Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Cozumel Tulum Excursion Reviews

Cozumel Tulum cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Experience the ruins of the walled city of Tulum, which rise above the Caribbean Sea. Explore the archeological monuments of this ceremonial center, which were left as a reminder of this ancient Mayan culture.
Member Image hd2297
1 review
Mar 2016
Tulum Ruins Express - I loved going to Tulum, but unfortunately, we just didn't have enough time at the site because it takes quite a bit of time getting there (45 minute ferry boat ride and then an hour bus ride). The day we went, it was packed at the site so by the time we walked all the way up there, we had about 40 minutes to snap pictures quickly (and that was while trying to navigate through all the crowds) and hike about 15 minutes back to the bus. They do have trolley but since it was so crowded, there was no time to wait through the lines to get it. It seemed like there was only one so there is a lot of walking involved with this tour. The tour operator had to rush to get us back in time to catch the 1pm ferry shuttle because the next shuttle didn't leave until 3, and you still have to catch a taxi back to the RCL ship. The taxi area was crowded and that was another line to wait in. Then, another line to get through the Cozumel security area. No bathrooms on the bus. There was a boxed lunch with tuna fish, crackers, peanuts, a muffin and a bottle of water. After all that walking, everyone was hot and very hungry, so the boxed lunch on the bus was fine. I enjoyed finally visiting the site of Tulum finally, but it definitely was a long and exhausting day. We had to meet at 7am, left the ship at 7:30am, took the ferry (45 minutes) walked to the bus (10 minutes), finally got on a bus (an hour ride), walked to the site (approx. 15 min), 45 minutes at the site, walk back to the bus (15 min), bus ride back (one hour), ferry back from mainland to Cozumel (45 minutes), waiting on a taxi and getting back to port (another 40 minutes)....its a long day, especially for kids, but the site is definitely beautiful!
Read hd2297's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image whoop1995
2 reviews
Feb 2016
The trip took about 75 in each way including the ferry ride. The ferry ride is a bit rough. We had a great tour guide.
Read whoop1995's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image ricok987
7 reviews
Jan 2016
Tour was great, weather was not and beach was closed.
Read ricok987's full Carnival Conquest cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image jconnelley
1 review
Dec 2015
The experience of getting on and off the ship was horrible. We didn't realize how far away Tulum was from the port. If we had known, we probably would have settled for seeing the ruins that are on Cozumel itself. As it was, we had to take the ferry to the mainland and then a bus up the coast to Tulum, which ate up quite a bit of time. Our guide was excellent. He was a Mayan himself and extremely knowledgeable. The ruins are very well preserved. They are on a cliff overlooking the "Mexican Riviera." A very beautiful spot. We had about an hour to stroll around the village outside the ruins and do a little shopping and get our photo taken with some entertainers dressed in ancient Mayan costumes.
Read jconnelley's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image chrisbell9202
1 review
Dec 2015
The excursion to Coba was cancelled so I took this one because it was the managers recommendation. It was a complete waste. There was too much time spent in Tulum and not enough to do, and the private beach club was a disappointment. The marketing for this excursion is inflated and inaccurate.
Read chrisbell9202's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Jagged.Shard
1 review
Nov 2015
WOW!! We were blown away by the ruins at Tulum!! we had not expected them to be set in so spectacular clifftop setting. Our guide, Carlos, was extremely knowledgeable and made sure we had a good understanding of the significance of Tulum. Them on to the Mayan village for lunch, a mix of local dishes served by Mayan villagers. All together a very enjoyable experience and well worth the money. Would strongly recommend this trip.
Read Jagged.Shard's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image sunflowergirl66
4 reviews
Jul 2015
This is a good tour, but they stop at the requisite shopping stop at the tourist trap with the excuse it's a bathroom break.
Read sunflowergirl66's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Radcruise
1 review
Jun 2015
Ruins nice but walk from bus to ruins long in heat with gauntlet of aggressive vendors. Tour guide knowledgable . Between ferry ride, bus ride and "bathroom break" not much time at ruins. Bathroom break on way really just a way to stop us at a gift shop. Bus nice
Read Radcruise's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image dkbrig
4 reviews
Jun 2015
Great excursion. The tour guide was wonderful. They gave us head phones to hear what he was saying. The guide totally loved his job. Very interesting and loved everything about it. We felt safe and taken care of, no surprises.
