Cozumel Tulum Excursion Reviews

Cozumel Tulum cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Experience the ruins of the walled city of Tulum, which rise above the Caribbean Sea. Explore the archeological monuments of this ceremonial center, which were left as a reminder of this ancient Mayan culture.
Member Image travelsande
1 review
Dec 2016
A little too much standing in the heat while the guide gave us information about the ruins. Enjoyed the free time to walk around and see the pretty beach below the ruins. Not enough time to walk down the stairs to the beach with all the crowds. Takes at least 1/2 hour for the ferry from Cozumel, another 1/2 hour for the bus ride to the ruins. Another 40 minutes near the Playa Del Carmen bus station by the beach. We made the last ferry back to Cozumel at 6:30, so the ship had to wait for us as it was to have left the port at 7pm.
Read travelsande's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Emmia
1 review
Dec 2016
Tulum Express. The ferry from Cozumel to Playa del Carmen was really choppy - fortunately we didn't get sea-sick. The tour guide who took us to the bus and stayed with us at Tulum and back to Playa del Carmen and got us back on the ferry was more than excellent. He was full of information and very helpful to every person on the tour. I highly recommend this if you are a history buff. It was great.
Read Emmia's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image weetzie00
1 review
Dec 2016
The ruins itself was beautiful and a great historical site to visit. However, our tour guide (provided through NCL's excursion) seemed to be in a rush and the older members of our group were left behind. He said he'd wait but didn't. He made no attempt to cater to them and I missed out on half of the tour trying to help the slower half of the group. We had over an hour of free time, so I don't understand why he did that. He seemed knowledgeable, I wish I had heard it all.
Read weetzie00's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Kingofcool1947
1 review
Dec 2016
A long day, by ferry boat, then bus ride to Mayan ruins at Tulum. Excellent tour of the ruins, then beach time and buffet lunch at a private beach resort. Angel the tour guide was excellent. Well worth the cost of the tour, since Tulum is quite a distance travel from Cozumel.
Read Kingofcool1947's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image leathgirl
3 reviews
Dec 2016
A MUST SEE. Worth the long day X7
Read leathgirl's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image adjensen
1 review
Dec 2016
Once in a lifetime will be enough -- 45 minutes on ferry, 45 minutes on bus, 45 minutes to get to ruins and be led around, an hour on your own (including on your own to find food -- no lunch or drinks included) and then the bus and ferry back. If you're into Mayan history and ruins (I am) it's worth it, otherwise, probably not.
Read adjensen's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image CruisinRanee
1 review
Dec 2016
Our guide was fun and interesting. He made the ruins come alive.
Read CruisinRanee's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image PNFL
2 reviews
Nov 2016
Very nice excursion but it is a very long day.
Read PNFL's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Happy_Traveler_2008
3 reviews
Nov 2016
We took the RCL Tulum and Beach Break excursion yesterday and loved it. Boarded the ferry at 8 am and it was a 45 minute ride. Since it was a bit choppy, several passengers got sick towards the end of the ride. Crew was ready with barf bags and trash can. Even offered rubbing alcohol cotton ball to help alleviate the nausea. Eat light breakfast if you are concerned. But since lunch is at 2 pm, be prepared. There was 15 minute walk from ferry to bus parking lot with a break to take pictures. Bus ride takes about an hour but we stopped for 25 minutes for toilet break and shopping at a local arts and crafts shop. We arrived at Tulum at 11:15. Walk to entrance was another 10 minutes. Guide gave a 45 minute talk and we had about 90 minutes free time to explore. Tulum is bigger than I thought with many interesting buildings to see. The surrounding view of the Caribbean Sea is beautiful! Well worth the long ferry and bus ride to get there. Very little shade there so bring sun protection, sun umbrella and water. Guide did give us one free water. We left at 1:30 to go to Los Lirios for buffet lunch and beach break. Got there at 2 pm. Grab food quickly since they didn't refill items. Was able to use the cabanas and loungers on the beach for free. Beach is long and beautiful but pretty windy. Saw several people parasailing. We left at 4 pm and arrived back at the ship at 6:15.
Read Happy_Traveler_2008's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image oldpsych
1 review
Nov 2016
Tulum was a great experience and in a beautiful setting.
Read oldpsych's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image wesmooore8
1 review
Oct 2016
Awesome. My wife and I left the group for a bit because we wanted to explore the ruins on our own. There is not a lot of time after the guided tour for personal exploring. It was very good overall. The area was beautiful and the trip there and back was filled with information and it made the time pass quickly. I would highly recommend this excursion.
