Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

St. Thomas Catamaran Tour Excursion Reviews

St. Thomas Catamaran Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Take to the seas on a private catamaran charter to experience the bliss of St. Thomas' scenic coastline and crystal blue waters. To add more adventure to your day, choose an excursion that offers snorkeling and other activities as well!
Member Image HoosierCruiseFamily
1 review
Oct 2014

Sailed on catamaran Stars & Stripes to small island about 30 minutes away. Sailing over and back was fun and relaxing. The boat made two stops for snorkeling at the same small island. First was to scope out a sunken ship wreck and the other was to see sea turtles. Visibility was poor so we didn't see fish. At the second stop we did spot a couple of small turtles.

Read HoosierCruiseFamily's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image cruznbuddies
1 review
Not Rated
Oct 2014

Same as above, it was a catamaran sail to Turtle Cove off Buck Island Very good - saw lots of Green Sea Turtles, some stingrays and loads of fish. Very good.

Read cruznbuddies's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image SealR
1 review
Aug 2014

We took the Power Cat and Snorkeling trip…really great trip! We snorkeled at Buck Island with turtles and then went to Honeymoon beach for beach time. The trip was approximately 4 hours. The boat staff were great- informative, helpful, made amazing drinks after snorkeling and wanted everyone to have fun. Our kids really loved this excursion. We wished the snorkeling portion was longer than what was offered. St. Thomas was beautiful this was a highlight of the trip--and US territory made it that much easier to navigate. The value for the money was good--just wish there was a little more time.

Read SealR's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image kjclark1
1 review
Aug 2014

Was taken on a catamaran we didn't book. Bait and Switch!

Read kjclark1's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image doglover3336
1 review
Aug 2014

The catamaran trip to St John was great. It was very safe and the captain knew what she was doing. The crew was nice and helpful. They do shamelessly ask for tips but they were worth the tip and it was no problem to give them one.

St Thomas harbor is beautiful but the town is really poor.

Read doglover3336's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Leezanne
1 review
Jul 2014

Took the Champange catamaran snorkel excursion & LOVED it. Great crew, wonderful snorkeling. Drinks and snacks provided.

Read Leezanne's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image kwalk55
1 review
Not Rated
May 2014

Champagne catamaran was so much fun. Again the staff was amazing. They were energetic and entertaining. We snorkeled but you don't have to. Lots to drink and nice snacks of cheese and fruit and bread on the way back after the water activities. Our whole group of 13 people did this excursion and most said it was their favorite one.

Read kwalk55's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image epearson81
1 review
Not Rated
Mar 2014

this was a great excursion. very well priced at about $56 pp and got an AMAZING catamaran ride out to trunk bay with some great snorkel time, I would say about 40minutes of pure snorkel. afterwards you get lots of rum punch with an amazing crew! definitely suggest for great day out on the water!!

Read epearson81's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image murraync
7 reviews
Not Rated
Dec 2013

Booked through NCL the Castaway Snorkel excursion. Great fun! Went on Castaway Girl #3- crew was Amber, Steph, Ryan and Josh. They did a great job getting us to snorkel site - great gear and instructions - clean and big catamaran - then they broke us up into smaller groups to tour with a guide and the guides really did a great job pointing out things and educating us on what was around us. Great tour and great job. Of course we all had fun on the sail back to port and the water, sodas, and rum punch made it all the more fun! Highly recommend this group!

Read murraync's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Ines & Volker
2 reviews
Not Rated
Dec 2013

In St. Thomas we had a 5+ excursion booked through NCL. It was the Powercat Snorkel & Beach Tour. After an hour snorkeling with turtles at Buck Island we boarded the catamaran again to breathtaking Honeymoon Beach on Water Island. And they had a very delicious "Pain Killer". After the excursion we had a little time left for shopping in the port.

Read Ines & Volker's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image joannsluv@aol.com
1 review
Not Rated
Dec 2013

St John's Half Day snorkle was a great fun and exciting ride to and from the docks. The open aired bus had to travel some very old and scary back roads to get us to their dock. Once on the catamaran, (44 people). we were briefed on safety and set off for St John's.. Out ride there was awesome and very exciting as the captain rode us into the choppy waves giving us a gtrue feeling of sailing. The secluded area where we snorkled was filled with sea turtles, sting rays, all kinds of fish and beautiful coral.. Yes we actually had a barracuda stop by as some of the people forgot to take off their shinny jewelry..Go figure??...The time there was about 2 hours.. The ride home was enjoyable and drinks (champagne & rum) and snacks were served. We were picked up immediately and taken back to the ship after a great experience.

