Skagway White Pass Scenic Railway Excursion Reviews

Skagway White Pass Scenic Railway cruise excursion
Overall Rating
The unforgettable journey on the White Pass Scenic Railway is not just another train ride; built through rugged terrain, the route passes through tunnels and valleys en route to the scenic White Pass Summit.
Member Image MarkF9441
1 review
Jul 2016
Great sights and picture opportunities
Read MarkF9441's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image charliesavino@gmail.com
1 review
Jul 2016
Outstanding scenery. Well informed guides pointed out all the points of interest.
Read charliesavino@gmail.com's full Crystal Serenity cruise review
Provider: Crystal Cruises
Member Image itgeekgal
1 review
Jul 2016
Pretty ride but no food/snacks available
Read itgeekgal's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mgm1012
1 review
Jul 2016
Had done this before, but nice the second time around
Read mgm1012's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image 6thking@gmail.com
1 review
Jul 2016
Very good. "snack" was a joke, but otherwise it was enjoyable.
Read 6thking@gmail.com's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image misslyss1220
3 reviews
Jul 2016
We booked the Yukon Rail & Bus with Dogcart Experience through Chilkoot Charters for our party of 10. We chose this instead of the similar NCL one only because it was cheaper and included the dogcart ride. We got off the ship and walked around town a bit before our 10 am departure. Our tour guide, Bruce, was excellent and very informative. He safely drove us up into British Columbia and into the Yukon, where we stopped at several locations including Caribou Crossing for a dog cart ride. They gave us a decent barbecue lunch there, too. On the way back, we saw a black bear on the side of the road, and Bruce pulled over for us to see it and take photos, even though we were running late to get to the train. In Fraser, BC, the White Pass Railroad train was waiting for us, and we took it back down through the mountains to Skagway. This was an excellent excursion and I would highly recommend it to anyone. After departing the train, we went to the Skagway Brewing Company (DH really liked the beer here), and shopped in town. Some of the shops were closed by 7 pm, but many remained open. We really enjoyed our time in this port, but I definitely recommend an excursion here; the town is small and you’re docked for about 13 hours, so there’s plenty of time to kill.
Read misslyss1220's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Chilkoot Charters
Member Image judithrose
1 review
Jul 2016
We took the three hour ride which went into Canada. The organization of getting everyone onto the train could have been better. The crew was well informed. When we stopped so the engine could be moved for the ride back, it was mandatory to switch seats with the people on the opposite side of the aisle so you would have a view from the other side of the train. You couldn't buy food but water was provided.
Read judithrose's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Virgo61
1 review
Jul 2016
Loved the train. This excursion included lunch which was so/so.
Read Virgo61's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image VegasGirl1108
4 reviews
Jul 2016
Beautiful ride and much to learn. Many people said it might be boring for kids but we took our 5 year old and she had a great time (just take something to break up the ride at times). The train is just off the boat so it is super easy and you have plenty of time to tour the city on foot either before or after. It takes you all the way to the Canada border and back, from sea level to over 2000 feet in elevation, through beautiful countryside!
Read VegasGirl1108's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image ct8
2 reviews
Jul 2016
White pass and Yukon route train 27.7-mile ride to fraser British Columbia lasted about 90 minutes. Then transfer to van to summit and then 15-mile bike ride back down. Made three or four stops on the way down plus one stop at US customs as we came back into Alaska from British Columbia. Was a little chilly for part of the ride as we probably got up to 25 mph. Different perspective from taking the train up. Sockeye cycle tour partner: 1.5 mile walk from cruise ship when docked at railroad pier in furthest location.
Read ct8's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Aubiedu
1 review
Jul 2016
It was a little lengthy but still enjoyed it!
