Cozumel Tulum Excursion Reviews

Cozumel Tulum cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Experience the ruins of the walled city of Tulum, which rise above the Caribbean Sea. Explore the archeological monuments of this ceremonial center, which were left as a reminder of this ancient Mayan culture.
Member Image Jvanhoudt
1 review
Mar 2017
The site was nice to see but in 30 minutes we had seen it with the guide , then we had one hour free time to take pictures ... to bad it took 3 hours to get there and 2,5 hours to get back for only 30 minutes of fun
Read Jvanhoudt's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image lesliepfeiffer
1 review
Mar 2017
We took ma 45 minute water taxi ride to another island, from there we boarded a nice, clean van to our destination, another 45 minute drive to Tulum. Our guide for the day was Omar. Omar was amazing! Once in Tulum, we took a boat out into turtle cove and went overboard for snorkeling with sea turtles and stingrays. The snorkeling gear was great and the turtles came right up to the boat and poked their heads out of the water to look at you. This was an amazing experience! The water in Turtle Cove off of Tulum was the most baby blue clear water I have ever swam in.
Read lesliepfeiffer's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image UpstateNYtraveler
2 reviews
Mar 2017
Tulum was very cool! The ferry ride to the mainland was horrible. The 5th avenue shopping experience was not wanted but was included with this excursion. We did not want to shop so the excursion attendant made us sit there on 5th avenue for 2 hours until our "end time". There was no reason why he couldn't have given us our ferry pass to go back and skip the shopping if we did not want to do it.
Read UpstateNYtraveler's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Kearhartkbds
2 reviews
Mar 2017
Ship to tender ...tender was rocking, waters very rough/choppy few threw up ride was very rough. Bus ride to Tulum was very nice A/C bus. Tulum is breathtaking. Ride back /snacks/water provided. Tender on way back was rough seemed got easier with rough waters.
Read Kearhartkbds's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image seadog007
1 review
Mar 2017
The ruins themselves were amazing. It was too hot, bring an umbrella. Our guide gave up halfway through the tour, it would have been nice to have been guided the entire grounds because we missed out on a lot of historical information. No complaints though, everyone was baking.
Read seadog007's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jhgramma
2 reviews
Mar 2017
The tour guide was amazing. Best guide we have ever had on a tour. Was so knowledgeable about the ruins. Beware of the ferry ride from Cozumel to the main line though. Very rough ride. They even handed us sea sick pills before we left!! I laughed, but you won't believe how many got sick on that ferry ride.
Read jhgramma's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image ctbednar
4 reviews
Feb 2017
Tulum itself is very nice, but this really is a tourist trap. Tour guide sold things on the bus from the port to Tulum and back. Also told you which shops to shop at. Huge flea market where the buses park at Tulum. Would never go back with tour, only alone.
Read ctbednar's full Carnival Pride cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image kbunyard
1 review
Feb 2017
Tulum with beach break and lunch. Ruins were amazing, but it was very hot and crowded which was a major contrast to Chacchoben, which was cool and deserted. Tour was rushed and disorganized. Buffet lunch was just okay. Not many things for younger kids to enjoy. Beach was nice, but noisy. Ferry ride from Cozumel was okay, but I'd recommend sitting outside if possible. Overall, we just felt rushed and would probably opt for shopping or beach in Cozumel over going to mainland.
Read kbunyard's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image mrrastos
1 review
Feb 2017
We didn't see much of Cozumel because we went to the mainland to see the Tulum ruins. If you get seasick easily I wouldn't recommend the ferry to the mainland. The ride can get pretty rough. I am a commercial fisherman so it didn't bother me at all, but my wife and I were looking around and some of our fellow passengers and quite a few looked a little green. It takes more time to get to Tulum than you what time you have to spend there. The ruins are worth seeing, but for me were not really the highlight of the trip. I had never been to Mexico before, and on the way back form the ruins to the tour bus there is a restaurant called Frosty's that is recommended by the tour operator, who warned us that some of the other restaurants nearby overcharged and took advantage of people. I had some tacos and a very good margarita. This is also a very good place to get some bottled water. It was 37C in the shade. My wife unfortunately didn't eat anything. She was nervous to be in Mexico because she pays too much attention to the news, but her fears were unfounded. I would highly recommend booking this excursion with the cruise line because of the tight timeline. If the tour is delayed at least the ship will wait for you.
Read mrrastos's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image asclavijo
1 review
Feb 2017
Made our way, via Taxi, to the water taxi location ($18 for 6 of us one way). Took the water taxi to Mexico and then had a private driver take us to Tulum and Snorkeling. Great experience!
Read asclavijo's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Private tours by Johann & Sandra
Member Image ThatGirlKay
1 review
Jan 2017
GABRIEL was wonderful. The tour was amazing!
