Skagway White Pass Scenic Railway Excursion Reviews

Skagway White Pass Scenic Railway cruise excursion
Overall Rating
The unforgettable journey on the White Pass Scenic Railway is not just another train ride; built through rugged terrain, the route passes through tunnels and valleys en route to the scenic White Pass Summit.
Member Image terrinnp
1 review
Jun 2017
We booked this independently because we wanted to go all the way to the end of the line. If you book with the cruise, you leave the train at the Canadian border and get bused the rest of the way. Either way is fine, the best scenery was earlier in the ride. This was by far the best excursion! Loved our driver on the way back (Mike), He pointed out lots of points of interest and would pull over for us to take pictures along the way!
Read terrinnp's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image LoveOurBalcony
1 review
Jun 2017
Spectacular scenery on a crystal blue sky day. plenty of time on board to see all the amazing sites.
Read LoveOurBalcony's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Eldo1979
1 review
Jun 2017
Into the Yukon by bus, lunch at Caribou Crossing, train ride back down. Good guide who took time to point out wildlife and offer photo opportunities. caribou crossing was kind of a tourist stop. Lunch was skimpy -- chicken leg and thigh, coleslaw and roll and butter with a doughnut for dessert. Iditarod huskies training there were interesting, could have a ride pulled by them for another $26 . Train ride scenery was breathtakingly beautiful bit train seats needed more cushioning.
Read Eldo1979's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image jimzgrlz
1 review
Jun 2017
The train ride was very beautiful and the guide was exceptional. The train was full and some people traveling with toddlers refused to hold their child so there were a few people who had to sit three to a seat which was ridiculous and I'm sure very uncomfortable for them. They gave out great snack bags on the train which was appreciated and needed since there was limited choices and a bag of popcorn was $2 and cookies were $4 and not much else available. Next we got to see the sled dogs. This was by far the best! Very interesting and of course the highlight was watching them pull the sled and of course cuddling the puppies!
Read jimzgrlz's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image TravelGirrls
1 review
Jun 2017
The steam train was wonderful although noisy
Read TravelGirrls's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Alaska Travel Adventures
Member Image Travel2Liberate
1 review
May 2017
This is a MUST DO in Skagway! Amazing train ride up to the White Pass Summit. Great narration and unbelievable sights. A little scary being so high up in the mountains going over the bridges, but the view is completely worth it. A+++
Read Travel2Liberate's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image CruiseAlaska2017
1 review
May 2017
Exhilarating ride into the mountains...
Read CruiseAlaska2017's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image roxievegas
3 reviews
May 2017
waste of time. no animals to see and after 10 minutes on the train, ready to go back to ship
Read roxievegas's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image traveltilidrop
7 reviews
May 2017
Loved the train ride to and from the Canada/U.S. border. Lovely scenery. We also learned about the Gold Rush experience, including the "sacrifice of 3,000 horses" in Dead Horse Gulch which remains a testimony to greed. The train is a must-do in Skagway.
Read traveltilidrop's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image sonvoltken6
11 reviews
May 2017
This was another outstanding tour. We did the railway with the sled dog adventure. The sled dog thing was up first. The little area where they had it was sort of a tourist trap. However, it was pretty cool to interact with the dogs and to hear from an Iditerod racer. The train was cool. We got the recommendation to sit on the right side of the car if you are riding down the mountain and the views were spectacular. Other than a large group in our car who were being loud while the narration was going on, it was a great train trip.
Read sonvoltken6's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image oceans45
1 review
May 2017
We took WP previously and went by coach into the Yukon where we got out at several stops.This trip was just up and back on the rails which wasn't that interesting. Also, the tour guide did not emphasize the history of the gold rush and construction of the railway either. This trip was boring by comparison. Wouln't take it again.
Read oceans45's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image moorookar2b
1 review
May 2017
Gorgeous scenery and worth the travel.
Read moorookar2b's full Silver Shadow cruise review
Provider: Silversea Cruises
Member Image argyllsock
4 reviews
May 2017
A very relaxing and enjoyable 40 mile round trip to the Canadian border. Great commentary on board. No food options - be sure to eat or bring along a snack!
Read argyllsock's full Volendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Weboos2
3 reviews
May 2017
Fabulous train journey up the mountains. Fantastic scenery. Weather helped.
Read Weboos2's full Seven Seas Mariner cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image robandlil
4 reviews
May 2017
Best excursion of the trip. White pass train up and bicycle down. Gorgeous scenery, but no wildlife.
Read robandlil's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Koala_D
5 reviews
May 2017
Excellent... very scenic. Train travels to the Yukon. Did this 3 times now!
Read Koala_D's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image rodetoyou
1 review
May 2017
Once in a lifetime experience. Would highly recommend.
Read rodetoyou's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ckroy
1 review
May 2017
Though the trip was interesting for me, it was a bit slow for my husband. The bus trip up took awhile, several stops for photo's followed by a stop for lunch. The venue for lunch was OK, there was an opportunity to ride behind some sled dogs and an exhibit of animal mounts, something we have seen plenty of as AK residents. Bus ride to Carcross, opportunity to shop a bit before boarding the train. Bit of a delay there and the train went very slowly. The guide explained that there were trains in front that we had to wait for. The train also stopped several times to pick up people along the route - as we were already running behind - it added to the delays. I would recommend taking the train up and the bus down if you were concerned about time.
Read ckroy's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image ND Tour
1 review
May 2017
Very informative trip. Exciting train ride up the pass. Would take longer tour another time.
Read ND Tour's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Kristinedunn
1 review
May 2017
It was a fun trip. It was a bit long though.
Read Kristinedunn's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image AZGolfingGrandma
1 review
May 2017
Loved the trip, history and the views. The motor coach driver had poor time management skills, seemed to forget we had to meet the train and arrived to the train depot an hour late. Fortunately, the train (and everyone who arrived on time, waited for us.
Read AZGolfingGrandma's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Amygone
1 review
May 2017
Great train trip, wonderful scenery. We returned by coach, good commentary.
Read Amygone's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image sailawaynana
1 review
May 2017
Vintage railway adventure ended after our train engine broke down and we had to brake back down the mountain. Our money was promptly returned and my grandson was compensated with a blue ray dvd of the railway tour.
Read sailawaynana's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image mojo0323
1 review
May 2017
Majestic scenery!
Read mojo0323's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image pchoofinit
1 review
May 2017
there are 2 train excursions, one is just train ride, the other is train ride then motorcoach ride into the Yukon. We took the later, and loved it
Read pchoofinit's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?