Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

St. Thomas Catamaran Tour Excursion Reviews

St. Thomas Catamaran Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Take to the seas on a private catamaran charter to experience the bliss of St. Thomas' scenic coastline and crystal blue waters. To add more adventure to your day, choose an excursion that offers snorkeling and other activities as well!
Member Image Carlo and Erin
1 review
Jan 2016
catamaran rides in 3 different ports.. each one more beautiful than the last, saw sea turtles, drank rum, snorkeled and even fell asleep relaxing in the sun while the music played.. beautiful views of every island.. a must do
Read Carlo and Erin's full Norwegian Breakaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image EMartinez
1 review
Dec 2015
Castaway Girl this is a wonderful experience for the first time snorkelers. Ben was a great tour guide in the water. The staff on the boat are fun and make the trip entertaining.
Read EMartinez's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image lesliecrcbb
2 reviews
Oct 2015
Captain Teresa seemed capable and in control. She was grateful to us for choosing her excursion. When her staff gave instruction or advice, they were respectful and listened. My husband snorkeled, I watched. I saw a big turtle. He didn't!
Read lesliecrcbb's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image pretykym
3 reviews
Sep 2015
castaway sail and snorkel on the castaway girl. Loved this crew!! they were very attentive and knowledgeable. Very safety conscious but made sure everyone enjoyed their time.
Read pretykym's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Suechee11
1 review
Jul 2015
Castaway Girl - great crew - very informative and welcoming. The snorkelling was pretty good. Cat ride out a bit rough, but not too bad.
Read Suechee11's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image drina@optonline.net
2 reviews
Jun 2015
Excellent all around
Read drina@optonline.net's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image marclr
1 review
Jun 2015
Nice crew, fun boat ride to snorkeling and to a nice beach.
Read marclr's full Disney Fantasy cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image Narmak
1 review
May 2015
Really cool...staff was great...we took the Champaigne Catamaran tour to St. John. Definitely worth doing for $99...served lots of run and bread and fruit
Read Narmak's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Raguilsh
1 review
May 2015
Beautiful experience and scenery. Aside from the transportation to the harbor (fun if your adventurous) this excursion is a Must. If your not into water sports... the experience alone is worth it. Beautiful Honeymoon Beach...WOW!!
Read Raguilsh's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image pxy cda
5 reviews
Apr 2015
One of the best times we`ve had in St Thomas. 2 snorkel stops (snorkelling was not that great as they had a storm the day before) but sailing was impeccable and Captain Eric was full of amazing information about the surrounding sites. Lots of great pirate stories. First Mate Drew took excellent care of us, keeping us in drinks and smiles on our faces all day long.
Read pxy cda's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Wasabi
Member Image singsong01
3 reviews
Apr 2015
Another great excursion! The crew were great. The description of the excursion said we would snorkel for an hour and a half, but we only did it for 40 minutes so that was a little disappointing. There were also a lot of us and there was another catamaran there too, so it was pretty crowded and you kept running into people.
Read singsong01's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image BirdTravels
3 reviews
Apr 2015
2 Stop Snorkel by Catamaran Twice as Nice is Three Times the Fun! This was a truly amazing adventure. First, Captain Val and her crew of the Stars and Stripes did an awesome job at making this a great trip. The boat was new, modern, clean and well maintained. From the minute we got onboard, to the minute we got off, the crew catered to every passenger. The water was warm and the snorkeling was great. We enjoyed the sun, juice, and soda on the one hour trip out to Buck Island. We snorkeled for 30 minutes over a ship wreck in Shipwreck Cove. The crew was in the water providing a history of the wreck and pointing out things to see. Then, we sailed around the island to Turtle Bay. This was actually two stops in one. The crew was in the water locating turtles in the grassy bottom. Then, they took us over the reef which was a totally different experience teaming with tropical fish. On the trip back to St. Thomas, the crew raised the sails, turned off the motor and sailed all the way back to dock. On the way back, the crew served Painkillers (rum, pineapple juice, orange juice, cream of coconut), sodas, and snacks. Outstanding service! Highly recommended.
Read BirdTravels's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image drella77
1 review
Apr 2015
Good times with Captain Joe & his crew (especially the lovely Susanne!) The only bummer on this tour was not enough time at St. Johns. Had to take a 20-25 min ride to get to the catamaran and an hour to get to St. Johns.....but the beer and champagne was flowing on the way back! The crew took good care of us!!
Read drella77's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Red Rooster
1 review
Apr 2015
Captain Bill was awesome, we spent the day sailing, fishing and snorkling. The weather was just perfect. The trip included open bar and snacks (Crakers, Cheese etc )
Read Red Rooster's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Tribal IV
Member Image kwebster58
4 reviews
Mar 2015
We started in St. Thomas at the main pier. We were the only ship in port (I think because of it being a Sunday). I did a 6 1/2 hour day trip to St. John offered by the ship. I loved this excursion because it gave me lots of time at Trunk Bay. PS, you can rent low rise beach chairs at Trunk Bay for a reasonable rate.
Read kwebster58's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image lv2gowu
3 reviews
Mar 2015
Stars and Stripes took us to two different snorkel spots off Buck island. One had sea turtles the other had ship wreck and both had fish!!! The crew was nice and helpful and the drinks were offered a plenty. They are especially good at involving everyone tot he level they like and cute with kids on board.
Read lv2gowu's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image maritimeweb
1 review
Mar 2015
FastCat tour provided snorkelling, beach break and alcoholic drinks. Very Good. The tour left from the same pier the ship was docked at. Expect to get kicked in the water since there are other boats crowded in one snorkel area.
Read maritimeweb's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image rbschultz
1 review
Feb 2015