Read joannsluv@aol.com's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image mojomorris
13 reviews
Nov 2013

The catamaran & snorkel trip to St John on that warm sunny day was enjoyable. DW stayed on board the catamaran and read her book while I snorkeled. The crew was proficient and informative - I enjoyed it quite a bit although I wish the snorkel time was longer. After the snorkeling, the drinks, snacks and rum punch came out.

Read mojomorris's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image aurorastorm
1 review
Jul 2013

This tour was not one I was looking forward to because I have never been snorkeling and wouldn't you know it, this wound up being my favorite tour. The people that ran this tour, were friendly and very funny. The snorkeling was fun, some big turtles were seen. After snorkeling went to a private beach, food and rum punch, adults and kids all had a fun, relaxing afternoon.

Read aurorastorm's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image robare02
1 review
Mar 2013
Supper crew , great snorkel tour and diver!! good rum punch.
Read robare02's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image jcvcruiser
1 review
Mar 2013
We had a wonderful time aboard the Adventuress Champagne Catamaran. The crew was delightful and helpful. St. John is beautiful to visit - Honeymoon beach is very pretty, but the snorkeling was less than desireable. We hardly saw any fish on this snorkel trip.
Read jcvcruiser's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Jodi Morris
2 reviews
Mar 2013
The catamaran ride was fun for the kids, but the snorkeling was bogus. There were very few fish to see, and they felt it was not worth the time or money. St Thomas is great. We have toured the island in the past (quite an experience). The stops they do so you can take pictures is worth it, but the taxis leave something to be desired. The shopping is great when you go into town and it is very quaint.
Read Jodi Morris's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image rhonda819
2 reviews
Feb 2013
Took the St John Champagne Catamaran Sail & Snorkel: Sail Boat ride was wonderful, snorkeling was great. Staff was very friendly. Plenty of drinks on the ride back, with cheese and crackets and fruit. Wonderful time.
Read rhonda819's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Algebralovr
3 reviews
Feb 2013
Following a relatively short ride to the boat, we embarked on a 30 minute or so trip to a nearby island where we were given snorkeling equipment and allowed about 60 minutes. The tour operator described the area well, including where not to go, and gave a quick orientation to the equipment. A beach was available, but it was very small and not really designed for spending time on. The operator was reasonably well prepared for emergencies, with a large first aid kit, including an AED device.
Read Algebralovr's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image JArsenal
1 review
Nov 2012
We arrived in St. Thomas, I was up early to watch us dock and take lots of pictures. I do have to say disembarking and embarking this ship is so easy to do. To move that many people off the ship and on the ship is incredible that it runs so smooth. I went on the Champagne Catamaran Sail and Snorkel to St. John. Out of all the visits to the Eastern Caribbean that I've made, this was the most fun I've ever had. I highly recommend this excursion.
Read JArsenal's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image n2tpa
2 reviews
Nov 2012
The sail was peaceful, the snorkeling very nice, the crew was very helpful and friendly and didn't beg too much for tips, the drinks flowed freely once snorkeling ended and the water was spectacular. The only drawback was that of the 4-1/2 hour excursion, we lost 2 hours to driving. The actual "in the water" time was about 45 minutes.
Read n2tpa's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Cindy
13 reviews
Nov 2012
We took the Champagne Catamaran Sail and Snorkel to St. John. We hadn't been to St. John, and we thought it would be a good idea to get away from St. Thomas since there were 7 ships in port the day we were there. This excursion was good, but it would have been a LOT better if there wasn't a very long (30+ minute) transfer to the marina on an open air bus. The transfer made our four hour excursion last more than 5 hours, and and the (lack of) organization getting us back to port was inexcusable. We stood in the sun for well over 15 minutes while bus after bus passed us by.
Read Cindy's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image rotorhead1
1 review
Oct 2012
Castaway Girl. Water 85 degrees. Not the same Buck Island off St Croix.
Read rotorhead1's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image rlrs88
2 reviews
Sep 2012
Great time was had by all. The Rum punch had plenty of PUNCH, but no flavor. Finger foods were cheesy!!!!!
Read rlrs88's full Carnival Victory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Rational Adult
1 review
Aug 2012
