Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

St. Thomas Snorkeling Excursion Reviews

St. Thomas Snorkeling cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Experience marine life and coral forms on a snorkeling adventure in St. Thomas. Coral ledges and bay walls offer superb views.
Member Image Cruise-daddy1
1 review
Not Rated
Dec 2014

We decided to take a catamaran snorkeling trip on the CASTAWAY GIRL #3 and of all the snorkeling trips that we have done through the years, THIS WAS BY FAR THE BEST. It was very organized with someone in the water directing you where to go and what to look for and of course on the way back to the ship, plenty of rum punch. I would recommend this trip and the price was very reasonable. For some reason I only found this trip on the Princess web site and not in the written brochures.

Read Cruise-daddy1's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image wsteffey
1 review
Nov 2014

St Thomas is not a nice clean island, so the ride to the starting point was not pretty, and the tour HQ was minimal (port-a-johns). The kayaks were in good shape however, and the staff very nice. A rather long paddle to a small island, a 1/3 mile hike on the island to the east shore and back, 45 minutes snorkeling, then the same paddle back made for a full half-day. It was a long swim from where we left the kayaks to the best snorkeling area and back, but good fish watching. They issued us real life vests, so those who got tired could do the sea otter thing and float on our back to rest. The wildlife reserve was pretty, but surrounded by typical St Thomas hillside mess.

Read wsteffey's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image beauty1492
7 reviews
Nov 2014

- took ship tour St Johns Champagne tour. This was the best thing we did. The crew was great. The snorkeling was great. The rum punch was great. Saw lots of fish great sail back into port. We had hope to get back in time to do some shopping (since we couldn’t in St Marrtin) and maybe go up to Paradise point for a bushwaker. Well we off loaded went to the place to pick up the ship transportation. There were already 2 groups there. Since it We was a ship tour I wasn’t too worried when our crew took off with another group. We were out in the open with no shade, no water, and no bus! Had anyone taken a cell phone we could called the ship. We waited a long time ---how long OVER AN HOUR!

Read beauty1492's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image wayburcm
2 reviews
Not Rated
Oct 2014

We took the excusion Shipwreck Sail and Snorkel aboard the Castaway Girl Catameran and had a wonderful time. The crew (Captain Mark, Jen, Joe, Mike, and Ben) could not heve been more attentive and informative. On the boat ride to our snorkeling site, they distributed all snorkleing equipment to everyone and made sure that everyone was hydrated witg water or fruit punch. They also provided information about both St. Thomas and St. Johns. Once at the snorkeling site, we broke into groups and were led around by one of th crew members. We saw several pieces of the shipwreck, red snapper, dory fish, sea eninimi, colletor urchins, and black shiny urchins. On the ride back to the ship, the crew served a snack of pretzels as well as rum punch, fruit juice, water, and sodas. They liquids were free flowing not like on some excursions where you only get 1 drink.

Read wayburcm's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image roque
1 review
Oct 2014

We took this excursion because no previous snuba experience was required and kids were allowed; it was a bad experience. The guide was always in a rush, since no experience was required we expected the guide to have some patience and this was not the case, on the first issue, no matter what, you are removed from the activity without any attempts to rejoin. For us, this was a bad experience since my two kids were removed from the activity because some water got into their goggles, so instead of making an effort to solve the issue and rejoin them into the activity, they were removed from it, probably because everything was in such a hurry so none had time to deal with anything. BTW, we all are good at water sports so few more minutes and a good guidance would have changed everything.

I suggest requesting more experience for this activity or making sure that the guides have the patience and experience to deal with novice and kids.

Read roque's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image StefCruises
1 review
Not Rated
Oct 2014

This was the HIGHLIGHT of our trip--with the exception of the fast-paced, long walk to the end of the dock in the hot heat and no shade.
We snorkeled and then went to Honeymoon Beach. The tour operators were PHENOMENAL and the beach break was fun. The water was a bit murky, but we saw lots of turtles, a few squid, and a couple of rays. Great rum punch too!!!!

Read StefCruises's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Romy40
8 reviews
Not Rated
Sep 2014

Trunk Bay at St. John is sooo beautiful. Great facilities; showers, snack bar.

Read Romy40's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image dkojic
2 reviews
Not Rated
Sep 2014

It was good. Would recommend.

Read dkojic's full Carnival Sunshine cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image mugspaw
1 review
Aug 2014

Crew of the Castaway Girl were friendly and catamaran was nice however the snorkeling was just ok.

