Skagway White Pass Scenic Railway Excursion Reviews

Skagway White Pass Scenic Railway cruise excursion
Overall Rating
The unforgettable journey on the White Pass Scenic Railway is not just another train ride; built through rugged terrain, the route passes through tunnels and valleys en route to the scenic White Pass Summit.
Member Image Sarah6246
1 review
Sep 2016
It was very cold and rainy in Skagway which became a problem when we got on the railway with no heat. The views were spectacular but we were freezing. Also did gold panning and it was fun, again cold. The mosquitoes were out so I'd recommend bug spray.
Read Sarah6246's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image enjoysummers
1 review
Sep 2016
White pass railway and rain forest trek. Need to be fairly active for this. It rained all day but still enjoyed it.
Read enjoysummers's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image beckanddav
1 review
Sep 2016
We booked excursion ourselves online and were met on time by our tour guide/driver right in front of ship. He gave us a quick tour of the town as we headed to the train. He showed us to our carriage then left us to enjoy the ride. Up the top he was there to meet us, we hopped back on the bus and headed back down, making stops on the way, including the Welcome To Alaska sign as snow was falling. It was a great day, with a great tour guide.
Read beckanddav's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jumping person
1 review
Sep 2016
Fascinating to see what and how they accomplished the building of the railroad. Breathtaking views.
Read jumping person's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image OneLoveAdventure
2 reviews
Sep 2016
The views were stunning while getting a historical overview of the area. The ride was long but relaxing. The tour we went on did not provide food or drinks (besides water), so eat up before going aboard.
Read OneLoveAdventure's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image froaddindude
1 review
Sep 2016
Booked the train and gold panning as a package. Price was crazy expensive from what we are used to, $205 each. We ended up getting really lucky with some amazing weather, great views of the Skagway valley, fun bus driver on the way down and great gold panning experience with a classic gold panning guide. He stole the day with his instructions on how to gold pan, kudos to him!
Read froaddindude's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image SCChuck
1 review
Sep 2016
Outstanding, excellent, fun! The best thing we did the entire cruise. The private car is the way to go, and "DJ" the guide/attendant was exceptional...
Read SCChuck's full Zaandam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image ktaylor8324
1 review
Sep 2016
Great tour on the bus and the train. Unbelievable views that words do no justice.
Read ktaylor8324's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image sbayes
1 review
Sep 2016
Seats on the train where too small and if you sat on the right side of the carriage you missed seeing what feature the tour was talking about.....trying to get a photo was a joke as we found no courtesy from the people on this excursion.
Read sbayes's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Wildpoppy
1 review
Sep 2016
Coach to north and then train back down. Great views from both. Lunch was nothing special, a chicken leg, half a baked potato and watery coleslaw. Nice to see a few animals. Carcross was main town, pleasant enough. Good train ride back
Read Wildpoppy's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image lineman99
1 review
Sep 2016
Very nice scenery in the mountains with waterfalls and revives and such. Good interesting people talking about the area and the pass
Read lineman99's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image malefevre
1 review
Sep 2016
Very nice excursion. You get to see so much w/ minimal physical exertion. We saw beautiful sites w/ educational information provided by rail staff. Really had a nice time!! Definitely would do this again!!
Read malefevre's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Surrey0
1 review
Sep 2016
Brilliant!
Read Surrey0's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image MomOfAFlock
1 review
Sep 2016
Awesome
Read MomOfAFlock's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image reneelorenzo
1 review
Sep 2016
Beautiful views, multiple waterfalls, fantastic scenery.
Read reneelorenzo's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image chintze
1 review
Sep 2016
Very enjoyable tour
Read chintze's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image 4774Papa
17 reviews
Sep 2016
same tour as Denver Valle Hike
Read 4774Papa's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mojoracer
4 reviews
Sep 2016
Great excursion. Loved the train ride. The town was great to walk around. We enjoyed the museums too.
Read mojoracer's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image SCMountaineer
3 reviews
Sep 2016
Wonderful excursion! Amazing views and informative commentary.
Read SCMountaineer's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image SueHarms@Comcast.net
1 review
Sep 2016
best part of the trip
Read SueHarms@Comcast.net's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Debtarheelgirl
1 review
Sep 2016
We booked it at the booth outside the ship and it was sponsored by the cruise line - the other booth only had the 5 hour tour and we would have missed our ship...
Read Debtarheelgirl's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image 2freespirits
7 reviews
Sep 2016
SKAGWAY (excursion) By contrast, the weather in Skagway was much more pleasant, and the town is very easy to navigate. We enjoyed a return trip on the Alaskan end of the White Pass and Yukon Railway, just as far as the summit (having visited the other end on our Yukon land trip). This is a very interesting way to spend half a day, and railway aficionados will surely be impressed to see the challenges the line builders managed to overcome. Many passengers disembarked here and continued their trip overland up to Anchorage. The WP&YR takes you as far as Carcross in Yukon, and you take a coach from there onwards to Whitehorse and beyond. TIP: if you intend to travel to Carcross you’ll need your passport because Yukon Territory is in Canada! Most of the stores here seem to be selling jewellery and trinkets, or items made by native peoples using local materials (bone, horn, walrus ivory, etc.) at very inflated prices.
Read 2freespirits's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image TexasBelle
1 review
Sep 2016
Beautiful scenery, great commentary by the guides. Buy the guide for $5, it's well worth the information.
Read TexasBelle's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image kwkiwi
2 reviews
Sep 2016
It was a totally rainy, foggy day. Not a good day to see anything let alone the magnificent scenery and feat of building this railroad. Sadly! I booked with Chilkoot tours and it was up on the train, down by van. However, Kevin the guide seemed to be in a hurry to get back to town and didn't stop at the viewing points on the road whereby we could have seen something. Very disappointed by this. I would do up and down by train next time, to give the weather a chance to clear. Or I would only decide on the day (not sure if you would miss out though in the busy season if the train was full). Anyway an expensive trip if it's fogged out.
Read kwkiwi's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image AG123456
2 reviews
Aug 2016
Rode train for 3 hrs listened to tour guide. Wish we had only done train ride. Kids were all miserable b/c we waited over 3 hours to get onto train! 15 mins listening to guy about panning gold and less than 10 mins to pan 6 oz of dirt, waited almost an 1hr to hear a guy talk about dog racing for over 30 minutes, then petted dogs, got lunch, then finally got on train.
Read AG123456's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?