Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

St. Thomas Beach Break Excursion Reviews

St. Thomas Beach Break cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Beach breaks are perfect for cruise travelers looking for a simple day of rest and relaxation in port. Enjoy a few hours of paradise on one of the many St. Thomas beaches.
Member Image captainorin
2 reviews
Apr 2016
Went to Cokie Beach. Just walk 7 or 8 minutes from cruise ship aling the road to the Capital. Look for a children's clothing store called "Rainbow Kids" Just flag down a local bus and pay $2 to get to Cokie Beach. Go to my You Tube Channel for picture and information. CAPTAINORIN.
Read captainorin's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: MYSELF
Member Image MotorcitymanDetroit
1 review
Mar 2016
Grabbed a taxi to Magens Bay. Wonderful.
Read MotorcitymanDetroit's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image rosanphs@gmail.com
1 review
Feb 2016
Beautiful beach.
Read rosanphs@gmail.com's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image bestofXs
4 reviews
Jan 2016
$10 per person each way plus $5 per person to enter Magen's Bay. So $50.00 for 3hours at the beach. More crowded by noon.
Read bestofXs's full Oosterdam cruise review
Provider: Taxi station at cruise pier
Member Image atf975
1 review
Dec 2015
was a really beautiful beach and Blackbeard's Cove is so beautiful
Read atf975's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Shakal
1 review
Dec 2015
Good experience
Read Shakal's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Local taxi
Member Image guardia
3 reviews
Dec 2015
I took the St John Beach Tour. Although St John and in particular the beach in Trunk Bay is absolutely beautiful, the tour is not long enough for you to enjoy the beach. The tour is 4.5 hours but you only spend less than 2 hours on the beach. The rest of the time is spent getting there and back.
Read guardia's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image mlkajk
1 review
Nov 2015
Megan's Bay was beautiful!
Read mlkajk's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image sc6654
3 reviews
Nov 2015
Took a Taxi to Megans Bay. Vary nice beach. We have been to several beaches in St Thomas and the best are Coki and Megans bay
Read sc6654's full Carnival Liberty cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Hilarion
2 reviews
Sep 2015
Budget is located right when you get off the ship. Include insurance just in case. Compact Car was excellent for four adults. Lindquist Bay Beach or Smith Bay Beach. I found this beach much nicer and less crowded than Maegans Bay Beach. If you rent a car in St. Thomas, do not miss this beach. There is a $4 per person charge and $2 for the car; children are only $2. This beach is a little past Maegens Bay Beach. It is beautiful in terms of it being a secluded sandy beach with beautiful views of islands and hardly any houses or Hotels on the hills that surround the beach. The water as clean with only some seaweed. On the day we went it was very calm and safe but I did see some signs ready to post indicating that sometimes this beach may be rough. The beach was recently refreshed with new changing rooms, bathrooms, and well marked parking, even spaces reserved for handicapped persons. It also has some wine free wooden picnic tables but no concessions for chairs or umbrellas. It is a beach to picnic and enjoy the ocean. Not sure how it is when the ocean is turbulent. Maegans Bay Beach certainly is beautiful in terms of being surrounded by beautiful mountains and having calm, crystal clear waters. It is also equipped with bathroom facilities as well as snack bars and concessions to rent lounge chairs and some sporting equipment. The only downside is that as the most popular and easily accessible beach in St. Thomas, it is also the most crowded with cruise ship passengers and others. Access to the beach is $4 for adults and an additional $2 per car. If you prefer the quieter parts of Meagans Bay Beach I recommend walking either to the far right or far left away from the main crowds. It is a beach worth visiting although I prefer Smith Bay Beach for clear calm water, new bathrooms and changing rooms, same low cost entry fee, natural beauty and hardly any cruise passengers. Smith Bay Beach is also known as Lindquist Beach and is not far from Maegans Bay Beach. Driving from the Havensight cruise port to Smith Bay Beach is along one the mail well paved and well market roads that circle the island. It is easy to find and access, as is Maegans Bay Beach. I know others in the cruise visited Corki Bay Beach but they also said it was very crowded with cruise passengers. Corki Bay Beach is right next to Smith Bay Beach. Mountain Top is worth the visit only for the impressive view high above Maegans Bay. The site itself is a massive souvenir warehouse which you must walk through before you reach the terrace with the great views. I would recommend at least a brief stop because the views from Mountain Top are indeed breathtaking.
