Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

St. Kitts Scenic Railway Excursion Reviews

St. Kitts Scenic Railway cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Board a narrow train, built between 1913 and 1926 for transporting sugar cane, for a scenic 3-mile circle of the beautiful Caribbean island of St. Kitts.
Member Image lawrencedavis007
1 review
Nov 2014

we did the rail and sail here. we got to see most of the island on the rail and sailed around a very pretty part of the cost. very long and in depth tour

Read lawrencedavis007's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image tysver
1 review
Not Rated
Nov 2014

My wife took the rail trip and loved it. She stated the bus ride to the train was also wonderful and full of information. She loves the train ride trips and this was no exception.

Read tysver's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Dackelprincess
2 reviews
Not Rated
Nov 2014

What a fun trip we took on the Scenic Railway. A knowledgeable man gave us the history of the island as several lovely ladies poured drinks and gave us snacks. We saw the island that would be impossible to see from a car. It was beautiful.
Oh yes, they do have monkeys, and when we were going back to the ship, men would come at you with a baby monkey. I said firmly, "no monkeys" and I was left alone. They're cute, but they want you to pay to have your picture taken with them. I love monkeys, but I also know, monkeys bite!

Read Dackelprincess's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image mojomorris
13 reviews
Sep 2014

Railroad and Drive took us on a narrow gauge railroad trip around the island followed by an air conditioned van ride back to the pier area where you could shop or walk back to the ship. Complimentary drinks were served on the train and a running commentary described the sites along the way. If it’s your first time to St Kitts, this is a great way to see the island. Youngsters might be bored since the train ride is two hours long.

Read mojomorris's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image john1549
1 review
May 2014

Not worth the price or time. Stick to the beach or resorts.

Read john1549's full Carnival Valor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image rjc1117
6 reviews
Not Rated
Apr 2014

The catamaran had good music and good rum punches. We would take this tour again in a heartbeat.

Read rjc1117's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image franforfun3
1 review
Not Rated
Mar 2014

I went on the Scenic Railway Ride & Circle Island Drive tour

This tour pretty much gives you a train tour of the whole island. It was a lot of fun.

Read franforfun3's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image grandmarnnurse
1 review
Not Rated
Feb 2014

A lovely train ride through the lush countryside of St Kitts.

Read grandmarnnurse's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Cozumel Jim
3 reviews
Not Rated
Dec 2013

St. Kitts by Rail and Sail.....Truly an awesome excursion by far. A+++++++ Laid back speed, plenty of Rum Punch and Pina Colada's and singing railway workers. Beautiful views and information. Short ride to boat from train. Boat was a 50+ foot catamaran. Very smooth and again the drinks flowed, plus they fed us! Bring your cameras! I enjoyed this excursion best of all.

Read Cozumel Jim's full Carnival Valor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image gk5336
1 review
Dec 2013

Excellent tour. Very interesting commentary on the history of the Island and plentiful supplies of Pina Colada.

Read gk5336's full Queen Mary 2 (QM2) cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image knittinggirl
14 reviews
Dec 2013

Scenic Train Ride - Excellent and fun! Wonderful beverages, especially the Piña Coladas, and loved the Minstrels. May do again.

Read knittinggirl's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image PaulinAZ
1 review
Not Rated
Nov 2013

We took the Caribbean Rail and Sail Tour which was the Scenic Railway with a catamaran instead of a bus. Both parts of the tour were excellent - the catamaran was 1st, and was very relaxing with drinks and a snack included. The railway was an old sugar cane delivery train which was picturesque and very nice. The tourguides again really knew their stuff.

Read PaulinAZ's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image GARBALU46
9 reviews
Aug 2013

