Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

St. Kitts Island tour Excursion Reviews

St. Kitts Island tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
With a population hovering around 35,000, the small island of St. Kitts is a gem of the Caribbean. Home to a plethora of beautiful beaches, the island also holds Brimstone Hill Fortress National Park, the largest fortress ever built in the Eastern Caribbean and among the best preserved in the Americas.
Member Image GottaKnowWhen
1 review
Not Rated
Nov 2014

We had been here before, had done the train trip (and thoroughly enjoyed it). Didn't see any tours from the ship that met our to-do list; all spent way too much time at one beach or another. So I got some suggestions (on this site?), did some on-line search, and found Royston. Royston's cousin Ashton gave a van full of us a good drive around the island with good photo stops, scenic views, history, batik, etc. At the end, after a good lunch, he dropped off those who wanted to stay at a beach, took the rest of us back to the port to enjoy the rest of the afternoon in the town.

Read GottaKnowWhen's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royston (and Ashton)
Member Image skaway
1 review
Nov 2014

Short, small bus with limited vieing areas. Island tour with stops.

Read skaway's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Chiquitamar
3 reviews
Sep 2014

Started out with a driver recommended by the desk at the pier. Supposedly it was $25 each but because we were 8 people it was $20 each. We started out and asked to be let off 2 blocks later as it was an old van with bold tires and the AC did not work. Took another van in town, new and with AC for $15 each without bargaining. Beautiful island. The nice beaches are on the Atlantic side. Nice gardens and batik production on other end. Worth the time and a good price!

Read Chiquitamar's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image nc77kitkat
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2014

Beware when you disembark on St. Kitts! You will be approached by locals with their monkeys! They're so cute, but when you take pictures of them, you will owe money to the owners! (they don't tell you until after you have taken pictures! 3 pics for $10!) But it is a beautiful place. Hiring a taxi is the best way to tour the island. We took an island tour through Jim and Rose Tours in an air conditioned van. Rose was very knowledgeable about the history and took us to the rain forest, the Batik factory, an old fort, and many abandoned sugar plantations. We fell in love with her English accent! Any by the way, they drive on the wrong (left) side of the road as they do in Europe! The steering wheel was on the right side of the van and the passenger doors were on the left. There weren't many traffic signs or lights but somehow collisions are rare. Rose took us to buy a cold, fresh coconut to drink/eat. We stopped at Black Rock beach for some fun in the sun. Our adult children got to accidentally swim with a shark (a small sand shark) and it didn't cost extra! A very fun and enlightening tour!

Read nc77kitkat's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Jim and Rose Tours
Member Image Honolulu Blue
2 reviews
Mar 2014

This was another tour with at least three large buses. I got the one with Tyrone, "Mr. T" as driver/tour guide. He was more than capable in both roles. Particularly impressive was his work in getting in and out of the gate to Brimstone Hill. There couldn't have been more than six inches of space when we squeezed through. In addition to Brimstone, we stopped at Romney Manor and on a hill overlooking Frigate Bay.

Read Honolulu Blue's full Carnival Valor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image millwrightkid
1 review
Not Rated
Jan 2014

Leopold is funny, informative, educated, honest, a truly nice man. 20 bucks per person for a 3.5 hour tour that was amazing. Leos tours and taxi, email: christopherom@yahoo.com

Read millwrightkid's full Carnival Valor cruise review
Provider: Leos taxi and Tours
Member Image skykingNC
3 reviews
Jan 2014

This tour took me to Fairview Greathouse and on a Beach Break. Highlight was views and photo opps at Timothy's Hill: best view of my entire 8-day cruise: astounding. Fairview is in a lovely setting and parts are well preserved; modern touches like the pool kind of detract. The gardens were ok; I had expected larger and perhaps more mature. Loved the place for the beach break-for me, it was too short (only 1 hr - so if you wish to swim, be in your suit already). Restrooms & changing areas were clean. Overall, I'd recommend it.

Read skykingNC's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image russell jack
6 reviews
Jan 2014

The Best of St Kitts was also good value, and included a visit to Brimstone Hill Fort which provided awesome panoramic views, and a fascinating insight into the history of the garrison.

