Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

St. Kitts Beach Break Excursion Reviews

St. Kitts Beach Break cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Whether you enjoy the water or just want to soak in the sun, a day relaxing on the beautiful white beaches of Saint Kitts is the perfect way to spend your time on the idyllic Caribbean island.
Member Image philgard
1 review
Nov 2015
Relaxing day on a bounty beach with buckets of beer
Read philgard's full Thomson Celebration cruise review
Provider: local taxi
Member Image Summersemester
1 review
Jul 2015
Carambola Beach Club-Beautiful beach, wonderful food, uncrowded
Read Summersemester's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image farechiga
1 review
Jun 2015
Took about 30 minute scenic ride up and down and all around to south end of the island. Beach was amazingly pretty with view of Nevis in the distance. Chairs and umbrellas provided. Clean clear water. Some venders but when told no they left us alone.
Read farechiga's full Carnival Liberty cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Parky6
2 reviews
May 2015
Took us to Frigates Bay, stopped at beach just before Raggae Beach Shack a short 100 yard stroll to the Reggae Beach Shack . clean water, beautiful day. Great stop, my son and Girlfriend went on Zip Line with RCCL, they said it was GREAT and had a lot of fun
Read Parky6's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Taxi van outside ship
Member Image patti 01201
1 review
Apr 2015
Transportation was arranged. Lunch, snakes and beverages were sent with us. the beach was very nice, relaxing and not crowded. We were picked up at a designation time and returned to the ship
Read patti 01201's full Sagitta cruise review
Provider: Island Windjammers
Member Image paoc7444
1 review
Mar 2015
good bus clean beach, good chairs , rum punch available on arrival went ot Cockleshell Beach the water was warm and clean - lots of things to do on beach - wanted more time on beach
Read paoc7444's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Wareaglex5
1 review
Mar 2015
St. Kitts was beautiful. We rented a taxi that costs about $30 to get us to Cockleshell Beach where we got $5 beach chairs in front of Lion Rock Café. Abraham Lincoln (yep that’s what he said his name was) was running the restaurant and was busy cleaning conch from shells. We bought one for $5. There was a lady that set up her massage table and would give you a massage for $35. We paid “Cheryl” next door $12 per child so they could jump on the inflatable rafts in the ocean. We rented Jet Skies from “Cheryl” and had a wonderful time. My son got me and him thrown off the jet ski but the kill switch key kept the ski from getting away from us. We just had a great laugh. There was a guy cruising the beach with a monkey charging $10 per picture, which of course we had to have. That seemed a little steep for a picture with your own camera but I guess the monkeys have to eat too. I got our National Geographic Snorkeling Mask and Fins we got on the boat and snorkeled the reef, but was only able to see seaweed and sea urchins which were supposed to be poisonous so I left them alone and didn’t touch. There were starfish washing up on shore too. I did see some fish but nothing really colorful. My daughter thought she was so grown up at 18 because she could order a beer at the bar for her dad as the drinking age is 16 in St. Kitts. We were able to get a free drink of Pirates Punch but it didn’t seem that strong to me. We got some wonderful pictures of the sister island across the bay. She then spent the rest of the beach time getting one of the ladies at Lion Rock to cornrow her hair half way back for $20. The people on St. Kitts seemed less in love with us and more in love with getting our money, if you know what I mean. They were not overly aggressive though so we were not bothered by this. We had a great time. There were tons of Taxi's all the time and we ended up leaving at three which was plenty of time to get back to the ship. We saw many people from our ship at the beach.
Read Wareaglex5's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Done Ourselves
Member Image cartunespl
1 review
Mar 2015
sea weed covered beach, windy driving it in to shore expensive restaurant no early departure, you will be there for the duration and not have any thing to do unless your willing to spend big for deposits and fees to use beach equipment.
Read cartunespl's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image princesskatie
1 review
Mar 2015
Went to Reggae Beach-- great spot to enjoy the water and the beach- about 30 minutes from the pier by private taxi about $10.00 per person! They charge for chairs and umbrella's! Drinks are good and small!
Read princesskatie's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image AandJ7237
2 reviews
Jan 2015

Took a cab ride to Cockleshell beach with Adennis. $7 per person each way about 25 minutes from the port. Relaxing day at the beach. Drinks and restaurant was available on beach.

Read AandJ7237's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image spkar0517
1 review
Jan 2015

The beach we were taken to was bordering the atlantic and Caribbean and very cold. We hated the people walking with monkeys and coconuts trying to make money. We thought using a cruise sponsored tour would avoid that.

Read spkar0517's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image SnowBird-Beachbum
1 review
Not Rated
Dec 2014

Took a taxi ($7 pp each way) with about 8 other people. Driving showed up the sites on the way to the beach, he was very knowledgeable and friendly! Stopped at South Friars Bay, it was raining and muddy and nothing looked nice. 8 of us asked to go to Cockelshell Beach instead. Great idea! We sat at the Reggae bar, nice location, good food, beautiful beach, free WIFI. $5 for a chair and $5 for an umbrella. Bring cash to get an aloe massage from a location! The driver waiting for us and took us back to the ship at our agreed upon time. Highly recommend!