great train ride

Read GARBALU46's full Carnival Valor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Caribbeancruisern
1 review
Apr 2013
Enjoyed this tour--1st we took a 2 hr train ride around the island, then we boarded a catamaran where we enjoyed lunch and free-flowing rum punch! The only negative was the rain--so nothing we could control--lol!
Read Caribbeancruisern's full Carnival Valor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image ettrickbay
2 reviews
Not Rated
Apr 2013
Another excellent trip and again very informative
Read ettrickbay's full Thomson Dream cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image wendel171
1 review
Mar 2013
nice to see whole island and hear tour guide - the 3 person choir was awkward, but unique, island seems pretty poor in comparison.
Read wendel171's full Carnival Valor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image kennythekuriser
1 review
Mar 2013
A fun trip of the island, a neat narrow gauge train so don't plan to walk around too much. You see more on the top deck but it is outside and more like bench seats. On the bottom are nice big chairs, tables and big windows plus it has AC. There is a small group going from car to car and signing native tunes. They also have free drinks. The guide is very informative and fairly funny. Another pier golf cart! The monkeys were great -- I'll let you find out how!
Read kennythekuriser's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image croozin' nut
1 review
Mar 2013
Since this is the only island in the Caribbean with a railway, we decided to take this excursion. It is a very informative excursion, with lots of information about the sugar cane industry that was the main industry on the island years ago, information about the little towns/parishes that the train was rolling through, and beautiful views of the ocean on the other side of the island. On a clear day, you can see St. Maarten and St. Barts.
Read croozin' nut's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image leverman
1 review
Feb 2013
Really enjoyed the St Kitts railway, even if a bit pricey. Another good cruise terminal for shopping, wi-fi etc, but don't get caught by the monkey men (they put a monkey on your shoulder, use your camera to take your picture, and then try and fleece you for $40US!)
Read leverman's full Ventura cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image get busy living
2 reviews
Feb 2013
Our orginal Jeep Safari tour was cancelled without notice so by chance we were able to sign up for the Scenic Railway tour at the dock. It turned out excellent with the 2 hour narrated bus tour and the two hour train ride. Who knew such a comfortable train on narrow guage rails could be so much fun. The shopping at the dock was just OK, we went back to the boat early.
Read get busy living's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image golfingfool
6 reviews
Feb 2013
St. Kitts: Shopping was very good at the shops just a short walk from the pier. We also booked the bus/train ride around the island: Caribbean Scenic Railway Tour (KT15A). Very informative tour of the entire island. The train ride was very pleasant with drinks offered and entertainment(singers) provided. A great way to experience and see St. Kitts. Not sure how young children would enjoy this excursion but it was great for us mature adults.
Read golfingfool's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image davek603
2 reviews
Feb 2013
St Kitt's has little to do on it so be prepared. We did enjoy the scenic rail and learned alot of history of the island. Some we spoke to didn't think it was worth the money but in light of our options we enjoyed it.
Read davek603's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Lolly60
1 review
Feb 2013
Was ok but as the island is very small it doesn't have a lot of tourist attractions to see . The next port of call was Phillipsburg St Maarten and here we also did our own thing by going to the local beach that is at the bottom of an Airport as is seen on YouTube .
Read Lolly60's full Thomson Dream cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image junevk
1 review
Jan 2013
Train was very nice, though very noisy. We sat in the top level of the train and I felt that had we chose the lower level, we would have seen mostly vegetation. Where we sat, the view was lovely.
Read junevk's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image caramanontour
1 review
Jan 2013
The Scenic Railway, though an expensive trip, was most enjoyable. A train with double decker coaches takes a winding and often bumpy track across the island before dropping its passengers off in what seems to be the middle of nowhere. A coach then returns the passengers back to the ship. En route there are good views of the interior of the island and the coast while a guide gives information on what is to be seen. Refreshments such as rum punch were amply supplied. A choir is also included, moving from coach to coach giving a rendition of local songs.
Read caramanontour's full Thomson Dream cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image colgatecol
1 review
Jan 2013
bit to expensive for what you got.
Read colgatecol's full Ventura cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image BennieTheDog
1 review
Dec 2012
Unfortunately, the "rail" part of the Rail and Sail excursion was cancelled due to a mechanical breakdown, so we sailed up and down the coast on the catamaran. It was a nice enough time, but not what we had paid for.
Read BennieTheDog's full Carnival Victory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image mstraveler2
1 review
Dec 2012
Beautiful scenery; staff was friendly and drinks were great.
Read mstraveler2's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Blue_waters
