Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

St. Kitts Scenic Railway Excursion Reviews

St. Kitts Scenic Railway cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Board a narrow train, built between 1913 and 1926 for transporting sugar cane, for a scenic 3-mile circle of the beautiful Caribbean island of St. Kitts.
Member Image Kazzabella19
2 reviews
Jan 2016
Ok but could have done without the 'choir'!
Read Kazzabella19's full Britannia cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image Nubus
1 review
Dec 2015
Sailed (by sail) on a catamaran to just south of Sandy Point on the east coast. The catamaran was 60 feet and had a covered section + 2 restrooms. Then a short ride in bus by a very local driver which said "you'll be fine" every 30 seconds. Onto the narrow-gauge train that brings you back to the main town of Basseterre. More free drinks and locals singing. The tour is a rather herded and so it won't really suffice for rail buffs as you get no chance to be on your own and shoot those photos of the engine or cars that you want to. You get a chance to see the landscape and drive through the poor towns with a Piña Colada in hand. You won't be able to choose your own train car but if you move fast you might be able to sit on top and enjoy the view.
Read Nubus's full Carnival Liberty cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Stuberto
1 review
Dec 2015
Very over priced. You got to see a lot of poverty from the train but the little kids would come running as soon as they heard us! Don't be fooled by the 'free drinks' we got ONE rum punch at start then our steward in cabin decided to go AWOL. Got a bit of cake midway and no more drinks in the 2 and half hours.
Read Stuberto's full Britannia cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image KayCowens
2 reviews
Nov 2015
this was a very relaxing ride, nice hospitable railway staff, entertaining singing. Was long trip. Very nice and informative 30 minutes drive/tour through the rural towns, and then 90 minute train ride through towns/villages, with awesome views.
Read KayCowens's full Norwegian Breakaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Cubs Cruise
1 review
Nov 2015
Did not like the train portion at all. Virtually all we saw was vegetation and run down shacks. The Bus Ride back with the tour guide Mel was so much better then the train. Also tremendously over priced.
Read Cubs Cruise's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image CatsRKool
2 reviews
Nov 2015
Railway very interesting. Catamaran totally overloaded kind of like a refugee boat lift. Cunard agent with us didn't seem to care.
Read CatsRKool's full Queen Mary 2 (QM2) cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image dvvtravel@hotmail.com
3 reviews
Nov 2015
We loved the St Kitts Scenic Railway trip, the train trip was longer and better than expected. We were able to take this in the morning and take The Essential St Kitts in the afternoon. Both tours are highly recommended.
Read dvvtravel@hotmail.com's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image tsjdevon
1 review
Nov 2015
Great insight to the island and the choir on board was excellent. The strawberry daiquiris were fantastic.
Read tsjdevon's full Queen Mary 2 (QM2) cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image klare44
1 review
Oct 2015
A very good overview given by our guide who was passionate about her country. Rustic, noisy and bumpy but informative and fun.
Read klare44's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Bon-Voyage
2 reviews
Sep 2015
This was a fantastic excursion. Our bus driver was great, and told us a great deal about the island on the way to the train. Once on the train it was a fun ride with constant input from our host describing all the places we were passing and telling the history of the island. There were singers that went from car to car entertaining us along the way. We sat on the upper, outside level to enjoy a better view. Drinks were served and a small cookie. I would say, this is a very good tour.
Read Bon-Voyage's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image deegee997
1 review
Jul 2015
Train - too long - but was very good.
Read deegee997's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Darlingtoneunice
1 review
Jul 2015
Was exciting and learnt a lot about the island. Our tour guide on the bus is very knowledgeable. A very relaxed way of getting round the island if you not like walking.
Read Darlingtoneunice's full Carnival Liberty cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image newzer
1 review
Jul 2015
This was a great tour of the island. We started off in a van that took us around the island before arriving at the train. Once we boarded the train, we took a wonderful ride through the island that took us on the Atlantic and Caribbean sides. We saw lots of history and took lots of pictures of the countryside. The best part was the pina coladas that were made for us by Lisa.
Read newzer's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image portsimportant
2 reviews
Jun 2015
