St. Thomas Island Tour Excursion Reviews

St. Thomas Island Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
See all the best of the beautiful St. Thomas with a guided tour of the immaculate island.
Member Image vamommyof3
1 review
May 2017
Very organized tour. Tour guide was great. Enjoyed Mountain Top. Magen's Bay is nice but not the best beach ever. They made us drag our own chairs to the area we wanted them and then we had to drag them back to get our $5 deposit back. Would not go back here. Rude people in gift shop.
Read vamommyof3's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image cleveld
1 review
Apr 2017
Open air vehicle so can be hot, but nice tour of the island with drinks along the way. Brenda and Franko are friendly and accommodating.
Read cleveld's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Brenda and Franko's Fun Tours
Member Image Kregsk
1 review
Apr 2017
Nice to see the island but nothing to write home about. Original plans to have a beach day were changed due to weather so it was nice to get out, move around and not be crowded like on the ship.
Read Kregsk's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Lizard~N~Grits
1 review
Apr 2017
We booked a custom tour with Air Force One Tours, and thoroughly enjoyed it!! Papa Bear was our tour guide, and was very informative, gracious, and hospitable. We had a group of 21 on the tour, we wanted to see the sights but wanted to geocache as well. We were able to do both! Highly recommend them.
Read Lizard~N~Grits's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Air Force One Tours
Member Image TnCamper
1 review
Apr 2017
5 star tour. We rode a open bus with a tour guide who explained everything about the island. We went to the top of the mountain. It was beautiful. The ride was very unique and a little scary. We then spent a couple hours at Maghan Bay. It was also beautiful. The end of the tour was at the shopping area. There are some nice stores to buy merchandise in.
Read TnCamper's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image kmarkarian
1 review
Apr 2017
The tour started with a trip to the highest point on the island, but in order to enjoy the view you are required to go through the large gift shop! Then the castle part of the tour isn't through a castle at all. It may be the site of the castle, but there wasn't any evidence of it. Very disappointing.
Read kmarkarian's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Coll1030
1 review
Mar 2017
Lovely tour of a beautiful island. Knowledgeable local guide who drove the narrow, winding streets with ease. Really enjoyed the tour in the air-conditioned car.
Read Coll1030's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: IMI booked through Shore Excursioneer
Member Image Miki&Marc
1 review
Mar 2017
Tour guide did not provide commentary after first five minutes. Banana dacquris were delicious
Read Miki&Marc's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image RohanE
1 review
Mar 2017
Fantastic guide. All tourist stops were not maintained. Very dirty. Rubbish everywhere. Great value for money.
Read RohanE's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image poinsettiaplate
2 reviews
Mar 2017
The guide was acceptable; he did not say enough. The roads were bumper to bumper although there were only 3 ships in port. the 'charming Caribbean-themed bazaar' was a big souvenir shop where we spent 30 minutes. I would not do this one again.
Read poinsettiaplate's full Koningsdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image kphillips71
1 review
Mar 2017
This was a great tour, we learned alot about the island from our tour guide. We even took a gondola ride!
Read kphillips71's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image KMLauer
1 review
Feb 2017
took 45 minutes standing in line, then a very long walk to get to the busses, another 15 minutes standing to get into a bus. Seems to be a pattern for bus tours.
Read KMLauer's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image teabot
1 review
Feb 2017
Hopped on an open-air wagon attached to a pickup, stopped at 3 shopping places selling usual touristy stuff, stopped at a couple of overlooks. Little to no historical narration by guide.
Read teabot's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image lnl67
1 review
Feb 2017
We visited on Valentine's Day and chose a combination shopping, island tour and beach break excursion with Sunny Liston. It was wonderful and we would definitely use them again. The staff was cheerful and knowledgeable. They accommodated our every need. As it was a holiday, they had a large number of people to manage. This brought some unique challenges that Sunny handled with ease. The tour stops were breathtaking and interesting.
