Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Roatan Gumbalina Park Excursion Reviews

Roatan Gumbalina Park cruise excursion
Overall Rating
At Gumbalimba Park you will find many things to spark your curiosity and love the outdoors. Stroll nature trails or walk across the pond via a rope bridge and interact with the parrots and macaws in the Bird Sanctuary.
Member Image MonSchnu
1 review
Nov 2014

This was taken only after we got off the ship and it was pouring and all tours were cancelled except this one (had booked private island original one was cancelled before the ship even left home port-boooked a second one and it ended up getting cancelled a well) and ziplining (no thanks). I was glad this was the alternate to the cancelled excursion. We drove across the island. It needs to be cleaned up. We got to the park and you have the feeling of being in the rainforest. It's nice at this park and just a nice place to appreciate nature and the beauty of the island. You also get to hold monkeys, which was the highlight of this excursion for me.

Read MonSchnu's full Carnival Conquest cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image lesbob423
1 review
Not Rated
Nov 2014

A lot of fun. Tour guide Rudolph Green Washington was articulate, informative, and attentive. You'll love the flora and wildlife.

Read lesbob423's full Carnival Sunshine cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image PacificMountain2012
2 reviews
Not Rated
Oct 2014

Gumbalina Park is nice place to spend a few hours. First its a beautiful botanic garden and that really lets you see the plant life in Roatan and get a real feel for how dense it can be. You also get a glimpse at the wildlife in Roatan, including iguanas, birds of all type, including parrots, and monkeys. There is an opportunity to have a parrot sit on you, as well as a monkey, neither are to be missed. We really enjoyed our time here.

Read PacificMountain2012's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image kctravelguru
1 review
Sep 2014

Getting to the park is kind of an experience, as it is on the other side of the island. You will get to see a lot of armed security guards carrying AK-47's, but the driver was nice, and the guide was very funny.

Once you get to the park you will enjoy yourself a lot. The monkey island is a great hands on experience, the holding of the Macaws is great as well. Don't "chicken out" by missing the Pirate Bridge, it is a very neat experience.

Once the tour is over you have several hours to enjoy the rest that the park has to offer. They have a small zip line, boats, sand beach, snack bar, and shopping.

They will take a lot of photos of you while you are on your tour, and you can buy a disk of it. They took about 32 photos of me, and the disk cost me 12 dollars, which is a HUGE bargain!

Read kctravelguru's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image spencerterry
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2014

By far one of the best memories of our cruise. Playing with monkey's, chilling with iguana's, large parrots on our shoulders, butterfly exhibits, and great narrated tour....this is grand.

A SIDE NOTE: After our tour, our guide mentioned the beach as the ocean was right there. I noticed a small shack with scuba gear and ran over asking if we could snorkel, and inquired on prices. Since the groups had already left for the boat, they gave us a killer deal of $15/person which included a guide for 1.5 hours!!!!! We jumped at the chance and had an excellent guide who gave us a quick run down of do's and don'ts and off we go. Often we were able to see beautiful fish, wildlife and coral. Wonderful experience. I'd certainly go again.

Read spencerterry's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image snowgirl42
1 review
Feb 2014

saw spider monkeys but all the archeology was reproductions

Read snowgirl42's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image cb1968
14 reviews
Feb 2014

Over priced for what you get. Actual time with animals about 15 minutes.

Read cb1968's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image optiman32
3 reviews
Feb 2014

Very nice excursion combines zip line and Gumbalina park visit. The Macaws and Monkeys are great fun.

Read optiman32's full Carnival Sunshine cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image harlingencruiser
1 review
Feb 2014

Gumbalimba Park consisted of five macaws that were let out of their cages across the trail and sat in the trees. You had to take off all your accessories to see the monkeys, there were 10 monkeys with a handler who threw a peanut on your shoulder and then the monkey jumped on your shoulder and you could take a picture. So much for the birds and monkeys. The cave was a manmade cave with a cannon in it. There was a lot of walking.

Read harlingencruiser's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image JustBeachy88
1 review
Jan 2014

It was a rainy/windy day. We were suppose to do the park and Tabyanna Beach but the beach excursion portion was cancelled. NCL refunded that portion no problem. Tour guide was very informative and knowledgable. Park was a cool experience...loved the monkeys!

Read JustBeachy88's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image phantompilot
1 review
Jan 2014

Gumbalina Park was great! Our day started with a short bus ride across the second highest point on the island, which gave spectacular views of the island. The walk through the park was about 2 miles and we had the chance to see and handle a few of the animals. The monkeys were crowd favorites, climbing on heads and running down backs. If animals are not your thing, or you'd prefer to view them from a distance, you can opt out of holding them. Well worth the money but I would not suggest doing this tour when the weather is hot.

Read phantompilot's full Carnival Sunshine cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image remy1979
1 review
Not Rated
Dec 2013

Fantastic!! Would highly recommend. Driver, Palacio, got us through to the preserve without incident. Tour Guide, Teddy, was great! Really had a lot of knowledge and good jokes. The Gumbalimba Preserve itself is beatiful and the monkeys were adorable. Kids absolutely LOVED IT and so did we!!

Read remy1979's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image PoorBuoy
1 review
Dec 2013

We went to Gumbalimba Park while my daughters had the beach day. The park was good. The birds were beautiful and a monkey stole my glasses. The guide had to offer the monkey an orange to get him to give them back. The guide was local and could knowledgeably talk about the island. It is about a 20 minute ride to the park from the ship, but I enjoyed getting to see and hear about the island. The food service at the park was slow and was hamburgers and hot dogs. We were happy when the manager apologized for the slow service and gave us a free employee lunch of spare ribs, rice and beans, and breadfruit. I wish that was on the menu.

Read PoorBuoy's full Carnival Sunshine cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image hubb56
2 reviews
Not Rated
Sep 2013

You get to hold and play with the monkeys. It is amazing. Put away your glasses....They will sneak them off your head....It was an amazing part of our trip.

Read hubb56's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Victor Bodden Tour
Member Image multiglot
2 reviews
Sep 2013

Roatan is a very nice place. The people are friendly and accommodating. Although the island is not "rich" in material things, the life style is pleasant and seems happy. I particularly noticed small businesses, set up in portable shelters. People working hard to better their financial position. This is admirable. We took a tour of Gumbalimba park.In spite of the rain, it was a very nice tour. The monkeys were cute. The macaws were beautiful. The park was very nice. The pirate exhibit was historically informative (but not real professional). The beach was pretty much rained out. Suitable for mobile seniors and kids in strollers ( we did it like that.). For the mobility impaired, there is a golf cart tour, $5 per head, with your own guide. The food and souvenirs in the kiosk aren't exorbitantly priced. All in all, worthwhile.

Read multiglot's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.