Our trip did not include lunch. It was a fabulous excursion and the crew was so much fun. They were all around their 20's and were Americans. They made the experience a good one and said they did so so that they "didn't have to go back to the states and get a real job." Great job! So much fun and wonderful snorkeling! They're in the water with you to make sure they point out things you shouldn't miss.
Read Rational Adult's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image dbmm
2 reviews
Aug 2012
Nice catamaran ride to St. John. There was a good variety of fish. Some people saw turtles. I saw a stingray!
Read dbmm's full Carnival Miracle cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image papa deuce
1 review
Jun 2012
Castaway Girl.... nice, but not many fish.... in St. Thomas
Read papa deuce's full Carnival Valor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image MomcruiserMO
1 review
May 2012
Great time! Rum punch killer, be careful .
Read MomcruiserMO's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image LuvDCaribbean
3 reviews
Apr 2012
Castaway Girl catamaran tour to the sunken ship. We saw a couple whales which was a huge bonus, and they where pretty close to our little catamaran. The snorkeling was not the greatest, but the trip was sure fun.
Read LuvDCaribbean's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image jlat
1 review
Apr 2012
Great time, lots of sea life. Crew was first rate. Nice rum punch for the sail back
Read jlat's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Melissa1445
1 review
Apr 2012
Took a private catamaran trip with our 5 adults. Great way to relax and get away from the crowds. You actually get to experience sealife without alot of people around you. Better than getting on a CATTLEmaran. Snorkeled around St. Johns and spent 7 hours sailing which was great.
Read Melissa1445's full Carnival Victory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image series02
3 reviews
Mar 2012
Good snorking, super staff, plenty of booze.
Read series02's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image SailingFromIndiana
1 review
Mar 2012
The was our first Catamaran trip and it was so relaxing! They met us at the pier and took us off for St. John. We sailed to Honeymoon Beach where we could snorkel or sun on the beach. The water was very clear! Not a lot to see snorkeling, but since this was our first time, what fish we did see were amazing! The crew of the catamaran was very funny and informative, giving us the history of the area and the beach, as well as any lessons on how to snorkel. The rum punch was good too!
Read SailingFromIndiana's full Carnival Victory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image MERCE4
1 review
Mar 2012
Champagne sail to St. John was awesome!
Read MERCE4's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Grandama Gail
3 reviews
Mar 2012
Third time on this excursion. A really fun time. Great snorkeling and even better Rum Punch (after snorkeling). Good lunch and an even better crew. Don't think you could have a better time anywhere else.
Read Grandama Gail's full Enchantment of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image partyelf
1 review
Mar 2012
It was ok. Many boats thru other cruise ships, went out before our little privately booked excursion did - which is unusual with the way they cattle you and make you wait. So that was disappointing. Then we sailed over, which took longer than motoring to the site. We dropped anchor at the last buoy in the area and it was mobbed. Then we had just 45 min to snorkel. At bit of disappointment. Crew was nice. Snacks and drink were as advertised - granola bars, pretzels, rum punch, beer or soda.
Read partyelf's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Fury
Member Image lancashirejojo
1 review
Mar 2012
Catamaran tour was good fun and reasonable for the money paid.As we had been here before we then just walked into town and did a little shopping(avoiding all the jewellery shops),then we walked back to the ship.
Read lancashirejojo's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image BellBoys
2 reviews
Feb 2012
The catamaran to St. John to snorkel in Honeymoon Bay was great. We were in port with 7 other ships so immediately after snorkeling we came back to the ship as downtown was crowded. So our '5' rating is for the excursion and not the port.
Read BellBoys's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image c85f9
3 reviews
Feb 2012
Loved the Champagne Catamaran sail to St. John. Would recommend this excursion in a heartbeat.
Read c85f9's full Carnival Victory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image PrincessEliteCruiser
1 review
Dec 2011
Although some rain, the provider did a good job. The Catamaran was very stable. The crew were fun.
Read PrincessEliteCruiser's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image family4nj
1 review
Nov 2011
Powered by Cat, great tour, great staff. good direction. this one is worth the money.
Read family4nj's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.