fast, but a lot of fun!! Then we stopped at a beach for a while. Rum punch was served after the snorkeling.
Read LUVMY5's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image SunshineNPalmTrees
1 review
Apr 2017
Shipwreck snorkel was average at best.
Read SunshineNPalmTrees's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image kismet456
1 review
Mar 2017
Saw Turtles and a few other tropica fish. Was hoping to see sea horses but didn;t
Read kismet456's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image GAGirlTraveler
2 reviews
Mar 2017
The reef was not much of a reef. We saw a few fish but snorkeling in the Bahamas was much better. The turtle cove part was great. We did see a few turtles up close, which was amazing.
Read GAGirlTraveler's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image eniner
1 review
Mar 2017
Efficiently run. Good chance to swim with the sear turtles.
Read eniner's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image cruiser952
1 review
Mar 2017
No question - take the Christmas Cove and Honeymoon Island tour. Swimming with sea turtles and gorgeous fish is only part of the fun. The rum punch, delicious lunch, and relaxing beach round out the day. The crew is fun and friendly but also safe and professional. I have taken many snorkel tours. This is one of the great ones!
Read cruiser952's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image LizzGo
1 review
Mar 2017
Sapphire Beach - This was a short tour which took you by open air truck over the highland to Sapphire Beach. I down-rated this because although the beach was beautiful, it wasn't great snorkeling. I don't think they should call it a snorkeling tour.. The beach is small and as we were leaving a few more tours were coming in. I'm not sure where they put all those people! The view was nice driving to and from the ship. The price was right.
Read LizzGo's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image RohanE
1 review
Mar 2017
Fantastic water clarity. Not much coral to explore.
Read RohanE's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image firefighterman
9 reviews
Mar 2017
Excursion St Thomas We booked the NCL Twice as Nice Snorkeling. We were on a caterraman, that we boarded right off the ship early. They took us to Buck Island. The ride was pretty rough as the day was windy. We have been on quite a few snorkeling trips by far this was not a good trip. I was not feeling to well from the 45 minute ride in the rough water, I was on the verge of sea sicknesses. Our first stop was to see the turtles, we did see some, the second stop I did not get off to snorkel, on the way back they gave free rum punch , sodas, and snacks. The young lady talked a lot about the sea life and protecting the environment, she talked pretty fast, my thoughts was lets get on and snorkel.
Read firefighterman's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image taylorlb
1 review
Feb 2017
We booked with Castaway shipwreck and snorkel. The crew was great and knowledgeable however, because it was a guided snorkel, the water was crowded and you kept getting kicked and bumped into. The water also wasn't clear enough to see very well. The sail back to the ship was terrific though. The only reason i don't recommend this tour is simply because it was 30 minutes in the water of mostly trying to get out of the way of others. My face was in the water about 10 of the minutes. I found it very frustrating.
Read taylorlb's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image keatingfamily2001
2 reviews
Feb 2017
We went on our own to Sapphire Beach and are glad we did. Just be ready for the rip off taxis that charge you per person to get where you want to go after they take on lots of other people. In our case, we were driving around for 25 minutes before the clown even headed over to Sapphire Beach. The beach is nice and shaded and there is enough to do for members of the group that do not want to snorkel.
Read keatingfamily2001's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Elaine2241
1 review
Feb 2017
Excellent snorkeling on the Turtle Bay Catamaran excursion. The boat had lots of room, was very comfortable. One of the guides took us to an area where most of the sea turtles were and we saw a couple on the ocean floor eating. We saw lots of colorful fish and had plenty of time to explore. On the way back they served rum punch or soft drinks. Also chips and salsa. Played music and everyone onboard had a great time. Excellent excursion. I would highly recommend.
Read Elaine2241's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image swapilot
5 reviews
Feb 2017
Did a snorkeling with Castaway Girl catamaran. Excellent crew, good snorkeling, very nice boat. We went to 2 sites to snorkel and we saw a sting ray, turtles, squid, shark, and fish. Great excursion. Plus you just walk to the end of the pier and the catamaran is right there by the ship.
Read swapilot's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Travelwaves
1 review
Jan 2017
Snorkling at 3 stops off the boat with excellent Captain. Recommend Twin Rivers but you must walk past the shopping to find them in a parking lot off to the left.
Read Travelwaves's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Sugar0802
2 reviews
Jan 2017
Snorkeled with sea turtles. Water was a bit rough and deep and very crowded from cruise ship catamarans. Enjoyed our 20 person sail boat.
Read Sugar0802's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Fury Charters
Member Image corella19
1 review
Jan 2017
The staff and boat ride were great. We got to see the turtles, unfortunately it wasn't a good day to see any fish.
Read corella19's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image RNisPhD
3 reviews
Dec 2016
Great snorkeling along a underwater "trail"
Read RNisPhD's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image CPopmusic
1 review
Dec 2016
Catamaran sail and snorkel was nice. A great alternative to going to St. John time and time again. We were there on Christmas day, and were the only ship in town, so not much else to do. We were also disappointed that Royal only ports in Crown Bay(as opposed to Havensight), so we were not walking distance to the town, and the shops at the port were minimal.
Read CPopmusic's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image drpolje
1 review
Dec 2016
My family had never been to St. John's Island, so we went snorkeling at Trunk Bay. We heard that this beach was especially beautiful, and it didn't disappoint us. The trip involved taking a ferry to St. John Island and transferring to the beach by jitney. Once at the beach we were given snorkeling equipment and some "minimal instruction." There was no real supervision. We were told that there was a heavy current, so, "be careful!" We were instructed to swim along a marked underwater trail, reading underwater plaques and noting fish and corals along the way. Although my family had a fun afternoon, prior snorkeling excursions utilized a guide who pointed out (and named) fish and coral formations. This made for a more meaningful experience and safer too!
Read drpolje's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?