Juneau Mendenhall Glacier Rafting Excursion Reviews

Juneau Mendenhall Glacier Rafting cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Treat yourself to spectacular views of hanging glaciers, towering peaks, and glacial topography whilst encountering stretches of moderate rapids that add excitement to the trip.
Member Image Behindtheboard
1 review
Jul 2016
We took a hike into a glacial Ice Cave. It was absolutely amazing!
Read Behindtheboard's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Liquid Alaska Tours
Member Image kimleg11
1 review
Jul 2016
Great time, amazing views, fun tour guide.
Read kimleg11's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Croozing66
1 review
Jul 2016
Beautiful scenery, but if you are expecting a "rafting trip" you will be disappointed. There were only a couple of rafts in which the occupants were given the option of paddling. All others (including ours) were "Guide-Rowed" - so the participants just sat there in the raft as passengers. There were maybe one or two "rapids" where the raft sped up and bumped around, but most of the trip was just bobbing on the river. That said, it gave us a nice view of the Mendenhall glacier from the water, and a decent and interesting perspective of the river.
Read Croozing66's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image NOKIDSCRUISER
1 review
Jun 2016
great time good guide to the falls and glacier
Read NOKIDSCRUISER's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: dont remember
Member Image kimannt18
1 review
Jun 2016
I get that the water is cold, but the boots, rubber overalls and life jacket were extremely heavy and bulky to be sitting in for an extended period of time. I felt like the Michelin man. Juneau does not have much to offer which surprised me it being the capital and all.
Read kimannt18's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mcookie39
1 review
May 2016
Ours was actually the Mendenhall Glacier Kayak not the rafting one. It's a 2 person kayak and you have a tour guide. It was exceptional and would recommend to anyone.
Read mcookie39's full Disney Wonder cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image Alcairns
4 reviews
May 2016
This was a replacement as out choice was undersubscribed and cancelled. We were not disappointed with this alternative albeit getting stuck in the rocks for forty monutes
Read Alcairns's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image craiginoregon
1 review
May 2016
Amazing place.
Read craiginoregon's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Arling2nGal
7 reviews
Aug 2015
This excursion was great! It was a sunny day and visibility was really good. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and witty and he kept us entertained. Of the 3 excursions we took, this one was my favorite!
Read Arling2nGal's full Pacific Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image turnhob
1 review
Jul 2015
Exciting, yet tame enough for the whole family! Well worth it!
Read turnhob's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Ralph Shrom
2 reviews
Jun 2015
The glacier is awesome, but we didn't have enough time to walk around and spend time in the visitors' center, which featured a 15-minute film about the glacier.
Read Ralph Shrom's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image msprich
1 review
Jun 2015
this was great, saw some eagles and bears along the way
Read msprich's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: took a cab
Member Image kf93
1 review
May 2015
canceled due to high water. Backup of kayaking only had room for 2 extra people. Went by ourselves on the glacier shuttle instead. Saved a lot of money but would have preferred the rafting trip
Read kf93's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image cruise1234
2 reviews
May 2015
Our guide was a historian or at least she should be. Her narration was excellent, she took her time to make sure we saw the beauty in the Alaskan landscape and took her time along the way to pick up garbage along the way. There wasnt much maybe a napkin or two along the way. The place is very clean and beautiful. The Glacier was memorable. The whale watching part of our excursion was enjoyed but not a lot of whales close enough to get a good picture. I think this is because the guides wanted to respect the whales and not get too close.
Read cruise1234's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image AlaksaCruise
1 review
Not Rated
Aug 2014

THIS IS AN ABSOLUTE MUST!!!!! Rafting to the mendenhall glacier followed by a level 3 White water rapids was breath-taking, amazing and a must for everyone!!! Besides the cruise around Tracey's Arm and the Sawyer Glacier... this excursion was worth every penny and the highlight of our trip. Just a side note, we had a 7 year old, 22 year old, 42, 49 and 77 year old (with bone cancer) on the raft. *** This is a must - 10 star :)

Read AlaksaCruise's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Rosiemom
1 review
Jul 2014

Just took white bus to Glacier and back. Saw bears, salmon, waterfall. We only had about an hour there. I could of used a littele more time.

Read Rosiemom's full Carnival Miracle cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Coco Chanel 1
1 review
Aug 2013

Beautiful - great trip

Read Coco Chanel 1's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.