Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

St. Thomas Beach Break Excursion Reviews

St. Thomas Beach Break cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Beach breaks are perfect for cruise travelers looking for a simple day of rest and relaxation in port. Enjoy a few hours of paradise on one of the many St. Thomas beaches.
Member Image Big Kahuna D
1 review
Jun 2016
Secret Harbor was absolutely beautiful. Had a nice restaurant on site and chair and tent/umbrella rental was reasonable. Nice and secluded, had a great time.
Read Big Kahuna D's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image cruisintothesunset
1 review
Jun 2016
Nice beach. Good drive.
Read cruisintothesunset's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image bear01234
1 review
Jun 2016
Had a nice day except it was to crowded at the Beach but the water was nice and clear
Read bear01234's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image bizzybee185
1 review
Jun 2016
The boat ride is 10 minutes away and the crew is friendly. When you arrive on the island, you must get off the boat in in the water and walk/swim to the beach. I was tall enough at 5'6" to be able to walk and carry my bag to shore, but if you are much shorter you would have to swim in. Once there, there were chairs with just a few palms to offer some shade. This a bar to buy drinks and snacks and an area to rent water equipment. The beach is very rocky!!! I think I broke my toe on a rock when I was trying to get back to boat to go home. The beach is can also be accessed by road and there were a couple of locals there when we arrived. This is a new beach that has been recently created. There are much more beautiful beaches in St. Thomas.
Read bizzybee185's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image tiptop33
2 reviews
Jun 2016
Abi beach was a man-made flop
Read tiptop33's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image willbecruisinforlife
1 review
Jun 2016
Spent the day at Megan's Bay. I stayed on the beach while my husband and son snorkeled along the rocks
Read willbecruisinforlife's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image orlandodolly
5 reviews
May 2016
Went to Megans Bay and was very enjoyable
Read orlandodolly's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Pcola Cruiser
1 review
May 2016
Just not impressed. Was actually kind of glad when it was time to head back to the ship.
Read Pcola Cruiser's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image captainorin
2 reviews
Apr 2016
Went to Cokie Beach. Just walk 7 or 8 minutes from cruise ship aling the road to the Capital. Look for a children's clothing store called "Rainbow Kids" Just flag down a local bus and pay $2 to get to Cokie Beach. Go to my You Tube Channel for picture and information. CAPTAINORIN.
Read captainorin's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: MYSELF
Member Image MotorcitymanDetroit
1 review
Mar 2016
Grabbed a taxi to Magens Bay. Wonderful.
Read MotorcitymanDetroit's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image rosanphs@gmail.com
1 review
Feb 2016
Beautiful beach.
Read rosanphs@gmail.com's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image bestofXs
4 reviews
Jan 2016
$10 per person each way plus $5 per person to enter Magen's Bay. So $50.00 for 3hours at the beach. More crowded by noon.
Read bestofXs's full Oosterdam cruise review
Provider: Taxi station at cruise pier
Member Image atf975
1 review
Dec 2015
was a really beautiful beach and Blackbeard's Cove is so beautiful
Read atf975's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Shakal
1 review
Dec 2015
Good experience
Read Shakal's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Local taxi
Member Image guardia
3 reviews
Dec 2015
I took the St John Beach Tour. Although St John and in particular the beach in Trunk Bay is absolutely beautiful, the tour is not long enough for you to enjoy the beach. The tour is 4.5 hours but you only spend less than 2 hours on the beach. The rest of the time is spent getting there and back.
Read guardia's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image mlkajk
1 review
Nov 2015
Megan's Bay was beautiful!
Read mlkajk's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image sc6654
3 reviews
Nov 2015
Took a Taxi to Megans Bay. Vary nice beach. We have been to several beaches in St Thomas and the best are Coki and Megans bay
Read sc6654's full Carnival Liberty cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Hilarion
3 reviews
Sep 2015
Budget is located right when you get off the ship. Include insurance just in case. Compact Car was excellent for four adults. Lindquist Bay Beach or Smith Bay Beach. I found this beach much nicer and less crowded than Maegans Bay Beach. If you rent a car in St. Thomas, do not miss this beach. There is a $4 per person charge and $2 for the car; children are only $2. This beach is a little past Maegens Bay Beach. It is beautiful in terms of it being a secluded sandy beach with beautiful views of islands and hardly any houses or Hotels on the hills that surround the beach. The water as clean with only some seaweed. On the day we went it was very calm and safe but I did see some signs ready to post indicating that sometimes this beach may be rough. The beach was recently refreshed with new changing rooms, bathrooms, and well marked parking, even spaces reserved for handicapped persons. It also has some wine free wooden picnic tables but no concessions for chairs or umbrellas. It is a beach to picnic and enjoy the ocean. Not sure how it is when the ocean is turbulent. Maegans Bay Beach certainly is beautiful in terms of being surrounded by beautiful mountains and having calm, crystal clear waters. It is also equipped with bathroom facilities as well as snack bars and concessions to rent lounge chairs and some sporting equipment. The only downside is that as the most popular and easily accessible beach in St. Thomas, it is also the most crowded with cruise ship passengers and others. Access to the beach is $4 for adults and an additional $2 per car. If you prefer the quieter parts of Meagans Bay Beach I recommend walking either to the far right or far left away from the main crowds. It is a beach worth visiting although I prefer Smith Bay Beach for clear calm water, new bathrooms and changing rooms, same low cost entry fee, natural beauty and hardly any cruise passengers. Smith Bay Beach is also known as Lindquist Beach and is not far from Maegans Bay Beach. Driving from the Havensight cruise port to Smith Bay Beach is along one the mail well paved and well market roads that circle the island. It is easy to find and access, as is Maegans Bay Beach. I know others in the cruise visited Corki Bay Beach but they also said it was very crowded with cruise passengers. Corki Bay Beach is right next to Smith Bay Beach. Mountain Top is worth the visit only for the impressive view high above Maegans Bay. The site itself is a massive souvenir warehouse which you must walk through before you reach the terrace with the great views. I would recommend at least a brief stop because the views from Mountain Top are indeed breathtaking.
Read Hilarion's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Budget Car Rental, Havensight Cruise Port
Member Image cousineddy1954
1 review
Aug 2015
Took a van over to Magans Bay and hung out on the beach for 2 hours. Relaxing/beautiful beach. Ran $20.00 per person, plus $5.00 per person for the use of the beach. We had been to St Thomas a few times before, and all we wanted to do this time was beach time.
Read cousineddy1954's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Local Taxi
Member Image VEGAS-CRUISER
2 reviews
Aug 2015
Very poor beach
Read VEGAS-CRUISER's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image shoppingmomofboys
2 reviews
Aug 2015
we took a cab to Coki Beach because our snorkeling ladies said it would be a great beach to see…..dont do it. It was not nice at all!
Read shoppingmomofboys's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: took a cab
Member Image b van sky
1 review
Aug 2015
The beach was beautiful and we spent a few hours there.
Read b van sky's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ranchhandgal
1 review
Jul 2015
not a great place to snorkel, pretty water.
Read ranchhandgal's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image rayscruisecritic22
1 review
May 2015
Expected the bus driver to say something about the island. Completely silent! Would not recommend the excursion that says something about a drive along Skyline.
Read rayscruisecritic22's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Kamaka23
1 review
May 2015
Wish I had not booked through cruise. Megan's bay was a great beach. Ride there was rough around twisty roads. Saw iguanas on beach. Not much time to spend at beach!
Read Kamaka23's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.