Read lnl67's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Sunny Liston Tours
Member Image ElTeeCruise
2 reviews
Feb 2017
We went on the 5 Star Island Tour of St Thomas. What a rip off. The supposed scenic tour lasted about 15 minutes, one stop for photos and the rest of the time before the beach was spent at a large store. We were told that Magens Beach is the best beach in St Thomas. I hope not. If you hired a lounger or chair, you had to drag it yourself over a crowded beach with lots of tree roots. We paid someone to do that for us. You were meant to take them back and get your deposit back. We couldn't find the man and with the huge queue waiting to get back their deposits, we cut our losses and made sure we got to the trolley bus on time. Our fault for not starting to pack up earlier but with all this to sort out, you actually get very little time on the beach to relax. My advice is get a taxi and go straight to the beach. I will say that the trolley bus driver, Craig, was very good with my mother-in-law helping her off and on each time.
Read ElTeeCruise's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image leochen24551
2 reviews
Jan 2017
We enjoyed the airconditioned bus tour.
Read leochen24551's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image geekguy1
9 reviews
Jan 2017
An OK tour of the city, but we enjoyed the nature trail at Magen's Bay. We were impressed with the overall quality of the beach and will return on our own if we're ever back.
Read geekguy1's full Norwegian Breakaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Pattekat
1 review
Jan 2017
We took a very curvy bus tour (stopping along the way at scenic lookouts for breathtaking views) all the way up to Mountain Top, where we had the greatest banana daiquiri. On the way back down, we visited a botanical garden. The driver gave a nice commentary while he was driving. Nice tour.
Read Pattekat's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Gtimes7
1 review
Jan 2017
The driver was fun and informative. It was about a 2 1/2 hour tour and he took us right back to the ship afterwards. We thoroughly enjoyed it.
Read Gtimes7's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Open air taxi
Member Image bigtee907
1 review
Jan 2017
Got on a van outside the gate for a 2 hour island tour. It was really just a drive around the island with a few stops. The driver gave no information on anything at all, very poorly done
Read bigtee907's full Oosterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image speedykitty
1 review
Jan 2017
We went over to Cinnamon Bay in St. John.
Read speedykitty's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image kagaines
1 review
Dec 2016
Sunny is a very colorful personality who made our excursion stand out. He was having a great time by showing us a great time. He provided free beverages throughout the 5 hours. We rode a safari-type mini bus to the mountain top with photo stops along the way, stopped in the major shopping area, and on to Megan Bay Beach, described as being among the top 10 beaches in the world. The scenery was wonderful, and Sunny was able to go into great detail explaining the historical significance of the different buildings, etc. The beach was the best part. There are showers, lockers, restrooms, a restaurant, and beach rentals for lounge chairs, kayaks, paddle boards. Picnic tables and shelters, too. I would do this again. Very inexpensive. I paid $49!
Read kagaines's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Sunny Liston
Member Image 9K35
4 reviews
Dec 2016
Absolutely awful. A disinterested guide on a dirty unsafe vehicle. Our first time booking an excursion with the cruise line, and it will likely be our last.
Read 9K35's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image AnyNameNotYetTaken
3 reviews
Dec 2016
IMI St. Thomas Island Overview. We were asked to show up ten minutes before the official tour start, but the tour driver/guide showed up a half an hour late having us running around afraid we were in the wrong place. This unsettling experience is what prompted me to give this a poor rating while actually the tour itself was very interesting and informative. This was a two-hour orientation tour of St. Thomas, with stops at some of the island's highlights and exciting views of the island itself.
Read AnyNameNotYetTaken's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: IMI
Member Image restoredbygrace
1 review
Dec 2016
Did this one on a whim. Had gotten off the ship to do some self exploring & while trying to figure out where to have a taxi take us we were offered this tour for $25 each. Tour was roughly 3-1/2 hours in total. We were given a choice of being dropped off in town for shopping or dropped at Magen's Bay beach for an hour and a half. We went to Magen's Bay & enjoyed some fun in the sun for a bit before the tour bus came to pick us back up.
Read restoredbygrace's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: unknown

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?