Read russell jack's full Azura cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image attilamom1217
6 reviews
Jan 2014

We saw Fairview House and garden, Romney Manor and a Picturesque stop overlooking the Ocean and Sea. Romney Manor's grounds were pretty and there is interesting history, but you have to stop at the Batik store and listen to the demonstration on how Batik is made and then walk through the store before going outside to see the grounds. At the Overlook - the view was magnificent, but there was distraction of people with their monkeys trying to see you pictures.

Read attilamom1217's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image MillbrookMom
4 reviews
Not Rated
Dec 2013

We loved the island tour we did in St. Kitts. A full tour of the island, plus a beach stop. So many beautiful photo ops.

Read MillbrookMom's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Rose and Jim's taxi
Member Image soccerdad64
1 review
Nov 2013

We weren't going to do anything but got talked into it. We were glad we did $15.Each 2.5 hour's. Drinks included. Well worth it. Go into town at the pier they wanted $20.each.

Read soccerdad64's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image RavensFans1120
1 review
Aug 2013

We booked with Thurmond Grey tour he was wonderful only $48 per person and he had us for over 5 hours. We saw the entire island including the Fort and a beautiful flower and plant garden. He then took us to a beach Shipwreck Cove and we were not fond of it seemed dirty and unkept. So we all decided to go back to the ship. St. Kitts is a poorer island but has potential. The monkeys out number people. I was able to see some in the wild but people trap them and try and make some money off them by making people pay for a picture. I did not do this.

Read RavensFans1120's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image FamilyTravels4
1 review
Jul 2013

KT21-The Essential St Kitts Tour. Great excursion

Read FamilyTravels4's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image larry_kak
4 reviews
Jun 2013

We booked at the port. The tour was good but we had price issues in that we were quoted one price to be paid at the end of the tour, and then the price changed higher at the end. Be careful, bargain well.

