St. Thomas Snorkeling Excursion Reviews

St. Thomas Snorkeling cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Experience marine life and coral forms on a snorkeling adventure in St. Thomas. Coral ledges and bay walls offer superb views.
Member Image firefighterman
9 reviews
Mar 2017
Excursion St Thomas We booked the NCL Twice as Nice Snorkeling. We were on a caterraman, that we boarded right off the ship early. They took us to Buck Island. The ride was pretty rough as the day was windy. We have been on quite a few snorkeling trips by far this was not a good trip. I was not feeling to well from the 45 minute ride in the rough water, I was on the verge of sea sicknesses. Our first stop was to see the turtles, we did see some, the second stop I did not get off to snorkel, on the way back they gave free rum punch , sodas, and snacks. The young lady talked a lot about the sea life and protecting the environment, she talked pretty fast, my thoughts was lets get on and snorkel.
Read firefighterman's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image taylorlb
1 review
Feb 2017
We booked with Castaway shipwreck and snorkel. The crew was great and knowledgeable however, because it was a guided snorkel, the water was crowded and you kept getting kicked and bumped into. The water also wasn't clear enough to see very well. The sail back to the ship was terrific though. The only reason i don't recommend this tour is simply because it was 30 minutes in the water of mostly trying to get out of the way of others. My face was in the water about 10 of the minutes. I found it very frustrating.
Read taylorlb's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image keatingfamily2001
2 reviews
Feb 2017
We went on our own to Sapphire Beach and are glad we did. Just be ready for the rip off taxis that charge you per person to get where you want to go after they take on lots of other people. In our case, we were driving around for 25 minutes before the clown even headed over to Sapphire Beach. The beach is nice and shaded and there is enough to do for members of the group that do not want to snorkel.
Read keatingfamily2001's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Elaine2241
1 review
Feb 2017
Excellent snorkeling on the Turtle Bay Catamaran excursion. The boat had lots of room, was very comfortable. One of the guides took us to an area where most of the sea turtles were and we saw a couple on the ocean floor eating. We saw lots of colorful fish and had plenty of time to explore. On the way back they served rum punch or soft drinks. Also chips and salsa. Played music and everyone onboard had a great time. Excellent excursion. I would highly recommend.
Read Elaine2241's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image swapilot
5 reviews
Feb 2017
Did a snorkeling with Castaway Girl catamaran. Excellent crew, good snorkeling, very nice boat. We went to 2 sites to snorkel and we saw a sting ray, turtles, squid, shark, and fish. Great excursion. Plus you just walk to the end of the pier and the catamaran is right there by the ship.
Read swapilot's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Travelwaves
1 review
Jan 2017
Snorkling at 3 stops off the boat with excellent Captain. Recommend Twin Rivers but you must walk past the shopping to find them in a parking lot off to the left.
Read Travelwaves's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Sugar0802
2 reviews
Jan 2017
Snorkeled with sea turtles. Water was a bit rough and deep and very crowded from cruise ship catamarans. Enjoyed our 20 person sail boat.
Read Sugar0802's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Fury Charters
Member Image corella19
1 review
Jan 2017
The staff and boat ride were great. We got to see the turtles, unfortunately it wasn't a good day to see any fish.
Read corella19's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image RNisPhD
3 reviews
Dec 2016
Great snorkeling along a underwater "trail"
Read RNisPhD's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image CPopmusic
1 review
Dec 2016
Catamaran sail and snorkel was nice. A great alternative to going to St. John time and time again. We were there on Christmas day, and were the only ship in town, so not much else to do. We were also disappointed that Royal only ports in Crown Bay(as opposed to Havensight), so we were not walking distance to the town, and the shops at the port were minimal.
Read CPopmusic's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image drpolje
1 review
Dec 2016
My family had never been to St. John's Island, so we went snorkeling at Trunk Bay. We heard that this beach was especially beautiful, and it didn't disappoint us. The trip involved taking a ferry to St. John Island and transferring to the beach by jitney. Once at the beach we were given snorkeling equipment and some "minimal instruction." There was no real supervision. We were told that there was a heavy current, so, "be careful!" We were instructed to swim along a marked underwater trail, reading underwater plaques and noting fish and corals along the way. Although my family had a fun afternoon, prior snorkeling excursions utilized a guide who pointed out (and named) fish and coral formations. This made for a more meaningful experience and safer too!