Read ThatGirlKay's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Snixies
1 review
Jan 2017
Our first Mayan ruins stop - enjoyed it and simply magnificent location with out of this world views, but very crowded and not as impressive as other sites we went on to see
Read Snixies's full Thomson Dream cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image Moiralouise
1 review
Jan 2017
A very long day (8-5pm.) First a 40 min or so ferry ride to Playa del Carmen and then a 45 min or so bus ride. We chose this tour for the location on the beach and 2 hours free time to do our own thing. Our guide was a great disappointment, telling us about all the other spectacular places e.g. Chichen Itza and other places around the world. Spent most of the time talking under the shade of a tree. Had one and a half hours free time instead of 2 and most of the ruins still to explore by the time he had finished telling us about "our fathers who came from the stars." Didn't feel we learnt much about Mayan culture at all. Would not have had much time for a swim even if the beach had been open, as there was a lot to see, plus a 10-15 min walk back to the bus and still had to grab lunch. Then a 45 min drive back to Playa del Carmen, with some walking around and then 40 min free time. Now our towels were locked on the bus so once again we couldn't swim. Would much rather have gone straight back to Cozumel to at least have a bit of time there. We arrived just in time for the ship to leave - I think they were waiting for us as there were no cloths to wipe our faces this time.
Read Moiralouise's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Hot Momma Brew
1 review
Jan 2017
Private van to tender which transported us to Tulum. Private chartered bus met the ship tender. Full lunch (sandwiches, water and chips) provided. Wonderful local tour guides who were bilingual. Best tour experience (bus trip was under an hour).
Read Hot Momma Brew's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Ecological Tours & Services
Member Image travelsande
1 review
Dec 2016
A little too much standing in the heat while the guide gave us information about the ruins. Enjoyed the free time to walk around and see the pretty beach below the ruins. Not enough time to walk down the stairs to the beach with all the crowds. Takes at least 1/2 hour for the ferry from Cozumel, another 1/2 hour for the bus ride to the ruins. Another 40 minutes near the Playa Del Carmen bus station by the beach. We made the last ferry back to Cozumel at 6:30, so the ship had to wait for us as it was to have left the port at 7pm.
Read travelsande's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Emmia
1 review
Dec 2016
Tulum Express. The ferry from Cozumel to Playa del Carmen was really choppy - fortunately we didn't get sea-sick. The tour guide who took us to the bus and stayed with us at Tulum and back to Playa del Carmen and got us back on the ferry was more than excellent. He was full of information and very helpful to every person on the tour. I highly recommend this if you are a history buff. It was great.
Read Emmia's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image weetzie00
1 review
Dec 2016
The ruins itself was beautiful and a great historical site to visit. However, our tour guide (provided through NCL's excursion) seemed to be in a rush and the older members of our group were left behind. He said he'd wait but didn't. He made no attempt to cater to them and I missed out on half of the tour trying to help the slower half of the group. We had over an hour of free time, so I don't understand why he did that. He seemed knowledgeable, I wish I had heard it all.
Read weetzie00's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Kingofcool1947
1 review
Dec 2016
A long day, by ferry boat, then bus ride to Mayan ruins at Tulum. Excellent tour of the ruins, then beach time and buffet lunch at a private beach resort. Angel the tour guide was excellent. Well worth the cost of the tour, since Tulum is quite a distance travel from Cozumel.
Read Kingofcool1947's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image leathgirl
3 reviews
Dec 2016
A MUST SEE. Worth the long day X7
Read leathgirl's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image adjensen
2 reviews
Dec 2016
Once in a lifetime will be enough -- 45 minutes on ferry, 45 minutes on bus, 45 minutes to get to ruins and be led around, an hour on your own (including on your own to find food -- no lunch or drinks included) and then the bus and ferry back. If you're into Mayan history and ruins (I am) it's worth it, otherwise, probably not.
Read adjensen's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image CruisinRanee
1 review
Dec 2016
Our guide was fun and interesting. He made the ruins come alive.
Read CruisinRanee's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image PNFL
2 reviews
Nov 2016
Very nice excursion but it is a very long day.
Read PNFL's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Happy_Traveler_2008
3 reviews
Nov 2016
We took the RCL Tulum and Beach Break excursion yesterday and loved it. Boarded the ferry at 8 am and it was a 45 minute ride. Since it was a bit choppy, several passengers got sick towards the end of the ride. Crew was ready with barf bags and trash can. Even offered rubbing alcohol cotton ball to help alleviate the nausea. Eat light breakfast if you are concerned. But since lunch is at 2 pm, be prepared. There was 15 minute walk from ferry to bus parking lot with a break to take pictures. Bus ride takes about an hour but we stopped for 25 minutes for toilet break and shopping at a local arts and crafts shop. We arrived at Tulum at 11:15. Walk to entrance was another 10 minutes. Guide gave a 45 minute talk and we had about 90 minutes free time to explore. Tulum is bigger than I thought with many interesting buildings to see. The surrounding view of the Caribbean Sea is beautiful! Well worth the long ferry and bus ride to get there. Very little shade there so bring sun protection, sun umbrella and water. Guide did give us one free water. We left at 1:30 to go to Los Lirios for buffet lunch and beach break. Got there at 2 pm. Grab food quickly since they didn't refill items. Was able to use the cabanas and loungers on the beach for free. Beach is long and beautiful but pretty windy. Saw several people parasailing. We left at 4 pm and arrived back at the ship at 6:15.
Read Happy_Traveler_2008's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image oldpsych
1 review
Nov 2016
Tulum was a great experience and in a beautiful setting.
Read oldpsych's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image wesmooore8
1 review
Oct 2016
Awesome. My wife and I left the group for a bit because we wanted to explore the ruins on our own. There is not a lot of time after the guided tour for personal exploring. It was very good overall. The area was beautiful and the trip there and back was filled with information and it made the time pass quickly. I would highly recommend this excursion.
Read wesmooore8's full Empress of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?