Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Barbados Turtle Swim Excursion Reviews

Barbados Turtle Swim cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Take a swim with Barbados' friendly sea turtles—don't worry; they won't bite! Sure to be an unforgettable experience.
Member Image Tybro
5 reviews
Oct 2014

We did the turtle swim via a ship's excursion. The boat was okay, the actual swimming with the turtles was awesome and had we ended the trip there, they would get higher marks, but after the swim they took us 20 minutes out of the way to go to a beach. They took us to this desolate beach with nothing but an abandoned build site that was all broken down and graffiti everywhere. There was NOTHING there. No chairs, no bathrooms, no shade, not other people....nothing...and when we tried to go hide under a tree to get out of the blazing sun, we were told the trees drip a sap that will burn your skin. So we had to kill 45 minutes by sitting in the water just to keep from burning. If I had to do this again, I would book it through a local company and make sure you know which beach you're going to after the swim.

Read Tybro's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Lkolaja
1 review
Not Rated
May 2014

Incredible day. Just 6 of us on the boat. We swam with the turtles, snorkel ship wreck and spent hours on the beach and playing in the water. So glad we book independently because the cruise ship sponsored excursion showed up with about a 100 packed on the boat. Did I say there was six of us.

Read Lkolaja's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Glory Tours
Member Image indylee
1 review
Not Rated
Apr 2014

Great, this was one tour not two, we boarded the catamaran and were brought out to the area to swim with the turtles, we say about a half a dozen, the current was very strong but the crew helped us get back in, we then were brought to another spot to swim on the reef, music played while on board, lunch was served on board, chicken, fish, rice mac n cheese and a variety of drinks, everyone on board was happy!

Read indylee's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image hyker1
6 reviews
Apr 2014

The two stars here are for the TURTLES that graciously showed up for us, prompted by the food the crew offered them! That's the most positive remark I'm able to give on this excursion. And the turtles were stunning. Some were huge and one even paused to nibble on my husband's toe! They come in close, so be aware of that if you have small kids. They're pretty much harmless, of course, but because of their size, they can seem intimidating.

The boat and crew we had were another story. First off, they crammed WAY to many people on the boat. They proceeded with their usual safety talk, but didn't show where the life-vests were located. My cousin, a retired AF Colonel, politely asked for their location. One crewman sarcastically and loudly called to the Captain, "Ah, this man's asked the golden question!" Everyone expected an answer to which there was first, silence. Then, someone saw a bird or something and the Captain launched into another sarcastic response. We were never told the location of the life-vests.

Later, as we were approaching our snorkeling spot, I had the misfortune of asking the Captain a question regarding something he must have already covered and I inadvertently missed. He told me I should have been listening, and did so in a "smart-alec" tone. And that's what the crew and Captain aboard this boat was like all day long.

I couldn't wait to get off the boat and return to the Summit. I had more fun shopping for a brief time in Barbados harbor than listening to those very rude men!

Read hyker1's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Tyrmowes
1 review
Not Rated
Feb 2014

One of two amazing experiences for us. I had never snorkeled before but a crew member took me the first time and he built my confidence and the second drop I was able to go on my own. Boat was nice and clean and staff polite and friendly, drinks included.

