Barbados Turtle Swim Excursion Reviews

Barbados Turtle Swim cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Take a swim with Barbados' friendly sea turtles—don't worry; they won't bite! Sure to be an unforgettable experience.
Member Image sealx
2 reviews
Sep 2016
This was the Tiami Turtle Snorkle and Sail. We were informed at departure that the original itinerary had changed in order to find a beach where turtles might be seen. That was fine with us. We put in at a lovely beach and we did see turtles. Not dozens, but if you were paying attention, there were almost always a couple in view. After about 45 minutes, the catamaran took us to a different beach for swimming. The beach was nice. There were some locals selling jewelry and other trinkets, but if you told them no, they didn't bother you again. There was rum punch and beer included in the cost of the excursion. It was a very relaxing day and the guides were great!
Read sealx's full Carnival Fascination cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Momkimecon
1 review
Aug 2016
Nice trip only saw a few turtles near shore when our boat people were feeding them. Not much else there. Then short trip for 45 minute beach break. Nothing there to see or buy (bring your own snacks or lunch). Rum punch on boat
Read Momkimecon's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image bobjps
1 review
Jul 2016
Excellent. Great snorkeling. Plenty of time swimming with the huge sea turtles. The onboard food was very tasty and enough for seconds...snorkeling makes you hungry.
Read bobjps's full Carnival Fascination cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image mother8580@gmail.com
1 review
Mar 2016
Loved swimming with the turtles! About four large turtles swam with our group. The guides had food to keep them around. Lots of fish by the sunken ship to see, more by the coral then the ship itself. Water was lovely and so clear! Beach we went to swim at after snorkeling ok, nothing special, no chairs, or beach really.
Read mother8580@gmail.com's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Grahambragg
1 review
Mar 2016
great day out. Lots of people and only one turtle but that's not the cruise's fault
Read Grahambragg's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Chelly04
1 review
Mar 2016
Just amazing, excellent day and good value for money!
Read Chelly04's full Britannia cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image fambamcruisers
1 review
Feb 2016
We booked this excursion at the beach. I had read reviews of other cruisers. The beach is quite rough with broken coral washing up at the shore and hitting your feet. Once in the boat, we were fine. I got to swim with the turtles which was amazing. The kids stayed on the boat and could see the turtles. Our cab driver Marson (from Canada) was the best!!! If you're at the cruise port in Barbados, ask for Marson. Our cab ride from Paynes Bay and back cost us $40 total. Beach chairs and the Turtle swim cost us $50 total for all of us.
Read fambamcruisers's full Carnival Liberty cruise review
Provider: at Paynes Bay Beach
Member Image vinandpam
1 review
Jan 2016
this was the best excursion of our trip,the staff worked hard so you had a great time the lunch was good and had a great time on this tour.
Read vinandpam's full Carnival Liberty cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Kaldore
1 review
Dec 2015
Nice catamaran ride. The turtles were still swimming away in the ocean but the water was nice. The stop at the beach was great and you could swim to the reef to do some nice snorkeling.
Read Kaldore's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image grouchomarx
4 reviews
Nov 2015
Turtle snorkel was amazing! Never seen one before. Very gentle creatures.
Read grouchomarx's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Bobandclaire
1 review
Oct 2015
Booked a a snorkel tour called ultimate snorkel tour. It was really good first stop was to see the turtles get fed which was really good and got some great GoPro pictures and videos. Next we were onto a couple ship wreaks which were very interesting. After both of these we sailed back to port via Barbados city centre to see a couple of sights on boat. Offered rum punch on way back which was lovely. Once back we where fed food which we selected before we left for tour. Transport to and from cruise ship with time at end to have and walk around local shops.
Read Bobandclaire's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image barnes061805
2 reviews
Sep 2015
Tiami Sail, snorkel, and beach tour. It was very fun on the catamaran and snorkeling with the turtles was great. We saw many turtles and they came right up to us. Beautiful water and would definitely go to Barbados again.
Read barnes061805's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image luv2cruiseeverywhere
1 review
Jun 2015
Awesome tour. I am so glad I found his site and booked him. Well worth the money and he cares about his customers and the turtles. Great swimming with the turtles and snorkeling over the ship wrecks.
Read luv2cruiseeverywhere's full Carnival Liberty cruise review
Provider: Cliffsharker
Member Image Sailorgirl222
9 reviews
May 2015
We did the Sea Turtle and Shipwreck snorkel. It was awesome! The guides were very informative and helpful and the speed boat ride was exhilarating. I will have to say that you do need to be a strong swimmer for this one. I am, so I didn’t have any trouble. My friend is not a strong swimmer, so she had difficulty trying to get around with the currents. The guides were there in the water with floats in case anyone needed help. After the snorkeling, they take you to a beach but you don’t have much time there.
Read Sailorgirl222's full Carnival Liberty cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Roger@acc2.com
1 review
Apr 2015
Went to snorkle with sea turtles and some shallow wrecks then a cruise along the island with on board meal with plenty of "refreshments", then an added bonus of sightings of humpback whales. Great crew
Read Roger@acc2.com's full Carnival Liberty cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Purple Rooster
1 review
Apr 2015
We did the Five Star Catamaran and Turtle experience - not thrilled with it. It was a gloomy day and they put over 50 people on one catamaran. I was kind of bummed at first because we couldn't be up front, outside, but then it started pouring and I didn't mind where we were sitting. If you do decide to do this excursion and it looks like it might rain, make sure you don't bring too many things because whatever is left on the floor, gets wet. So I'd bring a waterproof bag or just bring your bathing suit and towel. They supply the snorkeling gear.
Read Purple Rooster's full Carnival Liberty cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image BajaQueen
1 review
Apr 2015
Absolutely loved swimming with the turtles. It was a bit of a zoo, though, because a number of other boats and catamarans carrying lots of tourists were also in the area doing the same thing. So at times it felt a little conjested. But I'm glad the other guide was in the water with us, because I had never snorkeled before in deep waters. So it took me some time to get acclimated to wearing the snorkel gear. The guide was a big help in this regard. Our boat owner wasnot very friendly. He didn't interact with us or have much to say. We would ask questions. He'd answer, but that was it. He seemed to just be going through the motion, on auto pilot, and could care less about conversing with us, the only two customers on the boat. His young assistant was the one who help us on and off the boat. The boat by the way was older and not very appealing.
Read BajaQueen's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image CruisingQueen88
1 review
Apr 2015
The excursion was good. Too many people on it though. We went on a catamaran out to where we snorkeled. We only saw two turtles but there were way too many people in the water at the same time for two turtles.
Read CruisingQueen88's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image jticarruthers
1 review
Mar 2015
Catamaran ride for about 30-40 mins to the dive site. Dive site looks like just plain sand but then the food scraps go in the water and the wild life closes in :) Ended up with 2 sea turtles, a ray, an eel, pufferfish, skate/flounder and a cloud of tropical fish in the water with us. Free beer/booze at the beach and on the hour or so sail back to the boat were appreciated.
Read jticarruthers's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Wareaglex5
1 review
Mar 2015
This was part of our $15 party boat ride from BoatYard which we rented from "Victor" and it was well worth the money. It was very fun, the boat provided you with snorkel equipment and the kids had a blast swimming with the turtles. *Note they do not like for you to chase the turtles, just swim with them. They didn't bite, just were curious. You CAN swim to the turtles from the beach if you are brave and have your own snorkel equipment. There were some people in the water that had swam from the beach. Go out there early, as the turtles do not stick around once they have gotten their daily meal.
Read Wareaglex5's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Victor
Member Image LJO90
1 review
Mar 2015
So amazing!!! We saw three different types of turtles and the one bigger type came right up over out legs and swam around us so close you could touch it. The guides were friendly and helpful, they showed me how to use my snorkel since it was my first time and they turned the boat around to rescue a ladies hat from the ocean and show us some stingrays that were swimming around near us.
Read LJO90's full Thomson Celebration cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image K&P<3Cruises
1 review
Mar 2015
We again booked a turtle excursion through the boat and ended up with the always wonderful Tiami catamaran company. Professional, clean boats with a friendly staff told us all about the island of Barbados during this ride. AND we saw turtles and mana rays during our snorkel and swim. GREAT time.
Read K&P<3Cruises's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image sand pirate
1 review
Not Rated
Dec 2014

