Roatan Boss Underwater Adventure Excursion Reviews

Roatan Boss Underwater Adventure cruise excursion
Overall Rating
B.O.S.S., the Breathing Observation Submersible Scooter, is the most thrilling way to explore the aquatic world.
Member Image larel
2 reviews
Jul 2016
Perhaps it was just the day, but the visibility was not good and scooters move quite slowly!
Read larel's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image rebafischer
1 review
Jul 2016
My husband and daughter (14) did this excursion. They loved the snorkeling and wish they had more time on the BOSS scooters, but over all they had a great time! Wish they had known they could take their underwater cameras with them - the description from carnival said only go-pros so that was disappointing.
Read rebafischer's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image vasha13
1 review
May 2016
Excellent shore excursion! Crew was top notch and I felt totally safe trying something new like trolling the ocean in an underwater scooter. The scooters are definitely different but worth trying. They only go about 8 feet below the surface so you're not going to get close up coral shots with your camera. You have both hands on the scooter with your thumb pressing down the whole time. The scooters are slow and unwieldy so don't feel like it's just you. That's the way they're made and it's okay - just know it in advance. You can help them turn a little bit more efficiently by using your arms as you would in wading. Yes, you can breathe comfortably in the helmet apparatus and no, I didn't feel claustrophobic. Some people did though and the multiple divers with us helped them right away. The divers will also take your personal camera to take close ups of the coral, sea creatures and you on the scooter. While waiting for your group's scooter time, you can snorkel. For those concerned about the ewww factor of using tourist snorkel gear, they have the wash bins set up right there so you can see your mask and gear getting washed and disinfected. They also have a special spray to keep the masks from fogging up rather than having people spit in them. Just sitting on the boat is very relaxing also. Fantastic shore excursion and staff - highly recommend this one!
Read vasha13's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Pharoe
1 review
Apr 2016
Wonderful experience!!! You can snorkel before and/or after your time in the scooter. The scooter itself was amazing! The viewing area was magnified so everything looked close. The divers that help you in and out and went with you when you moved over the reef were terrific!
Read Pharoe's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image patonleeward
3 reviews
Dec 2015
Not for the faint of heart. Quite a challenge for a 70 year old but worth it!
Read patonleeward's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image caroljklos
1 review
Dec 2015
One of the best excursions we've ever taken. Neither of us has underwater experience and the staff on the boat was experienced, comforting, and just some of the best guys around!
Read caroljklos's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jaguiarfl
1 review
Oct 2015
My husband and I did this excursion. I was fine with it, he did not make it through the entire time....thinking he was feeling claustrophobic. I enjoyed it though. The staff was absolutely wonderful, I really cannot say enough about them. They explained everything very clearly so we all knew what to do. They were all very patient and very helpful. We could take our own underwater cameras with us and they had a photographer as well. Then we had the option to buy the pictures. No pressure though. It didn't take up a lot of time, so we were still able to do some sightseeing and shopping while we were at the port.
Read jaguiarfl's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image richard lyall
1 review
Oct 2015
Great day but watch out for the sand flies use off to keep from being eaten alive!!!
Read richard lyall's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Jerryclark
1 review
Jul 2015
A Must Do!!! Crew was awesome, great way to see coral reef. I have never been able to scuba and this was easy and anyone can do....
Read Jerryclark's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image fishluvcheerios
1 review
Mar 2015
This was an amazing excursion. You got to see a lot and experience something you probably won't ever again. The guy who takes the pics for them was pretty pushy when we didn't want to buy the picture package. It says snacks and drinks, which are water, juice, and packs of cookies like oreos. The biggest thing I would have changed was just more time to snorkel and do the underwater part. It wasn't that much time and we still got back hours before our ship left. Would still recommend.
Read fishluvcheerios's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image juneo23
2 reviews
Not Rated
Feb 2015

This is an incredible experience! The staff is top notch, safety is the priority. The water clear and warm. The ride to the facility is an adventure all its own (the roads are full of potholes) but it is an excursion worth taking!! In Roatan stay in the cruise port when not on an excursion, the locals will surround you and bother you begging for money.

Read juneo23's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image CAtravelers
2 reviews
Mar 2014

The time on the underwater scooter is about 30 mins. the rest of the time you can snorkel (equipment provided). The boat staff is very friendly and attentive offering snacks, juice and provided detailed instructions on the underwater scooter. There are a number of divers with the scooter group to make sure everyone is safe and comfortable.

The scooters go down about 8 ft. and there were not a lot of fish to see, just a few tiny fish and a turtle that we actually saw from the boat. The adventure is riding the underwater scooter, which is something different, so for that reason you might want to give it a try.

Read CAtravelers's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?