Ketchikan Wildlife Sanctuary Excursion Reviews

Ketchikan Wildlife Sanctuary cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Venture into the Tongass National Rainforest on a trail that puts you up close and personal with the flora and fauna of the area. Look for wildlife that frequent the area including a variety of birds, black bears, deer, mink, marten and seals.
Member Image javthrowr
1 review
Sep 2016
Another luck filled tour... it rained the night before we arrived in Ketchikan, so there were more salmon in the water and the black bears were happy to come feed on them. This tour takes you up on raised wooden walkways to see the bears down below catching and eating salmon. We saw quite a few bears and the guides had to detour around one section because a few bears were too close to the platform making it off limits (safety first). After getting our fill of black bears, they took us into the old mill area and we saw some totem poles being worked on and completed works. They also had a few animals on loan - a hawk, an owl and an eagle - all rescued after being injured. Great tour, we really enjoyed it and had fun taking photos of the bears!
Read javthrowr's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image TexasBelle
1 review
Sep 2016
Loved walking through the rainforest with all the commentary from the guide. Did not see any bears, but the tour just after us saw 8! You never know what you will see. But we did see plenty of salmon in the river. The eagle sanctuary part of the tour was most sad. Just an area for the eagle who lives alone. Not very big, but he can not fly it seems. Still, it's sad.
Read TexasBelle's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image sagafemina
2 reviews
Aug 2016
Saw one golden eagle and a bunch of salmon, no bears unfortunately. We got a much better price for transport than an onboard tour would have been, but probably could have gotten there by public transportation.
Read sagafemina's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Garmanr
1 review
Aug 2016
Saw several bears. Mom and cub were playing and eating salmon. Believe it was with Alaskan excursions.
Read Garmanr's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Tigs01
1 review
Aug 2016
Disappointing as we later found out there are only 17 bears here. We waited a hike to see any but did see 3 in the end. When we did, it was like, OK, time to go then. We were herded through the totem pole are and workshops but with minimal information.
Read Tigs01's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image ALdreamer
1 review
Aug 2016
The walking path through the rain forest is very user friendly even for those who may not walk fast or need the assistance of a cane or walker. The guide was very knowledgeable. We had the delight of seeing a black bear fishing and catching a salmon, the salmon going up the ladder to the hatchery, a harbor seal and eagles. In the sanctuary we got a very close look at an eagle that cannot be released into the wild. The old sawmill and the totem carving were interesting. More time to spend there would have been an added bonus.
Read ALdreamer's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image saltydoc40
1 review
Aug 2016
Bird sanctuary and old sawmill with demonstration of totem pole carving.
Read saltydoc40's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image GeoEeds
1 review
Jul 2016
Very good tour, good value.
Read GeoEeds's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image charliesavino@gmail.com
1 review
Jul 2016
A beautiful and relaxing stroll through the rein forest with knowledgeable guides. A view of a near by salmon hatchery provided close up encounters with many bald eagles -- in the trees, on the ground, even resting prone. Then visited a totem carving facility and saw dozens of totems. Then visited three reindeer who were being rehabbed. A great experience.
Read charliesavino@gmail.com's full Crystal Serenity cruise review
Provider: Crystal Cruises
Member Image eajusa
2 reviews
Jun 2016
Goood, but not as good as the ones at Sitka!
Read eajusa's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image lorifl2
1 review
Jun 2016
This was an unexpectedly awesome excursion. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable (and had a master's degree is something to do with bears). Didn't actually see any bears, but saw many many bald eagles, a salmon hatchery, saw mill, and totem carver. This was a great value for the money.
Read lorifl2's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jnjconrad313@gmail.com
1 review
May 2016
Very knowledgeable tour guide. Got to see eagles and bears.
Read jnjconrad313@gmail.com's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image poinsettiaplate
1 review
Apr 2016
This was an excellent shore excursion. The walk through the Rainforest Wildlife Sanctuary had an excellent guide with good explanations of plants and animals. We saw deer, eagles and other birds. The Raptor Center allowed for seeing a bald eagle up very close. The sawmill display had pieces of equipment displayed so as to understand how they were used and had a display of wood crosscuts. The totem carver had a good presentation and explanation of what he was doing. I would have liked for this shore excursion to be longer so I could have spent more time in all the areas. Ketchikan is another easy walking town with good shops.
Read poinsettiaplate's full Crystal Serenity cruise review
Provider: Crystal Cruises
Member Image JamesCA
1 review
Aug 2015
Great Rain Forest Experience, bald eagles and maybe bears if you are lucky!
Read JamesCA's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image IrishEyes1969
1 review
Aug 2015
Just not good.
Read IrishEyes1969's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image JJca
1 review
Jul 2015
Wish I had done something else. Saw three captive birds and my kids fed reindeer but was rushed through the sawmill and totem carving was complete so nothing to see. Would rather have seen wild bird not captive ones
Read JJca's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image BirdTravels
5 reviews
Jun 2015
The tour starts with a great narrated tour of Ketchikan talking about the history, the people, and culture of the area. This is a great nature walk through the rain forest and down to the Eagle Creek estuary. You walk on well maintained trails (easy walking) through the rainforest and meadow areas. A naturalist talks about the plants, birds, insects, and wildlife. Then down on to board walks over the tidal estuary. Here you will see large collection of mature and juvenile bald eagles. During the salmon runs, bears and eagles feed on salmon returning to the hatchery in the estuary. At the end of the trail, you tour the restored sawmill, once used to cut lumber for Ketchikan. Back at the visitor’s center, you can visit the Raptor Center to see rescue animals (eagles, owls, hawks), and a totem pole carver continuing age-old skills. He was working on a 7 foot red cedar Orca totem (2 months for the whale and 3 months for the pole). ShoreEx Tip: You are going to the rainforest. Ketchikan gets 15-20 days of rain a month (7-14 inches of rain a month). Expect rain. The facility provides ponchos that are sturdy enough to survive the walk and keep you dry (but definitely not heavy duty reuse). ShoreEx Tip: This is a bear area. You are not allowed to carry any food, mints, gum, hand sanitizer (basically anything that smells) on the trails. The guides provide group tubs to collect any food as soon as you exit the bus and return it to you at the end of the trail. Don’t carry it with you. Don’t try to hide it.
Read BirdTravels's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Tucson Guy
2 reviews
Jun 2015
Saw several eagles.
Read Tucson Guy's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image juliaoh
1 review
Not Rated
Jul 2013

Interesting wildlife walk innBear Sanctuary, seeing salmon, eagles, seals and Totem Poles. Would do again

Read juliaoh's full Carnival Miracle cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image KittyMeowit
7 reviews
Not Rated
May 2013

We booked this wildlife sanctuary tour through the Travelocity site. The tour group was small and our guide throughout the sanctuary was very good, but there was just very little wildlife to be seen which is disappointing. We did see two eagles way up in the trees, one bird and a cat. Little disappointing but who can control these things? We did see the eagle and owl that they had in captivity for a short period of time, followed by about five minutes to feed the reindeer who were cute. The we went into a shed for about five minutes where someone showed us a big log that they will carve into something for a totem pole. In our opinion, not really worth the money we paid for the tour but hopefully some of it went to preserving the rainforest and wildlife in it. Ketchikan was a cute town and I wish we could have been there for longer than three hours.

Read KittyMeowit's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Port Promotions

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?