Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

St. Thomas Dolphin Swim Excursion Reviews

St. Thomas Dolphin Swim cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Receive a dolphin kiss, hug, or “fin” shake on an unforgettable dolphin swim through St. Thomas’ enclosed waters.
Member Image Cruisin_thru_life44
1 review
Feb 2014

Our first stop was St. Thomas. We booked the Dolphin Discovery tour with carnival. It got good reviews and did not disappoint. While the travel to/from the sight of the dolphins is long, it is well worth it! Just the girls swam with the dolphins, as my wife and I went just to observe. Just a note that Carnival does not advertise the "observation only" ticket for this excursion but it is available at the excursion desk on board. It is a cheaper ticket and they do allow the observers to take pictures! Overall it is a beautiful place to spend the day and the girls had an experience of a lifetime!

Read Cruisin_thru_life44's full Carnival Valor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image kshear53
1 review
Feb 2014

We took the dolphin swim excursion in St. Thomas and had a disappointing experience. We were in the water for about one hour but our "hands on" personal time with the dauphin was about 4 minutes as we were RUSHED through our pictures. We had one dauphin for 12 people. The Celebrity cruise attendees, paid the same fee of $169 and got 3 dolphins for 12 people. They remained in the water about an hour longer than the Norwegian attendees with hands on the dolphins the entire time. This gave them about 50 minutes of "hands on" with a dolphin to our approximately 4 minutes. We were told that the dolphin swim company does not favor Norwegian Cruise Line. If you book this excursion through Norwegian you might also be disappointed in your rushed experience!

Read kshear53's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Shep10
1 review
Mar 2013
Dolphin swim part 5 + Too long of a trip by boat there and back Expensive No lunch provided
Read Shep10's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image rapvm16932
1 review
Feb 2013
Had a fantastic time. The ride over to the Dolphin swim was great. We got to swim about an hour.
Read rapvm16932's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image spideyswims
2 reviews
Nov 2012
We were very pleased that we booked this tour. To get in he water with the dolphins, albeit in enclosed pens, was fantastic. Being advised that we cold not take photos was understandable, we knew this meant that the ones taken by the organisers would be sold at a premium, the cost was $100 for about 100 photos on disc and 2 printed. The journey to and from the port, the excursion was to he British Virgin Islands, was also pleasant.
Read spideyswims's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image lostheart2sea
1 review
Oct 2012
This is an expensive tour, but well worth every penny spent. Swimming with the Dolphins is a very exciting and memorable thing to do. They are very intelligent, and gentle, with incredible personalities. You do have an hour ride in a water taxi over to Tortola, and you do have to surrender your passport to get it stamped, and have to fill out a customs form for the British island. The return trip also means you have to go through American customs, which is not as pleasant as going through the British customs. The American customs feels more police state and not as friendly as their British counterparts.
Read lostheart2sea's full Carnival Liberty cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image TexCruiser00
1 review
May 2012
Our 30 minutes in the water with the dolphins was truly amazing and a wonderful experience that I hope to do again someday. However, I would not do it in St. Thomas again only because the actual dolphin swim is on the island of Tortola, which is a British island. So, we had to take a 1 hour ferry ride to get there, fill out custom forms and go through customs before we could take a short bus ride to the dolphin center. Once there, we watched an orientation video and got our life jackets on and then the group of about 60 people or so were split up into smaller groups of 10 and all taken to different areas to swim with a dolphin. So, that was great. It was 1 dolphin to 10 people so we really got to have some time with them. They take a lot of photos and spend a lot of time after the swim getting you to look at them and buy the cd of pictures. We bought two prints for $50 which is pretty steep I think! They had lunch but you had to pay for it so we opted to wait until we got back to the ship. So, after a short bus ride back to the pier we boarded the ferry for another 1 hour trip. Upon arriving at St. Thomas, we had to unload to go through US customs and then get back on the ferry to get back to the ship. Like I said, I would swim with dolphins again but not from St. Thomas.
Read TexCruiser00's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image skidy1
1 review
Sep 2011
We didn't see much of St Thomas as we opted to do a Dolphin excursion - this was amazing value for money and a must do in the Caribbean! The Dolphins were in their natural environment and sempt really happy, we got to perform a large variety of tricks with them such as kiss, shake hands, and more extreme tricks like the push (Two Dolphins push your feet and propel you along).
Read skidy1's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.