Our tour to Honeymoon Beach on our catamaran was awesome. After snorkeling they let the drinks FLOW. The ship looked brand new and the crew was stellar. This was the St Johns half day champagne catamaran something or other.

Read rbschultz's full Quantum of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image CrabbyHarper
12 reviews
Feb 2015

We took the two-site snorkel tour on the Castaway Girl. We had taken this tour previously and loved it. This time, DH saw almost enough turtles to satisfy his turtle-loving brain! I do not snorkel, but paddled around with a noodle on the first stop. Getting back into the boat was extremely difficult for me as I am pampering a hip replacement, so I did not swim at the second site.

The boat is rated for 80 people bu the Coast Guard and it was VERY full. I don't think the boat should book that many people because there was little to no place for a lot of people to sit.

Since our last trip on this boat, the crew has improved safety procedures, including hand signals for safety in the water. I was very impressed. The trip was fun, and the rum flowed after everyone was out of the water.

Kudos to the crew for professionalism and personality!

Read CrabbyHarper's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image kimbavan
3 reviews
Jan 2015

Castaway girl was our excursion booked through NCL. It did not disappoint! A beautiful catamaran took us out to snorkel and visit a shipwreck. The crew and captain were marvelous. Our only disappointment is was that it was too short. Actual snorkel time was less then an hour. The captain set up sail on the way back. The rum punch flowed and it was delicious. This is a definite must see. You will get a picture of the ship in all its glory from this lovely boat.

On the way back from the snorkeling we stopped at Senior Frogs right next to the ship. Wow this is a huge watering hole. You must be open minded here. We celebrated my sons birthday. The filled his belly with man of shots including a half of a bottle. He was used as a prop, but what the heck...he thoroughly enjoyed it as any young 25 year old male would.

Read kimbavan's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image kimloveslarry
2 reviews
Dec 2014
The sunset cruise I would highly recommend. It is easy going and laid back and beautiful!
Read kimloveslarry's full Carnival Conquest cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image MaverickPrincess
1 review
Dec 2014

It was fun. The third world nature of the island was surprising. When the catamarin brought up back, they just dropped us off and were done with us. We still had to catch a bus for a half hour drive back to the ship. We had a hard time finding a bus that would take us back to the ship.This was not fun, in this third world scene.

Read MaverickPrincess's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image steelercop
1 review
Not Rated
Dec 2014

Very friendly and knowledgeable. Steel band on board was great. The beach area we went to was fabulous!

Read steelercop's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image bortzct
3 reviews
Not Rated
Dec 2014

We booked the St John Champaign Catamaran and Snorkle excursion. I would highly recommend this for teenagers and adults. We were shuttled in an open air bus to a marina and met up with our friendly crew. We got to sit on the deck with our feet dangling over the side as we glided acrossed the water to St John. The sights just sailing would have been a nice excurision by itself! We anchored about 150 ft from a beach so we could snorkle. You had the choice of jumping off the side of the ship or climbing down a 6 rung ladder into the ocean. The snorkling was ok - we did see a sting ray and some colorful fish. The only thing that might have made it better was if the crew got in the water with feed sticks to help draw more fish into the area. After snorkling we climbed back on the ship and sailed back to the marina sipping on yummy rum punch and champaign. This excursion was the perfect length of time and does not leave you totally wiped out for the rest of the day.

Read bortzct's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Hoopsters95
3 reviews
Dec 2014

ST. THOMAS, US Virgin Islands is lovely. We got up early to join a shore excursion--"Fast Cat, 2 Island Snorkeling Safari and Beach Getaway". The large catamaran was packed to the gills but the entertaining crew worked hard to make it an enjoyable day.

Read Hoopsters95's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

 
Have you taken a cruise before?
Thank you!

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.