Read dkbrig's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Decimotox
1 review
May 2015
Went to the Tulum ruins with Beach Break. This one was a bit disappointing because of our group size and our tour guide. He was very nice, but also pretty disorganized and ended up losing 3 people along the way. We were only at the actual ruins for about 30 minutes before having to head back. Quite disappointing. The beach break with Mexican buffet was nice and that lasted even longer than the ruins visit itself, which was perplexing. I wouldn't recommend this one to anyone if they want to see the ruins for a while. We only got 15 minutes to explore and take pictures, and while the ruin site isn't that large, it wasn't enough time to fully enjoy the incredible amazing history. My advice: take lots of pictures since that's the best way to enjoy the ruins (and that's kind of sad).
Read Decimotox's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image DFoweman
1 review
May 2015
Tulum is a beautiful place. They Mayan ruins are amazing and it is located right on a beach. We enjoyed hearing about the ruins. We went on Alma LDS tours and they did a great job.
Read DFoweman's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image JRE99
1 review
Apr 2015
We did not visit Cozumel but went straight from the pier into a by Royal Caribbean hired ferry to the mainland; to visit (after a bus trip) the Maya Ruins at Tulum. The Excursion was great, yet again too little time again at the actual ruins, barely some time to visit some shop at the ruins entrance (go for the shop with the fixed prices or end up in endless bargaining in the other shops). Then too long driving time to a lunch location on the beach which took simply way too much time on an otherwise expensive beach (1 shot of cheap Tequila emptied your pocket for 10 bucks) and no shopping time on the mainland in Playa del Carmen (which has a large selection of attractive shops). But straight on the ‘last’ ferry back to the pier/boat. ‘Last’ ferry; the ferry was hired by Royal Caribbean. So it would wait for their last passenger before returning to Cozumel (when booked onboard). If you would go yourself to the mainland consider that: 1. The regular ferry does not dock near the cruise ship. 2. Both ways you will have a long waiting queue to get on the ferry. It can take you 1 to 2 hrs. to get across.
Read JRE99's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image TammeyO
1 review
Apr 2015
Great enjoyable excursion. Learned about the history of the island as well as the island and the people who live there. Wear walking shoes for this and if you are prone to heat exhaustion know that it is hot and humid. Saw lots of huge iguanas while walking around the Mayan ruins. The culture is fascinating and the locals are very friendly. Stopped by the beach and enjoyed the wonderful water and beach. Warning: wear shoes because coral is sharp!
Read TammeyO's full Carnival Paradise cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image theraggedmommy
1 review
Apr 2015
Good tour. Didn't have much time though. Between the ferry and boat ride, we only had about 1.5hrs at the Mayan Ruins and the tour guide liked to hear himself talk a lot.
Read theraggedmommy's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image wally437
7 reviews
Apr 2015
To far to visit from cruise ship. A stop enroute at a location that reminded me of what you see in any beach town in the USA selling the same thing everyone else is but more expensive. The walk from the pier to the bus is quite a distance away and the guide walks way to fast for most of the people. She did a very poor job of explaining things when we got to Tulum. I have never seen a tour guide at any of the Mayan ruins we have visited that stood in one place and tried to explain everything in a counterclockwise direction. Wished I wouldn't have spent the money.
Read wally437's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image RevRodney
4 reviews
Apr 2015
It was a breath taking site to see and the beach was beautiful.
Read RevRodney's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image nebbie
1 review
Mar 2015
Extremely long & hot with lots of people. I would not do this tour again. We did the Tulum & Beach Break tour. The guides were great, but the heat was overbearing. The beach was a joke, however the food was decent. The beach was at a way off the beaten path rustic resort full of people. Seaweed was everywhere, the bathrooms were primitive at best.
Read nebbie's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image joevancil
1 review
Mar 2015
Easily the most educational experience I've had on a tour. Angel, the tour guide, was phenomenal, and gave a lot of information on the differences between Tulum, Mayan culture, and the popular "general knowledge" that people have about Mexico. I cannot recommend this tour enough!
Read joevancil's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Traveler4k
8 reviews
Mar 2015