Read Tyrmowes's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image gr82sum
2 reviews
Apr 2013
We took a tour snorkeling from a catamaran to swim with the turtles. We booked this with Shasa Tours. Snorkeling equipment was supplied for those of us who did not have any. We also snorkeled in a small area that had some coral and lovely colored fish. Then 2 from our party of 9 left. The rest of us were served lunch on plates with regular silverware. The food was very good. Then we relaxed, swam until it was time to return ro the ship.
Read gr82sum's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Jason
Member Image Devilaw
3 reviews
Not Rated
Mar 2013
We took a fast boat to the turtle location and we were not disappointed. We immediately saw two giant sea turtles that were swimming around our feet. A great experience
Read Devilaw's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image tiptank
1 review
Feb 2013
Highlight of our cruise getting to swim with the turtles. THe crew were very attentive to the less confident swimmers (self included) and made sure they got to see the turtles while watching out for their safety. Sadly it poured rain shortly after and we had to return to shore without the scheduled beach break but the turtles were amazing to see!
Read tiptank's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image DonMillsCruiser
1 review
Feb 2013
Another private tour with a low number of guests that made the experience even more enjoyable.
Read DonMillsCruiser's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Good Times
Member Image mvlulu
1 review
Feb 2013
Great excursion through Celebrity. The kids especially loved swimming with the turtles.
Read mvlulu's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image rjc1117
6 reviews
Dec 2012
One of the best tours we have every been on. 2 snorkeling stops and a beach break. Crew was great. Good time for all.
Read rjc1117's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mttenn
1 review
Dec 2012
sailed for 45 mins only to find there were not any turtles. so waited 30 mins then sailed for about one hour to find them! ok.. not briliant .. thought waste of money. got gum infection probably from the borrowed snorkelling equipment on board.
Read mttenn's full Azura cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image cruiseguy56
1 review
Nov 2012
Great staff on the excursion. Knowledgable and funny
Read cruiseguy56's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image ojycart
2 reviews
Nov 2012
We did the Black Pearl pirate cruise. They pick you up at 10:00 and take you down to their pier -- not very far. Then you cruise out to a sunken ship to snorkel. Water was beautiful , fish were okay -- a bit far down and not any pretty coral or anything to see. After that we got back up and went to another area and there were the turtles. We saw about 3 different ones. They were feeding the turtles so they were coming around. It was beautiful! Got to touch them as they swam by. Lunch was pretty good of steak or chicken or tuna. Then side accompaniments. They had beer and rum punch as well which was available immediately on getting on the boat. Crew friendly and helpful. After all that they pulled out the plank and the rope swing which was a big hit. The ladies floated in the water while the men were jumping from the rope. My husband would swing out first and then swing back and pick up our 8 year old and then swing back out over the water. Everyone had a lot of fun with that. After that we slowly cruised back to port with the music playing and everyone dancing in the sun enjoying the weather and cocktails. We got back about 3:00. GREAT excursion and everyone had a fabulous time and we had a group from age 8 to 66. We booked this on our own -- not through carnival. I believe it was $80 for an adult and $40 for the kids.
Read ojycart's full Carnival Victory cruise review
Provider: Black Pearl
Member Image Loreto
5 reviews
Nov 2012
Five Star Catamaran and Turtle was a great way to enjoy Barbados! The catamaran was state of the art, and the crew was wonderful. Swimming with the sea turtle was an exciting experience. The buffet lunch on board was delicious and the snorkelling and beach break were enjoyable.
Read Loreto's full Prinsendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image MizzouCardsPT
1 review
Jul 2012
Awesome experience with the Five Star Catamaran Sail and Snorkel with the Turtles booked through Carnival Cruise Lines. We had about 8-10 turtles swimming around us and we were allowed 45 minutes to swim with them. They also took us to a coral reef and we could snorkel there or lay on the beach. They served us lunch on board with an open bar after snorkeling was over. Then we took a 45 minute narrated tour back to the boat. I would do this excursion again!
Read MizzouCardsPT's full Carnival Victory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image mrgrape
1 review
Apr 2012
Saw turtles this time didn't see any last time in Barbados.
Read mrgrape's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image pupsmama
1 review
Apr 2012
We took a "Do It Yourself Tour." We brought masks and snorkels with us and rented a taxi (same guy roundtrip) to take us to a beach where we swam with the turtles. The excurion boats bring the tourists here. We had a hotdog and some interesting original beach drink made up by the gal at the nearby beach bar for lunch - 3 1/2 hours was plenty! The whole day cost us $14 each and we even had lounge chairs and a beach umbrella! WOW!
Read pupsmama's full Carnival Victory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image sanwt77
1 review
Not Rated
Mar 2012
Swimming with the sea turtles was a real highlight.
Read sanwt77's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Hobscheshire
1 review
Mar 2012
Went with Thomson, was £44 each. Took a 5 min bus trip to small marina, then boarded catamaran, then by catamaran to an area out to sea. Soft drinks provided on way, crew very friendly. All snorkelling gear for swimming with turtles provided, although you can stay onboard if you like. A member of crew went into the sea and threw fish to bring in the turtles, then we all got in and he gave a few simple instructions/points. The turtles are huge and swim underneath you, you have to be careful not to kick them! You can also see them popping up for air. It was a bit of a scrum though as there were about 30/40 of us in one small area and some people seemed to forget there were others around them and kept banging into you with their face in the water and didn't even bother about it, it got annoying after a while so we kept to the edges where the turtles swam past anyway. Was great seeing the turtles and on the way back, there was unlimited rum punches/beer etc and the regaae music was cranked up. Also sailed past exclusive beaches and posh hotels. A great way to spend 2/3 hours. Would recommend!
Read Hobscheshire's full Thomson Dream cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image pikespeakmarathon
1 review
Mar 2012
Boatyard Beach, had a ball
Read pikespeakmarathon's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image busta
1 review
Feb 2012
What an excellent day. The trip wasn't expensive and it was great. Out on a Catamaran giving you a lovely view of the little coves, we stopped and given snorkel mask and life vest, and into the water we went, there were lots of Turtles to touch, got some lovely photos. Then had 45minutes on the beach before getting back to the ship. A magic day.
Read busta's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image msinden88
2 reviews
Not Rated
Feb 2012
Seeing and swimming with sea turtles for the first time was an incredible experience. The only thing that was kind of a hindrance was the number of people on this tour. When we actually got in the water people were clustered together (almost fighting) to see the turtles. This, I think, actually scared the turtles away. Once you separated yourself from the pack you could appreciate the turtles far more! I followed one for almost 5 min...keeping my distance of course.
Read msinden88's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image keithh1
2 reviews
Feb 2012
Great day boat not over crowed
Read keithh1's full Thomson Dream cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.