Read mugspaw's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image NoleMini
1 review
May 2014

Private charter sail on 44' ketch- took us to St. John snorkeling, open bar (beer/rum, water, soda)

Read NoleMini's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Sail with Liberty
Member Image atlcruizr
4 reviews
May 2014

St Thomas is a beautiful port and it's easy to see why so many shops there. The downtown area with shopping can be quite crowded. Shopping includes the typical diamonds,jewelry, booze, etc. If you want local arts and crafts, this is not the place for you.
We took a snorkeling excursion booked with the cruise line. They tour met us at the pier and then walked us way down the beach to a dock to board the boat. They take you out to a small island a few miles offshore with a shipwreck under the water. Think a 1970's small freighter wreck, not 1800's pirate ship wreck. The water is very clear but the wreck is deep, not shallow. It was not snorkeling along a reef as we expected. Still pretty cool though.
On the way back they provide free snacks and drinks.

Read atlcruizr's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image lsymonskwak
1 review
Apr 2014

This was our last and final port...boo! We went snorkeling with Virgin Breeze at Turtle Cove. We only saw a few small turtles but it was a fun experience. My husband cannot swim and he even tried to snorkel. The equipment was suffice and the life jackets were great! We only went for 1 hour so my only complaint is that it be longer. They took us to Honeymoon Bay, a secluded beach that is a little piece of paradise! We only got to stay for 1 hour and that was NOT long enough. They served free drinks on the way out and in. It was a great excursion. We were able to go back to the ship for a quick shower and lunch and then shopped around the ports and found some great deals. Overall, highly recommend this port! Beautiful!!!

Read lsymonskwak's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image cschlomberg
1 review
Mar 2014

We chose "Capt. Nautica" for snorkeling. Our captain was Rick & his mate was Max. Both were great. Max was very helpful and Rick was excellent. Rick was very courteous, friendly, and helpful with the snorkeling. He was very safety oriented. I would trust him with anyone. Unfortunately the waters were murky and there very few fish or turtles to be seen. Only saw yellow tailed snappers when Rick through in some bait. I think St. Thomas is too developed to have waters clear enough for decent snorkeling with a large quantity of fish. I would skip snorkeling in St. Thomas.

Read cschlomberg's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image katrax64
1 review
Mar 2014

This was fun. Although, the boat was late getting us and we were told 2 island snorkeling and only did one and a beach. The people in charge of the FastCat were great. St. Thomas is beautiful. We walked up to Blackbeards and the view is spectacular.

Read katrax64's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Shelli F
1 review
Feb 2014

Our boat captain provided us with some great snorkel stops!

Read Shelli F's full Carnival Conquest cruise review
Provider: Pirates Paradise
Member Image s.lutraan
1 review
Not Rated
Feb 2014

I did a private snorkel with st. Thomas adventures. Squid (the lady that took me out) was truly amazing and full of knowledge for only being there two years. we spent most of the day with her and she took us to three different locations. truly wonderful the underwater creatures we saw. Turtles, numerous fish (trunk fish, lobster, missed the sting ray by a second) saw the imprint in the sand. she let us feed the fish, saw an amazing rare flying Gurnard, simply beautiful. and the Tarpon wow scary at first but they don't bother you. (they were as big as me) loved how the pelicans would dive down next to you to get their food. the whole experience was wonderful. I can now say i snorkeled in the Caribbean sea and the Atlantic ocean in the same day

Read s.lutraan's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image theblond000
1 review
Not Rated
Feb 2014

Captain Nautica's Ultimate Snorkel Expedition was fabulous visiting 2 locations for an hour each. I saw at least 20 turtles and multiple rays and barracudas. Lots of fun. Remember to bring tip money which is not included but deserved.

Read theblond000's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image seamac29
1 review
Feb 2014

Great boat ride out to a couple of areas both different one where sea turtles hang out and some fish the other a barge that was sunk and is now starting to grow coral and then near the island some nice easy snorkling with a nice array of fish.

Read seamac29's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image radgalut
1 review
Not Rated
Feb 2014

CAPTAIN NAUTICA SNORKEL

A blast, it was like 2 tours in one We had a fast boat ride to shipwreck cove where we had a hour in the water to explore. Lots of fish, coral, sea urchins etc. Then a short ride to turtle bay and another hour in the water and got to see lots of turtles. Hurricane Hunter was a great captain. They also had snacks and water.

Read radgalut's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image bowallace
1 review
Not Rated
Feb 2014

Great exercise, enjoyed seeing hermit crabs. Spectacular view. Saw lots of different fish while snorkeling.