Great ruins and worth the time but a chore to get there. If you have more than one person in your group just go independently. Walk over to the ferry terminal and take the first one to Playa del Carmen. From there you take a cab to Tulum and get a private tour guide. This way, you beat out the cruise ship crowds and go at your own pace. Oh, and you save a little bit! Plus they depend on the ferry also to get you back so if the ferry is late, so are the people who purchased the ship's shore excursion.

Read Traveler4k's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image coledavidson
2 reviews
Feb 2015
In Mexico we visited the Tulum archaeological site. Because the ship berths in Cozumel, we had to take a 45 minute ferry ride to Playa del Carmen. The water was very rough and some people got sea sick. I never get sea sick on a cruise but I was pretty close on the ferry. I highly recommend taking Gravol with you. From Playa del Carmen it was a 40 minute drive to Tulum. We stopped at a Mayan shopping centre on the way, the proceeds from which support actual Mayan families. The vast selection of souvenirs were beautiful and reasonably priced. Our guide was great. Really knowledgeable and quite funny. He gave us a short tour of Tulum, talked to us about Mayan culture, and then pointed out the best sites for us to explore on our own. The beach was one of the best beaches I’ve ever been to. Crystal clear water and completely sandy - no rocks. Overall, this was the best shore excursion I’ve ever taken on any of my cruises and I highly recommend it. I only wish we had a little more time.
Read coledavidson's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image hoosier8
1 review
Feb 2015

7 hour tour. 1 hour boat ride, 1 hour bus ride (each way). So not much time at Tulum. Glad to have done it once, not likely to ever do it again! They also need to offer (at least) a beverage or 2 for such a long excursion.

Read hoosier8's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image n4ut1c4l
1 review
Jan 2015

In Cozumel, we took a ferry to an excursion of Tulum, a Mayan ruin site. We chose the Epic and its itinerary for this specific excursion. Naturally, this tour was also fabulous because we were engaged and asking lots of questions. The tour guide was knowledgeable and efficient in our lessons, leaving us plenty of time for temple selfies! Note that Tulum was an important port city and not known for sacrifice, contrary to Chichen Itza. This tour is an all-day tour and you will be the last ones to return to the Epic. Unfortunately, we had no time to shop in Cozumel before or after the tour so this excursion may not be for you if you want a beach day.

Read n4ut1c4l's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image nr1213@gmail.com
1 review
Jan 2015

Mexico was pricey. They know tourists have money so they make airports look cheap. Good food though. And Tulum was breathtaking, though our ship didn't stay long enough for us to go to the beach; we had to rush back to the ship.

Read nr1213@gmail.com's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jdub0319
2 reviews
Jan 2015

Too much traveling, not enough time at the ruins. You take a ferry from Cozumel to Playa del Carmen, then board a bus that takes you almost an hour to Tulum. On the way to Tulum, you stop at a building where you can use the restrooms and purchase souvenirs or snacks. Upon arriving at Tulum, the bus parks and you walk 10 minutes to the ruins. You're giving about 1.5 hrs to roam around the ruins after your tour guide gives you a brief overview.

There were also WAY too many people there. It was hard to take decent pictures and to take it all in. It is a really beautiful area, I just wished that there were less people and more time to spend there.

Read jdub0319's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image gsr24f
1 review
Jan 2015

I highly suggest getting off Cozumel and going to Playa Del Carmen, a short 45 minute ferry ride west. Take your sea sickness pills if you're sensitive. I was pleased with how "European" the area felt - not a tacky mariachi band in sight. I did the day trip to Tulum which was very informative however it was a LONG day - be prepared for that. Well worth it though. The tour guide lost some credibility in my book when he started recommending specific vendors/restaurants that clearly were friends and/or he was getting a kickback. The fish tacos at the Tulum Site were disappointing.

Read gsr24f's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.