Our party split up here. Two took the St Kitts Railway and scenic drive and the other two took the Sky Safari Zip Line tour. The organization for pick-up here was not very good we were assigned to sit in the Theater to wait and then when the tour operators came to get us they just led us out and down the pier without really paying attention to who was in the group and what their needs were so the group became fragmented as some members could not make the walk to the bus. That required an unnecessary confusion until everyone got sorted out again. The Railway is a fun little train that took us a little more than halfway around the island at a speed of ten miles per hour. The guide “Sweet Pea” explaining things you see along the way. It is a relaxing and lovely ride, and you are generously supplied with drinks either alcoholic or not as you choose. The virgin Pina Coladas were very good. Then we returned to the bus and with the driver “Mel Gibson” toured the remaining way around the island.
Read portsimportant's full Carnival Liberty cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image TREEH505
1 review
Jun 2015
awesome. A wonderful relaxing tour. Informative and beautiful. the worst shore excursion I have ever booked. Not enough room for everyone, not enough chairs, OLD equipment and amenities. My husband started to snorkel, had to come back his fin was cracked right across the top of his foot. He showed the attendant, who proceeded to put them right back in the tub to give to someone else. Gave him another pair, started to snorkel, the strap was broken, went back again, the attendant put them back in the tub again. Just not a good setup. Too crowded on the docks to enjoy. We had to leave when they brought another boat full of people and there was just nowhere for us to stand or sit. I do not recommend this at all, really needs some thought and refurbishments
Read TREEH505's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image pjtakk
4 reviews
Jun 2015
Great history lesson and scenery; we sat downstairs because of accessibility issues so we saw less. I did go upstairs once and it was much more scenic there. the pina coladas were great and the school choir voices were wonderful
Read pjtakk's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Marianne955
1 review
May 2015
Train ride not always scenic (it goes thru junkyard areas), also long, good drinks, bus portion doesn't make any stops. Guides were informative, and a cappella singers on train were very good.
Read Marianne955's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image lovecruising1998
1 review
May 2015
The Scenic railway tour was wonderful. Part of the tour was by bus and the rest was by train. The double decker train was great. We sat in the upper deck. There was an attendant in each car serving free drinks, both alcoholic and non-alcoholic. This was a great way to see the island. It was beautiful and I would definitely recommend this excursion.
Read lovecruising1998's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Penjean
1 review
Apr 2015
Felt A little long. I liked the singers that were brought onboard. In general there wasn't a lot to see and 18 miles got a little boring. Also the seats were not very comfortable for the length of the trip.
Read Penjean's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image mimsPA
1 review
Apr 2015
Got a lot of history about the sugar plantations. Very interesting and informative. We thoroughly enjoyed this excursion. And the rum and cokes were great too!
Read mimsPA's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image mcd1966
1 review
Apr 2015
The train was fun although long. It is very noisy whilst on board but you get to see around the Island, the lifestyle of the St Kitts people, many highlights and beautiful views. I would recommend it.
Read mcd1966's full Quantum of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Roger_le_Frog
2 reviews
Apr 2015
Half of the tour is by bus and half via a narrow gauge train. While our bus Driver/guide was very informative, the rail part of tour was: informative (our guide did look alike Whoopi Goldberg ), in car service was very good (drinks including alcohol) and we had some entertainment (a group of singers going from car to car); we were on the upper deck. A took a lot of pictures.
Read Roger_le_Frog's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image bullmoose9009@epbfi.com
1 review
Apr 2015
Trip was good on old train around the island. Did not think it was as good as others had rated it but okay way to see island and learn some of the history. Kind of pricey for the trip but okay.
Read bullmoose9009@epbfi.com's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image drella77
1 review
Apr 2015
They kept you entertained with rum and a funny & informative tour guide. Spent 2 hours on train, which was good, but an hour in a bus back to port, which wasn't so good.
Read drella77's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ADH43
2 reviews
Mar 2015
Interesting and educational are probably the best terms to describe this 3-hour train/bus tour. Although you see some beautiful scenery and old sugar mill ruins, you also see examples of the poverty that exists in this part of the world.
Read ADH43's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

 
Have you taken a cruise before?
Thank you!

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.