Awesome excursion, one of our best ever! Lots of fish and turtles to see. Snorkeling the shipwreck was very fun. Our tour guides, "Dude" and "Curly", were exceptionally good. They really went the extra mile to make sure everyone was happy. The beach excursion was very nice! Once again, Dude and Curly made the event special. While the wife worshiped the sun, I sat in the shade and read a book. Our hosts came over to me no less than 4 times, offering rum punch and conversation. Good music, good vibe, awesome time. Would highly recommend to anyone.

Read sand pirate's full Quantum of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Tybro
8 reviews
Oct 2014

We did the turtle swim via a ship's excursion. The boat was okay, the actual swimming with the turtles was awesome and had we ended the trip there, they would get higher marks, but after the swim they took us 20 minutes out of the way to go to a beach. They took us to this desolate beach with nothing but an abandoned build site that was all broken down and graffiti everywhere. There was NOTHING there. No chairs, no bathrooms, no shade, not other people....nothing...and when we tried to go hide under a tree to get out of the blazing sun, we were told the trees drip a sap that will burn your skin. So we had to kill 45 minutes by sitting in the water just to keep from burning. If I had to do this again, I would book it through a local company and make sure you know which beach you're going to after the swim.

Read Tybro's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Lkolaja
1 review
Not Rated
May 2014

Incredible day. Just 6 of us on the boat. We swam with the turtles, snorkel ship wreck and spent hours on the beach and playing in the water. So glad we book independently because the cruise ship sponsored excursion showed up with about a 100 packed on the boat. Did I say there was six of us.

Read Lkolaja's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Glory Tours

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?