2 reviews
Dec 2012
RECOMMENDED. Other family members went on this tour and had a wonderful time. They did the Rail and Sail, although the Rail Tour can be done separately for those who do not like to sail. The tour began with a scenic sail around the end of the island (no snorkeling or beach stops) and then the group transferred to the rail terminal. The railway tour includes historical info about the island and plantations. During the trip, a choir sang holiday music with an island flavor. The tour returned to the port area which had an abundance of shops and restaurants. This was a good place to find bargains.
Read Blue_waters's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image joschus
1 review
Dec 2012
The Scenic Train Ride was great. About a 30 minute bus ride through the countryside to meet the train. Then, about a 2 hours train ride back to the starting point near the ship. The train staff included a narration and rum drinks served during the trip. What's not to like about that!
Read joschus's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image windham depot
1 review
Nov 2012
You have to take a bus tour to get to the train. Between the bus and the train tour you get to see the entire island. Our bus driver was an awesome tour guide, very entertaining and very helpful, I do have some trouble walking and these people were amazingly helpful. The tour lasted approximately 3 1/2 hours. They did have to stop the train a few times due to electrical problems but, it was not a big deal. Once back to the pier we got MONKEYED!! Anyone who ever cruised to St Kitts would understand this term. We were approached by a gentleman with several monkeys with him and we just weren't quick enough to say NO, the monkeys were placed on us(heads,shoulders etc)and our picture was taken. The Monkeys were adorable and a couple of them had diapers on, they seemed to be well cared for and the man was polite again it was not a big deal just unexpected.
Read windham depot's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image critcatny
2 reviews
May 2012
Very relaxing way to see this beautiful island. Loved it but a little expensive. Beware of the guys with the monkeys at the port. They can be a little pushy trying to get you to buy pictures they take with you and their monkeys.
Read critcatny's full Carnival Victory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image LOP
5 reviews
Apr 2012
The train ride was nice if you like trains like we do and having the option to sit in a/c cars helped with the heat/humidity experienced in the islands. the train showed much of the island, but St. Kitts citizens should take more pride in cleaning up the trash on this beautiful island. Tourists do not want to return to dirty places to spend money. The train crew was nice and
Read LOP's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image ohiocruisemom56
1 review
Mar 2012
The railway was really well done. The use the old tracks from sugar production and you see a lot of the island. There are drinks and a restroom right on the train. If you go upstairs it's open-air and covered and very pleasant. The guide told us a lot about the history of St. Kitts. There were some young people who came on each car and sang local songs. Really a nice excursion.
Read ohiocruisemom56's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Shirley Brown
1 review
Mar 2012
The railway is excellent, well worth the money. A very nice trip of about an hour, lots to see and drinks included!
Read Shirley Brown's full Azura cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image flojo1flojo1
2 reviews
Mar 2012
nice trip free drinks - a choir on board - go upstairs for views
Read flojo1flojo1's full Thomson Dream cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image jimbob98
3 reviews
Mar 2012
Railway was one of the nicest experiences of the trip. Well worth the price.
Read jimbob98's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image jevans9772
1 review
Mar 2012
3 hour train ride but didn't go by the resort area.
Read jevans9772's full Silver Spirit cruise review
Provider: Silversea Cruises
Member Image Ian McDermid
1 review
Mar 2012
Pleasant trip on the train the views were very much the same, but the people were very friendly and the drinks were very forth coming.
Read Ian McDermid's full Thomson Dream cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image Seacucumber
13 reviews
Feb 2012
St.Kitts used to be a country where Sugar cane was the main industry. Because of low sugar prices the sugar plantation is shut down, the main industry is tourism. The meter gauge trains which used to haul sugar canes were abandoned. Few years back the tourism board of St. Kitts started offering a scenic tour of the coast on these old railroad with new double decker open train. We took this 2.5 hr. train which was delightful. The offered free alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages. In addition the train had singers entertained with Caribbean songs. I believe in both tours money was well spent.
Read Seacucumber's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image skipperh
3 reviews
Feb 2012
LOVED IT; very unique way to see the island. Strongly recommend.
Read skipperh's full Silver Cloud cruise review
Provider: Silversea Cruises
Member Image cruzin_ga_gal
10 reviews
Jan 2012
We had taken the Scenic rail and sail excursion booked with RCCL. it was a pleasant train ride and we were able to see more of the island that is not seen from the major roadways. the Cataraman sail was also pleasant with an open bar. They added the nice touch of adding in a lunch which wasnt' expected. I'd recommend this tour and possibly do it again myself.
Read cruzin_ga_gal's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.