Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Ketchikan Ketchikan On Our Own Excursion Reviews

Ketchikan Ketchikan On Our Own cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Visitors to Ketchikan will be intrigued by its rich Native heritage and impressed with both the scenic town and its surroundings.
Member Image bluereef
1 review
Aug 2014

In Ketchikan, we continuously saw salmon leaping from the water. An ex-commercial fisherman told us that it was female salmon, breaking up her egg skeins in preparation for spawning.

We took a very affordable private tour with Sourdough Tours (aka Ketchikan Taxi Cab Tours), and saw some bald eagles and ravens. We also explored the shore and found moon jellies, and thousands of crabs along the shore. Just lift a rock and you'd find baby Dungeness crabs and other mini crabs scamper about.

We also trekked through the woods and picked wild huckleberries (like tart red blueberries), thimbleberries, and salmon berries (like blackberries, but past season so a little bitter).

We visited the foamy rushing waterfalls on Creek Street and saw salmon try to climb up the waterfalls. They were hard to see but caught a few leaping with my Nikon (1/2500 shutter speed). We headed a few blocks away to Salmon Row and Herring Way (great street names!), where from the bridge we saw hundreds and hundreds of salmon resting in the river after they had made it up the waterfall at Creek Street. The calmer waters here allowed us to see the full shape of the fish.

If we had more time, we would have gone to see the native culture like Saxman Village or Potlatch Park, but we had to catch our next tour.

Read bluereef's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Ketchikan Taxi Cab Tours
Member Image LadyValkyrie
1 review
Not Rated
Jul 2014

Great service. Owners were awesome.

Read LadyValkyrie's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Panhandle Motorcycles
Member Image Zach's Mom
1 review
Jul 2014

In Ketchican, you can rent a fishing pole right off the ship for $10 and fish right there. Make sure you get the local coupon book, and look through it...there are some serious bargains in there. Price swings can be huge from store to store. Oh...and if you are buying salmon to bring or send home...look where it is packaged. Most of it is from Washington, not Alaska. There are only a couple that sell actual "Alaskan Salmon". Not an exciting stop...primarily shopping.

Read Zach's Mom's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Pauline Shirrefs
1 review
Jun 2014

.used map to do a self guided walk. interesting

Read Pauline Shirrefs's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Coco Chanel 1
1 review
Not Rated
Aug 2013

took a walking tour to the Totem Pole Museum. Easy walk

Read Coco Chanel 1's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image cathycaz
1 review
Jul 2013

In Ketchikan, we chose to walk and shop - based on CC reviewers naming it as the best souvenir shopping port. The ship docks right in the heart of the tourist area, lots of shops and saloons, and we walked the Waterfront Promenade around to the beautiful Creek Street shops neighborhood. We were lucky to see a huge bald eagle perched on a tree branch over Creek Street and dozens of large salmon swimming in the creek. After everyone in our party had their fill of shopping, we enjoyed our traditional adult beverage and hubs t-shirt purchase at Fish Pirates Saloon on the waterfront. Alas, I do not wear souvenir t-shirts, so the hubs insisted I buy an icy blue Glacier pendant and chain to balance out of his souvenir t-shirt purchases!

Read cathycaz's full Carnival Miracle cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image BJS
3 reviews
Jul 2013

This was our third time to Ketchikan so opted to take the free shuttle to the Totem Heritage Center which we enjoyed. We walked back to the port via the fish ladders but the town was so crowded with 4 ships in port that we did not want to deal with the crowds.

Read BJS's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image dredly
4 reviews
Jul 2013

Again, an all too brief stop. We walked around the town, saw salmon swimming upstream and went to totem pole museum. Interesting and only $10. Had to try Alaskan salmon. Had a very nice salmon chowder and salmon sandwich at take out restaurant by the dock.

Read dredly's full Carnival Miracle cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.