Ketchikan Lighthouses, Totems and Eagles Excursion Reviews

Ketchikan Lighthouses, Totems and Eagles cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Take in the breathtaking seascape as you witness an abundance of local wildlife and learn about the area's history and culture.
Member Image crowba70
1 review
Sep 2016
if you want to see eagles go on this one
Read crowba70's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image cruisinbill
6 reviews
Sep 2016
we did the “Lighthouse, Totems & Eagles” excursion and totem pole tour by small boat. This was a highly rated tour so it was an easy decision for us. We were taken by coach to Air Marine Harbour, north of Ketchikan and boarded the “Totem Princess.” The captain and crew got us settled and we were quickly on our way and at our first eagle viewing stop, with many more to come. We then approached the Totem Bight State Park and viewed several totem poles. Unfortunately, it was difficult to see much without a zoom lens or binoculars (provided), and the bobbing of the ship just made things worse to locate the wildlife. Our last visit was to the Guard Island Lighthouse and more wildlife and eagle viewing. An excellent buffet of salmon spread (recipe provided), vegetables, cookies, and beverages was available in the inside cabin; there are two washrooms onboard as well. There are souvenirs for sale. After about three hours, we returned to shore and returned to the pier. It was almost time to go leave port so we just did some quick shopping and then boarded ship. Highly recommended.
Read cruisinbill's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image MrHaney
1 review
Jul 2016
Good down-to-earth friendly people. Saw lots of eagles and harbor seals, plus had a good view of the totem park and the lighthouse. Loved it!
Read MrHaney's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Chippewa74
2 reviews
Jun 2016
Honestly, there was nothing wrong with this tour but it just wasn't very exciting. You'll see eagles for sure. But it just seemed bland. Could be because prior excursions were so great. This tour was well run and professional/friendly. If you're looking for something on the water that's also mellow this is it.
Read Chippewa74's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image carolina29212
1 review
Jun 2016
Boat excursion. Saw several eagles and their nests. Past by Totem Bright State Park. Unable to go to lighthouse due to windy weather. Enjoyable but wish we would not choose again.
Read carolina29212's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image beachseeker72
3 reviews
May 2016
I wish we'd been able to spend more time in Ketchikan. The town itself is beautiful...like off a magazine cover. Very quaint and pretty with tons of shopping and restaurants. We were bussed to our excursion site by the best driver and story teller. We learned more than I could have imagined about Ketchikan from her. By the time we were through with her, I was ready to move there. The excursion itself was great. The boat was very comfortable and the snacks were perfect. It was an overcast, misty day, perfect for Alaska and miraculously, the only day we didn't have warmth and sun during our 8 days there. The boat captain was very informative and entertaining and his crew was very attentive and friendly. We saw countless bald eages, nests, a bear and sea otters. The totem poles were very interesting also and inspired me to buy one to bring home.
Read beachseeker72's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image LynneA
1 review
May 2016
The boat tour was about two and a half hours. We saw a lot of eagles, eagles nests. Highlight for us was seeing a whale sounding. The staff on board were extremely helpful and informative.
Read LynneA's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Paintman
1 review
Aug 2015
Eagles and Whales were every where, a truly great trip. The crew did a great job.
Read Paintman's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image bloversmish
1 review
Jul 2015
The eagles were cool, and totem bight state park was OK (the boat was a little bit far from shore, but it was still nice). However, the boat then took a LONG journey to get to some random lighthouse, which seemed like a big marketing ploy for the boat's operators to solicit donations for the non-profit who runs the lighthouse. Boring. We stayed there a long time, and they made a point of taking pictures of as many people as possible with the lighthouse, and asked for donations... and we returned to the ship an hour late. Lame.
Read bloversmish's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image duncan449
3 reviews
Jun 2015
We saw tons of eagles and seals. Captain pointed out several interesting places along the route. Had this been our first stop I'm sure I would have had much more fun, but by the time we made it to this port I'd already seen hundreds of seals and eagles.
Read duncan449's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image mountain granny
2 reviews
Jun 2015
