Become a Cruise Insider
Tips, deals and more in your inbox.
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

St. Thomas Catamaran Tour Excursion Reviews

St. Thomas Catamaran Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Take to the seas on a private catamaran charter to experience the bliss of St. Thomas' scenic coastline and crystal blue waters. To add more adventure to your day, choose an excursion that offers snorkeling and other activities as well!
Member Image marclr
1 review
Jun 2015
Nice crew, fun boat ride to snorkeling and to a nice beach.
Read marclr's full Disney Fantasy cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image Narmak
1 review
May 2015
Really cool...staff was great...we took the Champaigne Catamaran tour to St. John. Definitely worth doing for $99...served lots of run and bread and fruit
Read Narmak's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Raguilsh
1 review
May 2015
Beautiful experience and scenery. Aside from the transportation to the harbor (fun if your adventurous) this excursion is a Must. If your not into water sports... the experience alone is worth it. Beautiful Honeymoon Beach...WOW!!
Read Raguilsh's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image pxy cda
5 reviews
Apr 2015
One of the best times we`ve had in St Thomas. 2 snorkel stops (snorkelling was not that great as they had a storm the day before) but sailing was impeccable and Captain Eric was full of amazing information about the surrounding sites. Lots of great pirate stories. First Mate Drew took excellent care of us, keeping us in drinks and smiles on our faces all day long.
Read pxy cda's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Wasabi
Member Image singsong01
2 reviews
Apr 2015
Another great excursion! The crew were great. The description of the excursion said we would snorkel for an hour and a half, but we only did it for 40 minutes so that was a little disappointing. There were also a lot of us and there was another catamaran there too, so it was pretty crowded and you kept running into people.
Read singsong01's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image drella77
1 review
Apr 2015
Good times with Captain Joe & his crew (especially the lovely Susanne!) The only bummer on this tour was not enough time at St. Johns. Had to take a 20-25 min ride to get to the catamaran and an hour to get to St. Johns.....but the beer and champagne was flowing on the way back! The crew took good care of us!!
Read drella77's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Red Rooster
1 review
Apr 2015
Captain Bill was awesome, we spent the day sailing, fishing and snorkling. The weather was just perfect. The trip included open bar and snacks (Crakers, Cheese etc )
Read Red Rooster's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Tribal IV
Member Image kwebster58
3 reviews
Mar 2015
We started in St. Thomas at the main pier. We were the only ship in port (I think because of it being a Sunday). I did a 6 1/2 hour day trip to St. John offered by the ship. I loved this excursion because it gave me lots of time at Trunk Bay. PS, you can rent low rise beach chairs at Trunk Bay for a reasonable rate.
Read kwebster58's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image lv2gowu
3 reviews
Mar 2015
Stars and Stripes took us to two different snorkel spots off Buck island. One had sea turtles the other had ship wreck and both had fish!!! The crew was nice and helpful and the drinks were offered a plenty. They are especially good at involving everyone tot he level they like and cute with kids on board.
Read lv2gowu's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image maritimeweb
1 review
Mar 2015
FastCat tour provided snorkelling, beach break and alcoholic drinks. Very Good. The tour left from the same pier the ship was docked at. Expect to get kicked in the water since there are other boats crowded in one snorkel area.
Read maritimeweb's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image rbschultz
1 review
Feb 2015

Our tour to Honeymoon Beach on our catamaran was awesome. After snorkeling they let the drinks FLOW. The ship looked brand new and the crew was stellar. This was the St Johns half day champagne catamaran something or other.

Read rbschultz's full Quantum of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image CrabbyHarper
11 reviews
Feb 2015

We took the two-site snorkel tour on the Castaway Girl. We had taken this tour previously and loved it. This time, DH saw almost enough turtles to satisfy his turtle-loving brain! I do not snorkel, but paddled around with a noodle on the first stop. Getting back into the boat was extremely difficult for me as I am pampering a hip replacement, so I did not swim at the second site.

