St. Kitts Scenic Railway Excursion Reviews

St. Kitts Scenic Railway cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Board a narrow train, built between 1913 and 1926 for transporting sugar cane, for a scenic 3-mile circle of the beautiful Caribbean island of St. Kitts.
Member Image janshopsalot
1 review
Feb 2017
The scenic train ride consisted of looking at old sugar cane fields for almost two hours. it was very boring! The people on the train were very nice. Very overpriced.
Read janshopsalot's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Painswick
1 review
Feb 2017
Touted by Island as a major tourist attraction, it was in poor mechanical shape, half the track has been closed, carriages dirty and uncomfortable. Could have been so much better !
Read Painswick's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image wb_samui
1 review
Feb 2017
Expensive but a fun event for people who have never been to St Kitts.
Read wb_samui's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Robert45
1 review
Feb 2017
Train ride was limited to looking at scenery. When tour ended, we booked a second tour at the pier so we could actually visit some of the sights.
Read Robert45's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image PaleoLady
1 review
Feb 2017
We took the railway tour followed by a catamaran tour for the ride back to port. Sit in the covered top deck of the railcars or you won't really see anything except embankments. Narration was well done and could be heard in all of the cars (5 that day, a fully booked day so I'm glad we reserved the excursion pre-cruise). Drinks were unlimited. A small group of local women visited each of the cars, singing. Photographic opportunities were limited and difficult to take due to motion, but it was a pleasant day. The catamaran ride was also great, giving us a view of the opposing side of the island. It was also well narrated and drinks were unlimited. Some folks took full advantage of this feature. People were asked to take shoes off before boarding. We carried ours in our daypacks; otherwise you had to find yours from the baskets after landing. Sunglasses were a must, and hold onto your hats!
Read PaleoLady's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image philipsharp
2 reviews
Feb 2017
probably the best excursion plenty to see and drink
Read philipsharp's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image LA_Girl
2 reviews
Jan 2017
Very unique tour with historical aspects added. Also included drinks with and without alcohol.
Read LA_Girl's full Wind Surf cruise review
Provider: Windstar Cruises
Member Image BarbaraJean19
1 review
Jan 2017
Beautiful tour. We were on the top deck so nice an relaxing. Returning to the ship via a bus. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable.
Read BarbaraJean19's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image kctraveler
2 reviews
Jan 2017
This really should have two ratings. The train part was in an older train with an open compartment on top and a closed area on the bottom. The open section had seats around the perimeter facing each other which sometimes made it difficult to take pictures as the train was moving.the people seated on the bottom, did not have a good view of many of the sites. The train ride is about 1.5 hours which was way too long as their were not many sites to see. It became tedious at the end. They did serve non stop rum drinks- pina coladas, run and cokes, mango rum and others as well as soft drinks. I would have rated the train portion of the tour a 3. At the end of the train ride, you were taken by van or bus to a catamaran, the captain gave a safety review and then you were allowed to sit any where you wanted, on the netting, the edges, steps. They played Caribbean music and then started with more drinks - rum punches, beers, soft drinks. They also served muffins and chips. The crew was great and scenery very pretty. It was about about an hour to get back to the docks for the cruise ship. I would rate this section a 5 for their effort. I would do just the catamaran the next time.
Read kctraveler's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image total63
1 review
Jan 2017
A lot of fun and very informative. St Kitts has a real gem here. They should make the effort to clean the right of way to present a better image.
Read total63's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image njg999
1 review
Jan 2017
Nice train ride. Too much time on the bus. You can easily book this on your own for less. Ok to do once and see the island
Read njg999's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Cheshire Joyce
1 review
Jan 2017
Great trip, excellent guide, drinks included in price.
Read Cheshire Joyce's full TUI Discovery cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image millertwo
1 review
Jan 2017
absolutely awesome would do again.
Read millertwo's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image blueboo
3 reviews
Jan 2017
Was okay but not quite up to the rave reviews we had read beforehand. Would not do it again but it was a nice thing to do on the rainy day we had there
Read blueboo's full Ventura cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image msgam1
1 review
Jan 2017
Nice tour. We were entertained by a vocal group on board and served some delicious drinks!
Read msgam1's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image skipper711
7 reviews
Jan 2017
Thoroughly enjoyed the railway portion of this excursion
Read skipper711's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image justlike2getaway
1 review
Jan 2017
The train ride is on very old narrow gauge rails. The train coaches are also old and there is a lot of rocking motion. There was very little narration and what there was is difficult to hear. We would probably not recommend this tour for anyone other than first time visitors to the island or those just looking for something to do. In addition this tour costs $109 per person and is not worth it.
Read justlike2getaway's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image TinPshr
3 reviews
Jan 2017
Informative tour with friendly guides. Drinks and choir a bonus.
Read TinPshr's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image angcal26
1 review
Jan 2017
nice trip entertaining with the singers and the narrator on the train, drinks were great
Read angcal26's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Susanr50
1 review
Jan 2017
A fun tour on a train, great drinks and service. Live music and narration.
Read Susanr50's full Norwegian Breakaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image dancezee
1 review
Jan 2017
This was a railway that took you around the whole island. They also served pina colada, strawberry dairiris. soda, rum, etc. complimentary and explain all the scenery. The railroad used to deliver sugar cane. Interesting tour.
Read dancezee's full Norwegian Breakaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Funeral Director
2 reviews
Jan 2017
we loved it, a little bumpy but the views were delightful
Read Funeral Director's full Norwegian Breakaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Ap1975
1 review
Dec 2016
We started the tour sailing on a catamaran, with a very pleasant and entertaining staff and from there we went on the Railroad tour. It was a very intreresant tour, we literally went around the island and enjoyed it very much. Great views!
Read Ap1975's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image BeginningSteps
7 reviews
Dec 2016
The train is 2 hours long... wanted to get off in 2 minutes. All you see are trees and more tress. The cookies are pure sugar; don't eat them. The singers sing one song and cannot sing! I am trying to work to get my money back. Do not waste your money; it is not at all what it seems to be.
Read BeginningSteps's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image LBG8ator
2 reviews
Dec 2016
Our driver to the train was outstanding. Provided excellent overview of the history of island, and noted many historical sites during our drive. The scenic train ride was a great way to see the island "behind the scenes" and the drinks provided were excellent. Highly recommend this tour.
Read LBG8ator's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?