Read larry_kak's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image lredwards
2 reviews
May 2013
Its almost unfair to follow St. Lucia, at least in my opinion. This was the island I knew the least about before the trip. We had an all-inclusive type tour with Thenford Grey. The bus he drove us around in was very nice and he was very informative. Id highly recommend him. I do not know how he got the bus around some of those curves going up to the fort. He drove us around town, then to the batik factory, then to the fort (which is a UNESCO world heritage site) and then to the beach (with a couple of stops in between). The beach he took us to is very nice, and had a cute little beach restaurant. There were also monkeys wandering around in the foresty area right near the beach one jumped right next to my boyfriend and scared him. The water here was also calm but the sand was hot not shocking being that it is volcanic sand - make sure you have your shoes on when you walk on the sand. The restaurant is cash only, which was kinda annoying because we did not have enough cash to rent snorkel gear. There is a reef near the swimming area of the beach and it would have been interesting to check it out. My boyfriend and I decided that we need to actually buy our own gear so we dont have to rent anymore.
Read lredwards's full Carnival Valor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image gr82sum
2 reviews
Apr 2013
I booked this tour through Beulah from Welcome Tours. We had a group of 21 and she had 2 vans with each having seating for 12. Our driver was very knowlegable about the history of the island and we made many stops for pictures. This was a 3-1/2 hour tour and only $38 per person.
Read gr82sum's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Ernest
Member Image Oliver Wilson
1 review
Mar 2013
A little longer than we would have liked. Sad to see the impact from loss of the sugarcane industry.
Read Oliver Wilson's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image bigal257
1 review
Mar 2013
We joined a minibus at the port for this half-day tour around Basseterre,the Brimstone Hill Fortress and Romney Manor, the home of Caribelle Batik designs. Our local guide was knowledgeable and keen to illustrate his country. The fortress is impressive, being built by slaves for the British, besieged by the French and re-taken by the British. It has dozens of cannon on the ramparts and stupendous views. Romney Manor has beautiful gardens and remains of a rum factory, but we didn't have enough time there. There were demonstrations of the technique of Caribelle Batik and product for sale. Overall, a good trip.
Read bigal257's full Thomson Dream cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image mmam40
1 review
Feb 2013
Very good trip around the island
Read mmam40's full Ventura cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image mazeke
1 review
Feb 2013
Javin's is a great way to see the island. We saw lava rocks, had a walk through the rain forest with many trees and plants described to us, and snorkeled at 2 beaches. Add to these activities a rnning dialogue of interesting facts about the island and it added up to the perfect day. I would highly recommend Javin's Island Tours.
Read mazeke's full Carnival Valor cruise review
Provider: Javin's Island Tours
Member Image Barrel99
1 review
Feb 2013
Went to one of the vendors hawking tours when you leave the ship. It was great! We had a knowledgeable driver and a fun time making several stops over 3+ hours for half the cost of a ship tour.
Read Barrel99's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image VICTOR MATURE
1 review
Feb 2013
A young man gave us arunning commentary of life there, which was good and illuminating, poverty was awful almost everywhere but the island still had its own raw beauty.
Read VICTOR MATURE's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Annalise
8 reviews
Jan 2013
This was a wonderful tour that unveiled the beauty of St. Kitts before our eyes. Michael, our guide, was wonderful and described everything in great detail. He was also very kind to passengers with special needs. We saw the Fairview plantation, a batik store in the middle of the rainforest, Brimstone Hill Fort, Frigate Bay and the great divide between the Atlantic and the Caribbean. It was a wonderful tour and I highly recommend it.
Read Annalise's full Crystal Serenity cruise review
Provider: Crystal Cruises
Member Image Mill99
1 review
Jan 2013
We did the 4 x 4 St Kitts discovery tour. This was well run by the people doing it and we did see a lot of the island. The rating I've given was really for St Kitts rather than the tour. Cockleshell Bay where we ended up was a rather sorry beach with lots of litter, beach touts and rather poor facilities. Not enough time there to swim or anything - we just stayed around the vehicle chatting - however the man running the excursion was very chatty and informative about the island etc, which was interesting.
Read Mill99's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image abroadabroad
1 review
Jan 2013
Ashton (Royston's cousin) was awesome. Had a lovely time. Took a private tour. Batik factory was awesome.
Read abroadabroad's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: royston's
Member Image vacationdealsgirl
1 review
Jan 2013