The boat is rated for 80 people bu the Coast Guard and it was VERY full. I don't think the boat should book that many people because there was little to no place for a lot of people to sit.

Since our last trip on this boat, the crew has improved safety procedures, including hand signals for safety in the water. I was very impressed. The trip was fun, and the rum flowed after everyone was out of the water.

Kudos to the crew for professionalism and personality!

Read CrabbyHarper's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image kimbavan
3 reviews
Jan 2015

Castaway girl was our excursion booked through NCL. It did not disappoint! A beautiful catamaran took us out to snorkel and visit a shipwreck. The crew and captain were marvelous. Our only disappointment is was that it was too short. Actual snorkel time was less then an hour. The captain set up sail on the way back. The rum punch flowed and it was delicious. This is a definite must see. You will get a picture of the ship in all its glory from this lovely boat.

On the way back from the snorkeling we stopped at Senior Frogs right next to the ship. Wow this is a huge watering hole. You must be open minded here. We celebrated my sons birthday. The filled his belly with man of shots including a half of a bottle. He was used as a prop, but what the heck...he thoroughly enjoyed it as any young 25 year old male would.

Read kimbavan's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image MaverickPrincess
1 review
Dec 2014

It was fun. The third world nature of the island was surprising. When the catamarin brought up back, they just dropped us off and were done with us. We still had to catch a bus for a half hour drive back to the ship. We had a hard time finding a bus that would take us back to the ship.This was not fun, in this third world scene.

Read MaverickPrincess's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image steelercop
1 review
Not Rated
Dec 2014

Very friendly and knowledgeable. Steel band on board was great. The beach area we went to was fabulous!

Read steelercop's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image bortzct
3 reviews
Not Rated
Dec 2014

We booked the St John Champaign Catamaran and Snorkle excursion. I would highly recommend this for teenagers and adults. We were shuttled in an open air bus to a marina and met up with our friendly crew. We got to sit on the deck with our feet dangling over the side as we glided acrossed the water to St John. The sights just sailing would have been a nice excurision by itself! We anchored about 150 ft from a beach so we could snorkle. You had the choice of jumping off the side of the ship or climbing down a 6 rung ladder into the ocean. The snorkling was ok - we did see a sting ray and some colorful fish. The only thing that might have made it better was if the crew got in the water with feed sticks to help draw more fish into the area. After snorkling we climbed back on the ship and sailed back to the marina sipping on yummy rum punch and champaign. This excursion was the perfect length of time and does not leave you totally wiped out for the rest of the day.

Read bortzct's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Hoopsters95
3 reviews
Dec 2014

ST. THOMAS, US Virgin Islands is lovely. We got up early to join a shore excursion--"Fast Cat, 2 Island Snorkeling Safari and Beach Getaway". The large catamaran was packed to the gills but the entertaining crew worked hard to make it an enjoyable day.

Read Hoopsters95's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image HoosierCruiseFamily
1 review
Oct 2014

Sailed on catamaran Stars & Stripes to small island about 30 minutes away. Sailing over and back was fun and relaxing. The boat made two stops for snorkeling at the same small island. First was to scope out a sunken ship wreck and the other was to see sea turtles. Visibility was poor so we didn't see fish. At the second stop we did spot a couple of small turtles.

Read HoosierCruiseFamily's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image cruznbuddies
1 review
Not Rated
Oct 2014

Same as above, it was a catamaran sail to Turtle Cove off Buck Island Very good - saw lots of Green Sea Turtles, some stingrays and loads of fish. Very good.

Read cruznbuddies's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image SealR
1 review
Aug 2014

We took the Power Cat and Snorkeling trip…really great trip! We snorkeled at Buck Island with turtles and then went to Honeymoon beach for beach time. The trip was approximately 4 hours. The boat staff were great- informative, helpful, made amazing drinks after snorkeling and wanted everyone to have fun. Our kids really loved this excursion. We wished the snorkeling portion was longer than what was offered. St. Thomas was beautiful this was a highlight of the trip--and US territory made it that much easier to navigate. The value for the money was good--just wish there was a little more time.