Read bowallace's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image hawkeyecruiser2
2 reviews
Not Rated
Feb 2014

Island Wilson Excusions is simply the best way to see the Virgin Islands. We have done several trips with Captain Wilson and he never fails to deliver a perfect day. He knows the best places to snorkel and can name everything that you see. The boat is beautiful and well maintained and you always know you are safe. Previously we have gone to the BVI's with Captain Wilson, but this time we stuck around St John and had outstanding snorkeling. We usually leave the itinerary in the captain's hands as we know he can trust him to show us so many things in a day, but get us back to the ship on time too. We tend to be worriers, but not on our days with Island Wilson Excursions. Already booked for next year!

Read hawkeyecruiser2's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Island Wilson Excursions
Member Image dshefter
4 reviews
Jan 2014

We took a cab to Coki Beach, which cost us $9 pp each way, where we rented a couple of chairs for $5 apiece and a locker for $5. At noon, we were greeted by our guides for the waverunner/snorkel tour. We rode for aboue 25 minutes out to the snorkel sight, which was near a private island and offered views of nearby St. John island. We then took a nice 25-minute ride back to the beach.

Read dshefter's full Carnival Valor cruise review
Provider: stthomasexcursions.com
Member Image karm1210
1 review
Not Rated
Jan 2014

We took a fast catamaran to an island to snorkel with turtles. THis was my favorite day of our cruise. WE saw around 6 turtles, a few sting ray, and tons of colorful fish and coral. The Virgin Breeze was the name of our catamaran. They were very friendly and knowledgeable. After we were done snorkeling they gave us "pain killer, rum punch" YUMMY! they knock you on your butt though. We went to a beach break called Honeymoon beach. This was a secluded beach and so beautiful. I would recommend this excursion to anyone.

Read karm1210's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image helandkel
1 review
Jan 2014

St Thomas – Two of us booked a ship excursion here and the other four headed off to Magen’s Beach by trolley bus picked up outside the ship. The ship excursion in truth was pretty rubbish. We booked the power snorkel to Turtle cove. We had to wait around some time before we headed to the catamaran and eventually got on board about and hour later. This was bit of a drag. The ride was nice and when we arrived those who were using the power snorkel were briefed and split into two groups – the deal being you only got about 15-20 minutes with the power snorkel and then had to hand them to the other six people as they only had six of them. The power snorkel isn’t really worth it to be honest. You don’t go much quicker than on your own steam and you waste so much time switching over that you could have seen snorkeling instead – which would have been a bigger deal if there actually had been any fish! There were NO fish so very disappointing. Would not recommend. Also there was no Caribbean vibe on the boat as the crew were not locals but youngsters on working holidays. They were lovely but lacked the personality of other boats.
After the excursion we picked up a taxi and headed to Magen’s Beach. All rides are $8 each way, taxi or trolley bus. The beach was stunning. It is a public beach with lots of picnic benches and bathrooms, which were good. Hardly any bars so bring your own stuff. We had made a picnic that morning from the buffet and were glad we did. We loved it here and were the last to leave for the ship as we wanted to stay as long as possible.

Read helandkel's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image collinsmom4301
3 reviews
Dec 2013

We have visited St Thomas multiple times and always find the island to be beautiful with wonderful water and snorkeling. Turquois Beach is the most beautiful beach/water on the island.

Read collinsmom4301's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: St scuba and Snorkel Adventure
Member Image Cruiser Family 8889
1 review
Dec 2013

At St. Thomas, you can get to the beach right away without an extra ferry or bus ride. We did the kayak, hike, snorkel excursion. It was wonderful but too short. You take a drive through the island (about 20 minutes) before you arrive at the excursion location. They give instructions, water bottles, and snorkel gear. You get to kayak through the mangroves, take a short walk through the island, and then snorkel. When snorkeling, you have to go swim pretty far out to see any fish or coral. By the time you swim out that far, they call you back to kayak again. They also have a photographer follow you around to take pictures. You can bring a camera with you, but make sure its water proof as water gets in the canoe. There are also lockers to stow your belongings in if you have things you don't want to kayak with.

Read Cruiser Family 8889's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image joannsluv@aol.com
1 review
Not Rated
Dec 2013

Awesome beach area, Lots of great things to see underwater. Worth the two hours snorkeling off the ship..The water was clear, blue/green and warm..80 deg?

Read joannsluv@aol.com's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image CamilleCruiser42
3 reviews
Not Rated
Nov 2013

We booked a Princess tour to St. John--the champagne catamaran sail and snorkel. It was lots of fun and the beach at St. John was beautiful and secluded. Afterward they served rum punch and champagne and it was a fun sail back. There was enough time left afterward to go downtown for shopping--St. Thomas has some of the best shopping in the Caribbean so that's not to be missed!