This was my favorite tour of the trip! We went with Royston of Royston Tours, and he took DH and I along with two other couples in his no-windows-van ALL OVER St. Kitts. We stopped at Romney Manor, Caribelle Batik, Brimstone Hill Fortress, Dieppe Bay point, Black Rocks, Timothy Hill, and many other scenic places. Royston makes sure you get to ALL the best photo ops--up close and personal! He also included a monkey photo op (Royston paid the guy a tip) and we stopped at a little craft market where he bought us all traditional island cookies of sugar cane and coconut--awesome! Once we were done He gave us a choice of chicken, vegetarian or conch rotis that we ate at a portion of South Friars Beach that was beautiful! Especially since we were the only ones there! We could have snorkeled if we wanted; he supplied the gear. It was a bargain at $45 pp, which included lunch and all entrance fees. Oh, and did I mention he had a cooler with all the water, soda and beer you wanted? The other couples were very fun to get to know. Royston is very knowledgeable about his island and made the perfect tour guide. I will caution anyone who is afraid of heights/cliffs... Royston gets very, very close to the edge (of the road, side of the cliff, etc.) enough that I had a few adrenaline rushes, but hey, if you're not living on the edge, you're just not living!
Read vacationdealsgirl's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Royston Tours
Member Image Cumry
2 reviews
Jan 2013
Quite a pleasant island tour. Very little sign of poverty and generally seems like a nice, relatively underdeveloped place. One end of the island is comparatively "upmarket", the rest is not. Fairly good shopping in the main area but know your prices!
Read Cumry's full Seabourn Legend cruise review
Provider: Seabourn Cruise Line
Member Image 13specialk
6 reviews
Dec 2012
St. Kitts is a nice island and seems to be trying to better its population and the island itself. Nice people that seem genuinely glad that you are there and spending your money.
Read 13specialk's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Vero Beach Louise
3 reviews
Dec 2012
We and another couple hired Sweet P to give us a tour of the island and to take us to white house beach where we were told the snorkeling was very good. She took us where we wanted to go, stayed with us and our belongings while we snorkeled for over 1 1/2 hrs then took us around the whole island while explaining the history and location of the island. She showed us the volcanic flow, the black sand beach, all the beautiful churches and remaining sugar plantation structures and on to the Batik Factory. It was a wonderful day and we all felt that we had received good value for our money.
Read Vero Beach Louise's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Sweet P
Member Image hyker1
6 reviews
Dec 2012
We honestly didn't know what to expect on this excursion. We knew nothing about St. Kitts. It turned out to be one of my two favorite ports. Byron, our driver, knew a lot about the area, culture, etc. We were there on Christmas Eve, so the locals were getting ready to have their big Christmas festival. Byron explained what was going on, etc. Made it really interesting! Our first stop was Romney Plantation which dates to the early 17th cent. We were given about 30 min. to walk around, see how Batik is made, experience the Rain Forest, tropical plants, etc. The only reason I'm giving this particular tour a "4" is that we were a bit rushed. I think they could easily add another 2 hrs. to this one so that people don't feel hurried/pressed for time. Next on the agenda was the Brimstone Fortress, located on a high promontory which had volcanic beginnings. This was a spectacular fort and lookout and was lots of fun to tour. Again, we were a bit rushed, but it was a fabulous experience, and we took some awesome photos. This tour really wetted our appetite to return to St. Kitts! It is a gorgeous place.
Read hyker1's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image nurse1sue
2 reviews
Nov 2012
We fell in love with this beautiful island and hope to move there in a few years. Our tour guide became family, as the others wanted to go to the beach, he took me on more parts of the island, introduced me to a man in charge of a new housing development and then after taking the others to the ship, took us to see the housing development, the medical schools, hospital, etc that would be essential to our living there. Pastor williams was the best! oh and the monkeys there are crazy and everywhere!
Read nurse1sue's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: grey's tour
Member Image Buffett123
1 review
Nov 2012
Did the island tour with Rosevelt, he was very good really took the time to explain the islands sites and really knew the islands plants, so if you are interested in the plants of the island he is the one. The most interesting sight was Brimstone Hill Fortress, it was not as big as the forts in San Juan but it was the largest of the English Forts I have been to. Clean and lots of signs and notes of the history of the fort.
Read Buffett123's full Carnival Victory cruise review
Provider: Rosevelt Taylor
Member Image tcbfast
3 reviews
Nov 2012
An excellent tour of the island and Mr. Grey is one of the best tour guides. Again, small group, great sights and options.
Read tcbfast's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Thenford Grey
Member Image Darshan1
10 reviews
Oct 2012
St. Kitts is too small to support the amount of tourism it receives and still retain substantial natural beauty. Romney Gardens was again beautiful, but other areas seemed to have more development and fewer flowering trees. The area near the port did feel a bit safer than our first visit. Overall, this feels like an island that's fun and pretty enough to visit once, but not twice.
Read Darshan1's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image ancastertraveler
1 review
Oct 2012
We selected Island Paradise Tours with Rosevelt Taylor as our tour guide. We found St. Kitts to be a hidden treasure. Most of our friends have never visited St. Kitts. Rosevelt did an excellent job of taking us around the island, visiting forts and historical buildings, explaining the medicinal value of plants and herbs and giving us some beach time. Another informative adventure.
