Roatan Beach Day Excursion Reviews

Roatan Beach Day cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Whether you partake in one of the many beach activities available, or simply relax in the picture-perfect surroundings, time spent on the shores of Roatan is unforgettable!
Member Image kbratc2
1 review
May 2017
Great beach. Take your snorkel gear and head down by the rocks at the end of the beach. Hated the hagglers selling all day long! Hated having to pay $20 per kid EXTRA for the ONE slide in the water!
Read kbratc2's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image JCoop_Cruiser
1 review
May 2017
Great location, with friendly helpful staff. Good beach, great snorkeling. Animal exhibits were very good. Lunch service was very good. Highly recommend this excursion.
Read JCoop_Cruiser's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image WDWAutism2002
1 review
May 2017
We did the beach day with the covered loungers, floats, kayak ride, and magic chair lift passes. The kids loved the water, looking for shells, building sandcastles, and paddling around in the water. My husband and daughter did the kayak excursion, which is behind the beach area on a small inlet or river. The zipliners cross right over where the kayaks are. There was a stingray in the area, which the kids liked to look at. The only complaint I have is that the swimming area is really difficult to enter or exit. There is a 3 foot drop from the beach to the swimming area, down a sandy bank. So for someone with knee or back problems, it was painful and difficult to enter. I did see another, more exclusive area, around one side with a zero entry swimming area. It would be nice if they did some grading on the more public beach to make it easier. The shopping areas were clean and the prices very reasonable. And the staff at the beach were all very friendly and helpful. It's very secure - security was everywhere. Definitely a fun day out for the family.
Read WDWAutism2002's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image policekat
2 reviews
May 2017
This beach was one of the best snorkeling beaches I have been to. The cable car ride to the beach was very fun also! Would do this one again!
Read policekat's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image twatson5
1 review
May 2017
Clam she'll, two lounge chairs, and scuba gear made for a great day. Fat Tuesday jerp chicken was the bomb!
Read twatson5's full Carnival Conquest cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image farechiga
2 reviews
May 2017
Found tour operator just past security gate down hill from cruise terminal. Taken to resort by knowledgeable guide - gave brief over view of Roatan and culture. Trip took 10 minutes. Arrived at resort - paid for excursion on site and taken by ferry boat 5 minutes to little French Key. Given 2 drink tickets and a meal card for lunch. Drinks were good and food was alright (rice, beans, pork, chicken). Island had plenty to do - sleep, swim, snorkel, kayak, paddle board, jump from suspended rope off pier. Good vibe of music and fun for all ages! Had a great time!
Read farechiga's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Little French Key
Member Image carolieqzy
1 review
Apr 2017
loved this excursion- beach was beautiful and water warm and calm- could snorkel right off beach- bus ride was a little long and bumpy (50 min approx) but worth it! has restaurant/nice areas to sit- very safe- the guides watch your stuff- go on this, you will love it !!
Read carolieqzy's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image strangdeeds
1 review
Apr 2017
I highly recommend the private cabanas. You get an air conditioned room with couch, fridge, TV and WiFi along with a hammock outside and a huge lounger with a beach you share with 7-8 more cabanas.
Read strangdeeds's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Deb5678
1 review
Apr 2017
Parrot Tree Resort. It was pretty there but the beach was actually a man made lake. No activities except sitting on the beach or taking a short walk around the buildings. Food and drinks were reasonably priced but my family ordered burgers for lunch that were awful. I had a vegie guesadilla that was very good
Read Deb5678's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Markj744*
1 review
Apr 2017
Outstanding and great service. Food was ok but did not expect more
Read Markj744*'s full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image tracy80
1 review
Apr 2017
Just walked out the port and got a taxi for seven of us ($50 return) to West Bay. Driver sat with our gear all day long while we snorkelled. We didnt pay to go on the beach just put our gear down on the sand. They tried to tell us you had to pay but you dont. Its a free beach. You only need to pay if using a resorts chairs and umbrellas. We were in the water all day so no need for that. Snorkelling was good but not fantastic. Got murky in the afternoon. Was safe for kids and we saw plenty. A good day out.
Read tracy80's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Eleanorpc14
1 review
Apr 2017
We went to the Maya Key Resort, which was amazing! Animals for the kids to see, beach to relax on, and also some of the best snorkeling I have ever done! Also, they provided an amazing lunch for all of us.