Read SealR's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image kjclark1
1 review
Aug 2014

Was taken on a catamaran we didn't book. Bait and Switch!

Read kjclark1's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image doglover3336
1 review
Aug 2014

The catamaran trip to St John was great. It was very safe and the captain knew what she was doing. The crew was nice and helpful. They do shamelessly ask for tips but they were worth the tip and it was no problem to give them one.

St Thomas harbor is beautiful but the town is really poor.

Read doglover3336's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Leezanne
1 review
Jul 2014

Took the Champange catamaran snorkel excursion & LOVED it. Great crew, wonderful snorkeling. Drinks and snacks provided.

Read Leezanne's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image kwalk55
1 review
Not Rated
May 2014

Champagne catamaran was so much fun. Again the staff was amazing. They were energetic and entertaining. We snorkeled but you don't have to. Lots to drink and nice snacks of cheese and fruit and bread on the way back after the water activities. Our whole group of 13 people did this excursion and most said it was their favorite one.

Read kwalk55's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image epearson81
1 review
Not Rated
Mar 2014

this was a great excursion. very well priced at about $56 pp and got an AMAZING catamaran ride out to trunk bay with some great snorkel time, I would say about 40minutes of pure snorkel. afterwards you get lots of rum punch with an amazing crew! definitely suggest for great day out on the water!!

Read epearson81's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image murraync
7 reviews
Not Rated
Dec 2013

Booked through NCL the Castaway Snorkel excursion. Great fun! Went on Castaway Girl #3- crew was Amber, Steph, Ryan and Josh. They did a great job getting us to snorkel site - great gear and instructions - clean and big catamaran - then they broke us up into smaller groups to tour with a guide and the guides really did a great job pointing out things and educating us on what was around us. Great tour and great job. Of course we all had fun on the sail back to port and the water, sodas, and rum punch made it all the more fun! Highly recommend this group!

Read murraync's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Ines & Volker
2 reviews
Not Rated
Dec 2013

In St. Thomas we had a 5+ excursion booked through NCL. It was the Powercat Snorkel & Beach Tour. After an hour snorkeling with turtles at Buck Island we boarded the catamaran again to breathtaking Honeymoon Beach on Water Island. And they had a very delicious "Pain Killer". After the excursion we had a little time left for shopping in the port.

Read Ines & Volker's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image joannsluv@aol.com
1 review
Not Rated
Dec 2013

St John's Half Day snorkle was a great fun and exciting ride to and from the docks. The open aired bus had to travel some very old and scary back roads to get us to their dock. Once on the catamaran, (44 people). we were briefed on safety and set off for St John's.. Out ride there was awesome and very exciting as the captain rode us into the choppy waves giving us a gtrue feeling of sailing. The secluded area where we snorkled was filled with sea turtles, sting rays, all kinds of fish and beautiful coral.. Yes we actually had a barracuda stop by as some of the people forgot to take off their shinny jewelry..Go figure??...The time there was about 2 hours.. The ride home was enjoyable and drinks (champagne & rum) and snacks were served. We were picked up immediately and taken back to the ship after a great experience.

Read joannsluv@aol.com's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image mojomorris
15 reviews
Nov 2013

The catamaran & snorkel trip to St John on that warm sunny day was enjoyable. DW stayed on board the catamaran and read her book while I snorkeled. The crew was proficient and informative - I enjoyed it quite a bit although I wish the snorkel time was longer. After the snorkeling, the drinks, snacks and rum punch came out.