Read ancastertraveler's full Carnival Victory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image alwaysonacruise
3 reviews
Sep 2012
The island is nice but there isnt much to see and do. We couldnt go to the beaches due to jellyfish
Read alwaysonacruise's full Carnival Victory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image knrdodd
2 reviews
Apr 2012
My son and I did the Heritage Tour thru Kittitian Tours. Once again, Akimbo took wonderful care of us. He took the time to call me and reassure me that he did not forget about us and he would meet us when we docked. He was there waiting patiently for us and had an "air conditioned van" with drinkings waiting. Cost $48 USD per person (this includes admittance to national park)
Read knrdodd's full Carnival Victory cruise review
Provider: Kititiaan
Member Image skachelmeyer
1 review
Apr 2012
Great day and great tour. St Kitts is so charming and the rainforest hike was a unique experience.
Read skachelmeyer's full Carnival Victory cruise review
Provider: Javin
Member Image J Horn
1 review
Apr 2012
3 hours saw the lots then found a great beach to relax swim and soak up the sun ! was feeling the pace by this point! Antigua (St Johns) 5* what a holiday! ! Dominica (Roseau) took a Open Bus 20 People $20 each lots of room they wee very knowledgeable about their home.
Read J Horn's full Thomson Dream cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image nohoyas
1 review
Apr 2012
Was originally scheduled to do the volcano hike but i confused the start time with another excursion so Royston left the meeting place. Once we got there he didn't feel there was enough time to do the volcano so we took his islansd tour. We went to see the bloody point petroglyphs, brimstone fortress,romney manor and just about everything else on "his" island. He is a great guide and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend him
Read nohoyas's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royston
Member Image pupsmama
1 review
Apr 2012
We walked from the port and caught a tzxi. It was easy and cheap. Seems like all the taxi drivers know all the history, etc. We had a great island tour!
Read pupsmama's full Carnival Victory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image lawyerrose
2 reviews
Mar 2012
The tour itself was great, saw a lot of St. Kitts. Especially loved the Batik factory. Our tour guide/driver could have used a sense of humor - or personality in general.
Read lawyerrose's full Maasdam cruise review
Provider: Kittitian Tours
Member Image eeiiee
2 reviews
Mar 2012
Loved the narrated sugar-train tour of the island.
Read eeiiee's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image NEWBIE954
1 review
Mar 2012
Safe and informative, but at one point he took us to see the view of the volcanic rocks while on a plateau. This area had push cart merchants waiting to sell us more junk. Plus that, in an open field, two donkey were tied to stakes in the middle of the day and the blazing heat with no shade, food or water. I will never forget the suffering of those two animals.
Read NEWBIE954's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: DENZEL
Member Image xmissca1
2 reviews
Feb 2012
Nice tour around the island with great tour guide. As in the other ports there are many tour guides available to take you on tours, no need to book thru ship
Read xmissca1's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Optima7
1 review
Feb 2012
We did not prebook. We arrange a tour in port with Annie's Carribbean Tours. Using a small multi-person vehicle she gave a a very nice tour of St. Kitts. I recommend her. Only $15 per person. 869-668-5425
Read Optima7's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Annie's
Member Image Dipsylee
6 reviews
Feb 2012
We booked online with Beulah and were very happy with our excursion! Our driver was Delaney, and he was so knowledgeable! He happily answered all of our many questions and handled the driving very expertly! We were happy to be in an air conditioned van (there were 11 of us in our group), which also kept us dry during the off and on rain showers. We did an entire loop of the island and I feel we saw a very complete picture of St Kitts! Upon return to the port area we had a great lunch on our own. Of course, I can't remember the name of the restaurant.
Read Dipsylee's full Carnival Miracle cruise review
Provider: Welcome Tours St Kitts
Member Image johnpma
1 review
Feb 2012
Next port was St Kitts. In the morning we took the Essential St. Kitts excursion through the cruise line. It was a good tour with two stops, Romney manor and Brimstone Hill Fortress (The fort had breath taking views and great photo opportunity). After our morning excursion we walked around the port area and had some delicious local lobster and chicken that was being cooked on a grill on the road side by a local gentleman, Loochie . He is located across from the Social Security Building.
Read johnpma's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Kite Wizard
3 reviews
Feb 2012
Beulah greeted us with hugs and we had Delaney as our driver. He was very knowledgeable and friendly. Very nice island. Beulah promised us bottled water and soft drinks on the way but we received none.
Read Kite Wizard's full Carnival Miracle cruise review
Provider: Welcome Tours
Member Image LDH1027
1 review
Feb 2012
Absolutely the best tour we have every taken - covered all the high spots and a few less common PLUS got us quality beach time - all for a decent price. Highly knowledgeable and entertaining. Awesome! Would not hesitate to book again or refer.
Read LDH1027's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Thetford Grey
Member Image ChocolateZen
2 reviews
Not Rated
Feb 2012
