Ketchikan Ketchikan On Our Own Excursion Reviews

Ketchikan Ketchikan On Our Own cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Visitors to Ketchikan will be intrigued by its rich Native heritage and impressed with both the scenic town and its surroundings.
Member Image first time cruiser 136
1 review
Jul 2016
We went to George Inlet Lodge Crab Feast and it was delicious and fun. It is all the crab you can eat for 2 hours and delicious blueberry cheese cake for dessert. I would highly recommend this and we booked this ourselves online. They will come a pick you up in Ketchikan to take you to the feast.Yum!
Read first time cruiser 136's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: George Inlet Lodge
Member Image Barry J
1 review
Jun 2016
Did the self guided city / totem tour. It was great to see the totem poles and the original ones along with other Alaskan artifacts in the Totem Museum worth the $5 to enter. If looking for an Alaskan Totem Pole souvenir be sure to purchase one that has an Alaskan authentic sticker on the bottom. There are many shops that are owned by Eastern Indians that are merely there so sell what they get imported from China. Get the real carved items made by the Alaskan artists.
Read Barry J's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Through Visitors Center
Member Image NCJJCPJC2013
3 reviews
Jun 2016
Ok, saw some eagles and a bit of country.
Read NCJJCPJC2013's full Maasdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image gbachtx
1 review
May 2016
All n town is walking distance for seniors. Ensure to visit Creek Street and the old town
Read gbachtx's full Seven Seas Mariner cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image Gatorjw
1 review
May 2016
Loved the city. Clean and friendly
Read Gatorjw's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Self
Member Image Van2010
1 review
May 2016
Did a 5 mile hike up into the hills above Ketchikan independently.
Read Van2010's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image dianaleeq
1 review
Aug 2015
Enjoyed walking through town. We absolutely loved our boat trip to Clover pass Resort. the tour guide was so nice and so knowledgable. We were in awe of the beautiful rainforest. Enjoyed all the deer who ate out of our hands and the crab fest was fabulous! Also enjoyed the eagles we saw.
Read dianaleeq's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image SeeDream
1 review
Jun 2015
It was a short walk to the "historic" district and fun to walk along the river and learn a bit of history, my wife enjoyed all the shops. The town only opens when a ship is in port.
Read SeeDream's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image RoHawaii
1 review
Jun 2015
Just about everything that is to see is in walking distance. Make sure you see Creek Street.
Read RoHawaii's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image bluveds
2 reviews
Jun 2015
We were picked up by Rich Lee of Eagles and Bears Tour company and he gave us a tour of the island. We saw tons of bald eagles on the trip, and they were all very close. We were looking at popular bear sighting places, but we were not fortunate on that day. We ended at Totem Bight park. It was an enjoyable day, and Rich did a great job. Next time in Ketchikan I am going to plan on going to the Misty Fjords as I think that would be a better trip.
Read bluveds's full Disney Wonder cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image jon_davidson@yahoo.com
6 reviews
May 2015
We had a wonderful time in Ketchikan. The city offers a free shuttle bus that will take you from the dock around downtown and to several of the main tourist stops. We took the shuttle to the Totem Heritage Center which has a nice collection of antique totem poles. The staff at the heritage were very knowledgeable and more than willing to spend personal time explaining many aspects of nature culture and how it was reflected in the exhibits on display. We visited the Southeast Alaska Discovery Center, which is a great place to get an overview of the life and culture that is Southeast Alaska. We then took the city bus ($1) out to Totem Bight State Park (it’s free). Totem Bight has recreated totem poles and a spirit lodge set right on the edge of the water. Spent the rest of our time walking Creek St. and souvenir shopping. Hint on the souvenir shopping we were given a coupon book as we boarded the ship in Vancouver which had several really good coupons for stuff in Ketchikan (example $1.99 hats).
Read jon_davidson@yahoo.com's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image shroff
1 review
May 2015
nothing much to wrte about just an average trip, thiugh got to see some eagles in the nest and totem pole park. the driver cum guide appeared to be knowlegeable about the history and salient points.
Read shroff's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image bluereef
1 review
Aug 2014

In Ketchikan, we continuously saw salmon leaping from the water. An ex-commercial fisherman told us that it was female salmon, breaking up her egg skeins in preparation for spawning.

We took a very affordable private tour with Sourdough Tours (aka Ketchikan Taxi Cab Tours), and saw some bald eagles and ravens. We also explored the shore and found moon jellies, and thousands of crabs along the shore. Just lift a rock and you'd find baby Dungeness crabs and other mini crabs scamper about.

We also trekked through the woods and picked wild huckleberries (like tart red blueberries), thimbleberries, and salmon berries (like blackberries, but past season so a little bitter).

We visited the foamy rushing waterfalls on Creek Street and saw salmon try to climb up the waterfalls. They were hard to see but caught a few leaping with my Nikon (1/2500 shutter speed). We headed a few blocks away to Salmon Row and Herring Way (great street names!), where from the bridge we saw hundreds and hundreds of salmon resting in the river after they had made it up the waterfall at Creek Street. The calmer waters here allowed us to see the full shape of the fish.

If we had more time, we would have gone to see the native culture like Saxman Village or Potlatch Park, but we had to catch our next tour.

Read bluereef's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Ketchikan Taxi Cab Tours
Member Image LadyValkyrie
1 review
Not Rated
Jul 2014

Great service. Owners were awesome.

Read LadyValkyrie's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Panhandle Motorcycles
Member Image Zach's Mom
1 review
Jul 2014

In Ketchican, you can rent a fishing pole right off the ship for $10 and fish right there. Make sure you get the local coupon book, and look through it...there are some serious bargains in there. Price swings can be huge from store to store. Oh...and if you are buying salmon to bring or send home...look where it is packaged. Most of it is from Washington, not Alaska. There are only a couple that sell actual "Alaskan Salmon". Not an exciting stop...primarily shopping.

Read Zach's Mom's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Pauline Shirrefs
1 review
Jun 2014

.used map to do a self guided walk. interesting

Read Pauline Shirrefs's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Coco Chanel 1
1 review
Not Rated
Aug 2013

took a walking tour to the Totem Pole Museum. Easy walk

Read Coco Chanel 1's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image cathycaz
1 review
Jul 2013

In Ketchikan, we chose to walk and shop - based on CC reviewers naming it as the best souvenir shopping port. The ship docks right in the heart of the tourist area, lots of shops and saloons, and we walked the Waterfront Promenade around to the beautiful Creek Street shops neighborhood. We were lucky to see a huge bald eagle perched on a tree branch over Creek Street and dozens of large salmon swimming in the creek. After everyone in our party had their fill of shopping, we enjoyed our traditional adult beverage and hubs t-shirt purchase at Fish Pirates Saloon on the waterfront. Alas, I do not wear souvenir t-shirts, so the hubs insisted I buy an icy blue Glacier pendant and chain to balance out of his souvenir t-shirt purchases!

Read cathycaz's full Carnival Miracle cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image BJS
3 reviews
Jul 2013

This was our third time to Ketchikan so opted to take the free shuttle to the Totem Heritage Center which we enjoyed. We walked back to the port via the fish ladders but the town was so crowded with 4 ships in port that we did not want to deal with the crowds.

Read BJS's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image dredly
5 reviews
Jul 2013

Again, an all too brief stop. We walked around the town, saw salmon swimming upstream and went to totem pole museum. Interesting and only $10. Had to try Alaskan salmon. Had a very nice salmon chowder and salmon sandwich at take out restaurant by the dock.

Read dredly's full Carnival Miracle cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?