Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Cozumel Jose Cuervo Tequila Tasting and Discover Mexico Excursion Reviews

Cozumel Jose Cuervo Tequila Tasting and Discover Mexico cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Taste Mexico's finest white and aged tequilas while exploring the marvelous variety of this world-renowned liquor.
Member Image az62
2 reviews
Mar 2016
They pick you up by taxi and take you on a very short ride to the tequila tasting rooms. The person who spoke was quite knowledgeable and enthusiastic. The had three tequilas to sample and the presentation was lovely. The only problem was that no one can really drink three glasses of tequila (each glass had about 3 ounces, so you would have ended up drinking 9 ounces of tequila). They really should have saved some of the tequila and made mixed drinks with it. They did include a small margarita as part of your fee, but the wasted tequila would have made about two more drinks. They had the flying men as part of their show. All in all, it was a nice way to spend a few hours, but I wouldn't necessarily recommend it unless you think you can drink an entire glass of straight tequila.
Read az62's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Lovefuninthesun
5 reviews
Dec 2015
Included: tequila seminar and tasting, taco buffet, margaritas; Mexican history, culture, art, and folk dancers; Jose Cuervo/Discover Mexico gift shop. Very much fun, entertaining and educational. Some of our fellow tourists, however, didn't read the small print describing the cultural aspects of the tour and complained a lot -- they were just expecting tequila and tacos. But we enjoyed it all. Our only complaint was that it was advertised as a 3-hour tour, but we were at the facility 4 1/2 hours, which did not leave us much time to do the other shopping in Cozumel we wanted to do.
Read Lovefuninthesun's full Carnival Paradise cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image rq27606
4 reviews
Dec 2015
Outstanding. If you have alredy seen the ruins, this is the excursion to take, See reviews on tripadvisor.
Read rq27606's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Mebrown48
1 review
Aug 2015
We got a tour guide who gave us tour of the city and took us in the tequila tour and we had lunch at a small local Restaurant.
Read Mebrown48's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image budhakitty
3 reviews
May 2015
This was the second time we have taken tis excursion. It was so fun the first time, we had to share it with others! It is a great lesson in Mexican history and tequila making. The tour guide, Martin, is the best around. So educational and so entertaining! They serve top shelf tequila and making incredible margaritas that I cannot quite recreate at home. Besides the fun, Martin, and the tequila, we partially went back just for the margaritas. It is totally worth the money!!
Read budhakitty's full Carnival Elation cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Tead102
1 review
Apr 2015
Fun and interesting experience. We all learned a lot more about Tequila than I ever imagined. Mexicans take Tequila as seriously as Itslians or French take wine. The small museum and Mayan rain ritual we also saw were bonuses.
Read Tead102's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image bwest3930
1 review
Apr 2015
Memo, our guide, was excellent. This tour is wonderful. Memo makes sure you have a great time, enjoy Tequila, learn about Mexico, and have a wonderful lunch. Highly recommend this tour, you will not be disappointed.
Read bwest3930's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Handlebars92708
1 review
Apr 2015
EXCELLENT! Our guide was the greatest! Lunch and drinks also excellent.
Read Handlebars92708's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Chilly Willy
1 review
Mar 2015

Another 4 hour tour, where we started with a drink of Marguerittas, then we saw a short movie about the history of Cozumel. We walked around the park and were shown miniature replicas of when the Spanish came to Cozumel. Then we went to the chocolate making factory, where we made chocolate which was lots of fun and were given a taste of a hot chocolate drink made from the chocolate.. We then had a taste of 3 different types of Tequilla and then off we went to a Tacos buffet with different types of meats and of course we had a choice of drinks, one of which was a Marguerita. The guide was very knowledgeable and it was very interesting to learn all about Tequila and how it is processed.

Read Chilly Willy's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Shore Excursion
Member Image vacationlovers1415
1 review
Not Rated
Feb 2015

Carlos was amazing and way better than expected!!!! A definite recommend

Read vacationlovers1415's full Carnival Ecstasy cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image txsgrl101
2 reviews
Nov 2014

Have done this tour twice; enjoyed the first tour better as we spent a bit more time in the Discover Mexico exhibit and learned a lot more about the history and culture of the area. This time around the tour was fun and the tequila was great, but not much culture; did not see the inside exhibits at all. Guess quality of the tour depends on guide and also how many other ships are in?

Read txsgrl101's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image CQG67
2 reviews
Nov 2014

Informative and fun.

Read CQG67's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image thiawroane
2 reviews
Not Rated
Jul 2014

Great look at history, geography, culture and language of Mexico. And of course great tequilas, margaritas, and tacos!

Read thiawroane's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Shore Trips
Member Image PeachAero
1 review
Jun 2014

Jeeps and Tequila tour in Cozumel. Very hot but still fun. Learned everything we needed to know about tequila and then some. Always look for 100% agave on the bottle. If you shake it and it foams, it's not 100% agave. 100% agave does not need extra sugar. Sugar causes the foam. We left the Mayan village and headed to Punta Sur beach. It was beautiful and very peaceful. On a scale of 1-10, I'd say 6. Probably wouldn't do it again.

Read PeachAero's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image ottowest
1 review
Not Rated
May 2014

The Jose Cuervo Tequila Tasting was very nice. Our guide, Martin (with 5 r's) was gracious and funny. We paid $65 a head and it was worth every penny. The whole thing lasted 4 hours and covered Mexican history, Agave horticulture lesson, Tequila tasting, free margaritas and lunch. I highly recommend this excursion!

Read ottowest's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image BubbaIU
3 reviews
May 2014

Nice tour!! The Discover Mexico park was informative and the artwork was a visual treat. Learned a ton about Tequila during the tasting. Memo ( Tour Guide ) did a great job.

Read BubbaIU's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image CruisingPeach
1 review
Apr 2014

This tour was a highlight of the trip - we had such a great time!

Learned a lot about how tequila was made and as wine drinkers it was fascinating to hear how similar it is to the wine making process. Our guide was very knowledgeable and friendly - the staff provided great samples of anything we wanted to try. Nice facilities, lunch included. Great way to spend the morning in Cozumel and still have some time to do whatever after.

Read CruisingPeach's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image JMF2100
1 review
Feb 2014

Cozumel is an over-developed tourist trap. You are not forced to walk through a duty free shop constructed on half the pier in order to get back to the ship. The Jose Cuervo tequila experience was not that great. Over half of the tour was devoted to a lecture of Mexican history. This was not disclosed in the tour description.

Read JMF2100's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image mojomorris
16 reviews
Nov 2013

The Jose Cuervo Tequila tasting is held next to the Mexican History Museum. The presentation was informative, the tequila was enjoyable and the lunch midway thru the Museum tour was tasty. A good value for sure.

Read mojomorris's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.