Read CamilleCruiser42's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image kstrubberg
1 review
Oct 2013

the catamaran left from right by where the ship docked. after a short ride out we were ready to snorkel. There were large sea turtles and lots of fish at the reef. The water was very clear and calm . After about 45 min of snorkeling we got back on the catamaran for a short ride to honeymoon beach. During the rest of the trip there were complimentary rum painkillers and beer. The beach was nice, very secluded and calm water. The water here is so salty that you can float very easily!

Read kstrubberg's full Disney Fantasy cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image Pink35
2 reviews
Not Rated
Oct 2013

All the St John excursions were booked with the cruise line. I had researched briefly on google what to do to get to St John without cruise line assistance. We took a taxi from cruise ship to Red Hook--about 30-35 minute drive and cost $11.00 per person plus tip each way. Then we purchased a round trip water ferry ticket from Red Hook to St John--cost $28.00 for two people. Runs on the top of every hour. It was 15 minutes by Ferry to St John. Then we caught a taxi at ferry port to Trunk Bay--cost $6.00 per person plus tip each way. It is a US National Park Beach, so there is a $4.00 per person adult admission price. There are restrooms and clean water showers. Beach is only open until 4:30 PM each day. There were refreshments available to purchase. You can also rent chairs. I do not think we ended up spending a whole lot more than the cruise line passengers excursions.

Trunk Bay was amazing!!! Crystal Clear water, white powder soft sand beaches, and a guided snorkeling path. I had my own equipment, however, I think there was equipment available to rent. The temperature in St. John was cooler than St John. It is also far less crowded. We actually caught up with the cruise line passenger excursion. However, since we went independently, we were able to spend more time at the beach :))

Read Pink35's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image tonymac10
1 review
Aug 2013

The Sea Blaster snorkeling excursion was a bargain at $55. You board the Sea Blaster and the friendly crew lead us to Turtle cove where we saw dozens of turtles big and small in their natural habitat. We then went to the reefs where we followed the stingrays and could barley keep up with them. We also met Casper the friendly Barracuda, who liked to hang out by the boat.

Read tonymac10's full Disney Fantasy cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image megemily
1 review
Jul 2013

My husband and daughter did mini boats with snorkeling. They loved it and said well worth it.

Read megemily's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image jwtiemann
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2013

We went on a fast boat that soaks you - so much fun! Then stopped at turtle cove and snorkeled for 40 min. Then boarded and sped off to honeymoon beach, a coral reef, to see sting rays and fish. We snorkeled again for 40 min. Wish we could have spent more time with the turtles. Restroom was not operational.

Read jwtiemann's full Disney Fantasy cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image lv2gowu
1 review
Not Rated
Apr 2013

Trunk Bay on St John was our favorite island until we met Cast Away Cay. Loved the ferry ride over and back from St Thomas wish we had more time to snorkel.

