Roatan Beach Day Excursion Reviews

Roatan Beach Day cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Whether you partake in one of the many beach activities available, or simply relax in the picture-perfect surroundings, time spent on the shores of Roatan is unforgettable!
Member Image cowley_rogers
1 review
Dec 2016
Did Tabyana Beach excursion. You MUST snorkel at West Bay, even if beginner (I brought my gear, but you can rent there for $10). They have guides in kayaks to help you at any time. Shore excursion takes all in passenger vans on 30 min ride on their rough roads, to private beach on extended beach of numerous resorts. Lots of lounge chairs, security was excellent, lunch was good & plentiful. TONS of beach vendors but just say no and they leave you - if you say "not now", they will keep coming back until you say no; good that they are not allowed into lounge chair area and respect that (because of security). Great beach for swimming and walking, lots of rental activities.
Read cowley_rogers's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image vicsan01
2 reviews
Dec 2016
This beach break was at West Bay Beach. It was overcrowded and it was hard to get a server to order more drinks. Otherwise it was a pretty good day and the water was lovely!
Read vicsan01's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Island Marketing
Member Image bookmomoftwins
1 review
Dec 2016
We chose the Relax on the Beach Plus Snorkel package, which included the covered lounge chairs, floating mats, snorkel gear, and chair lift ride to the beach. The beach was a little crowded and small, but it was heaven to be able to float on the mat and know that I wouldn't be washed out to sea completely! The snorkel gear was provided, but no instruction was given on how to use it--this wasn't a problem for us, but I wanted to mention that in case it's a factor for others. If you stay in the crowded swimming area, you won't see a thing, but if you go off the dock on the far left of the beach and swim out from there, you will find amazing coral formations and aquatic life, some of the best we've seen. Can't wait to get our underwater camera pictures back! The line to go back on the chair lift was quite long when we were ready to leave, so we walked the trail back instead and that works fine too. The bar / restaurant on the beach had yummy food and strong drinks.
Read bookmomoftwins's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image TXRN1966
1 review
Dec 2016
Well worth the money for the lift ride and clam shell. The beach has a lot of people but did not seem crowded. We would consider this excursion again.
Read TXRN1966's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image pcolwell
1 review
Dec 2016
Beaches weren't that great. Got a taxi for 8 of us but a "tour guide" showed with it too. Our mistake of not telling them no.
Read pcolwell's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Number6
1 review
Dec 2016
It was OK. Our boy enjoyed the animal tour.
Read Number6's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image sturgis95
1 review
Dec 2016
Nice, clean facilities. Lots of space to chill out. Free drink coupon.
Read sturgis95's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Island Marketing
Member Image RandaRoo
1 review
Dec 2016
Weather was beautiful and private beach offered free wi-fi! The beach day was part of the Jungle ATV and Beach Tour, so our driver from the ATV tour stayed with us at the beach to keep track of time for us and get us bad safely and efficiently.
Read RandaRoo's full Empress of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image angolablache
1 review
Dec 2016
Challenging course, but fun and adrenaline! Completely recommend!! Even for beginners the staff help with the course.
Read angolablache's full Empress of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image tmcgillivary
1 review
Dec 2016
Very busy beach (2 cruise ships in)
Read tmcgillivary's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image joeandwendy
2 reviews
Dec 2016
Nice dive resort, not very crowded
Read joeandwendy's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Island Marketing
Member Image jamibdvd
1 review
Dec 2016
DO NOT BOOK and the relax on the beach package. It was packed with people and it is very unorganized. We purchased the package and never did receive our clam shell chairs and we ended up just leaving our stuff on the beach and taking a quick swim. The water front is definitely man made and very crowded. There were so many people in the water you couldn't swim and the water was extremely murky. Save your money and explor the island instead.
Read jamibdvd's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image chicagomomof2
1 review
Nov 2016
Maya Key - It was ok. Kids loved the animals and taking pictures with them. Beach was a bit rocky. Spent most of our time at the pool. Food just ok as well. If you have picky eaters they won't like it.
Read chicagomomof2's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jehiggins
1 review
Nov 2016
There was plenty of beach are and chairs but they had erected a portable barrier wall to keep the waves from rolling in. The problem with this is the beach are could not settle down and 6" under the surface of the water you couldn't see, so snorkling was out. If you take the chairlift ride to the beach it is a waste of time since you could walk there faster since they stopped it every time someone would get on or off.
Read jehiggins's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image EvilQAGuy
2 reviews
Nov 2016
Maya Key was amazing. Will definitely do again. During lunch skip the chicken and get a double portion of fish, even if you're ambivalent about fish. Their fish is fresh and scrumptious.
Read EvilQAGuy's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image TravelCure
1 review
Nov 2016
Too many people on the beach trying to get you buy stuff which took away from the experience. The beach itself was great.
Read TravelCure's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Shore Excursions
Member Image CruisingtheBays
1 review
Nov 2016
Maya Kay Private Island - A great quiet day at the beach. Snorkeling at the end of the pier okay. It was windy and overcase while we were there, but I'm sure it would be better on a sunny, calm day. Wildlife Refuge where you can see local money's, birds, sea lions and many others. Also a Mayan Ruins replica to explore and learn about the Mayans. We've been to Tabyana Beach (excellent snorkeling) and Gumbalimba Park which we would also recommend.
Read CruisingtheBays's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image photogcrazy
4 reviews
Nov 2016
Maya key was a very nice place but was hard to enjoy as we were getting poured on most of the day.
Read photogcrazy's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Builtwells
8 reviews
Nov 2016
Over sold, over crowded, food lousy, drinks watered down and not flavorful, folks selling their wares blocked the view of the beach, it was horrible and we will never go back there again.
Read Builtwells's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Las Salinas
Member Image NJfamilyvacation
1 review
Nov 2016
A bit crowded though lovely and the water is amazing.
Read NJfamilyvacation's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image shallwecruise
2 reviews
Oct 2016
Mayan Princess All-inclusive. TERRIBLE - run down. Food poor. Bit by mosquitoes. Stung by bee. Local merchants on beach were a true nuisance. And I normally am not bothered by them in places we go. Chairs were dirty. Not a good experience
Read shallwecruise's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Aurora Sunshine
1 review
Oct 2016
Picked up at port by comfortable air-conditioned bus. Drive was about 1/2 hour. Beach very nice. Plenty of chairs and guard looking after your things. Buffet lunch was great!
Read Aurora Sunshine's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image KevinNJoan
1 review
Oct 2016
South Shore > The Beach Club San Simon You will be dropped off at an ‘exclusive’ club (The Beach Club San Simon) which gives you 5’ of beech bordered by a wall of locals hard selling you shades and seashells - oh, but you will get a drink ticket good for one (basic) beverage and a healthy dose of attitude from staff. Pass.
Read KevinNJoan's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: South Shore
Member Image Twinprincesses
2 reviews
Oct 2016
The beach was nice. We paid a tour operator $10 each to drive us there and then entrance to the hotel was $10 each. This included chairs, pool, wifi, showers, restrooms. The food is pricey and you will be constantly harassed by vendors all day. When I say harassed I mean it is non stop to the point it is annoying. I understand people have to make a living but it was overkill.
Read Twinprincesses's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image teacherelaxin
1 review
Oct 2016
The Tabyana Beach Break was incredible and great value. You can snorkel in beautiful conditions for only $10 rental fee and the guide takes you out to see amazing reef.
Read teacherelaxin's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?