Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Juneau Gardens/Hatchery Excursion Reviews

Juneau Gardens/Hatchery cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Combine a Glacier Gardens Rainforest Adventure and Macauley Salmon Hatchery tour.
Member Image surfoz
4 reviews
Jul 2015
Glacier Gardens not our thing but others seemed to enjoy it. Macaulay Hatchery was very interesting to see close up their operations and understand the life of a salmon.
Read surfoz's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Happy1211
3 reviews
Jun 2015
Glacier Gardens was phenomenal in its beauty and views. Mendenhall Glacier was less impressive but offered a nice walking trail to get close to the glacier. our driver/guide Chad sounded like comedian Marty Short and kept everyone informed, entertained and on schedule. Chad made our time in port a lot of fun.
Read Happy1211's full Statendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image 1jazzylady
1 review
Jun 2015
Cold, wet and rainy, tram saved me. Needed heavier coat. Loved the gardens.
Read 1jazzylady's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image sylan
1 review
Jun 2015
Absolutely beautiful gardens, with the upside down trees.
Read sylan's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Jeni B.D.
1 review
Jun 2015
Wish we had more time at this port so we could see more of Juneau. The gardens and hatchery were cool places to visit!
Read Jeni B.D.'s full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Sandy684
1 review
Jun 2015
tours are a bit rushed, not much time to take the walks required. very informative
Read Sandy684's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image GABirder
1 review
Jun 2015
We visited Glacier Gardens and it was too expensive. Not worth the time or money at all. My husband really wanted to see the hatchery but we wasted valuable time at the "Gardens" and the hatchery was closed by the time we finished.
Read GABirder's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image maryannezwolak
1 review
May 2015
Hatchery lame, but inside museum interesting. Gardens impressive, especially upside down trees & ride upward to grand view. Inverted umbrellas so colorful.
Read maryannezwolak's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image maryanne zwolak
1 review
May 2015
Sydney was the best tour guide, entertaining yet informative. The hatchery was lame, but inside the museum the stuffed wildlife & real starfish enjoyable. The gardens were spectacular with views 360 degrees. The best was Mendenhall waterfall & glacier tour
Read maryanne zwolak's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Sewingbear2
1 review
May 2015
Garden was great, well layed out and marked and the self-guided pamphlet was awesome. The folks who put this together were awesome, good snacks at the end too!
Read Sewingbear2's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image swghayes
1 review
Aug 2014

We did the Garden/Hatchery and Mendenhall Glacier tour. We went to the hatchery first. Interesting but not much to it. Next was the garden. Nice garden but very small. Most of the "Garden tour" was a trip through the forest to a lookout at the top of the mountain. If you are looking for a garden tour, this is not it.

Read swghayes's full Carnival Miracle cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image racer72
1 review
Jul 2014

Very nice excursion. Jameson was very informative even though he had been on the job just a short time. The hatchery visit was too long, the Rainforest gardens and Mendenhall Glacier visits were too short.

Read racer72's full Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image furnrep
1 review
Jul 2014

Hatchery is disgusting and smelly!

Read furnrep's full Oosterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image pdiehl720
1 review
Not Rated
Jul 2014

Salmon hatchery was very interesting and educational. We then took motorcoach to Mendenhall glacier which was breath-taking. While there we had many photo opportunities. We then took motorcoach to a salmon bake. The salmon was delicious and the setting was great. Overall....excellent experience!

Read pdiehl720's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image mbjbride06
1 review
Sep 2013

loved glacier gardens - this is a must see; hatchery was interesting

Read mbjbride06's full Diamond Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image cruz'n bug
1 review
Sep 2013

Hatchery - educational. Glacier Gardens - another must see!

Read cruz'n bug's full Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image SoCal Cruise Critic User
3 reviews
Jul 2013

If you are very interested in plants you would rate this higher. It was a relatively short stop - as the area is not too large and easily walkable. The plants/trees were well marked and viewing and photographing them was relatively enjoyable.

Read SoCal Cruise Critic User's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image deBeer
1 review
Jul 2013

Hatchery tour was interesting. Thousands and thousands of salmon trying to swim up the fish ladder. Saw hatchery personnel getting eggs and milt for new salmon. Juneau has plenty of excursions to accommodate most interests and budgets.

Read deBeer's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Determined34
3 reviews
Jul 2013

Interesting to see the industry and enjoyed talk and watching the fish

Read Determined34's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Ggmck
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2013

Worth doing

Read Ggmck's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image boomerone
15 reviews
Jun 2013

interesting garden design with upside-down trees with flowers growing in the root balls, flowers in full bloom, very nice view at the top overlooking Gastineau Channel and Juneau.

Read boomerone's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: ourselves

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.