Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Skagway White Pass Scenic Railway Excursion Reviews

Skagway White Pass Scenic Railway cruise excursion
Overall Rating
The unforgettable journey on the White Pass Scenic Railway is not just another train ride; built through rugged terrain, the route passes through tunnels and valleys en route to the scenic White Pass Summit.
Member Image Sandal23
1 review
Sep 2015
The train ride was just a thrilling way to ride back to Skagway!
Read Sandal23's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Chilkoot Charters
Member Image Angelrelaxer
1 review
Sep 2015
Delightful and cold trip up the mountain and past many waterfalls. I took lots of pictures and enjoyed the tour comments too. Great access to the rail cars at the dock.
Read Angelrelaxer's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image expatriate
2 reviews
Sep 2015
Expensive but worth while, an engineering marvel with spectacular views. Buy their DVD, the photos are far superior to my amateur attempts.
Read expatriate's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Slwright
1 review
Sep 2015
We took the bus up and went to the Yukon and returned by train so had the best of both worlds. Very scenic. Our bus driver/guide was excellent. Her name was Bea and she was from Pheonix Arizona. I sure hope she return next year. She was fabulous.
Read Slwright's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image andreaphillp
1 review
Sep 2015
The town is full of jewellery shops, t-shirt shops and tourist shops. It was difficult to find a shop selling authentic Alaskan goods. We booked the White Pass & Yukon Railway trip through NCL. The train pulled up right next to our ship, so boarding was very convenient. We sat on the left travelling up, and the right travelling back for the best views. The commentary was very informative, and it was good that you could stand on the platform at the front/back of the carriage, which is ideal for photographers. The scenery is amazing, we ended up travelling through the low clouds, but our views weren't overly obscured. We travelled over trestle bridges, through tunnels, passed waterfalls, and landmarks from the gold rush era. We enjoyed this tour, and would recommend it.
Read andreaphillp's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image evatonyp
1 review
Sep 2015
We took the combined White Pass Scenic Railway and suspension bridge tour. The scenery throughout the tour was breathtaking even though the weather was overcast throughout the tour, and with a little drizzle in Skagway. We caught the tour bus right by pier which took us to the train depot for the trip up the valley following the Skagway River. We climbed from the depot to the White Pass Summit, little over 2800 feet in 20 miles. The valley views and trestles were all spectacular. Once we were at the summit the trip continued on via bus to the suspension bridge. The bridge was very interesting with numerous opportunities for pictures, and a great story of why it was there. Got to spend a little over an hour there, which is more than enough time for pictures and a quick bite to eat at the restaurant or a quick snack. Don’t let a little bad weather stop you; this tour was well worth it.
Read evatonyp's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Bourbon Believer
2 reviews
Sep 2015
Travel agent put us on to booking the White Pass Railroad trip and was very glad we did. We took the first trip of morning and finished as the Princess group were lined up outside shivering. We enjoyed a half empty train car and got a cheaper rate than if booking thru Princess.
Read Bourbon Believer's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Alaska Pass
Member Image Mfanwy
1 review
Sep 2015
We traveled from the ship to the Yukon by coach, had a nice meal, saw lots of beautiful lakes and mountains and huskies. We took the train back. Beautiful well arranged tour and well worth the money. I think I would go up by train and back by coach if I did it again. Thanks to Nathan our driver and guide for helping make the tour so enjoyable.
Read Mfanwy's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image DACzuhause
1 review
Sep 2015
Good narration during ride. Our bus driver was very good. The company did the tour for us, even though we were the only two people at 7:30.
Read DACzuhause's full Volendam cruise review
Provider: Chilkoot
Member Image ricearoni161
1 review
Sep 2015
I enjoyed this 3-4 hour trip very much. The view and history shared really gave you a feel for what it was like when the railway was created. The only thing I didn't care for was the plugs at the end to tip the guide that you only heard over the intercom. You never interacted, it wasn't personal, and to me, I paid over $100 and expected a narrated tour, so it was her job. They did offer a nice deal onboard for a hat, video, and book all for $20 so you could take something with you if you missed pictures!
Read ricearoni161's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Carollee71
1 review
Sep 2015
Stunning scenery! Great ride on a train! You don't want to miss it! Train picks you up right next to the ship!
Read Carollee71's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image tlewi999
1 review
Sep 2015
Well worth the money. This was our second trip on the train and would do this again. Took over 300 pictures from train porch. Some of our best pictures.
Read tlewi999's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image west1215
3 reviews
Sep 2015
Train is worth the trip...take lots of pictures. Wildlife scarce for us, but time of year is tied to amount of wildlife you might see. Don't for get your passports as they check as the train goes in to Canada.
Read west1215's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image gwwyjjliu
1 review
Aug 2015
Fun but hyped a little too much so our expectations were sky-high. Views will depend on the weather and your ability to snap a photo before it disappears. Too bad you can't get out and walk around at the top.
Read gwwyjjliu's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Tericalhoun
1 review
Aug 2015
We thoroughly enjoyed the narrated bus tour into the Yukon as well as the train ride back to Skagway. The scerery was beautiful, and it was very enjoyable! It was quite cold in the Yukon, and it was even snowing in early Sept.
Read Tericalhoun's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image JamesCA
1 review
Aug 2015
The train is amazing, unforgettable experience, gald we didn't do the bus as this is more memorable!
Read JamesCA's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mmooneys
1 review
Aug 2015
Breathtaking views! Great narration of the history and points of interest. I even got a great Brown Bear pic from the porch of the train!
Read mmooneys's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image TucsonTeeter
1 review
Aug 2015
We were lucky with the weather. Though it was raining, we still had great visibility. The staff is very good and the train is comfortable.
Read TucsonTeeter's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image chris.sopko@gmail.com
1 review
Aug 2015
Boring, slow moving train up a hill covered in trees and fog. Don't waste your money.
Read chris.sopko@gmail.com's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image nana2many
6 reviews
Aug 2015
Second time to ride the train to the Yukon. This is a delightful trip with narration and scenic views the whole way. Last time we took the train, we went to the station on our own and bought tickets. The price was almost the same as the cruise charged. The excursion we took this time went into Canada and passports were required. There was a place to stamp passports and restroom facilities at the turn around point. Our tour was one way on the train and back on a bus, stopping at Liars Village, a miners camp reenactment that was very enjoyable in spite of the rain. Cookies and hot cider were included.
Read nana2many's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Sally Forth
4 reviews
Aug 2015
The White Pass Rail trip is not to be missed. There is so much history to this area and in a short time, you travel from a coastal rainforest up to an area that is almost desert, with mostly rocks, stunted trees, and many tiny ponds in the rocks. I highly recommend seeing Skagway itself first thing in the day before everyone from the ships hits the streets.
Read Sally Forth's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image IrishEyes1969
1 review
Aug 2015
Beautiful scenery and great narration.
Read IrishEyes1969's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image ontariocruiser2010
1 review
Aug 2015
Not to be missed..amazing views!
Read ontariocruiser2010's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Swampgirl2
1 review
Aug 2015
Train stopped to let hikers off, but did not stop otherwise. Hard to take pictures of anything when the train is whizzing by. Should have taken the bus!
Read Swampgirl2's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image kroozinround
1 review
Aug 2015
Beautiful scenery, nice port!
Read kroozinround's full Seven Seas Navigator cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises

Sponsored links

 
Have you taken a cruise before?
Thank you!

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.