Roatan Gumbalina Park Excursion Reviews

Roatan Gumbalina Park cruise excursion
Overall Rating
At Gumbalimba Park you will find many things to spark your curiosity and love the outdoors. Stroll nature trails or walk across the pond via a rope bridge and interact with the parrots and macaws in the Bird Sanctuary.
Member Image adjensen
2 reviews
Mar 2017
Had a blast at this park/animal sanctuary. Appreciated the care that the employees showed for the animals and birds.
Read adjensen's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ronda.magoon
1 review
Mar 2017
OMG THIS WAS AMAZING!! Ride through Roatan and experience culture, play with monkeys, explore nature, pose with exotic birds. This is a MUST do!! Guides on this tour were fantastic
Read ronda.magoon's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image pixiechic2016
1 review
Feb 2017
Our guide was awesome. We loved the monkeys and parrots the best.
Read pixiechic2016's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Gumbalimba Park
Member Image Flawless_1011
1 review
Feb 2017
At Roatan, Honduras we purchased a tour that took us to see the Monkeys and a stop at the beach. It was worth every penny, you actually get to get into the cage with the monkeys and they sit on your shoulders. It was one of (if not the best) excursion I’ve ever done. The beach was very nice as well. Beautiful water.
Read Flawless_1011's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image wsm614
2 reviews
Feb 2017
The park was nice, not much of a beach. I would recommend to take the tour early and then go back to the ship if you want to swim.
Read wsm614's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Sarita86
1 review
Feb 2017
This was a really good excursion. It was close by, so we got to spend a good amount of time there AND have quite a bit of time exploring the port. It was interesting and not too taxing physically. The birds and monkeys were super cute and although they have a photographer taking pictures of you holding them, they have no problem with you taking your own pictures.
Read Sarita86's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image ladydi123
1 review
Jan 2017
Very interesting, long excursion though so not too much time after before ship was to leave. Loved the monkeys
Read ladydi123's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Hunt1530
8 reviews
Jan 2017
Beatiful privately owned nature preserve with various species of animals including macaws, iguanas, and thieving monkeys. A little shabby around the edges. Beach and pool.
Read Hunt1530's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image msladybuggg
2 reviews
Jan 2017
The monkeys are the best beach area is not great including the vendors Do bring singles there are many opportunities to show your gratitude (6 times)
Read msladybuggg's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image rgstoneinsc
1 review
Jan 2017
It was OK, but set up as a tourist trap.......not worth the money........ monkeys and macaws encounters very structured.
Read rgstoneinsc's full Marina cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image bdrsuccess
1 review
Dec 2016
Expensive but worth it, one of the best experiences. Monkeys were so interesting a little frightening..... Roads are terrible, rough ride to/from. Very nice beach but attacks from locals to buy junk.
Read bdrsuccess's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Fafnar
5 reviews
Dec 2016
Lots of fun with monkeys climbing on you and birds on your shoulders. Very family friendly.
Read Fafnar's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image lyndamoreau
1 review
Dec 2016
The famous "monkey island." Dirty small bus took us there. Only a short time with the monkeys. Warning - if you can't stand for long period of time or walk don't go on this excursion. We are ok, but there were older folks huffing and puffing. Also, you really don't have time to buy the photos at the end. The woman is sooooooo slow.
Read lyndamoreau's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mariedwest
1 review
Dec 2016
Monkey, birds and Iguana's. All impressive, all interactive. Bonus was snorkeling and swimming and a zip line to boot
Read mariedwest's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jnc3
1 review
Dec 2016
We booked "PIRATES, BIRDS & MONKEYS OF THE CARIBBEAN" for our excursion. The main reason we chose this excursion was because it was something different than what we had done in other ports. It was a fun day with plenty of opportunities for photos with birds and monkeys. If you bring a backpack with you, you will need to rent a locker for $3 to keep your belongings in while you take the tour -- monkeys are prone to steal anything you are carrying. The worst part of this excursion was that there were four shuttles from our ship there at the same time so we were constantly waiting for another group to finish viewing an area so we could see it. It seems obvious that the start times for each group could be staggered to prevent the crowding we experienced.
Read jnc3's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image kimbalips
1 review
Dec 2016
Very informative. Very touristy, but fun anyway. Highly recommend this tour, but beware, there is plenty of walking. You must be able to comfortably walk for at least an hour.
Read kimbalips's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image jaysbird
2 reviews
Nov 2016
Loved the monkeys and birds!! So much fun interacting with them
Read jaysbird's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image majorsmr
1 review
Nov 2016
A lot of fun and you get to interact with monkey that climb on you as well as beautiful Macaws. The whole family really liked it.
Read majorsmr's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image seaduction
2 reviews
Nov 2016
We walked thru the flora/fauna; went into a manmade cave showing the history of Roatan; visited Macaws with park staff taking time to poise them on people while pics were taken and then on to the monkey area with additional opportunity for pics. There were less monkeys than we expected but it was still good.
Read seaduction's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image NJfamilyvacation
1 review
Nov 2016
Gumbalina is an animal adventure which is GREAT for kids and adults. Have a photo of a parrot on your, a monkey on your...all cute and fun. Very nice morning and worth it. Then to Tabayana Beach which was terrific and plenty of time at the beach.
Read NJfamilyvacation's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Raven Days
8 reviews
Sep 2016
Absolutely beautiful park! I highly recommend this tour.
Read Raven Days's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image htilley
1 review
Sep 2016
Simply amazing. The experience with the monkeys was incredible and we will remember it for years to come. Watch out for that bridge though. If you're afraid of heights, it won't be a pretty experience. My husband almost passed out!
Read htilley's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image gonecruising13
1 review
Aug 2016
Lots of walking but good overall tour. Monkeys were great and came right up to you.
Read gonecruising13's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image northern_hiker
1 review
Aug 2016
Best Excursion ever!!! We went and saw the Monkeys and got to interact with them. Also the Roatan Port area is the best Carnival port that I have stopped at. It is new, very well laid out and the vendors are not agressive.
Read northern_hiker's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image JollyMia
1 review
Aug 2016
Go see the park and its inhabitants the birds and the MONKEYS!!!!
Read JollyMia's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?