Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Ketchikan Lighthouses, Totems and Eagles Excursion Reviews

Ketchikan Lighthouses, Totems and Eagles cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Take in the breathtaking seascape as you witness an abundance of local wildlife and learn about the area's history and culture.
Member Image bloversmish
1 review
Jul 2015
The eagles were cool, and totem bight state park was OK (the boat was a little bit far from shore, but it was still nice). However, the boat then took a LONG journey to get to some random lighthouse, which seemed like a big marketing ploy for the boat's operators to solicit donations for the non-profit who runs the lighthouse. Boring. We stayed there a long time, and they made a point of taking pictures of as many people as possible with the lighthouse, and asked for donations... and we returned to the ship an hour late. Lame.
Read bloversmish's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image duncan449
3 reviews
Jun 2015
We saw tons of eagles and seals. Captain pointed out several interesting places along the route. Had this been our first stop I'm sure I would have had much more fun, but by the time we made it to this port I'd already seen hundreds of seals and eagles.
Read duncan449's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image mountain granny
2 reviews
Jun 2015
We were taken to the boat on a bus ride that gave us a nice view of some of the city, and some interesting facts (went through a tunnel that you can drive through, walk over or around, or sail under in a kayak at low tide!) Once on the boat, Capt. Rob and his crew of two, plus his adorable dog (Greta? Gretchen?) with her painted toenails, were all just excellent, people-friendly guides. The tour was filled with history, humor and points of interest from the "bowling ball house" to the totems, to the single lighthouse that the tour promises. Capt. Rob did most of the talking, but he also had some pre-recorded information that was broadcast over a speaker system to both the galley level and the upper deck. We were able to observe numerous bald eagles both on their nests and flying, both mature and juveniles, and were give time to get photos. Also saw birds we've never heard of (seabirds with red legs that kind of "stumble" as they land on the water -- I think it was a scoter). Binoculars were provided for everyone, and a nice snack was set up downstairs in the galley (recipe for the salmon dip provided gratis.) The crewmen also circulated with a tray of cocoa, coffee or tea as we cruised. And they took photos with your own camera of anyone who wanted their trip memory saved. Altogether a shore excursion well worth the money.
Read mountain granny's full Pacific Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image TX-Bruce
1 review
Jun 2015
Enjoyed the knowledge and wit from Capt Joe. Saw lots of eagles and he pointed out points of interest such as totem poles and their history.
Read TX-Bruce's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image DTL37
1 review
Jun 2015
Capt Rob and his crew were great. First of all, why would anyone want to book a cruise excursion while on a cruise. I found out why. They can bring you up close to what the large ships can't. We went to the Totem pole, saw Harper Seals and the little light house. The experience was not to see the light house but to get the colorful history behind the area of Ketchikan and they delivered. We got the stories you can't find in books. The bowling ball house was a good one. He will send you videos of the whales if you ask. We didn't see any our trip but a week before they were bubble feeding. Very friendly.
Read DTL37's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image blschletter
1 review
May 2015
Very interesting tour of the town before you get to the boat. Boat mid sized so not overly crowded. Lots of eagles and nest, not to many totem poles and only 1 small lighthouse. I'm from South Jersey so I was expecting some real lighthouses. Nice quiet tour, met some nice people and really enjoyed the fresh salmon dip they served.
Read blschletter's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Travllvr
1 review
May 2015
If you love low key tours with a friendly staff, this is the excursion for you. We left our ship, the Ruby Princess, and drove to a small bay. Capt Rob welcomed us aboard, inviting us to either go below board to a warm cabin with big windows, or to the top, open deck. We went up! It was a chilly morning and just as we were wishing for a warm drink, the crew brought around complementary drinks! A pair of high quality binoculars paired with fun, perfect descriptions of where to spot Eagles made it easy to be amazed by this magnificent bird. A house decorated with bowling balls, the totems poles all came with informative descriptions. Just as a thought would be forming...wouldn't it be great to get everyone in a photo....a crew member would be there to take photos with our cameras. The crew seemed to have a 6th sense and anticipate our needs before they were fully formed. We cruised by the lighthouse, saw lots of seals and sea life, imagined what it must have been like to live in such a remote area. Capt Rob and crew were fun, informative, and attentive. Capt Rob let us sit in the Captain's seat for a photo op. And just as we were thinking about being a little hungry, salmon spread--complete with recipe-- was passed around. Yum! As we cruised back to Ketchikan, the clouds lifted and the sun came out. It was so wonderfully peaceful and enjoyable. A real commune with nature with gracious and fun crew members.
Read Travllvr's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image petals1958
1 review
Sep 2014

DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY! We booked this tour on the cruise. I would rather went to do anything else then this lame tour. The Captian of this boat who thought his lame jokes were funny and kept telling them , which was worst. If I wanted a talk about the homes on the shore line , it would of been great. He got short and sarcastic when we didn't see the eagles and their nest right of the bat. totems were ok and the one light was a light house.

Read petals1958's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Cooley Consumers
7 reviews
Not Rated
Jul 2014

This was a GREAT tour!
We are driven a short distance from the ship to a double deck boat to tour the habour. Wow!! We saw a LOT of bald eagles and the captain/guide was very knowledgeable. The 2 guys who assisted could not have been nicer or more helpful. We saw a black bear cub (going after trash, of course!) and seals. This was just a bay/harbour tour, but was very nice and complete.

EVERYONE on the boat enjoyed Totem, the captain's puppy. "Please don't feed my dog" (as though that was going to happen!). There were two dogs: Totem and another pup and they went from person to person to get a pet. The dogs added a LOT to the at home, friendliness feeling that we all got.

I highly recommend this tour.

Read Cooley Consumers's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.