We were taken to the boat on a bus ride that gave us a nice view of some of the city, and some interesting facts (went through a tunnel that you can drive through, walk over or around, or sail under in a kayak at low tide!) Once on the boat, Capt. Rob and his crew of two, plus his adorable dog (Greta? Gretchen?) with her painted toenails, were all just excellent, people-friendly guides. The tour was filled with history, humor and points of interest from the "bowling ball house" to the totems, to the single lighthouse that the tour promises. Capt. Rob did most of the talking, but he also had some pre-recorded information that was broadcast over a speaker system to both the galley level and the upper deck. We were able to observe numerous bald eagles both on their nests and flying, both mature and juveniles, and were give time to get photos. Also saw birds we've never heard of (seabirds with red legs that kind of "stumble" as they land on the water -- I think it was a scoter). Binoculars were provided for everyone, and a nice snack was set up downstairs in the galley (recipe for the salmon dip provided gratis.) The crewmen also circulated with a tray of cocoa, coffee or tea as we cruised. And they took photos with your own camera of anyone who wanted their trip memory saved. Altogether a shore excursion well worth the money.
Read mountain granny's full Pacific Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image TX-Bruce
1 review
Jun 2015
Enjoyed the knowledge and wit from Capt Joe. Saw lots of eagles and he pointed out points of interest such as totem poles and their history.
Read TX-Bruce's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image DTL37
1 review
Jun 2015
Capt Rob and his crew were great. First of all, why would anyone want to book a cruise excursion while on a cruise. I found out why. They can bring you up close to what the large ships can't. We went to the Totem pole, saw Harper Seals and the little light house. The experience was not to see the light house but to get the colorful history behind the area of Ketchikan and they delivered. We got the stories you can't find in books. The bowling ball house was a good one. He will send you videos of the whales if you ask. We didn't see any our trip but a week before they were bubble feeding. Very friendly.
Read DTL37's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Buddy23
1 review
Jun 2015
Okay, would not choose this again. The town is fun to walk around.
Read Buddy23's full Disney Wonder cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image blschletter
1 review
May 2015
Very interesting tour of the town before you get to the boat. Boat mid sized so not overly crowded. Lots of eagles and nest, not to many totem poles and only 1 small lighthouse. I'm from South Jersey so I was expecting some real lighthouses. Nice quiet tour, met some nice people and really enjoyed the fresh salmon dip they served.
Read blschletter's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Travllvr
1 review
May 2015
If you love low key tours with a friendly staff, this is the excursion for you. We left our ship, the Ruby Princess, and drove to a small bay. Capt Rob welcomed us aboard, inviting us to either go below board to a warm cabin with big windows, or to the top, open deck. We went up! It was a chilly morning and just as we were wishing for a warm drink, the crew brought around complementary drinks! A pair of high quality binoculars paired with fun, perfect descriptions of where to spot Eagles made it easy to be amazed by this magnificent bird. A house decorated with bowling balls, the totems poles all came with informative descriptions. Just as a thought would be forming...wouldn't it be great to get everyone in a photo....a crew member would be there to take photos with our cameras. The crew seemed to have a 6th sense and anticipate our needs before they were fully formed. We cruised by the lighthouse, saw lots of seals and sea life, imagined what it must have been like to live in such a remote area. Capt Rob and crew were fun, informative, and attentive. Capt Rob let us sit in the Captain's seat for a photo op. And just as we were thinking about being a little hungry, salmon spread--complete with recipe-- was passed around. Yum! As we cruised back to Ketchikan, the clouds lifted and the sun came out. It was so wonderfully peaceful and enjoyable. A real commune with nature with gracious and fun crew members.
Read Travllvr's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image petals1958
1 review
Sep 2014

DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY! We booked this tour on the cruise. I would rather went to do anything else then this lame tour. The Captian of this boat who thought his lame jokes were funny and kept telling them , which was worst. If I wanted a talk about the homes on the shore line , it would of been great. He got short and sarcastic when we didn't see the eagles and their nest right of the bat. totems were ok and the one light was a light house.

Read petals1958's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Cooley Consumers
8 reviews
Not Rated
Jul 2014

This was a GREAT tour!
We are driven a short distance from the ship to a double deck boat to tour the habour. Wow!! We saw a LOT of bald eagles and the captain/guide was very knowledgeable. The 2 guys who assisted could not have been nicer or more helpful. We saw a black bear cub (going after trash, of course!) and seals. This was just a bay/harbour tour, but was very nice and complete.

EVERYONE on the boat enjoyed Totem, the captain's puppy. "Please don't feed my dog" (as though that was going to happen!). There were two dogs: Totem and another pup and they went from person to person to get a pet. The dogs added a LOT to the at home, friendliness feeling that we all got.

I highly recommend this tour.

Read Cooley Consumers's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?