Read lv2gowu's full Disney Fantasy cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image alwaysnpursuit
1 review
Mar 2013
Champagne Catamaran tour was wonderful, fantastic crew and great experience.
Read alwaysnpursuit's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Kennon13g
1 review
Mar 2013
Mini Boat Adventure tour that took us to Christmas Cove to snorkel. The staff was extremely friendly and helped make this an amazing day. The water was beautiful and after snorkeling they took around sight seeing for a few minutes. My husband enjoyed getting to drive our mini-boat and I got some amazing pictures from the water.
Read Kennon13g's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image SethroK
1 review
Mar 2013
While it wasn't a full-day blowout event, snorkeling at Coki Beach for about an hour was perfect for my family - three of whom had never snorkeled before. The beach was fairly crowded but there was still room for more, and those who snorkeled near the rocks just off the beach were rewarded with lots of fish. We were brought here by our friendly tour guide/taxi driver "Benjie" - who took very good care of us during the course of our Island Tour.
Read SethroK's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image dack
2 reviews
Mar 2013
Castaway girl great tour we would do it again, crew very entertaining safety their main concern beautiful cove The water is deep but the crew is very good they take good care of you snorkeling was fun we did not see many fish but we saw turtles and a barracuda Heather our guide in the water was also very good and gave us the story among other of the shipwreck. We would do this trip again
Read dack's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Susiebell2
2 reviews
Feb 2013
St. Thomas was full of trash on the sidewalks and road. It was the only island on this trip like that. Our snorkel trip was to Honeymoon Beach on St. John Island on a catamaran. We had about 1 hour in the water and the rest a rum punch slow 2 hour ride back. There was too much waiting around and only one hour snorkeling for a 4 1/2 hour excursion was pitiful!
Read Susiebell2's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image CHMan00
1 review
Feb 2013
Booked with Carnival. Went to Turtle Cove. Saw about 5 turtles. One surfaced. The coral there is not worth the trip, but if you want to see turtles go for it. The crew on the catamaran gave rum punch to anyone who wanted it, including 15-16 year old kids. It was entertaining watching the drunk teenagers on the way back to the ship.
Read CHMan00's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image jacklego
1 review
Feb 2013
Took a cab to Secret Harbour. The snorkeling here was WORLD CLASS. 1000's of fish and many varieties we have not seen elsewhere. The beach was gorgeous, secluded, fairly quiet, with beach chairs, shade from trees in spots, a nice restaurant, and a full dive shop. We easily could've stayed all day, but had to leave to do our other excursion.
Read jacklego's full Carnival Liberty cruise review
Provider: None
Member Image traveleroftheworld
1 review
Feb 2013
The mini boats were great and the snorkeling was fine. What was horrible was that when we met the lady at the port we waited for an hour extra first because she didn't know how many other people might be coming and then because our pick up taxi was busy getting people somewhere else. Then the ride to the place where the miniboats were was like 30 minutes.
Read traveleroftheworld's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Buffytheslayr
1 review
Feb 2013
Captain Nautical. Was awesome. Small boat with less people meant more one on one time with the experts on the boat. Would do it again in a second. Saw turtles in natural habitat.
Read Buffytheslayr's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image PKPRSPCJB
1 review
Feb 2013
A little disappointing. Went to beach to snorkel. We saw very few fish! Loved the view, landscape, sand and water!
Read PKPRSPCJB's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image cruisin'momof4
1 review
Feb 2013
We chartered a private sailboat which held just the six of us and two crew through Morningstar Charters. They took us sailing to St John where we then anchored to swim on secluded Honeymoon Beach and snorkel (they provided the equipment and brief instruction). They grilled us a delicious chicken lunch and then sailed back to St Thomas. They even arranged the taxi to/from the port to their boat on the other side of the island. Had a fabulous time and it was wonderful to have the flexibility, especially with the little ones in tow. (my youngest napped down below on the way to St John). The crew was very knowledgeable and fun. I would definitely recommend an excursion with them.
Read cruisin'momof4's full Disney Fantasy cruise review
Provider: Morningstar Charters
Member Image attyCarol
3 reviews
Jan 2013

This was part of the cat sail and snorkeling activity.

