Roatan Gumbalina Park Excursion Reviews

Roatan Gumbalina Park cruise excursion
Overall Rating
At Gumbalimba Park you will find many things to spark your curiosity and love the outdoors. Stroll nature trails or walk across the pond via a rope bridge and interact with the parrots and macaws in the Bird Sanctuary.
Member Image Fafnar
5 reviews
Dec 2016
Lots of fun with monkeys climbing on you and birds on your shoulders. Very family friendly.
Read Fafnar's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image lyndamoreau
1 review
Dec 2016
The famous "monkey island." Dirty small bus took us there. Only a short time with the monkeys. Warning - if you can't stand for long period of time or walk don't go on this excursion. We are ok, but there were older folks huffing and puffing. Also, you really don't have time to buy the photos at the end. The woman is sooooooo slow.
Read lyndamoreau's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mariedwest
1 review
Dec 2016
Monkey, birds and Iguana's. All impressive, all interactive. Bonus was snorkeling and swimming and a zip line to boot
Read mariedwest's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jnc3
1 review
Dec 2016
We booked "PIRATES, BIRDS & MONKEYS OF THE CARIBBEAN" for our excursion. The main reason we chose this excursion was because it was something different than what we had done in other ports. It was a fun day with plenty of opportunities for photos with birds and monkeys. If you bring a backpack with you, you will need to rent a locker for $3 to keep your belongings in while you take the tour -- monkeys are prone to steal anything you are carrying. The worst part of this excursion was that there were four shuttles from our ship there at the same time so we were constantly waiting for another group to finish viewing an area so we could see it. It seems obvious that the start times for each group could be staggered to prevent the crowding we experienced.
Read jnc3's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image kimbalips
1 review
Dec 2016
Very informative. Very touristy, but fun anyway. Highly recommend this tour, but beware, there is plenty of walking. You must be able to comfortably walk for at least an hour.
Read kimbalips's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image jaysbird
2 reviews
Nov 2016
Loved the monkeys and birds!! So much fun interacting with them
Read jaysbird's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image majorsmr
1 review
Nov 2016
A lot of fun and you get to interact with monkey that climb on you as well as beautiful Macaws. The whole family really liked it.
Read majorsmr's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image seaduction
2 reviews
Nov 2016
We walked thru the flora/fauna; went into a manmade cave showing the history of Roatan; visited Macaws with park staff taking time to poise them on people while pics were taken and then on to the monkey area with additional opportunity for pics. There were less monkeys than we expected but it was still good.
Read seaduction's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image NJfamilyvacation
1 review
Nov 2016
Gumbalina is an animal adventure which is GREAT for kids and adults. Have a photo of a parrot on your, a monkey on your...all cute and fun. Very nice morning and worth it. Then to Tabayana Beach which was terrific and plenty of time at the beach.
Read NJfamilyvacation's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Raven Days
8 reviews
Sep 2016
Absolutely beautiful park! I highly recommend this tour.
Read Raven Days's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image htilley
1 review
Sep 2016
Simply amazing. The experience with the monkeys was incredible and we will remember it for years to come. Watch out for that bridge though. If you're afraid of heights, it won't be a pretty experience. My husband almost passed out!
Read htilley's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image gonecruising13
1 review
Aug 2016
Lots of walking but good overall tour. Monkeys were great and came right up to you.
Read gonecruising13's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image northern_hiker
1 review
Aug 2016
Best Excursion ever!!! We went and saw the Monkeys and got to interact with them. Also the Roatan Port area is the best Carnival port that I have stopped at. It is new, very well laid out and the vendors are not agressive.
Read northern_hiker's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image JollyMia
1 review
Aug 2016
Go see the park and its inhabitants the birds and the MONKEYS!!!!
Read JollyMia's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Mochahooe
1 review
Jul 2016
We really enjoyed this. This was short, just enough walking, gray pool and beach time
Read Mochahooe's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jdclark56
3 reviews
Jul 2016
Nice informative tour. Lots of fun with the monkeys. Would consider doing this again.
Read jdclark56's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image alibubba
5 reviews
Jun 2016
Fun all day. Easy ride there and back. Did all activities. Great snorkeling.
Read alibubba's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image froger805
2 reviews
Jun 2016
Horrible uncomfortable buses, made you wait to return from the godforsaken zoo which really only had 5 or 6 exhibits. Stay onboard and enjoy your money
Read froger805's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image frednbec
1 review
Jun 2016
Outstanding outing! During our tour, we walked through a rain forest and saw a variety of animals. We got to get our pictures with parrots and MONKEYS! We made our back to the gift shop and the bus took us to the beach. It was beautiful and the water was cool and clear. Be advised, wear comfortable shoes and sun-screen. I wore flip-flops and found walking the hill difficult. One of my daughters did not apply enough and was burned to a crisp! She was blistering by the next day and sat out for the trips to Belize and Cozumel. The Caribbean sun is extremely hot and you will burn much quicker than in the States!
Read frednbec's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image edjewcollins
1 review
May 2016
family liked the monkeys
Read edjewcollins's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image thomasjacobus@aol.com
1 review
Apr 2016
Very well run
Read thomasjacobus@aol.com's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image tricia1234
2 reviews
Mar 2016
Got to see the butterfly garden and the animal sanctuary. Got to touch and hold parrots and capuchin monkeys -- one of them jumped on my head! Got to see spider and howler monkeys. Although many of the animals are enclosed, apparently that is only during visiting hours. They are let out at night but always come back.
Read tricia1234's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Road Scholar
Member Image bennis01
1 review
Mar 2016
Great tour. Our daughters, 10 and 14 enjoyed it tremendously with my wife and I. We had a very nice guided tour by Kelly through the park with some amazing vegetation, along with the wild life, Iguanas, Macaws, Parrots, Monkeys, and many other animals. Everyone was able to interact with the monkeys and could have their picture taken with a macaw. Our family highly recommends this tour for your family. Be sure to bring cash for tipping the tour guides. Tipping is not necessary, but it was always welcomed, appreciated and deserved.
Read bennis01's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Agtech4020
1 review
Feb 2016
We opted for the Gumbalina Preservation park shore excursion which I would highly recommend if you like monkeys, exotic birds, and unique plants. The park offered fun photo opportunities with the local birds and monkeys. A fun and interacted monkey experience where monkeys in one area jump from one visitors shoulder to the next. You may even have a monkey climb you like a tree just to sit on your arm or shoulder. The tour guides are friendly and easy to understand. You also have the option to stay at the park once the tour is over and take a later shuttle back to the ship.
Read Agtech4020's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Another Adventure!
1 review
Feb 2016
Monkey interaction was great! Not something you can do in the U.S. Insect 'museum' was a poor attraction as part of this excursion. Quiet, nice beach.
Read Another Adventure!'s full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?