Juneau Tracy Arm Fjord Catamaran Excursion Reviews

Juneau Tracy Arm Fjord Catamaran cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Join the opportunity to see the very best of the Tracy Arm Wilderness Area, including exciting close-up views of the majestic Sawyer Glaciers. From the observation deck you will be able to enjoy this unforgettable experience!
Member Image Charliedog1121
1 review
Jun 2016
We couldn't go into Tracy Arm because of ice but was able to go to Endicott Arm and see the Dawes Glacier. We witnessed the calving of this glacier many times and each time watching it with awe. We saw whales and even a bear on our journey. This was a great excursion but maybe a bit too long. DD got bored after a while and we got into Juneau a little later than planned. Many people missed their next excursion in Juneau that day and were not happy. We rushed back onto the ship as we only had a short time to get ready for our dog sled excursion and barely got a bite to eat in between. Overall, however, it was a great way to start the morning.
Read Charliedog1121's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image wywiseman
1 review
May 2016
Unfortunately Tracy Arm Fjord was jammed with ice so we went to Davis Glacier where we experienced caving, shooters and great scenery.
Read wywiseman's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image VTSteerage
1 review
May 2016
Spectacular. Spent an hour at the face of the glacier. Watched 6 icebergs calve. Mate even collected ice from the water and put it in our drinks! Saw whales and seals. Just amazing.
Read VTSteerage's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image vcnlvr
3 reviews
May 2016
We had booked the Celebrity Solstice Excursion which was a boat that we would get onto right off the tender platform once the ship had reached a certain point in the fjord. When we woke up in the morning (04:30) as instructed to us by the naturalist on board, Brent Nixon, we found out that we weren't in the Tracy Arm but the Endicott Arm due to too much ice in the passage. Inititally we were a little disappointed as we had done research on the Tracy Arm and the Sawyer Glacier, but not the Dawe's Glacier however there was nothing to be worried about. The Endicott Arm was so beautiful and the scenery around was magnificient. The embarkation onto the smaller boat was easy and smooth despite the fact that the Solstice was not anchored and the water was smooth as glass. The crew aboard the boat were very knowledgeable and professional giving us information about the surrounding area. We then sailed up to the Dawe's Glacier and watched the most amazing calving I could ever have imagined. The crew on the boat said they hadn't seen a calving that big ever, it looked like 1/4 of the face of the glacier calved. The resulting wave was huge and the captain was very professional in steering us so we had the least amount of effect of that wave. We stuck around for a bit watching the calving and the lazy harbor seals on the ince that had fallen from the glacier then we started away towards Juneau. The crew told us they would be looking out for wildlife and we would be able to stop and see some on the way. We shortly pulled up to an area where there were Eagles and bears then kept going towards a pod of Orcas. The crew said it was very unusual to see orcas out here and they are really hard to track because their hunting ground is so big and their range is so long. We watched them for about 20 minutes or so and watched a ton of breaching and surfacing. It was amazing. The ride back to the Solstice took about 1hr30 minutes of pretty mundane ocean scenery so my suggestion would be to either bring a book or a neck pillow as it seemed that everyone on the boat slept on the way back. We met right up with our ship in Juneau and the transfer was very easy. I would recommend this trip to anyone hoping for an upclose view of a glacier and the chance to see some whales, although we did see quite a few whales from our cruise ship balcony.
Read vcnlvr's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image lizzien18@hotmail.com
1 review
May 2016
definitely worth taking this trip
Read lizzien18@hotmail.com's full Volendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Posaune
3 reviews
Aug 2015
Very good tour and the only way you can be pretty sure to actually get to the glacier.
Read Posaune's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image jean74
1 review
Aug 2015
Saw a lot of whale
Read jean74's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image bwaz
5 reviews
Jul 2015
This is well-worth doing, if a little long. Boat is very comfortable, three viewing levels, snack bar, drinks. Good narration by friendly pilot and crew. We saw glaciers calving, whales, seals floating by on ice, bald eagles, waterfall - outstanding.
Read bwaz's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image SJCruisers
1 review
Jul 2015
Truly outstanding... Got up close and personal with a cascade and waterfall. Saw Glacier Calving and Shooters. Saw all sorts of wildlife -- Orcas, Bears, Seals and Humpbacks. The tour guides were very informative.
Read SJCruisers's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image tanzania2015
1 review
Jun 2015
Outstanding scenery
Read tanzania2015's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Floydmb
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2014

The Tracy Arm Fjord small boat tour was well worth the money. We got up close and personal with glaciers and weaved in and out of the ice bergs. We saw dolphins and eagles as we cruised.

Read Floydmb's full Carnival Miracle cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image tasdiwine
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2014

we did,tracy am-loved it.highly rec

Read tasdiwine's full Seven Seas Navigator cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image 4myOpinion
2 reviews
Not Rated
May 2014

Our #1 favorite part of the cruise was taking the Tracy Arm Fjord catamaran shore excursion. This is a limited-seating option, so you should book early if it sounds appealing to you. But if you go, DO NOT BOOK AN AFTERNOON SHORE EXCURSION IN JUNEAU. Our catamaran spent an extra hour in the Fjord and then it took 20+ minutes for the crew to properly align the catamaran to the ship so people could transfer back to the ship. By that point, we were 1-1/2 hours later than we were supposed to be. Many people missed their afternoon shore excursions. We had not booked an excursion, so we were OK. We went on shore in Juneau and immediately went to one of the MANY tour kiosks right next to the ship. For only $20 round trip, we were taken on a bus to the Mendenhall Glacier where we had ample time to hike to Nuggett Falls.

Read 4myOpinion's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.