Roatan Gumbalina Park Excursion Reviews

Roatan Gumbalina Park cruise excursion
Overall Rating
At Gumbalimba Park you will find many things to spark your curiosity and love the outdoors. Stroll nature trails or walk across the pond via a rope bridge and interact with the parrots and macaws in the Bird Sanctuary.
Member Image majorsmr
1 review
Nov 2016
A lot of fun and you get to interact with monkey that climb on you as well as beautiful Macaws. The whole family really liked it.
Read majorsmr's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image NJfamilyvacation
1 review
Nov 2016
Gumbalina is an animal adventure which is GREAT for kids and adults. Have a photo of a parrot on your, a monkey on your...all cute and fun. Very nice morning and worth it. Then to Tabayana Beach which was terrific and plenty of time at the beach.
Read NJfamilyvacation's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Raven Days
8 reviews
Sep 2016
Absolutely beautiful park! I highly recommend this tour.
Read Raven Days's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image gonecruising13
1 review
Aug 2016
Lots of walking but good overall tour. Monkeys were great and came right up to you.
Read gonecruising13's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image northern_hiker
1 review
Aug 2016
Best Excursion ever!!! We went and saw the Monkeys and got to interact with them. Also the Roatan Port area is the best Carnival port that I have stopped at. It is new, very well laid out and the vendors are not agressive.
Read northern_hiker's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image JollyMia
1 review
Aug 2016
Go see the park and its inhabitants the birds and the MONKEYS!!!!
Read JollyMia's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Mochahooe
1 review
Jul 2016
We really enjoyed this. This was short, just enough walking, gray pool and beach time
Read Mochahooe's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jdclark56
3 reviews
Jul 2016
Nice informative tour. Lots of fun with the monkeys. Would consider doing this again.
Read jdclark56's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image alibubba
5 reviews
Jun 2016
Fun all day. Easy ride there and back. Did all activities. Great snorkeling.
Read alibubba's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image froger805
2 reviews
Jun 2016
Horrible uncomfortable buses, made you wait to return from the godforsaken zoo which really only had 5 or 6 exhibits. Stay onboard and enjoy your money
Read froger805's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image frednbec
1 review
Jun 2016
Outstanding outing! During our tour, we walked through a rain forest and saw a variety of animals. We got to get our pictures with parrots and MONKEYS! We made our back to the gift shop and the bus took us to the beach. It was beautiful and the water was cool and clear. Be advised, wear comfortable shoes and sun-screen. I wore flip-flops and found walking the hill difficult. One of my daughters did not apply enough and was burned to a crisp! She was blistering by the next day and sat out for the trips to Belize and Cozumel. The Caribbean sun is extremely hot and you will burn much quicker than in the States!
Read frednbec's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image edjewcollins
1 review
May 2016
family liked the monkeys
Read edjewcollins's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image thomasjacobus@aol.com
1 review
Apr 2016
Very well run
Read thomasjacobus@aol.com's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image tricia1234
2 reviews
Mar 2016
Got to see the butterfly garden and the animal sanctuary. Got to touch and hold parrots and capuchin monkeys -- one of them jumped on my head! Got to see spider and howler monkeys. Although many of the animals are enclosed, apparently that is only during visiting hours. They are let out at night but always come back.
Read tricia1234's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Road Scholar
Member Image bennis01
1 review
Mar 2016
Great tour. Our daughters, 10 and 14 enjoyed it tremendously with my wife and I. We had a very nice guided tour by Kelly through the park with some amazing vegetation, along with the wild life, Iguanas, Macaws, Parrots, Monkeys, and many other animals. Everyone was able to interact with the monkeys and could have their picture taken with a macaw. Our family highly recommends this tour for your family. Be sure to bring cash for tipping the tour guides. Tipping is not necessary, but it was always welcomed, appreciated and deserved.
Read bennis01's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Agtech4020
1 review
Feb 2016
We opted for the Gumbalina Preservation park shore excursion which I would highly recommend if you like monkeys, exotic birds, and unique plants. The park offered fun photo opportunities with the local birds and monkeys. A fun and interacted monkey experience where monkeys in one area jump from one visitors shoulder to the next. You may even have a monkey climb you like a tree just to sit on your arm or shoulder. The tour guides are friendly and easy to understand. You also have the option to stay at the park once the tour is over and take a later shuttle back to the ship.
Read Agtech4020's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Another Adventure!
1 review
Feb 2016
Monkey interaction was great! Not something you can do in the U.S. Insect 'museum' was a poor attraction as part of this excursion. Quiet, nice beach.
Read Another Adventure!'s full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image GlobalCruiser1960
2 reviews
Jan 2016
First, it was pouring rain which is not their fault but turned the paths into muddy bogs. Nothing was allowed into the park - so you have to rent a locker there and shove your stuff into it. We then toured some natural areas of the park, some caves that had pirate-related kitsch and a short visit with some monkeys and a parrot that the keeper would place on your shoulder for a photo. A lot of money and time for not much time spent on what we really wanted - time with the monkeys and birds.
Read GlobalCruiser1960's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Dr Patwat
4 reviews
Dec 2015
Wonderful. Lots of walking but great time with the monkeys. The guide was super.
Read Dr Patwat's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Dr Patwat
4 reviews
Dec 2015
Awesome time with the monkeys
Read Dr Patwat's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image 2FMJ
1 review
Nov 2015
Tour guide was excellent, very knowledgeable and even in the pouring rain we enjoyed the park . We are sure it is even more beautiful on a sunny day.
Read 2FMJ's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Jeep146
1 review
Nov 2015
Our tour guide made it very entertaining. The park tour is not very long. The two main attractions are the monkeys and parriots. You have the chance to handle both of them. The rest of the park is plants. I enjoyed it, don't expect to see alot of wildlife.
Read Jeep146's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image 3scouts
2 reviews
Nov 2015
Just Great!!! I had read in the reviews that at the end you could swim and snorkel, so we were prepared. But what was so great, our guide said when we were done, no hurry, just return to the bus area and when there was 20 people we would be taken back. Have a great time. My daughter and I headed back to the monkeys and spent forever with them. We were able to swim and love on the monkeys for as long as we wanted. Even though it rained like crazy when we first got there, There was an area to wait, everyone was very nice. Soon as the rain let up, off we went. The Parrots were fun, but they did eat off the button on our daughter's favorite hat. There was no rushing. Great information. Everyone was very kind to us. There were vendors hanging around, but after the first no thankful, they respected us. We has a blast, the snorkeling wasn't great but. We lent our gear to a family and they had fun with it too.
Read 3scouts's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image GWSUBARU
1 review
Nov 2015
interacting with the wildlife was great. Could have done without the COXEN CAVE.
Read GWSUBARU's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image megangaspar
1 review
Oct 2015
My kids loved the monkeys. Wish we had known there were handicapped options available for my dad before he walked all over the park with his walker.
Read megangaspar's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?