Roatan Beach Day Excursion Reviews

Roatan Beach Day cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Whether you partake in one of the many beach activities available, or simply relax in the picture-perfect surroundings, time spent on the shores of Roatan is unforgettable!
Member Image giddingsjrfamily
1 review
Mar 2017
Maya Key Private Island, Animal Sanctuary & Lunch. Nice. Good food. Clean. Kids really enjoyed viewing the animals.
Read giddingsjrfamily's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image bmatlock
1 review
Mar 2017
Tabayana Beach is one of the best places in the caribbean to snorkel. We have been there 3 times because of the wide variety and large number of fish and coral that can be seen. You must take a free guided snorkel tour first to learn the area, but after that you are free to go on your own. This excursion gives you several hours to snorkel. The beach area is also nice for kids or to walk down to see other areas and local vendors. Lunch is served with hot dogs, hamburgers, chicken, rice, fruit and drinks. You will get more than you can eat. Although it is not fancy, it is very good.
Read bmatlock's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image careerlady
1 review
Mar 2017
The beach is very close to where the ship docks and can be reached on foot. The beach is very nice with soft sand and clear water. Beach loungers are provided and there are washrooms and a few restaurants close by.
Read careerlady's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image suzismini
1 review
Mar 2017
Las Palmas Beach Excursion-Loved it. Bring sunscreen and bug spray. I did not feel the bugs bite, but the bites are really itchy after a couple of days! I had the shrimp salad at The Texas Mule. It was beautiful and very tasty. The service here was very good. The perfect balance between being attentive and allowing me to relax. I was solo on this excursion while my husband was diving. I was concerned that I might not feel safe, but that was never a concern. I was able to return to the ship at my leisure. A great relaxing and inexpensive excursion.
Read suzismini's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Bacon0428
3 reviews
Feb 2017
Beach itself was very nice. There are many vendors offering items but they are prevented from approaching the lounge chairs by security. They walk up and down the beach by the water line shouting about their products. You have to walk through them to get to the water but a simply "no thanks" worked fine. The tour employees tell everyone arriving at the beach not to purchase their items. I am not sure why and I didn't want anything being sold but some people still purchased things. It did not appear anything fishy was going on. There was a security guard assigned to our area of lounge chairs who introduced himself when were arrived. he said he would keep and eye on our property when we went in the water. We didn't really bring anything of value but said thanks and gave him a tip when we left. The excursion included a buffet lunch which included grilled or BBQ chicken, hamburgers, hot dogs, rice and beans, coleslaw and fruit. The food quality was what you would expect from a buffet on the beach in Roatan - ok, not great.
Read Bacon0428's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image txchuck01
1 review
Feb 2017
Mayan Resort all inclusive beach day, great beach good service, annoying peddles along beach but otherwise a great time
Read txchuck01's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image kevinsta
2 reviews
Feb 2017
Took a private tour for $25 a person. Went to the monkey farm, toured the Island and went to Tabyana Beach. Great beach with exceptional snorkeling off the beach. Saw tons of beautiful fish. Went for a lunch a block away from the beach, which was awesome. $11 for a lobster dinner, which included 2 small lobsters, rice, beans and fried banana's. Excellent. The lobster was cooked perfectly, and was better than the lobster on the ship.
Read kevinsta's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Victor Bodden
Member Image cruisergalnguy
3 reviews
Jan 2017
Tabyana Beach Party - was a blast!! Even in the pouring rain! LOL! You could tell the beach would have been beautiful if it hadn't been raining. However, you make the best of it - right?! Lunch was included and the drinks were reasonably priced. The two piece band saved the day! Well, so did the rum punch! We had a lot of fun singing and dancing. I would have loved to lounge in the sun by the water's edge, but that just wasnt in the cards. It's a bit of a drive by shuttle and the rain had created a lot of potholes. But the nice part was you could take a shuttle back to the ship whenever you wanted as they were running back and forth all day.
Read cruisergalnguy's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Hot Momma Brew
1 review
Jan 2017
Private beach with no more than 20 people at a time! Loved the privacy and food. Best drink on the island is a Monkey Lala.
Read Hot Momma Brew's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Ecological Tours & Services
Member Image jkfrlf
1 review
Jan 2017
We rode the chair lift over to the beach. Once there, we had shaded charis and float for the beach to use! (all included in the price) It was excellent. Weather was warm and beautiful! We all had an excellent time! They had intenret for $5/per device. Of course we took advantage of this. It was a little slow, but it worked well and was able to upload a few pics to send back home!
