Become a Cruise Insider
Tips, deals and more in your inbox.
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

St. Thomas Sea Lion Swim Excursion Reviews

St. Thomas Sea Lion Swim cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Experience a handshake or even a hug from a loveable sea lion on an aquatic excursion in St. Thomas’ Caribbean waters.
Member Image QueenKatherine
1 review
Jul 2015
The sea lion trainers were nice, but didn't seem to want to answer many questions. You cannot take your own photos - you must buy their photos if you want any. Their "professional" photographer is one of the three trainers - who is still in high school. She spends half the time with you, half the time with the other group. They split everyone up into 2 groups - we had a group of 5 (the two of us and then a mother and her two daughters), and the other group was a family of 5. That was a good size - you got to spend a little time with the sea lions, but it seemed rushed.
Read QueenKatherine's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: cruiseexcursionsgroup.com
Member Image Goalie32
2 reviews
Jun 2015
REALLY enjoyed this one...the whole family (4) did this and all really had a ball. It's not cheap but worth the price! Explored ALL that Corral World had and it was nice to see the turtles, the aquarium, all the different exotic birds and the lizards that were all over the place! Take the kids...they will have a ball!
Read Goalie32's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Cruises Only
Member Image cruise-alot-123
1 review
Mar 2015
I would not recommend this excursion. We spent entire time taking photos, that was their whole deal. (Then they over charged for photos.) Most importantly though, I was disturbed by the small area where the sea lions lived. I don't see how it was good for them. I left there feeling very sad about their living conditions.
Read cruise-alot-123's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Sailorgirl222
8 reviews
Not Rated
Jun 2014

We did the Coral World and Swimming with Sea Lions excursion. I cannot recommend this enough. While it is a bit pricey, it is a once in a lifetime experience that you will never forget. A van took us from the pier to Coral World (about a 20 minute drive). Once there, we signed “if you die, it’s not our fault” waivers and followed the trainers to an area where we put on water shoes and life-vests. Then into the pool! It was so much fun. The sea lions are a hoot!! Very friendly. The only downside is that they do not allow cameras, but they have a photographer taking a lot of pictures, which you can then (of course) buy on a flash drive for $60.00.

Read Sailorgirl222's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image kris2cruise
1 review
Not Rated
Mar 2014
If I had to choose my favorite thing we did, this would be it! The sea lion swim was amazing! Getting to interact with these massive animals was incredible! They have such different personalities & are smart, playful creatures. The trainers work with them with such love. Truly a lifetime memory!
Read kris2cruise's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image tforres3
1 review
Not Rated
Feb 2014

Amazing... so much fun!

Read tforres3's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image susanross
2 reviews
Dec 2013

My daughter went on it with her husband and she loved it. They have parrots as well as sea lions.

Read susanross's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image hastica
1 review
Jan 2013
Coral world is awesome. I would suggest this excursion for folks of all ages.
Read hastica's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image sherrirapp
1 review
Dec 2012
We swam with the Sea Lions on St. Thomas and it had to be the most incredible thing we have ever done. We have swam with dolphin, Stingray, shark and Sea Turtles but this was amazing! Do it if you have the chance at Coral World!! We had 1 hour playing with them and over 1 hour in the water with these fabulous creatures! There was a group of 8 people with 4 sea lions!!!!!!
Read sherrirapp's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Markers333
1 review
Nov 2012
Loved this tour, very small group, personal
Read Markers333's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image wdlnds58
5 reviews
Not Rated
Jun 2012
The rest of our party took this excursion to Coral World to swim with the sea lions! They thoroughly enjoyed themselves. They had additional time after the swim to explore Coral World which they really liked.
Read wdlnds58's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image live2vayk
6 reviews
Apr 2012
Swam with the Sea Lions in a enclosed tank area. This excursion takes place at an eco center, so there were other things to see and do while we were there. We enjoyed this excursion.
Read live2vayk's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Bushy H.
6 reviews
Not Rated
Mar 2012
Met the guide on the pier then we boarded a small air conditioned bus driven a short distance to the Coral World Park and taken to the location inside for the Seal Swim. Returning to the original place we were given forms to sign saying they would not be held responsible for any injuries. We had to remove all jewelry, wear our suits, and heard instructions from the trainer (Whitney) on how to handle the seal. We then walked to the enclosure and left our bags & towels then received aqua shoes, & life vests for everyone. Going into a smaller area the group was split into two with ours having seven people, a family and us. They then split us up one on one side of the tank and us on the other. Then Franco the huge seal enters the pool and we have photos doing various things. So after so much time in the water we come out and the opposite group comes in with their seal and we now do photo ops doing various tricks outside the pool. Some tricks are posing to smile (even the seal) to the camera, sticking his tongue out at the camera, kissing you, dancing with you, doing a trick with you like head stand. You cannot take a camera with you because it is so fast paced and you have to pay attention. I cannot say enough about this excursion it was amazing and everyone enjoyed it no one complained at all from either group. The photos were not that expensive and you got the whole package for one price $39 for two people for all the photos and they took a lot of them and all great quality. You then come out and can shower off, stick your tip money to the board for the team and they escort you out. Then you walk to the front where the drivers wait and once everyone has returned we drove back to the ship.
Read Bushy H.'s full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.