Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

St. Kitts Scenic Railway Excursion Reviews

St. Kitts Scenic Railway cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Board a narrow train, built between 1913 and 1926 for transporting sugar cane, for a scenic 3-mile circle of the beautiful Caribbean island of St. Kitts.
Member Image Newtx3
1 review
Jun 2016
Relaxed time aboard a double-decker railcar with drinks and guide.
Read Newtx3's full Carnival Fascination cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Travel723mom
2 reviews
Jun 2016
Pricey, but great experience
Read Travel723mom's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image nasamonte
1 review
Jun 2016
Speaker system was intermittent so it was difficult to hear the narration.
Read nasamonte's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Rjziegler_4
1 review
Apr 2016
Not much to see in St Kitts, open air seating on top and a/c in lower. Have of reel car, good hostess.
Read Rjziegler_4's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image nianticcruisers
1 review
Apr 2016
We had a nice time on this tour. very interesting, but the narrator on the train talked constantly thru the whole tour. annoying after a while and really detracted fro the overall tour. The free drinks on the train were very good and plentiful.
Read nianticcruisers's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image South Aust Cruiser
1 review
Apr 2016
The shuttle ride to the train was better as you got to see more of the island than on the old rig-atty train. Free Cocktails were lovely but very boring
Read South Aust Cruiser's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Dianna1962
1 review
Apr 2016
It's like riding through the ghetto of the inner city. Something about this place seems very strange. These very poor people seem forced to wave as you go by. The streets are filthy. I should have taken the advice of the cruise ship staff-- save your money and spend a day at a resort.
Read Dianna1962's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image 2springers2
1 review
Feb 2016
got a little boring after a while
Read 2springers2's full Carnival Sunshine cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Paleflier
1 review
Feb 2016
A very pleasant trip. We were taken by bus from the cruise port to the station to pick up the train, which runs over an 18 mile stretch of line that runs through the old sugar plantations. The train carriages are double deckers, but everyone chose to ride upstairs which are open to the elements, but afford a good view of the passing scenery. The tour guide was helpful giving a commentary on the history of the line, and the points of interest. We were offered complimentary rum punches which were rather more punch than rum. Otherwise an ideal way to spend three hours, soaking up the wonderful scenery of St Kitts
Read Paleflier's full Adonia cruise review
Provider:
Member Image arby27
1 review
Feb 2016
Caribbean Scenic Rail & Sail. Do the rail bit but avoid the sail bit. The train ride is enjoyable [and would have been better if the commentary sound sytem was working]. However the catamaran ride back is on a hugely overcrowded boat and is not recommended. Just do the train.
Read arby27's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Katiemyrs
1 review
Jan 2016
This was a great low key way to see the island. We wished that the audio on the train had been better. I enjoyed the folk songs, and my husband enjoyed the free beverages although we didn't think about having some small bills for tips on us and ended up giving a very generous tip instead. We were also a little surprised about how much of the time was spent on a small tour van, although the tour guide was great. TIps: -Arrive early for the van/bus portion as they filled nearly every seat on the van and with some single and odd number travelers that meant we struggled to find somewhere to sit - especially since I'm a bigger and pregnant woman who needed a little more room. -When you sit on the train look for the speakers so that you can hear a little better. -Bring small bills to tip the staff.
Read Katiemyrs's full Norwegian Breakaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Kazzabella19
2 reviews
Jan 2016
Ok but could have done without the 'choir'!
Read Kazzabella19's full Britannia cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image Nubus
1 review
Dec 2015
Sailed (by sail) on a catamaran to just south of Sandy Point on the east coast. The catamaran was 60 feet and had a covered section + 2 restrooms. Then a short ride in bus by a very local driver which said "you'll be fine" every 30 seconds. Onto the narrow-gauge train that brings you back to the main town of Basseterre. More free drinks and locals singing. The tour is a rather herded and so it won't really suffice for rail buffs as you get no chance to be on your own and shoot those photos of the engine or cars that you want to. You get a chance to see the landscape and drive through the poor towns with a Piña Colada in hand. You won't be able to choose your own train car but if you move fast you might be able to sit on top and enjoy the view.
