St. Kitts Island tour Excursion Reviews

St. Kitts Island tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
With a population hovering around 35,000, the small island of St. Kitts is a gem of the Caribbean. Home to a plethora of beautiful beaches, the island also holds Brimstone Hill Fortress National Park, the largest fortress ever built in the Eastern Caribbean and among the best preserved in the Americas.
Member Image CintiCruzer
1 review
Feb 2017
the Batik factory was interesting and the island tour was very interesting... saw enough to make me want to come back to explore more!
Read CintiCruzer's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image leochen24551
2 reviews
Jan 2017
Took the train tour which was great!
Read leochen24551's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image OBX Cruisers
1 review
Jan 2017
Really enjoyed our “Grand Tour of St. Kitts” with Henry Williams of Thenford Grey Tours We were met at the visitors center by a young woman who put us into the very capable hands of our guide, Henry Williams, and we boarded a small, comfortable van with just 4 others. Started with a quick drive through of Basseterre pointing out the important sights. (Some day I’d like to spend more time exploring the “city.”) Then a drive along the coast through an area of “offshore” medical and veterinarian schools. (I didn’t realize there were so many on St. Kitts.) The grounds at Romney Manor were lovely and Henry pointed out many of the unusual plants and trees such as the Traveler Palm. Good amount of time to shop at Caribelle Batik there and enjoy rum punch and a small piece of locally made rum cake. (These snacks and later lunch were not included in the price of the tour. That was fine as the cost of $55 was so reasonable.) From Romney Manor it was just a little further to Brimstone Hill Fortress National Park. This is a UNESCO World Heritage Site and well worth the climb up the stone steps to the top for the fort and beautiful views of St. Kitt’s coastline. Fort was really well preserved and fun to explore as well with many exhibits. None of us felt we needed to shop (one of the options) so we drove instead out onto the Southeast Peninsula stopping for pictures of the Atlantic and the Caribbean (in just one shot). When we arrived at South Friars Bay on the Caribbean side, we were given the choice of beaches between a more upscale resort or less expensive but with all the amenities. We decided on Shipwreck Beach Bar & Grill and it made for a very fun afternoon. Rustic décor but good showers, changing rooms, and excellent drinks and local menu with fresh seafood. Picnic tables under shady pavilion or trees. Beach was a little narrow but they had plenty of umbrellas and lounges available. We brought our own snorkel masks and blow-up vests but rented fins for just $5 for the two of us. There was a sign warning about black sea urchins, but we only saw them on the reef further out where the water was deep and they could easily be avoided. Not spectacular snorkeling but life along reef was good. The day would have been perfect if the monkeys on the hill behind the beach had decided to come out but not my cruise for monkeys. (Didn’t see them on Antigua either.) Easy ride from there back to the ship and arrived in plenty of time before sailing. Definitely the best value excursion of our cruise. Saw the best of St. Kitts in a comfortable van with only 2 other couples, excellent guide, fun beach/snorkel time, and fresh a la carte food from the Shipwreck Grill. Can’t believe it was all for just $55 per person!
Read OBX Cruisers's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Thenford Grey Tours
Member Image Lazer207
1 review
Jan 2017
Good overview of island and excellent visit to Fairview Great House and Botanical Garden
Read Lazer207's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image Btown cruiser
3 reviews
Jan 2017
The taxi/tour leaders that bombard you as you arrive off of the ship is OVERWHELMING! We opted to ignore their aggressiveness and walk into town. Along the way, we were approached by Bertram who arrived the four of us a van ride around the island for a very nominal fee. Something about his pleasant, non-aggressive demeanor, and his "uniform" won us over. He took us from tip to tip in ST Kitts with a stop at the Fort, the Romney House of Batik, and the point where the Atlantic meets the Caribbean sea! He initially offered a three hour tour which because of his expertise and pride in the sites of the Island turned into a four memorable trip.
Read Btown cruiser's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Bertram with The Watch
Member Image NDUFFY
1 review
Jan 2017
Toured the island of Nevis then spent the afternoon at the beach. It was a great tour and friendly people
Read NDUFFY's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image HP4Me
1 review
Jan 2017
We went to a place where they made batik items; there was a beautiful garden area that we spent some time in there as well. We toured the island and it was fine.
Read HP4Me's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image C1968cruiser
3 reviews
Jan 2017
Thenford was very knowledgeable and entertaining, and we enjoyed touring the island. He took us to the fort, the batik factory, and to the beach. Check it out on trip advisor. Very popular and highly rated.
Read C1968cruiser's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Thenford Grey
Member Image Mr Mom
3 reviews
Jan 2017
We really like St. Kitts........something for everyone.
Read Mr Mom's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Austin Powers
Member Image cruisetiludrop
8 reviews
Jan 2017
Saw everything except the fort. Expect a 4 hour day not the 2 hours quoted. For $20 a person it was well worth it. Would recommend it.