Read mojomorris's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image aurorastorm
1 review
Jul 2013

This tour was not one I was looking forward to because I have never been snorkeling and wouldn't you know it, this wound up being my favorite tour. The people that ran this tour, were friendly and very funny. The snorkeling was fun, some big turtles were seen. After snorkeling went to a private beach, food and rum punch, adults and kids all had a fun, relaxing afternoon.

Read aurorastorm's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image robare02
1 review
Mar 2013
Supper crew , great snorkel tour and diver!! good rum punch.
Read robare02's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image jcvcruiser
2 reviews
Mar 2013
We had a wonderful time aboard the Adventuress Champagne Catamaran. The crew was delightful and helpful. St. John is beautiful to visit - Honeymoon beach is very pretty, but the snorkeling was less than desireable. We hardly saw any fish on this snorkel trip.
Read jcvcruiser's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Jodi Morris
2 reviews
Mar 2013
The catamaran ride was fun for the kids, but the snorkeling was bogus. There were very few fish to see, and they felt it was not worth the time or money. St Thomas is great. We have toured the island in the past (quite an experience). The stops they do so you can take pictures is worth it, but the taxis leave something to be desired. The shopping is great when you go into town and it is very quaint.
Read Jodi Morris's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image rhonda819
2 reviews
Feb 2013
Took the St John Champagne Catamaran Sail & Snorkel: Sail Boat ride was wonderful, snorkeling was great. Staff was very friendly. Plenty of drinks on the ride back, with cheese and crackets and fruit. Wonderful time.
Read rhonda819's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Algebralovr
4 reviews
Feb 2013
Following a relatively short ride to the boat, we embarked on a 30 minute or so trip to a nearby island where we were given snorkeling equipment and allowed about 60 minutes. The tour operator described the area well, including where not to go, and gave a quick orientation to the equipment. A beach was available, but it was very small and not really designed for spending time on. The operator was reasonably well prepared for emergencies, with a large first aid kit, including an AED device.
Read Algebralovr's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image JArsenal
2 reviews
Nov 2012
We arrived in St. Thomas, I was up early to watch us dock and take lots of pictures. I do have to say disembarking and embarking this ship is so easy to do. To move that many people off the ship and on the ship is incredible that it runs so smooth. I went on the Champagne Catamaran Sail and Snorkel to St. John. Out of all the visits to the Eastern Caribbean that I've made, this was the most fun I've ever had. I highly recommend this excursion.
Read JArsenal's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image n2tpa
2 reviews
Nov 2012
The sail was peaceful, the snorkeling very nice, the crew was very helpful and friendly and didn't beg too much for tips, the drinks flowed freely once snorkeling ended and the water was spectacular. The only drawback was that of the 4-1/2 hour excursion, we lost 2 hours to driving. The actual "in the water" time was about 45 minutes.
Read n2tpa's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Cindy
14 reviews
Nov 2012
We took the Champagne Catamaran Sail and Snorkel to St. John. We hadn't been to St. John, and we thought it would be a good idea to get away from St. Thomas since there were 7 ships in port the day we were there. This excursion was good, but it would have been a LOT better if there wasn't a very long (30+ minute) transfer to the marina on an open air bus. The transfer made our four hour excursion last more than 5 hours, and and the (lack of) organization getting us back to port was inexcusable. We stood in the sun for well over 15 minutes while bus after bus passed us by.
Read Cindy's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image rotorhead1
1 review
Oct 2012
Castaway Girl. Water 85 degrees. Not the same Buck Island off St Croix.
Read rotorhead1's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image rlrs88
2 reviews
Sep 2012
Great time was had by all. The Rum punch had plenty of PUNCH, but no flavor. Finger foods were cheesy!!!!!
Read rlrs88's full Carnival Victory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Rational Adult
1 review
Aug 2012

Our trip did not include lunch. It was a fabulous excursion and the crew was so much fun. They were all around their 20's and were Americans. They made the experience a good one and said they did so so that they "didn't have to go back to the states and get a real job." Great job! So much fun and wonderful snorkeling! They're in the water with you to make sure they point out things you shouldn't miss.

