Cozumel Tulum Excursion Reviews

Cozumel Tulum cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Experience the ruins of the walled city of Tulum, which rise above the Caribbean Sea. Explore the archeological monuments of this ceremonial center, which were left as a reminder of this ancient Mayan culture.
Member Image oldpsych
1 review
Nov 2016
Tulum was a great experience and in a beautiful setting.
Read oldpsych's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image wesmooore8
1 review
Oct 2016
Awesome. My wife and I left the group for a bit because we wanted to explore the ruins on our own. There is not a lot of time after the guided tour for personal exploring. It was very good overall. The area was beautiful and the trip there and back was filled with information and it made the time pass quickly. I would highly recommend this excursion.
Read wesmooore8's full Empress of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image 1sg
1 review
Oct 2016
Hot. Great tour guide, Angel. He was funny, entertaining and educational. Time went quick. I loved hearing about the Mayans and seeing there culture in Tulum
Read 1sg's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image cghouston
8 reviews
Oct 2016
Did the Tulum Temples & Mayan Village with Lunch - our guide Martin was great - the ruins of Tulum are beautiful. We also enjoyed the Mayan village and lunch of traditional Mayan dishes
Read cghouston's full Carnival Liberty cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image MountainWestWoman
1 review
Oct 2016
In Cozumel we went to Tulum ruins and a cenote. We took a taxi van (about $16 for 6 of us) 7 minutes (they are waiting outside the port and easy to find) to the ferry to Playa del Carmen (mainland) about 45 mins. My husband and I had already been to Tulum on a Carnival tour a few years before but wanted to take our kids to also see some other sites while in Playa in a short amount of time, which can't be done on the cruise tour. I saw great reviews online about hiring the Genchi family as a private driver and I am so glad we did! We had such a wonderful experience with Emi that I would recommend her without hesitation and use her again in a heartbeat. She is very professional but also super sweet and fun to talk to. She told us just what she would be wearing and she spotted us right off the ferry from Cozumel. She helped us exchange some pesos which we needed for the sites we would visit. We learned alot about the area travelling with her and she made sure we knew exactly where to go at Tulum and where to find her after we explored. She gave us suggestions but really let us direct the experience. The van was clean and very cool on a hot day and the rates were incredible for our own private experience (so different and much better than taking a tour with the cruiseship on a bus.) After Tulum, which is an unforgettable experience, she drove us to a cenote and helped us buy our tickets. Our children absolutely loved the cenote and jumping of a 10 foot cliff into the clear water below. When it was time to go, my 6 and 8 year old both hugged Emi because they felt so much kindness and love from her. She knows the area and tourism very well and we felt very safe and educated with her around, plus she watched the time and got us back to the ferry in plenty of time. The day couldn't have gone better.
Read MountainWestWoman's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image nwskeptic
1 review
Aug 2016
Tulum was great...our tour guide...well, he was enthusiastic, but spent so much time talking about stuff that we knew about (like the sun changing positions based on the dates) it was apparent he knew not very much about the Mayans. The ruins were great but would have appreciated a better guide.
Read nwskeptic's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image dkkctodd@yahoo.com
1 review
Jul 2016
Informative. Hot
Read dkkctodd@yahoo.com's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image kvernaleken
1 review
Jun 2016
I do not recommend taking a Tulum Ruins tour from a cruise docked in Cozumel. You just don't have enough time to do this. You'll spend your entire time on a bus and on a ferry (in total, more time than spent at the ruins or eating lunch). We really regret doing this instead of just exploring Cozumel or even Playa del Carmen.
Read kvernaleken's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image MKSP
1 review
Jun 2016
Tulum is fascinating and beautiful. It is a long day and you won't have any time in port. We did the excursion with the beach break and it was rushed. Food was excellent though.
Read MKSP's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image hggalveston
1 review
Jun 2016
Took bus ride to Tulum Mayan Ruins… Way too hot, way too many people. Weed eaters going all over the place. Went to beach after, and it was beautiful. We were late being taken back to the ship. Thankful they did not lead us.
Read hggalveston's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image juanr@phillipslaw.com
1 review
Jun 2016
Tour guide Angel was excellent! Travel was long but worth it!
Read juanr@phillipslaw.com's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image jaynlay242@yahoo.com
1 review
May 2016
We did not get to the beach at Tulem . It was too hot for a 1 hour history lesson , after tulem we went to the springs nearby which were wonderful , great tour guide just too hot to enjoy .....should have gone straight to the beach at Tulem which is beautiful and right next to the best ruins .
Read jaynlay242@yahoo.com's full Carnival Conquest cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image sxmalize
1 review
May 2016
The ruins are really neat. Hot. Bring water. Bus ride shows the countryside. Tour guide didn't give much info about the ruins. More info about religion and Mexico. When we reached the place to enter the ruins, the guide THEN tried to take orders to buy home made Mayan souvenirs. Waste of time. Market and restaurants at the parking lot were really good.
Read sxmalize's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Margarita Madam
1 review
Apr 2016
Very interesting excursion, however, too much time is spent getting there and back. It's a shame this excursion could not be extended by a few hours to give participants the opportunity to do everything they want to at the site.