Read cruisetiludrop's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Local tour operator at the pier
Member Image Pbheroes
1 review
Jan 2017
Guide was funny. Views from the Fort was awesome. Got to see the Atlantic and Caribbean at the same time at one point on the Island.
Read Pbheroes's full Carnival Fascination cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Just love 2 cruise
2 reviews
Jan 2017
We have been to St. Kitts several times and this time we elected to take a tour over to Nevis. The tour started with a ferry ride of approximately 40 minutes over to the island where we were met by our guide who gave us a 3 hour round trip tour of the island and then dropped us off at a restaurant on the most beautiful beach. The restaurant (sorry, I do not remember the name) offered up locally caught fish and other varied fare (approximate cost $15-$25 USD). The walk to the beach from the restaurant was under 4 minutes and the beach was clean and there were chairs available. Because our port stay was cut short our guide took us to the dock closest to St. Kitts and a powerboat (600HP engines) raced us across the water to the island where a bus met us for the ride back to the ship. Another very scenic island. Next time, I will just take a day trip to Nevis and sit on their beaches. A lovely day
Read Just love 2 cruise's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image torontotraveller
4 reviews
Jan 2017
Grey Islands Tours - Tour of Nevis was a highlight. Mr. Grey arranges all the details. Nevis should be on everyone's list of shore excursions.
Read torontotraveller's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Grey's Island Tours - Tour of Nevis
Member Image jolyne
1 review
Jan 2017
She got you at port with a wonderful tour of her city, It was not as she said it was for the 30 $ you paid. No real stops except at rainforest entrance and seeing the sugarcane factory and aquaducts. The off to s far off beach scene with no actual visit to the beach. That was to a ride side vendors to get you to buy trinkets whic here amazing. Then dropping off the beachgoers after a glitch with 2 needing cash that was a fruitless journey to back to port,..... So try not to get suckered into that one unless you dont mind the brief stops at 2 churches for 2 or 3 pics to next stop of egrets for 2 pics and speeding down roads in a open air van to get to another spot for 2 pics and speed off...
Read jolyne's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Veronica
Member Image PattyRossi
1 review
Jan 2017
The bus was very (very) small and with no conditioned air. The guide/driver talked a terrible english (We didnt understand a word!)
Read PattyRossi's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image 1WorldExplorer
1 review
Jan 2017
This port had many other ships in port. We wanted the scenic Railway tour, but it was all booked out by the ships. If this is your goal, book it through your ship. Otherwise, find a tour operator in port building up a bus full of tourists. We found one for $20/person and he served free alcohol up at the distillery we visited. It made for a nice tour.
Read 1WorldExplorer's full Norwegian Breakaway cruise review
Provider: Big Banana
Member Image donnakmc
1 review
Dec 2016
Nice cruise terminal, island tour included an old plantation house. After the tour, we walked about town and enjoyed a really amazing Carnival parade through the city in the afternoon.
Read donnakmc's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image Amy from NY
6 reviews
Dec 2016
We hit the Romney Manor garden, Caribelle Bartik, Brimstone Hill Fortress, Timothy Hill (where we saw both the Atlantic and Caribbean waters), and the Frigate Bay Beach from 11 am to 5 pm. Mr. Grey gave us a full history of the island and noted the plants and birds we saw.
Read Amy from NY's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Grey's Island Excursions
Member Image apollobeach
12 reviews
Dec 2016
Roosevelt and his team are outstanding - great customer service and friendliness - you feel like family.
Read apollobeach's full Carnival Conquest cruise review
Provider: Island Paradise Tours
Member Image jules220
3 reviews
Dec 2016
First time visiting St. Kitts, using Trip Advisor recommendation reserved tour with Grey's Island Excursions. Great excursion, highlighting the island with a beach stop @ South Friars Beach (ate lunch at the restaurant).
Read jules220's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Grey's Island Excursions
Member Image 9K35
4 reviews
Dec 2016
A clean vehicle, and a friendly guide.
Read 9K35's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image cablack
4 reviews
Dec 2016
www.stkittsislandparadisetours.com. Perfect tour of the island, it's history, flora and fauna and visits to key sites as well as a stop at a beautiful beach. Excellent tour.
Read cablack's full Rotterdam cruise review
Provider: www.stkittsislandparadisetours.com
Member Image BikeHike&Float
1 review
Dec 2016
The tour encompassed several points of interest and the tour operator was knowledgeable and personable. An excellent value and I'd highly recommend!
Read BikeHike&Float's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Thenford Grey Tours
Member Image speleologist
1 review
Nov 2016
A long, hilly day. Lunch should have been at least an hour earlier but I understand about crowds, etc.
Read speleologist's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image FREDIWH
1 review
Nov 2016
William who prefers to be called Morton was our tour guide. He says that too many drivers are called William, but he is the only Morton. A three hour tour cost us $20 each. Thirteen people in a bus.
Read FREDIWH's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: William Morton # 41

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?