Skagway White Pass Scenic Railway Excursion Reviews

Skagway White Pass Scenic Railway cruise excursion
Overall Rating
The unforgettable journey on the White Pass Scenic Railway is not just another train ride; built through rugged terrain, the route passes through tunnels and valleys en route to the scenic White Pass Summit.
Member Image SCChuck
1 review
Sep 2016
Outstanding, excellent, fun! The best thing we did the entire cruise. The private car is the way to go, and "DJ" the guide/attendant was exceptional...
Read SCChuck's full Zaandam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image malefevre
1 review
Sep 2016
Very nice excursion. You get to see so much w/ minimal physical exertion. We saw beautiful sites w/ educational information provided by rail staff. Really had a nice time!! Definitely would do this again!!
Read malefevre's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Surrey0
1 review
Sep 2016
Brilliant!
Read Surrey0's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image reneelorenzo
1 review
Sep 2016
Beautiful views, multiple waterfalls, fantastic scenery.
Read reneelorenzo's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image mojoracer
4 reviews
Sep 2016
Great excursion. Loved the train ride. The town was great to walk around. We enjoyed the museums too.
Read mojoracer's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image SCMountaineer
3 reviews
Sep 2016
Wonderful excursion! Amazing views and informative commentary.
Read SCMountaineer's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image SueHarms@Comcast.net
1 review
Sep 2016
best part of the trip
Read SueHarms@Comcast.net's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Debtarheelgirl
1 review
Sep 2016
We booked it at the booth outside the ship and it was sponsored by the cruise line - the other booth only had the 5 hour tour and we would have missed our ship...
Read Debtarheelgirl's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image 2freespirits
7 reviews
Sep 2016
SKAGWAY (excursion) By contrast, the weather in Skagway was much more pleasant, and the town is very easy to navigate. We enjoyed a return trip on the Alaskan end of the White Pass and Yukon Railway, just as far as the summit (having visited the other end on our Yukon land trip). This is a very interesting way to spend half a day, and railway aficionados will surely be impressed to see the challenges the line builders managed to overcome. Many passengers disembarked here and continued their trip overland up to Anchorage. The WP&YR takes you as far as Carcross in Yukon, and you take a coach from there onwards to Whitehorse and beyond. TIP: if you intend to travel to Carcross you’ll need your passport because Yukon Territory is in Canada! Most of the stores here seem to be selling jewellery and trinkets, or items made by native peoples using local materials (bone, horn, walrus ivory, etc.) at very inflated prices.
Read 2freespirits's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image TexasBelle
1 review
Sep 2016
Beautiful scenery, great commentary by the guides. Buy the guide for $5, it's well worth the information.
Read TexasBelle's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Sherrielyne
1 review
Aug 2016
It was pretty but you go up amd back on the same track. So you see everything twice
Read Sherrielyne's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Djazzbro1
1 review
Aug 2016
We took the bus/train ride. This was great. The bus was very scenic. The driver gave great narration. We crossed the border and got on train which headed back to Skagway. We saw amazing scenery and it was a lot of fun. Skagway a very old cute town. Looks like a movie set
Read Djazzbro1's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image sagafemina
2 reviews
Aug 2016
Albeit expensive, this is a not to be missed experience for any Gold Rush buffs. Also rather spectacular scenery. We took the late afternoon trip which was a great decision because we had only 1/2 car occupancy. Every other trip was packed.
Read sagafemina's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: White Pass
Member Image happygirlchocolate
1 review
Aug 2016
Great trip with excellent views. Bring your own snacks for the three hour trip. Bottled water is provided.
Read happygirlchocolate's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Nesster05
2 reviews
Aug 2016
SPEND THE EXTRA MONEY - DO THE LUXURY CAR Brand new (2 years old as of today) this luxury car experience is incredible. Everyone has their own leather plush chair, lots of extra room. Bartender/tour guide on board. Refreshments. A personal experience. Extra room outside of the car to walk around for even better views. Could not recommend this enough.
Read Nesster05's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image cdskurat@gmail.com
1 review
Aug 2016
most expensive nap EVER
Read cdskurat@gmail.com's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Nomclean
1 review
Aug 2016
Great day, excellent guides
Read Nomclean's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image sew4u
2 reviews
Aug 2016
Interesting ride on old classic train.
Read sew4u's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Crytostasis
1 review
Aug 2016
This was so much better than i thought it would be, the scenery is breath taking and the train goes through such a vast area. Totally worth doing, highly recommended.
Read Crytostasis's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mike201057
1 review
Aug 2016
average rating because of the length of the tour we took the train up and back down i recommend the train up and the bus back
Read mike201057's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image rleefamily
1 review
Aug 2016
Highly recommend it!
Read rleefamily's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image GingeredMelodyTravles
1 review
Aug 2016
Chinese passengers took over the rail car and could not see out of the side with all the dramatic scenery. If coming down from Canada sit on the right side of the car for the best and only view.
Read GingeredMelodyTravles's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Elegant88
1 review
Aug 2016
this was a gorgeous ride into the mountains and gold rush country. It was stunning. The cars were very comfortable, a bathroom in each which was good. tour guides great information and history. The views were stunning. Four hours was a bit long but it was worth it.
Read Elegant88's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Gfindlan
1 review
Aug 2016
This is a not to miss trip, and getting from the ship to the train was easy.
Read Gfindlan's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Cps720
1 review
Aug 2016
We booked the Laughton Glacier hike/Whitepass railway tour. This was the highlight of our trip. We rode the train for about 1 hour and then got off and did an eight mile round trip hike onto the glacier. The hike sounds way worse than it is. We are not hikers and all were able to complete the hike without difficulty. The guides make sure to keep the pace approachable for all and will divide the group and take breaks as necessary. I highly recommend this to anyone who really wants to experience Alaska's great outdoors and scenery up close.
Read Cps720's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?