Become a Cruise Insider
Tips, deals and more in your inbox.
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Cozumel America's Cup Excursion Reviews

Cozumel America's Cup cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Dennis Conner's America's Cup winning Stars & Stripes and True North IV are yours for this thrill of a lifetime adventure. Our expert crew will show you exactly what to do in your "crew member" position. Then it's off to the race course! Grind a winch... trim a sail... punch a stop watch, or just sit back, relax, and enjoy the complimentary refreshments.
Member Image Readyforvacation2010
2 reviews
Feb 2015

We had previously done this excursion in St. Maartin. This was just as much fun (although a bit more rocky due to the water). It was a fun race - exhilirating, scary, fun and challenging all at the same time. Highly recommend doing this one in a lifetime activity. Well worth it and will make great memories.

Read Readyforvacation2010's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image MaconAMess
1 review
Not Rated
Feb 2015

I booked this excursion based on some reviews on the cruise site. We took a organized water taxi to transfer to the 12m boats for our sailing experience. These were true America's Cup yachts from the 80s. The excursion divided the guests into two groups. Half went to the North Star IV (Canadian) boat and the other half went to the Stars and Stripes (USA) boat. Passengers were asked what roles they were interested in between active, medium, and inactive. This would determine how involved they wanted to be in the boats operation as we raced the other boat. Most of our group wanted an active role in the experience. Our captain (Tom) was great at assigning roles to this new "crew" and he and his two mates trained us in what our duties were. We had very strong winds and the experience was incredible as we raced neck and neck with the Canadian boat finally winning the race by only a few meters. I highly recommend this experience to anyone that wants an active and fun adventure.

Read MaconAMess's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Saber27
1 review
Not Rated
Dec 2014

We decided to try the America's Cup 12 Meter Sailing Race Excursion!!!!!!!! GREAT FUN!!!!!!! We will do that one again for sure. Short walk from the pier to a bot that takes you two the two 12 meter boats. There are four stations for passengers depending on how much activity you wanted or could do. We took the moderate position which I think was the most flexible in that we handled the rear winch and lines on the port side and another couple handled the ones on the starboard. We got to be right behind the skipper (Ian, who was fantastic in teaching and helping) and had the direst spot on the boat. Forward of the wheel was the no activity station where four people just held on. Ahead were grinder 1 and 2 stations and they got a workout and wet. But if that is what you want to do then go for # 1 for sure. Exciting - we did have a race -and well worth the time and

Read Saber27's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Suncoast Gal
1 review
Not Rated
Nov 2014

This was such a pleasant surprise as we never thought of doing it but so glad we did. 2 America Cup boats that eventually race each other. Great guides. There's 3 categories you can be in. I was non-active but hubby was active and he was a 'main grinder'. There's nothing really strenuous on any level. They have beverages too!! We would definitely do this again. It's different but so much fun. Wear shorts/t shirt and sunscreen as you don't realize how hot that sun is.

Read Suncoast Gal's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Avondeb
1 review
Nov 2014

Excellent - highly recommended!

Read Avondeb's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Mike_
1 review
Sep 2014

The America's Cup race was really nice, a great break from beaches and cruising. All onboard loved it.

Read Mike_'s full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image MarcyReally
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2014

We didn't know what to expect but it was a fun little sail, although short. I think the course could have been set out of the port area, maybe more offshore so the legs of the race were longer. Not to be too picky since the sailboat is no longer actually racing but the sails on the Canadian boat are blown out. The tour operator was a great guy though. A fun time was had by all.

Read MarcyReally's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image birdie2
2 reviews
Apr 2014

We did the America Cup Yacht race in the afternoon. The water taxi shuttle across the bay to the yacht was nice, and the yacht race was okay, but very short for the cost of this excursion. Beer, water and soda were offered on board. We had good winds the day we went. They then take you back via water taxi to their shop for what they said would be a rum punch winner's ceremony. There was no ceremony, the captain's did not attend, there was just some warm punch in pitchers and a shop to buy t-shirts, hats & pictures. We asked if they could take us back to the port so we could enjoy some shopping, but they declined and we had to wait for approx 45 minutes to an hour for others to finish buying hats & tshirts. They did offer that we could walk back, which would have probably been at least a 20-30 minute brisk walk in the sun. The water taxi is only 3-4 minutes and they could greatly improve this excursion by doing two water taxi trips. Overall it was a decent excursion, but very overpriced compared to other excursion values. The actual yacht race was about one hour.

Read birdie2's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image LegisLady
1 review
Mar 2014

This was fun! Once you meet up with your group on the pier it's a quick boat ride out to where the 12-meter boats are anchored. En route, the group is divided in two, with half boarding the Stars and Stripes and the other half the Canadian boat. Everyone is given a job (though you can be a cheerleader/timer if you want) and the captain sails around a bit for practice. Then the race begins! After the race is a bit of free sail time whilst enjoying free sodas/beer/water, then transfer to the motor boat for a ride to gift shop. Slake your thirst with complimentary fruit or rum punch. Excellent quality t-shirts and gear are available for purchase, as are pictures of your group "racing". Then motor back to the pier plenty early enough to do a little shopping before boarding the ship.

Read LegisLady's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ekb1969
2 reviews
Feb 2014

Best excursion in a long time.......we chose to help the crew and it was not easy but fun and we learned something new. We were glad to have done it. You can chose to sit back and relax and have a beer. I did both.....worked and had 2 beer! Keep in mind that there is no facilities on the boat.
Cozumel is clean and easy to get around. It is one of my favourite ports.

Read ekb1969's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Lmb2548
1 review
Not Rated
May 2013
Once in a lifetime experience. It's a must for anyone that likes sailing.
Read Lmb2548's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.