Read Aubiedu's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image lnoonan
1 review
Jul 2016
Our excursion was part of the Goldrush, Sled Dogs & White Pass Train Adventure. We boarded a bus and stopped first to see the sled dogs and learn about the Iditarod. We learned about all the supplies needed and how the musher takes care of his dogs. We also got to see and pet the sled dogs and then watched a team of dogs pulling the sled. At the very end, we lavished our attention on the seven puppies born this spring. Our stop to learn about the sled dogs was fascinating and well-paced. We then continued by bus on to Frasier, BC. Our bus driver did a great job telling about the sights we viewed. Prior to disembarking, we had to show our passports to the Canadian immigration official who boarded our bus. We then were allowed to walk the 75 yards to the White Pass and Yukon Railroad car which would take us back to Skagway. Our car was authentic and beautiful. It had a stove in the back corner, which was much appreciated by those of us who wanted to take pictures from the outside platform at the back of our car. We passed through two tunnels and we viewed the treacherous trail followed by those determined miners in 1898. The scenery from the train was beautiful -- we passed many rivers. Prior to leaving the train in Skagway, we had to show our passports to American immigration officials. It was a great excursion!
Read lnoonan's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image fdanna@mac.com
1 review
Jun 2016
This is a very scenic ride up to the White Pass. The one we chose doesn't go further into Canada and was 3.5 hours. There is another one that's 8 hours, but I can't imagine being trapped on a slow moving training for that long.
Read fdanna@mac.com's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image CHESTERVM316
1 review
Jun 2016
Our bus driver was grwat a wonderful story teller and gave us a lot of history about the area. Train ride was over the top, panning for gold a little crazy.
Read CHESTERVM316's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mariay
1 review
Jun 2016
The train ride was good. It was relaxing and informative.
Read mariay's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image GraniteSAM
1 review
Jun 2016
Boring but scenic
Read GraniteSAM's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image travelingboomers1946
1 review
Jun 2016
Great views but sound system needs improvement. Sound was low but bored children made it difficult to hear.
Read travelingboomers1946's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Charliedog1121
1 review
Jun 2016
It was a train ride through lovely scenery. If you are sitting on the wrong side of the train you really miss out on the beauty. Although I was award of which side we should sit on, because we were the last ones off the bus we had the last choice of seats on the train. That was disappointing. It was OK..
Read Charliedog1121's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image bobjenzach
1 review
Jun 2016
“White Pass Railway and Glacier Lake Kayaking” We truly enjoyed this excursion. The railway offers stunning views and a relaxing atmosphere. The staff were knowledgeable and friendly. The kayaking was fun and the scenery was stunning.
Read bobjenzach's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image bowhubnterups
1 review
Jun 2016
Nothing wrong with the excursion. You see plenty of beautiful scenery but by the time you get to Skagway You've already scene a lot of beautiful scenery. 3 1/2 hours is get a little long
Read bowhubnterups's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image GG7703
1 review
Jun 2016
Great for views, can get boring after awhile
Read GG7703's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Chardonnaylover
1 review
Jun 2016
Train ride was amazing. Scenery and history!! Not to be missed.
Read Chardonnaylover's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image StormyStarwardCruise
1 review
Jun 2016
very scenic. nice ride.
Read StormyStarwardCruise's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image ltoneill
1 review
Jun 2016
The train was fun and relaxing, but sort of boring. You don't get off and see anything. If you like riding smaller gauge trains, you'll enjoy this trip. Didn't seem like there was much else to do in Skagway, so you might as well. The downtown was a big nothing.
Read ltoneill's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: All Alaska Tours
Member Image mujerlinda
2 reviews
Jun 2016
The railroad trip up through the mountains was very scenic. However, if you are only going up to continue on the other side with a bus trip to go panning for gold, try your best to sit on the left hand side of the rail car if you can. On the right, you can see side of the mountain. On the left, you get to see beautiful ravines, rivers... We were able to step outside the rail car to take pictures during the trip but some people hogged the views and it was very frustrating. At the top, we changed over to a bus and got some great views going back towards town. Panning for gold and the meal - the only reason I traded in an included excursion for this paid one (which we paid with shipboard credit thank goodness), was because my husband wanted to pan for gold. It was a very cheesy part of the excursion. My husband got about $5.00 worth of nuggets in his pan and i got about $14.00 in mine. The food (bbq chicken, ribs, potatoes, and a veggie) was dry and not seasoned well. For an excursion costing about $170/person, I thought this was a horrible value and waste of time.
Read mujerlinda's full Seven Seas Mariner cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.