We did a private island and beach tour with Liz Pereira Tours. The Batik factory was interesting and provided a chance to bring home some souvenirs. There are some beautiful picture taking opportunities here. We really enjoyed the black sand beach (I think it was called South Friars beach?), the Shipwreck bar (try a chunky monkey) and for those that are interested, there are some wonderful massages offered on the beach. Monkeys and mongooses can be viewed on the cliffs at the back of the beach.
Read ChocolateZen's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Liz Periera Tours
Member Image Chaskamn
1 review
Feb 2012
We looked through reviews in advance a picked Royston Island Tours based on the reviews I saw, and we were not disappointed. Royston is a friendly energetic young man who gave a great tour and made us feel very welcome in his well worn van. We saw everything! We met him just past the port entrance and had no problem finding him. Take a look at his web site for tour official details. We bought Batik at Caibelle, saw his dad in his store as we drove by, watched his uncle unloading fish from the morning nets, drove on the beach. Enjoyed driving close to the edge at Brimstone Hill Fortress and the black rocks were scenic. Nice wrap for lunch- which he had delivered stopping in the middle to the road to need the driver going the other direction. We stopped at the beach. The others wanted to do a bit of shopping so no snorkeling but it looked nice. Good email communication in advance.
Read Chaskamn's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royston Island Tours
Member Image Chemaniac
2 reviews
Feb 2012
Transported in minivan, roads are rough.
Read Chemaniac's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image erniesband
1 review
Jan 2012
St. Kitts: This was a great day! We had made arrangements with Javin, of My Island Tours (http://myislandstours.shutterfly.com). He runs small-group, personal tours. Once you book him he's yours, he doesn't add others. He will take up to 6 people. You do some things no one else is going to take you to do, and you will not be in large crowds of tourists. He takes pictures all day and publishes them on SnapFish, and makes them available for you to download. We went to Black Rock, climbed down, took pictures and climbed back up. There were a few fellow cruisers who had rented a car and driven there, standing at the top trying to figure out how we got down there -- they did not try to follow. We then headed for a rainforest hike, stopping along the way at a sugar cane field, where Javin got us some fresh cane to taste. It rained in the rainforest. Javin made us rain hats out of giant pothos leaves. The hike was easy to moderate, and on a trail where there were no other hikers. There were some very slippery areas and rocks to negotiate on the trail. Throughout the hike, and throughout the day Javin entertained and educated us. Knowing we had all been to the island previously, he had quiz questions for us, too. We had the option of adding about an hour and a half to the hike and going to some pools, but with the accumulation of rain over the previous week, that hiking would have been more challenging, and we would have had to give up the snorkeling in the afternoon, so we chose to leave that for another time. When we got back to the car Javin had a hearty snack for us -- passion fruit juice and water, along with freshly baked island pastries and breads -- raisin and coconut stuff -- delicious! There was plenty to go around, and this served as lunch. From there we headed through Javin's boyhood village, and over to Whitehouse bay, where we snorkeled on an 80-year old wreck of a tugboat. The tugboat went down on a rock in the middle of the bay. This is not a beginner snorkel. It's a fair distance out, and there can be some heavy currents. This is not a sand beach -- lots of rocks, you do need Keens, or water shoes, or like we use, dive boots. You go in off a dock. There wasn't a whole lot to see on the way out to the wreck, but the wreck was interesting once you got there. Javin's camera is an underwater camera, and he took some pictures of things he saw that I wish he had called us over to see. From there we went to relax on Cockleshell Beach for a while. On the way back we stopped for pictures at the narrowest part of the island -- with the Caribbean on one side, and the Atlantic on the other, the high vantage point makes for a very cool picture. We spent the day on the southeast area of the island, an area we had never been to before. When we go back, we'll go with Javin again, and this time we'll do the entire rainforest trail hike and not do the snorkel. Again, only 2 other ships in port with us that day, Equinox and Mein Schiff (it's an old Celebrity ship). Interestingly, Equinox left early -- about 3:30 pm. Mein Schiff had been anchored out and when Equinox left they moved her to the dock. While they were docking her they closed the pier, and no one could return to the ship until she was all tied up. Considering all aboard was 4:00, there was quite a crowd waiting at the gate to get back onto Serenade. Watch out for the guys in the port shop area with the monkeys -- they're going to try to get you to take pictures with the diapered monkeys and pay them for the privilege. We gave them wide birth and managed to avoid it.
Read erniesband's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image snoopfoggyfogg
1 review
Jan 2012
Paid around $80 which is about £51 for 2 adults and 2 kids, the taxi took us completely around the whole of St kitts showing us the history and sights we had loads of stop offs where we could explore and went to Brimstone Hill fortress which is awesome with all the cannons still intact and great views around the island. It was a full day that started at 9am and we didnt get back to the ship til 4.30pm so value for money it was.
Read snoopfoggyfogg's full Ventura cruise review
Provider: Local Taxi

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.