Read attyCarol's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image cappacino
1 review
Jan 2013
Snorkeling at Shipwreck cove was amazing!!! Good rum punch after (too good)!!! My kids loved it! I could snorkel forever! Excellent equipment! and life vests! The people running the boat were young, beautiful, friendly people!! Really nice!
Read cappacino's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image MustangJay
1 review
Jan 2013
Went with Castaway Girl snorkel and catamaran. Great group of leaders, although had they thrown some food in the water we probably would have seen more fish.
Read MustangJay's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image yogaini24
1 review
Jan 2013
Snorkeling expedition was enjoyable. Crew was safety conscious and fun.
Read yogaini24's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image pittnh
1 review
Jan 2013
Great beach day! Wish it was a little longer.
Read pittnh's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image energizer0_0
1 review
Jan 2013
Went on the "Sea Blaster" snorkeling tour, saw some cool sea turtles. Reef here isn't exactly huge or colourful.
Read energizer0_0's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image fourml8r
2 reviews
Dec 2012
We did the St Johns trip to Trunk Bay. Great snorkeling there.
Read fourml8r's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image chesapeake_traveler
3 reviews
Dec 2012
Snorkeling and Turtle Swim was on the same excursion. It was great. Also, loved the rum punch.
Read chesapeake_traveler's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image TXCruiser10
2 reviews
Not Rated
Dec 2012
We sailed on Castaway Girl. The catamaran is nice and the crew friendly. The water was clear and warm. Nice excursion if you want to snorkel. The port shops are nice and clean but you need to pay $3 to get a taxi to downtown. Shopping in St. Thomas is VERY expensive and we should have done more shopping in Grand Turk or San Juan since similar items were less expensive there.
Read TXCruiser10's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image hyker1
6 reviews
Dec 2012
My husband and I did separate excursions on this day. He went on another snorkle, and got to swim among rays and sea-turtles. He said it was awesome, and he really loved it. His group sailed a a cute little sailing vessel designed to look like a pirate ship. They served beverages and he said, though it was crowded, that everyone had a super time and was very friendly.
Read hyker1's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image lgrug321
1 review
Dec 2012
We snorkeled in St.Thomas with John, Johnny, and Dave on one of the Caribbean Girl catamarans, and it was wonderful! They are all "lost boys" (30 going on 16) but were very professional in their skills. Don't let the "party boy" act fool you into worrying that they are incapable. They were in fact the most hardworking crew in terms of customer satisfaction that I have ever sailed with, and I have been on probably 20 snorkel excursions. I highly recommend them.
Read lgrug321's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image tenniswoman
1 review
Dec 2012
Great trip
Read tenniswoman's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image MFishers
4 reviews
Nov 2012
Very nice. Staff was great and informative.
Read MFishers's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image HonkyTonkAngel
2 reviews
Not Rated
Oct 2012
Snorkeling at Coki Beach and exploring at Coral World. We didn't book with a tour operator but did it ourselves. Excellent time! Coki Beach was fun and the fish were plentiful!
Read HonkyTonkAngel's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image lexmiller
10 reviews
Not Rated
Oct 2012
We booked the Caribbean Sail to Christmas & Honeymoon Coves, ST63; this is run by Cool Boats USVI. We loved it! Snorkeling, sailing, swimming, turtles, coral, tropical fish, and lots of "pain killers", their very own rum punch!
Read lexmiller's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image WaTeRMaNiaC
2 reviews
Sep 2012
Went on a Half Day Sail and Snorkel with the Turtles that we booked through shoreexcursionsgroup.com The crew was awesome and they ensured that we had a good time and they tried to avoid the other big excursions that were in the area so that we could have smaller crowds in the water.
Read WaTeRMaNiaC's full Carnival Liberty cruise review
Provider: shoreexcursionsgroup.com
Member Image toontoy
2 reviews
Sep 2012
we had lots of fun snorkeling with sea turtles and going to the beach. A more expensive excursion but well worth the cost
Read toontoy's full Disney Fantasy cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image Bearphin
1 review
Sep 2012
Snorkeling and the beach were great. Lots of great info about the surroundings as we traveled to St John. The party on the way back was a lot of fun!!
Read Bearphin's full Carnival Valor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image travelingcruise279
1 review
Aug 2012
Castaway Barefoot Sail and Snorkel to Shipwreck Cove The BEST excursion I have ever done. The crew was amazing and snorkeling was a blast!
Read travelingcruise279's full Carnival Miracle cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Tkrapier5
1 review
Jul 2012
Castawaygirls.com .. Great trip to Buck Island. Helpful in training and showing key spots. Great Rum drinks at the end.
Read Tkrapier5's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image dandl1986
2 reviews
Jul 2012
We went to Turtle Cove on a pirate ship. Wonderful excursion one of the best we have ever done. LOVED it and saw lots of turtles who come really close to you. We had enough time after the tour to go to Magen's bay on our own for a cheap taxi fare. It is an exquisite beach and should not be missed.
Read dandl1986's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image KokoSadie
2 reviews
Jun 2012