Read jkfrlf's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image grandmarnnurse
3 reviews
Jan 2017
Loved Maya Key, but wasn't impressed with the lunch they provided.
Read grandmarnnurse's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Fun Grammie
1 review
Jan 2017
This excursion included the chairlift, a kayak, loungers with shade shells and floats. The chair is SLOW so we only used it 1 time. The loungers and shells are nice if you aren't the second ship in port and can get a front row...we were too far back to even see the beach so we really didn't spend anytime in them. The waiters are great to take care of you when you are in this area. The floats are a nice way to relax in the water. The best part was that we were able to exchange the kayaks for a paddle boat for 4 to go out to the sandbar. There is a family there that has 7 giant turtles They are in a floating pen and you are able to get in the pen to feed them and take pictures. This was pretty cool!
Read Fun Grammie's full Carnival Pride cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image cowley_rogers
1 review
Dec 2016
Did Tabyana Beach excursion. You MUST snorkel at West Bay, even if beginner (I brought my gear, but you can rent there for $10). They have guides in kayaks to help you at any time. Shore excursion takes all in passenger vans on 30 min ride on their rough roads, to private beach on extended beach of numerous resorts. Lots of lounge chairs, security was excellent, lunch was good & plentiful. TONS of beach vendors but just say no and they leave you - if you say "not now", they will keep coming back until you say no; good that they are not allowed into lounge chair area and respect that (because of security). Great beach for swimming and walking, lots of rental activities.
Read cowley_rogers's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image bdrsuccess
1 review
Dec 2016
Roads are terrible, rough ride to/from. Very nice beach but attacks from locals to buy junk. Long lines for lousy buffet, drinks NOT included.
Read bdrsuccess's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image vicsan01
2 reviews
Dec 2016
This beach break was at West Bay Beach. It was overcrowded and it was hard to get a server to order more drinks. Otherwise it was a pretty good day and the water was lovely!
Read vicsan01's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Island Marketing
Member Image bookmomoftwins
1 review
Dec 2016
We chose the Relax on the Beach Plus Snorkel package, which included the covered lounge chairs, floating mats, snorkel gear, and chair lift ride to the beach. The beach was a little crowded and small, but it was heaven to be able to float on the mat and know that I wouldn't be washed out to sea completely! The snorkel gear was provided, but no instruction was given on how to use it--this wasn't a problem for us, but I wanted to mention that in case it's a factor for others. If you stay in the crowded swimming area, you won't see a thing, but if you go off the dock on the far left of the beach and swim out from there, you will find amazing coral formations and aquatic life, some of the best we've seen. Can't wait to get our underwater camera pictures back! The line to go back on the chair lift was quite long when we were ready to leave, so we walked the trail back instead and that works fine too. The bar / restaurant on the beach had yummy food and strong drinks.
Read bookmomoftwins's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image TXRN1966
1 review
Dec 2016
Well worth the money for the lift ride and clam shell. The beach has a lot of people but did not seem crowded. We would consider this excursion again.
Read TXRN1966's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Aleix.
1 review
Dec 2016
My experience at this beach break was phenomenal. There were so many things to do. It was awesome
Read Aleix.'s full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image pcolwell
1 review
Dec 2016
Beaches weren't that great. Got a taxi for 8 of us but a "tour guide" showed with it too. Our mistake of not telling them no.
Read pcolwell's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Number6
1 review
Dec 2016
It was OK. Our boy enjoyed the animal tour.
Read Number6's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image sturgis95
1 review
Dec 2016
Nice, clean facilities. Lots of space to chill out. Free drink coupon.
Read sturgis95's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Island Marketing
Member Image RandaRoo
1 review
Dec 2016
Weather was beautiful and private beach offered free wi-fi! The beach day was part of the Jungle ATV and Beach Tour, so our driver from the ATV tour stayed with us at the beach to keep track of time for us and get us bad safely and efficiently.
Read RandaRoo's full Empress of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image angolablache
1 review
Dec 2016
Challenging course, but fun and adrenaline! Completely recommend!! Even for beginners the staff help with the course.
Read angolablache's full Empress of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image tmcgillivary
1 review
Dec 2016
Very busy beach (2 cruise ships in)
Read tmcgillivary's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image joeandwendy
2 reviews
Dec 2016
Nice dive resort, not very crowded
Read joeandwendy's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Island Marketing

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?