Read Rational Adult's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image dbmm
2 reviews
Aug 2012
Nice catamaran ride to St. John. There was a good variety of fish. Some people saw turtles. I saw a stingray!
Read dbmm's full Carnival Miracle cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image papa deuce
1 review
Jun 2012
Castaway Girl.... nice, but not many fish.... in St. Thomas
Read papa deuce's full Carnival Valor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image MomcruiserMO
1 review
May 2012
Great time! Rum punch killer, be careful .
Read MomcruiserMO's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image LuvDCaribbean
5 reviews
Apr 2012
Castaway Girl catamaran tour to the sunken ship. We saw a couple whales which was a huge bonus, and they where pretty close to our little catamaran. The snorkeling was not the greatest, but the trip was sure fun.
Read LuvDCaribbean's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image jlat
1 review
Apr 2012
Great time, lots of sea life. Crew was first rate. Nice rum punch for the sail back
Read jlat's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Melissa1445
1 review
Apr 2012
Took a private catamaran trip with our 5 adults. Great way to relax and get away from the crowds. You actually get to experience sealife without alot of people around you. Better than getting on a CATTLEmaran. Snorkeled around St. Johns and spent 7 hours sailing which was great.
Read Melissa1445's full Carnival Victory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image series02
3 reviews
Mar 2012
Good snorking, super staff, plenty of booze.
Read series02's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image SailingFromIndiana
1 review
Mar 2012
The was our first Catamaran trip and it was so relaxing! They met us at the pier and took us off for St. John. We sailed to Honeymoon Beach where we could snorkel or sun on the beach. The water was very clear! Not a lot to see snorkeling, but since this was our first time, what fish we did see were amazing! The crew of the catamaran was very funny and informative, giving us the history of the area and the beach, as well as any lessons on how to snorkel. The rum punch was good too!
Read SailingFromIndiana's full Carnival Victory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image MERCE4
1 review
Mar 2012
Champagne sail to St. John was awesome!
Read MERCE4's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Grandama Gail
3 reviews
Mar 2012
Third time on this excursion. A really fun time. Great snorkeling and even better Rum Punch (after snorkeling). Good lunch and an even better crew. Don't think you could have a better time anywhere else.
Read Grandama Gail's full Enchantment of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image partyelf
1 review
Mar 2012
It was ok. Many boats thru other cruise ships, went out before our little privately booked excursion did - which is unusual with the way they cattle you and make you wait. So that was disappointing. Then we sailed over, which took longer than motoring to the site. We dropped anchor at the last buoy in the area and it was mobbed. Then we had just 45 min to snorkel. At bit of disappointment. Crew was nice. Snacks and drink were as advertised - granola bars, pretzels, rum punch, beer or soda.
Read partyelf's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Fury
Member Image lancashirejojo
1 review
Mar 2012
Catamaran tour was good fun and reasonable for the money paid.As we had been here before we then just walked into town and did a little shopping(avoiding all the jewellery shops),then we walked back to the ship.
Read lancashirejojo's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image BellBoys
3 reviews
Feb 2012
The catamaran to St. John to snorkel in Honeymoon Bay was great. We were in port with 7 other ships so immediately after snorkeling we came back to the ship as downtown was crowded. So our '5' rating is for the excursion and not the port.
Read BellBoys's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image c85f9
3 reviews
Feb 2012
Loved the Champagne Catamaran sail to St. John. Would recommend this excursion in a heartbeat.
Read c85f9's full Carnival Victory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image PrincessEliteCruiser
1 review
Dec 2011
Although some rain, the provider did a good job. The Catamaran was very stable. The crew were fun.
Read PrincessEliteCruiser's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image family4nj
1 review
Nov 2011
Powered by Cat, great tour, great staff. good direction. this one is worth the money.
Read family4nj's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.