In St. Thomas, we did a little shopping before the excursion and were a bit put off by the aggressiveness of some of the locals. Needless to say, we didn't end up buying much. On the other hand, the shore excursion with Virgin Breeze Powercat was wonderful - we snorkled at the wildlife sanctuary of Buck Island, and enjoyed the beautiful Honeymoon Beach on Water Island. And the crew of the Virgin Breeze did a great job keeping us entertained and the drinks flowing!
Read KokoSadie's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Nadey
1 review
May 2012
This was a great trip. The crew was fun and they give you all the beer, soda, and tropical drinks you want. We did see a few turtles, hoped to see more, but you never know where they'll be. saw some coral and fish too. You do have to climb on and off when snorkeling and the private beach, and you definitely need to swim. don't think you could do it, even with a lift vest to keep you up. The private Honeymoon beach is gorgeous. The water is so clear and warm. They have a woman who cooks there, so you can get some lunch. We did the morning tour. I chose this since it had a canvas cover , since I'm fair and burn even with sunscreen. You will enjoy it.
Read Nadey's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image beancruisin'
1 review
May 2012
Was O.K., just very crowded and and rough riding.
Read beancruisin''s full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image nowwerecruisers
2 reviews
Apr 2012
sailed on 50 foot sail boat to Buck Island for snorkeling with sea turtles
Read nowwerecruisers's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image eap'sdad
1 review
Apr 2012
Great time snorkeling in turtles cove and shipwreck cove
Read eap'sdad's full Disney Magic cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image BMan423
1 review
Apr 2012
Great job by the Virgin Breeze ladies and gentleman. Good time on the boat ride, good snorkeling and swimming (though I thought the snorkeling was better on St. Maarten), and lots of rum punch flowing.
Read BMan423's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image KaiyouNoOto
1 review
Apr 2012
Took gas-fumed ferry to pretty beach for blah snorkeling with staff who could care less.
Read KaiyouNoOto's full Carnival Miracle cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Browndawg
1 review
Apr 2012
Great snorkel
Read Browndawg's full Carnival Liberty cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image 2ndTimeCruiser73
1 review
Apr 2012
We did The Captain Nautica's Snorkeling in St Thomas and it was awesome! I recommend you bring lots of film for the shipwrecked island location, lots of great fish and coral reefs. Very laid back cruise, on a fun power boat, perfect for families. Shrimp cocktail was basic, nothing more than a small bite to eat. They offered water and sodas on the boat.
Read 2ndTimeCruiser73's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Rsm11001
1 review
Mar 2012
Great crew but the line at the dock was a total waste of time. They have everyone meet and spend a good 30 minutes lining everyone up and taking tickets. Then they move the same line of people over to the snorkel boat about 3 minutes away and go through the entire process again. Why not just have everyone meet at the boat, fill out their forms, hand the crew their ticket and get on the boat?
Read Rsm11001's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ohiocruisemom56
1 review
Mar 2012
A really nice day. They pick you up right next to the ship at the pier and take you directly to St. John. About a 45 minute boat ride. Folks sitting outside get wet! Trunk Bay was gorgeous! We're so glad we went.
Read ohiocruisemom56's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image firsttimer52and48
1 review
Mar 2012
Trunk Bay was gorgeous as was all of St John. Loved this island!
Read firsttimer52and48's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image sanwt77
1 review
Mar 2012
Castaway girl is a nice catamaran. The snorkeling at little buck island is OK. They should not be serving rum punch.
Read sanwt77's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image skooter35
3 reviews
Mar 2012
Day 5: Charlotte Amalie, St Thomas 8:00 am-4:30 pm We docked at Crown Bay Pier for the day. Taxis into town and shopping was right off the boat. We enjoyed our day on the ship while waiting for our 1pm excursion. Castaway Shipwreck Cove Sail & Snorkel was by far the most fun! We sailed to Buck Island on a catamaran. The crew was enjoyable and very knowledgeable about the sea life. We spent about an hour and half snorkeling. There were other boats and tours at the same time. We all managed to stay in our own groups with our guides. Equipment was provided and also instructions how to use them and what to do if you need help. Everyone wore life jackets that were very easy to use by blowing them up or not at all. You really didn't need much air to keep afloat. On our way back to port there were snacks and Rum Punch offered...5 glasses and I was feeling it!! Don't pass up the punch! Don't forget to bring cash to tip the crew, they deserve it! Also be sure and fill out a comment card once back on board at the excursion desk. I'm really glad we booked this tour through HAL because the lines were being dropped as we got to the pier. Knowing the ship would wait for us was a huge relief! Another favorite part of this port were the Iguanas basking in the sun all along the rocks. Great picture moments for sure!
Read skooter35's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image tintin
1 review
Mar 2012
The ferry ride was scenic, but I wished we had more opportunity to walk around the boat. I don't like sitting in crowded conditions and I like to be able to walk around the deck. Trunk Bay was beautiful, but the time there was too short. The snorkeling was actually better at Princess Cays and Grand Turk.
Read tintin's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image MillbrookMom
4 reviews
Mar 2012
Castaway Girl Snorkeling...wonderful crew...great experience.
Read MillbrookMom's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Life _in_alaska
1 review
Feb 2012