Read Margarita Madam's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image hd2297
1 review
Mar 2016
Tulum Ruins Express - I loved going to Tulum, but unfortunately, we just didn't have enough time at the site because it takes quite a bit of time getting there (45 minute ferry boat ride and then an hour bus ride). The day we went, it was packed at the site so by the time we walked all the way up there, we had about 40 minutes to snap pictures quickly (and that was while trying to navigate through all the crowds) and hike about 15 minutes back to the bus. They do have trolley but since it was so crowded, there was no time to wait through the lines to get it. It seemed like there was only one so there is a lot of walking involved with this tour. The tour operator had to rush to get us back in time to catch the 1pm ferry shuttle because the next shuttle didn't leave until 3, and you still have to catch a taxi back to the RCL ship. The taxi area was crowded and that was another line to wait in. Then, another line to get through the Cozumel security area. No bathrooms on the bus. There was a boxed lunch with tuna fish, crackers, peanuts, a muffin and a bottle of water. After all that walking, everyone was hot and very hungry, so the boxed lunch on the bus was fine. I enjoyed finally visiting the site of Tulum finally, but it definitely was a long and exhausting day. We had to meet at 7am, left the ship at 7:30am, took the ferry (45 minutes) walked to the bus (10 minutes), finally got on a bus (an hour ride), walked to the site (approx. 15 min), 45 minutes at the site, walk back to the bus (15 min), bus ride back (one hour), ferry back from mainland to Cozumel (45 minutes), waiting on a taxi and getting back to port (another 40 minutes)....its a long day, especially for kids, but the site is definitely beautiful!
Read hd2297's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image whoop1995
2 reviews
Feb 2016
The trip took about 75 in each way including the ferry ride. The ferry ride is a bit rough. We had a great tour guide.
Read whoop1995's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image ricok987
7 reviews
Jan 2016
Tour was great, weather was not and beach was closed.
Read ricok987's full Carnival Conquest cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image jconnelley
1 review
Dec 2015
The experience of getting on and off the ship was horrible. We didn't realize how far away Tulum was from the port. If we had known, we probably would have settled for seeing the ruins that are on Cozumel itself. As it was, we had to take the ferry to the mainland and then a bus up the coast to Tulum, which ate up quite a bit of time. Our guide was excellent. He was a Mayan himself and extremely knowledgeable. The ruins are very well preserved. They are on a cliff overlooking the "Mexican Riviera." A very beautiful spot. We had about an hour to stroll around the village outside the ruins and do a little shopping and get our photo taken with some entertainers dressed in ancient Mayan costumes.
Read jconnelley's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image chrisbell9202
1 review
Dec 2015
The excursion to Coba was cancelled so I took this one because it was the managers recommendation. It was a complete waste. There was too much time spent in Tulum and not enough to do, and the private beach club was a disappointment. The marketing for this excursion is inflated and inaccurate.
Read chrisbell9202's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Jagged.Shard
1 review
Nov 2015
WOW!! We were blown away by the ruins at Tulum!! we had not expected them to be set in so spectacular clifftop setting. Our guide, Carlos, was extremely knowledgeable and made sure we had a good understanding of the significance of Tulum. Them on to the Mayan village for lunch, a mix of local dishes served by Mayan villagers. All together a very enjoyable experience and well worth the money. Would strongly recommend this trip.
Read Jagged.Shard's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image sunflowergirl66
5 reviews
Jul 2015
This is a good tour, but they stop at the requisite shopping stop at the tourist trap with the excuse it's a bathroom break.
Read sunflowergirl66's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Radcruise
1 review
Jun 2015
Ruins nice but walk from bus to ruins long in heat with gauntlet of aggressive vendors. Tour guide knowledgable . Between ferry ride, bus ride and "bathroom break" not much time at ruins. Bathroom break on way really just a way to stop us at a gift shop. Bus nice
Read Radcruise's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image dkbrig
4 reviews
Jun 2015
Great excursion. The tour guide was wonderful. They gave us head phones to hear what he was saying. The guide totally loved his job. Very interesting and loved everything about it. We felt safe and taken care of, no surprises.
Read dkbrig's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Decimotox
1 review
May 2015
Went to the Tulum ruins with Beach Break. This one was a bit disappointing because of our group size and our tour guide. He was very nice, but also pretty disorganized and ended up losing 3 people along the way. We were only at the actual ruins for about 30 minutes before having to head back. Quite disappointing. The beach break with Mexican buffet was nice and that lasted even longer than the ruins visit itself, which was perplexing. I wouldn't recommend this one to anyone if they want to see the ruins for a while. We only got 15 minutes to explore and take pictures, and while the ruin site isn't that large, it wasn't enough time to fully enjoy the incredible amazing history. My advice: take lots of pictures since that's the best way to enjoy the ruins (and that's kind of sad).
Read Decimotox's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image DFoweman
1 review
May 2015
Tulum is a beautiful place. They Mayan ruins are amazing and it is located right on a beach. We enjoyed hearing about the ruins. We went on Alma LDS tours and they did a great job.
Read DFoweman's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?