Read SnowBird-Beachbum's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Random Taxi waiting at terminal
Member Image GottaKnowWhen
2 reviews
Not Rated
Nov 2014

Same thing as above. We had been here before, had done the train trip (and thoroughly enjoyed it). Didn't see any tours from the ship that met our to-do list; all spent way too much time at one beach or another. So I got some suggestions (on this site?), did some on-line search, and found Royston. Royston's cousin Ashton gave a van full of us a good drive around the island with good photo stops, scenic views, history, batik, etc. At the end, after a good lunch, he dropped off those who wanted to stay at a beach, took the rest of us back to the port to enjoy the rest of the afternoon in the town.

Read GottaKnowWhen's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Ashton
Member Image Erzengel
1 review
Sep 2014

We took an excursion that took us to Nevis Beach. The name of it was Discover Nevis & Beach Break. They took us a round the island and we saw the hot springs and some of the historical places at Nevis. The beach was beautiful and we had a delicious meal at the restaurant that we stopped at. I would at the very least take another excursion that involved this beach.

Read Erzengel's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image collegiatecruiser
1 review
Jun 2014

I had a great time on my excursion. It was a "booze cruise" in the most fun and family friendly way possible. It was nice to see the sister island, Nevis, and to still have time to discover St. Kitts. However, no one warned me about the monkey people! BEWARE: people from St. Kitts while come to you with several baby monkeys. These monkeys will jump on you, then sit on your shoulder. The monkey people will say "Want a picture?!" then take your phone, take a picture, and ask for $10. It's a total SCAM! If you don't want to pay the monkey people, say "no monkey!" very firmly and they will leave you alone.

Read collegiatecruiser's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image wmfisher
2 reviews
Feb 2014

just lying on the beach andf taking in the sun

Read wmfisher's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image bebrbabe
1 review
Jan 2014

We went out to Spice Mill via excursion from the ship, as I wanted to visit Cockleshell Beach and had heard it could be difficult getting a taxi to/from; The beach was nice and my intell was wrong for how easy it would have been to book this excursion on my own! Taxis were easy, don't waste your money on the excursion from the ship;

Read bebrbabe's full Legend of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image AvalonLady
2 reviews
Jan 2014

Our shore excursion was “Caribbean Plantation and Beach”

The beach part of the tour, Frigate’s Bay Beach, was the most disappointing excursion we took. The beach is tiny, crowded, and has lots of rocks in the water. It has volcanic sand which means you don’t get the turquoise blue water. I could easily have skipped this part of the tour. Surely there are prettier beaches on St. Kitts !

Read AvalonLady's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image skykingNC
5 reviews
Jan 2014

See above (the beach break was part of the island tour including Fairview).

Read skykingNC's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image helandkel
1 review
Not Rated
Jan 2014

St Kitts - Again we booked independently this time with Thenford Grey of Grey’s Tours. What a find! This was such a lovely day. We had the most unbelievable tour guide. He was a Pastor on the island a true gentleman. He was so enthusiastic about his island that you could not fall in love with it and his personality. He made the trip. We had the bus to ourselves so we could stay as long as we wanted. He showed us around the island enroute to Reggae Beach. Reggae Beach had a real authentic Caribbean feel. There were monkeys on the beach and there was a laid back beach vibe which we all loved. Beach shoes are a good idea though as there were lots of broken shells going into the sea. Some of us had wonderful massages as well. Reluctantly we headed back to the ship after about four hours of swimming, lounging and having a good time. Again we were shown some great spots on the way back and dropped off at the port. Another great day.

Read helandkel's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Grey's Tours
Member Image Basket cruiser
3 reviews
Dec 2013

This was the WORSE ever. I love St. Kitts, other than the ride to the beach, this was the worse ever. The beach was filthy, the chairs were broken and dirty, the people were rude, the service was terrible, flies everywhere, bathrooms un usable. Terrible. RCCI refunded a small amount of our trip, but, should have refunded the entire amount. Terrible, don't do it....

Read Basket cruiser's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image DonnaB46
1 review
Mar 2013
Excellent way to spend a day is all I can say. We really liked St. Kitts.
Read DonnaB46's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Florida 210 Pilot
1 review
Dec 2012
Very nice island, get cab at port to go to the beach. Tip only when they come back for you. We gave Mr Edmund extra to pick us up but he never returned.
Read Florida 210 Pilot's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image sherrirapp
1 review
Dec 2012
We have been to Friars Beach in April on the Serenade of the Seas. The monkeys were fun to see but the beach is nothing to brag about at all! This time we decided to head to Frigate Beach. The beach is large, clean and well managed by "Clinton" a native that caters to your every whim! We paid $5.00 per beach chair with an Umbrella. He will call a cab for you when your ready to leave! Great Beach! Not crowded!
Read sherrirapp's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Cab
Member Image cruzin_ga_gal
12 reviews
Dec 2012
Cockleshell Beach is beautiful. One can never get tired of the view coming down the mountain with the Atlanta and Caribbean oceans flanking the sides of the center ridge. We just wish we had more time at the beach. since it takes about 45 minutes to get there, we felt that most of the tour time was in riding.
Read cruzin_ga_gal's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

 
Have you taken a cruise before?
Thank you!

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.