At St Thomas, the view coming into Port is wonderful. Sailboats all over. We took the Turtle Bay Snorkel and lunch trip - 6 hours. We were on the Dancing Dolphin Catamaran. It was a very fun day, beautiful weather. Strong rum drinks.... Saw lots of turtles, not so much fish. I'm use to snorkeling in Hawaii and they were far fewer on this trip. Lunch on the beach was a great BBQ with pork, chicken, burgers.
Read Life _in_alaska's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image BellBoys
2 reviews
Feb 2012
The catamaran to St. John to snorkel in Honeymoon Bay was great. We were in port with 7 other ships so immediately after snorkeling we came back to the ship as downtown was crowded. So our '5' rating is for the excursion and not the port.
Read BellBoys's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Auburndale Cruisers
8 reviews
Feb 2012
Great experience, snorkeling and a beautiful beach. Great crew on the cat. Good drinks after the snorkeling. Strong concern for our safety.
Read Auburndale Cruisers's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image gftraveler89
1 review
Feb 2012
We did a Turtle Cove Sail and Snorkel that we really enjoyed. Swimming next to sea turtles is just amazing. Not to mention the reef and the fish, and the sea urchin that our snorkel guide let us hold. The water was warm and wonderful, the view below and above the water was gorgeous, and we even enjoyed the sail there and back. They offered rum drinks on the way back, and we indulged a bit too much, but we had a great time and we got some fun t-shirts and temporary pirate tattoos...which should tell you how much we were drinking. It was a great time, and we would definitely do it again with a few less drinks.
Read gftraveler89's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Maddie2012
1 review
Feb 2012
Beautiful island...clean and green. Beautiful snorkel at Trunk Bay
Read Maddie2012's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Warmer Climes
5 reviews
Feb 2012
We loved snorkeling with the Fury. It is a small sailboat and it took us to Buck Island to snorkel with the sea turtles. The crew of two was fabulous and we want to do a trip with them again.
Read Warmer Climes's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Fury Charters
Member Image Oceanchick
1 review
Feb 2012
Trunk bay....Wonderful beach, but not enough time
Read Oceanchick's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image raspberry ridge
2 reviews
Feb 2012
Many children (and a few adults) were experiencing sea sickness on the ferry to St. John's..Come prepared with bonine or other anti-nausea medication to be taken at least 30 minutes prior to departure! Perhaps some wet naps for clean up as well would be advised!
Read raspberry ridge's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image skipperh
3 reviews
Feb 2012
Lots of fun! The crew was great, the day was sunny and breezy, the snorkel site had lots of sea turtles! Fun fun fun. And if you didn't want to snorkel, the crew ran a "dingy ferry" to the beach so you could hang out there. One minor issue -- the boat capacity was 49 and there were 47 passengers -- it worked, but was more than I'd have preferred.
Read skipperh's full Silver Cloud cruise review
Provider: Silversea Cruises
Member Image FawnRiver
1 review
Jan 2012
Castaway Girl Shipwreck Cove Snorkel Crew was knowledgeable and professional, had a great time. Only issue was that they had 2 different "Castaway" ships in the cove at the same time - so some of us ended up on the wrong ship and had to swim to get back on the right one.
Read FawnRiver's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image TOlson70
2 reviews
Jan 2012
We opted to go on the Dubloon Sail and Snorkel tour on St. Thomas. Loved it. The crew of the sail boat we were put on (Bones) were awesome. They made a decision early on that due to the weather and wind, they were going to take us to a sheltered bay to snorkel. Perfect!
Read TOlson70's full Disney Magic cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image skiking1245
4 reviews
Jan 2012
This was the St. John Champagne Catamaran Sail, Snorkel & Swim. It was awesome and would do again. Sailed over to Caneel Bay and snorkeled. Truly enjoyable and the snorkelling was actually pretty good.
Read skiking1245's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image operadovi
1 review
Jan 2012
Trunk Bay Snorkel was awesome, great people!
Read operadovi's full Carnival Liberty cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image jc70
1 review
Apr 2011
Ferry to St John, exciting open air bus ride to Trunk Bay, decent introduction to snorkeling for 1st timers. Unbelievably beautiful place.
Read jc70's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image hawkeyecruiser2
2 reviews
Not Rated
Feb 2011

Island Wilson Excursions is the best. We are so happy we found Captain Wilson we have used him numerous times. We initially chose him because of his timely, thoughtful emails in response to my many questions and concerns. Our instincts were correct as he has provided a special day each time. We have been treated to snorkeling, sightseeing, history, bar hopping, and most importantly, a safe and fun way to see the VI's. Deja Blue, the boat, offers a fast and smooth ride, making it easy and comfortable to experience many things in a day. Capt. Wilson will take you wherever you request, but we always put the itinerary in his hands. He remembers where we have been (and our likes and dislikes), so each trip is a new, scenic adventure with a kind and funny friend. He also takes pictures during the trip and many of ours have ended up framed or as screensavers, daily reminders of our special trips.

Read hawkeyecruiser2's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image murfturf
2 reviews
Jan 2011
We had a great time! We took a catamaran, booked with our cruise line out to St. John. We snorkeled in two places. The snorkeling wasn't fantastic, but it was very good. Hanging out on the white sand beaches for a while was also very relaxing. The boat crew themselves were entertaining and made it a fantastic trip.
Read murfturf's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.