Read Nubus's full Carnival Liberty cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Stuberto
1 review
Dec 2015
Very over priced. You got to see a lot of poverty from the train but the little kids would come running as soon as they heard us! Don't be fooled by the 'free drinks' we got ONE rum punch at start then our steward in cabin decided to go AWOL. Got a bit of cake midway and no more drinks in the 2 and half hours.
Read Stuberto's full Britannia cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image KayCowens
2 reviews
Nov 2015
this was a very relaxing ride, nice hospitable railway staff, entertaining singing. Was long trip. Very nice and informative 30 minutes drive/tour through the rural towns, and then 90 minute train ride through towns/villages, with awesome views.
Read KayCowens's full Norwegian Breakaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Cubs Cruise
1 review
Nov 2015
Did not like the train portion at all. Virtually all we saw was vegetation and run down shacks. The Bus Ride back with the tour guide Mel was so much better then the train. Also tremendously over priced.
Read Cubs Cruise's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image CatsRKool
2 reviews
Nov 2015
Railway very interesting. Catamaran totally overloaded kind of like a refugee boat lift. Cunard agent with us didn't seem to care.
Read CatsRKool's full Queen Mary 2 (QM2) cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image dvvtravel@hotmail.com
4 reviews
Nov 2015
We loved the St Kitts Scenic Railway trip, the train trip was longer and better than expected. We were able to take this in the morning and take The Essential St Kitts in the afternoon. Both tours are highly recommended.
Read dvvtravel@hotmail.com's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image tsjdevon
1 review
Nov 2015
Great insight to the island and the choir on board was excellent. The strawberry daiquiris were fantastic.
Read tsjdevon's full Queen Mary 2 (QM2) cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image klare44
1 review
Oct 2015
A very good overview given by our guide who was passionate about her country. Rustic, noisy and bumpy but informative and fun.
Read klare44's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Bon-Voyage
2 reviews
Sep 2015
This was a fantastic excursion. Our bus driver was great, and told us a great deal about the island on the way to the train. Once on the train it was a fun ride with constant input from our host describing all the places we were passing and telling the history of the island. There were singers that went from car to car entertaining us along the way. We sat on the upper, outside level to enjoy a better view. Drinks were served and a small cookie. I would say, this is a very good tour.
Read Bon-Voyage's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image deegee997
1 review
Jul 2015
Train - too long - but was very good.
Read deegee997's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Darlingtoneunice
1 review
Jul 2015
Was exciting and learnt a lot about the island. Our tour guide on the bus is very knowledgeable. A very relaxed way of getting round the island if you not like walking.
Read Darlingtoneunice's full Carnival Liberty cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image newzer
1 review
Jul 2015
This was a great tour of the island. We started off in a van that took us around the island before arriving at the train. Once we boarded the train, we took a wonderful ride through the island that took us on the Atlantic and Caribbean sides. We saw lots of history and took lots of pictures of the countryside. The best part was the pina coladas that were made for us by Lisa.
Read newzer's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image portsimportant
2 reviews
Jun 2015
Our party split up here. Two took the St Kitts Railway and scenic drive and the other two took the Sky Safari Zip Line tour. The organization for pick-up here was not very good we were assigned to sit in the Theater to wait and then when the tour operators came to get us they just led us out and down the pier without really paying attention to who was in the group and what their needs were so the group became fragmented as some members could not make the walk to the bus. That required an unnecessary confusion until everyone got sorted out again. The Railway is a fun little train that took us a little more than halfway around the island at a speed of ten miles per hour. The guide “Sweet Pea” explaining things you see along the way. It is a relaxing and lovely ride, and you are generously supplied with drinks either alcoholic or not as you choose. The virgin Pina Coladas were very good. Then we returned to the bus and with the driver “Mel Gibson” toured the remaining way around the island.
Read portsimportant's full Carnival Liberty cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.