Read wesmooore8's full Empress of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image 1sg
1 review
Oct 2016
Hot. Great tour guide, Angel. He was funny, entertaining and educational. Time went quick. I loved hearing about the Mayans and seeing there culture in Tulum
Read 1sg's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image cghouston
8 reviews
Oct 2016
Did the Tulum Temples & Mayan Village with Lunch - our guide Martin was great - the ruins of Tulum are beautiful. We also enjoyed the Mayan village and lunch of traditional Mayan dishes
Read cghouston's full Carnival Liberty cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image MountainWestWoman
1 review
Oct 2016
In Cozumel we went to Tulum ruins and a cenote. We took a taxi van (about $16 for 6 of us) 7 minutes (they are waiting outside the port and easy to find) to the ferry to Playa del Carmen (mainland) about 45 mins. My husband and I had already been to Tulum on a Carnival tour a few years before but wanted to take our kids to also see some other sites while in Playa in a short amount of time, which can't be done on the cruise tour. I saw great reviews online about hiring the Genchi family as a private driver and I am so glad we did! We had such a wonderful experience with Emi that I would recommend her without hesitation and use her again in a heartbeat. She is very professional but also super sweet and fun to talk to. She told us just what she would be wearing and she spotted us right off the ferry from Cozumel. She helped us exchange some pesos which we needed for the sites we would visit. We learned alot about the area travelling with her and she made sure we knew exactly where to go at Tulum and where to find her after we explored. She gave us suggestions but really let us direct the experience. The van was clean and very cool on a hot day and the rates were incredible for our own private experience (so different and much better than taking a tour with the cruiseship on a bus.) After Tulum, which is an unforgettable experience, she drove us to a cenote and helped us buy our tickets. Our children absolutely loved the cenote and jumping of a 10 foot cliff into the clear water below. When it was time to go, my 6 and 8 year old both hugged Emi because they felt so much kindness and love from her. She knows the area and tourism very well and we felt very safe and educated with her around, plus she watched the time and got us back to the ferry in plenty of time. The day couldn't have gone better.
Read MountainWestWoman's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image nwskeptic
1 review
Aug 2016
Tulum was great...our tour guide...well, he was enthusiastic, but spent so much time talking about stuff that we knew about (like the sun changing positions based on the dates) it was apparent he knew not very much about the Mayans. The ruins were great but would have appreciated a better guide.
Read nwskeptic's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image JetZetter
1 review
Jul 2016
Roughly 4 hours of transportation. Half on water taxi to the mainland and half on a bus. Both the water taxi and the bus were nice, air conditioned and clean. Ruins were incredible. Beautiful scenery.
Read JetZetter's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image dkkctodd@yahoo.com
1 review
Jul 2016
Informative. Hot
Read dkkctodd@yahoo.com's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image kvernaleken
1 review
Jun 2016
I do not recommend taking a Tulum Ruins tour from a cruise docked in Cozumel. You just don't have enough time to do this. You'll spend your entire time on a bus and on a ferry (in total, more time than spent at the ruins or eating lunch). We really regret doing this instead of just exploring Cozumel or even Playa del Carmen.
Read kvernaleken's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image MKSP
1 review
Jun 2016
Tulum is fascinating and beautiful. It is a long day and you won't have any time in port. We did the excursion with the beach break and it was rushed. Food was excellent though.
Read MKSP's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image hggalveston
1 review
Jun 2016
Took bus ride to Tulum Mayan Ruins… Way too hot, way too many people. Weed eaters going all over the place. Went to beach after, and it was beautiful. We were late being taken back to the ship. Thankful they did not lead us.
Read hggalveston's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image juanr@phillipslaw.com
1 review
Jun 2016
Tour guide Angel was excellent! Travel was long but worth it!
Read juanr@phillipslaw.com's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image jaynlay242@yahoo.com
1 review
May 2016
We did not get to the beach at Tulem . It was too hot for a 1 hour history lesson , after tulem we went to the springs nearby which were wonderful , great tour guide just too hot to enjoy .....should have gone straight to the beach at Tulem which is beautiful and right next to the best ruins .
Read jaynlay242@yahoo.com's full Carnival Conquest cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image sxmalize
1 review
May 2016
The ruins are really neat. Hot. Bring water. Bus ride shows the countryside. Tour guide didn't give much info about the ruins. More info about religion and Mexico. When we reached the place to enter the ruins, the guide THEN tried to take orders to buy home made Mayan souvenirs. Waste of time. Market and restaurants at the parking lot were really good.
Read sxmalize's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Margarita Madam
1 review
Apr 2016
Very interesting excursion, however, too much time is spent getting there and back. It's a shame this excursion could not be extended by a few hours to give participants the opportunity to do everything they want to at the site.
Read Margarita Madam's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image hd2297
1 review
Mar 2016
Tulum Ruins Express - I loved going to Tulum, but unfortunately, we just didn't have enough time at the site because it takes quite a bit of time getting there (45 minute ferry boat ride and then an hour bus ride). The day we went, it was packed at the site so by the time we walked all the way up there, we had about 40 minutes to snap pictures quickly (and that was while trying to navigate through all the crowds) and hike about 15 minutes back to the bus. They do have trolley but since it was so crowded, there was no time to wait through the lines to get it. It seemed like there was only one so there is a lot of walking involved with this tour. The tour operator had to rush to get us back in time to catch the 1pm ferry shuttle because the next shuttle didn't leave until 3, and you still have to catch a taxi back to the RCL ship. The taxi area was crowded and that was another line to wait in. Then, another line to get through the Cozumel security area. No bathrooms on the bus. There was a boxed lunch with tuna fish, crackers, peanuts, a muffin and a bottle of water. After all that walking, everyone was hot and very hungry, so the boxed lunch on the bus was fine. I enjoyed finally visiting the site of Tulum finally, but it definitely was a long and exhausting day. We had to meet at 7am, left the ship at 7:30am, took the ferry (45 minutes) walked to the bus (10 minutes), finally got on a bus (an hour ride), walked to the site (approx. 15 min), 45 minutes at the site, walk back to the bus (15 min), bus ride back (one hour), ferry back from mainland to Cozumel (45 minutes), waiting on a taxi and getting back to port (another 40 minutes)....its a long day, especially for kids, but the site is definitely beautiful!
Read hd2297's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?