Read Hilarion's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Budget Car Rental, Havensight Cruise Port
Member Image cousineddy1954
1 review
Aug 2015
Took a van over to Magans Bay and hung out on the beach for 2 hours. Relaxing/beautiful beach. Ran $20.00 per person, plus $5.00 per person for the use of the beach. We had been to St Thomas a few times before, and all we wanted to do this time was beach time.
Read cousineddy1954's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Local Taxi
Member Image VEGAS-CRUISER
2 reviews
Aug 2015
Very poor beach
Read VEGAS-CRUISER's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image shoppingmomofboys
2 reviews
Aug 2015
we took a cab to Coki Beach because our snorkeling ladies said it would be a great beach to see…..dont do it. It was not nice at all!
Read shoppingmomofboys's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: took a cab
Member Image b van sky
1 review
Aug 2015
The beach was beautiful and we spent a few hours there.
Read b van sky's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ranchhandgal
1 review
Jul 2015
not a great place to snorkel, pretty water.
Read ranchhandgal's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image rayscruisecritic22
1 review
May 2015
Expected the bus driver to say something about the island. Completely silent! Would not recommend the excursion that says something about a drive along Skyline.
Read rayscruisecritic22's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Kamaka23
1 review
May 2015
Wish I had not booked through cruise. Megan's bay was a great beach. Ride there was rough around twisty roads. Saw iguanas on beach. Not much time to spend at beach!
Read Kamaka23's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Parky6
2 reviews
May 2015
Mehgans Bay Closed due to Bacteria elevated. Went to a beach , SORRY don't remember name of beach Beautiful!, a local took me to liquor store bought beer an ice for our group of 17 HAD a blast saved BIG money vs RCCL, and had our beer included
Read Parky6's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: LION KING TAXI
Member Image Pavlik22
1 review
May 2015
We left the ship and found a cab to take us the beach, It was a nice ride. Small 4 dollar fee to enter the beach, but well worth it. the sand is clean and the water was beautiful. Lots of cool fish swimming between your legs :-) Loved it!
Read Pavlik22's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image vera2contact@aol.com
1 review
May 2015
This was not a great experience as we were not informed correctly about the transfer from the ship to the beach & return to the ship. We consequently were put onto the wrong minibus & was expected to pay the driver 8 dollars each even though we had already paid for it all on the ship. There were lots of confusion & we had to almost beg our way back on one of the coaches!...thank god the local minibus drivers were ok about the situation but they were a bit unhappy about it! Norwegian did reimburse our money after a little persuasion from one of our party.
Read vera2contact@aol.com's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image pittbacker
1 review
May 2015
A pleasure of a beach - Magen's Bay Beach to visit. Don't expect a 'secluded' beach - it's public and massively populated. But find your spot, enjoy the views while being transported there, and don't forget the sunscreen.
Read pittbacker's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Roddyusa
1 review
Apr 2015
We thought sapphire beach was great. Small beach but has shade under some trees. Two steps in water there is coral and fish to see. Great snorkeling spot. Waitress walks around taking orders for food and drinks. You have to pay for this. But Jerk chicken sandwich was excellent and nice to eat something different from the ship.
Read Roddyusa's full Carnival Valor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Laurier cruisers
1 review
Apr 2015
Went to Megans bay beach by taxi. The cost was the Cab -$8.00 each then $4 to get into the beach area. Very nice beach - interesting drive there with all the narrow road ways.
Read Laurier cruisers's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: grabbed a cab
Member Image LDurfee11
1 review
Apr 2015
Went via Pirate Ship Bones to Abi Beach only accesable by boat. Had expensive lunch but boat ride and beach were nice. Tour operators were VERY knowledgable, kind and fun!!!!
Read LDurfee11's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image oh_shabang
1 review
Apr 2015
Absolutely gorgeous! Best beach I went to all week. Crystal clear water with the softest sand. Ride was a bit bumby, but totally worth it once we got there. There is a beach bar for drinks and food. Bring towel - no chairs.
Read oh_shabang's full Carnival Liberty cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.