Read Eleanorpc14's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image CruiseLife12345
1 review
Apr 2017
We went to Parrot Tree Beach Resort and average is probably the best way to describe it. It wasn't bad but it wasn't amazing. Probably in line with the price of $44 considering that transportation is provided. The lagoon was pretty and did feel like a real beach as much as it could. The pool was not bad but neither of the two things were quite as nice as the pictures looked. But overall we had a good time and thought the food and drink was reasonably priced. We didn't have any issues with the service, but a lot of the people in our group seemed to have some problems getting their orders timely. We had nachos and they were ok.
Read CruiseLife12345's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image steffiteff
1 review
Apr 2017
Beach was small. Not crowded. Food for purchase was quite tasty. 2 hours or so was plenty. Few shops there. Liked that is was At Your Leisure so we could head back. Didn't love it.
Read steffiteff's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image rremente
1 review
Apr 2017
Went to Fantasy Island resort. Bech was great, very relaxing. The resort was old but people were very nice. Would recommend if you are looking to spend the day on the beach either snorkeling or kayaking. Very low key and not busy.
Read rremente's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Island Marketing
Member Image BamaCruiser47
1 review
Mar 2017
Wonderful beach day with great water and clam shell chairs. Prices are high though for food and drink ($28USD for bucket of 6 12 oz can beers)
Read BamaCruiser47's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image jfkimball
1 review
Mar 2017
Quiet island, Maya Key, fun feeding the monkeys and snokeling
Read jfkimball's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Sailing the world Kat
1 review
Mar 2017
Too crowded at the Mayan Princess.
Read Sailing the world Kat's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image giddingsjrfamily
1 review
Mar 2017
Maya Key Private Island, Animal Sanctuary & Lunch. Nice. Good food. Clean. Kids really enjoyed viewing the animals.
Read giddingsjrfamily's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image bmatlock
1 review
Mar 2017
Tabayana Beach is one of the best places in the caribbean to snorkel. We have been there 3 times because of the wide variety and large number of fish and coral that can be seen. You must take a free guided snorkel tour first to learn the area, but after that you are free to go on your own. This excursion gives you several hours to snorkel. The beach area is also nice for kids or to walk down to see other areas and local vendors. Lunch is served with hot dogs, hamburgers, chicken, rice, fruit and drinks. You will get more than you can eat. Although it is not fancy, it is very good.
Read bmatlock's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image careerlady
1 review
Mar 2017
The beach is very close to where the ship docks and can be reached on foot. The beach is very nice with soft sand and clear water. Beach loungers are provided and there are washrooms and a few restaurants close by.
Read careerlady's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image suzismini
1 review
Mar 2017
Las Palmas Beach Excursion-Loved it. Bring sunscreen and bug spray. I did not feel the bugs bite, but the bites are really itchy after a couple of days! I had the shrimp salad at The Texas Mule. It was beautiful and very tasty. The service here was very good. The perfect balance between being attentive and allowing me to relax. I was solo on this excursion while my husband was diving. I was concerned that I might not feel safe, but that was never a concern. I was able to return to the ship at my leisure. A great relaxing and inexpensive excursion.
Read suzismini's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Bacon0428
3 reviews
Feb 2017
Beach itself was very nice. There are many vendors offering items but they are prevented from approaching the lounge chairs by security. They walk up and down the beach by the water line shouting about their products. You have to walk through them to get to the water but a simply "no thanks" worked fine. The tour employees tell everyone arriving at the beach not to purchase their items. I am not sure why and I didn't want anything being sold but some people still purchased things. It did not appear anything fishy was going on. There was a security guard assigned to our area of lounge chairs who introduced himself when were arrived. he said he would keep and eye on our property when we went in the water. We didn't really bring anything of value but said thanks and gave him a tip when we left. The excursion included a buffet lunch which included grilled or BBQ chicken, hamburgers, hot dogs, rice and beans, coleslaw and fruit. The food quality was what you would expect from a buffet on the beach in Roatan - ok, not great.
Read Bacon0428's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image txchuck01
1 review
Feb 2017
Mayan Resort all inclusive beach day, great beach good service, annoying peddles along beach but otherwise a great time
Read txchuck01's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image kevinsta
2 reviews
Feb 2017
Took a private tour for $25 a person. Went to the monkey farm, toured the Island and went to Tabyana Beach. Great beach with exceptional snorkeling off the beach. Saw tons of beautiful fish. Went for a lunch a block away from the beach, which was awesome. $11 for a lobster dinner, which included 2 small lobsters, rice, beans and fried banana's. Excellent. The lobster was cooked perfectly, and was better than the lobster on the ship.
Read kevinsta's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Victor Bodden

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?