Read drpolje's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image morgankwyatt
1 review
Dec 2016
The ride in and out was great. Crew was friendly and helpful. Too many people on the tour or too many panicky snorkelers and children made it difficult to see anything.
Read morgankwyatt's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image CruisingWithPam
1 review
Dec 2016
Great experience - spent the day snorkeling in different places - took boat right up to the beach in some locations. Had wonderful lunch in Cruz Bay in St. John! Great experience - would highly recommend and well worth it as we set our own schedule and pace!
Read CruisingWithPam's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: John
Member Image sbachleda
6 reviews
Dec 2016
Took the Castaway Girl 3 catamaran out to Buck Island to snorkel the wreck and reef there. Had a great time with the snorkeling. Saw lots of fish, a turtle, lots of coral as well. Crew on the cat were great. Very friendly and safety conscious. Towards the end of our time at Buck Island a stiff breeze came up and the crew asked us to stop and get on board. Sailed back to St. Thomas had lots of rum punch and listened to great music. To rough to dance. I especially like that the catamaran was rated for 80 people and they let only 40 passengers on board. The boat did not feel crowded at all. Great trip.
Read sbachleda's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image CJKABQ
1 review
Dec 2016
Individual raft-type boats with outboard motors driven by us. Drove to a snorkel location, did some snorkeling, then drove the boats back. My 8 yr old grandson and his mother did this. They caught air! Definitely had a fun time.
Read CJKABQ's full Disney Magic cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image CruiserBilleboy
1 review
Dec 2016
Snorkeled to turtle island (both sides of it). Snorkeled many times, but this one was awesome. Saw many large sea turtles and sting rays. Also, saw a ship wreck. If you like the water, you need to Snorkel or scuba in St. Thomas.
Read CruiserBilleboy's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image stlgreg
2 reviews
Dec 2016
The ONLY knock against it was there was not many fish to see snorkeling. I think we saw five
Read stlgreg's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Luckybuck421
1 review
Nov 2016
High speed Catamaran to Buck Island and the Beach Break was a great way to experience the Island Life and see the Turtles and the Reef itself.
Read Luckybuck421's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image wilso236
1 review
Nov 2016
Ferry to beach 1.5 hrs late. Only 30 min to snorkel.
Read wilso236's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image JaniceF
1 review
Nov 2016
We took a pirate ship out to turtle bay to snorkel and see the turtles, it was amazing, boat crew was funny, informative and very very friendly. We were then taken to Honeymoon cove for lunch which was delicious and then a rum punch trip back to the ship.
Read JaniceF's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image artmimi
1 review
Nov 2016
Even in the rain it was good.
Read artmimi's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image REAEmilyJones
2 reviews
Nov 2016
Shipwreck and turtle bay was awesome. Worth it, came back happy, sunburned and drunk. Best time with everyone on board.
Read REAEmilyJones's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image Florida Fan
3 reviews
Nov 2016
I was expecting champagne glasses (plastic would have been fine), possibly with toasts, something celebratory. What we got was a champagne punch served in a plastic cup with lots of ice. I expected a tour of a harbor, but what we got was a trip around a barren-looking island, with no commentary. What I expected was a cruise, but the catamaran simply bobbed in the water with its sail up. It would have been a fine excursion is its title had reflected the actual experience. On the positive side, the crew were really great. We talked with one crew member, who told us much about St. Thomas. Couldn't this have been said to everyone, with perhaps a discussion? Also, the catamaran was fabulous.
Read Florida Fan's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image nuclearmom
2 reviews
Nov 2016
great reef and turtles seen
Read nuclearmom's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Peggetha
1 review
Nov 2016
Fun, warm water, lots to see, friendly crew, and "Pirates Punch" was delicious
Read Peggetha's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?