Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Skagway White Pass Scenic Railway Excursion Reviews

Skagway White Pass Scenic Railway cruise excursion
Overall Rating
The unforgettable journey on the White Pass Scenic Railway is not just another train ride; built through rugged terrain, the route passes through tunnels and valleys en route to the scenic White Pass Summit.
Member Image flatpik6
1 review
May 2016
Terrific tour. We saw lots of great scenery and I was even able to spot a mountain goat with my binoculars. We would book this again in the future. The town is a gem. It is fashioned after the style of an old west town and is loaded with personality. We found the locals to be very welcoming and were thrilled with the city ordinance prohibiting retailers from approaching you outside of their store. This was our favorite port town.
Read flatpik6's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image kiesm001
1 review
May 2016
Part of a train-bike combo. The train ride is breathtaking and not to be missed. Sit on the left side of the train on the ascent....
Read kiesm001's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Sockeye Cycle Shop
Member Image pr8582
1 review
May 2016
The rail trip was a great way to see so many stunning views of Skagway. Stress-free and fun.
Read pr8582's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image BBMU
1 review
May 2016
We went on the White Pass Scenic Railway (SK01). This was the train up and back. They let you know that after we reach the Summit the train will stop (not allowed to get off) and that you will switch sides of the train so that everyone gets to be on the better viewing side for either the trip up or back. If you are going on one of the other excursions that you only go up or down on the train, make sure you are on the left side of the train going up (or the right side going down). We had the left side going up and I chose to stand on the platform outside of the train car for almost the entire trip back down. The extra fun was the unannounced brake test going back down. The brakes worked great and I didn’t even get tossed off the small platform outside of the train car. I would definitely recommend this trip. Others said that the trip with the motor coach either up or down was also enjoyable. We also did a walk into town and did some souvenir shopping.
Read BBMU's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image subtlefantasy
4 reviews
May 2016
Bused to Yukon with driver Castle. She reminded us of Melissa McCarthy. She was a riot. Stopped at a few places for photos. Lunch in Car Cross was great. This was a fun place with the sled dogs and museum. We went to Caribou crossing. This was kind of hokey. Pretty vacant.
Read subtlefantasy's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image gigglz13
1 review
May 2016
Beautiful scenery. The bus trip back tells more than the train did
Read gigglz13's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image My32Shamrocks
1 review
May 2016
Amazing views and very relaxing.
Read My32Shamrocks's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: White Pass/Yukon Train
Member Image jsull826
6 reviews
May 2016
Was a nice day - scenery was amazing, visit with dogs was fun - lunch was fine - train rid nice , but a little too long - didn't allow for any time to visit Skagway - which we heard was a quaint little place to visit
Read jsull826's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Stewart17
1 review
May 2016
A great choice and opportunity to avoid the small town which was very busy due to 3 ships being in port that day.
Read Stewart17's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image catwrangler4
1 review
May 2016
Great and very organized. The guides on the train were great.
Read catwrangler4's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image poinsettiaplate
1 review
Apr 2016
The White Pass Scenic Railway is an excellent shore excursion. The train stopped right next to the ship. Everything was well organized. The narrative was good and the scenery spectacular. Since there was no crowd, we were able to ride the train in both directions. Skagway is a lovely little town with nice ships and is easy to walk around.
Read poinsettiaplate's full Crystal Serenity cruise review
Provider: Crystal Cruises
Member Image Sandal23
1 review
Sep 2015
The train ride was just a thrilling way to ride back to Skagway!
Read Sandal23's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Chilkoot Charters
Member Image Angelrelaxer
1 review
Sep 2015
Delightful and cold trip up the mountain and past many waterfalls. I took lots of pictures and enjoyed the tour comments too. Great access to the rail cars at the dock.
Read Angelrelaxer's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image expatriate
2 reviews
Sep 2015
Expensive but worth while, an engineering marvel with spectacular views. Buy their DVD, the photos are far superior to my amateur attempts.
Read expatriate's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Slwright
1 review
Sep 2015
We took the bus up and went to the Yukon and returned by train so had the best of both worlds. Very scenic. Our bus driver/guide was excellent. Her name was Bea and she was from Pheonix Arizona. I sure hope she return next year. She was fabulous.
Read Slwright's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image andreaphillp
1 review
Sep 2015
The town is full of jewellery shops, t-shirt shops and tourist shops. It was difficult to find a shop selling authentic Alaskan goods. We booked the White Pass & Yukon Railway trip through NCL. The train pulled up right next to our ship, so boarding was very convenient. We sat on the left travelling up, and the right travelling back for the best views. The commentary was very informative, and it was good that you could stand on the platform at the front/back of the carriage, which is ideal for photographers. The scenery is amazing, we ended up travelling through the low clouds, but our views weren't overly obscured. We travelled over trestle bridges, through tunnels, passed waterfalls, and landmarks from the gold rush era. We enjoyed this tour, and would recommend it.
Read andreaphillp's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image evatonyp
1 review
Sep 2015
We took the combined White Pass Scenic Railway and suspension bridge tour. The scenery throughout the tour was breathtaking even though the weather was overcast throughout the tour, and with a little drizzle in Skagway. We caught the tour bus right by pier which took us to the train depot for the trip up the valley following the Skagway River. We climbed from the depot to the White Pass Summit, little over 2800 feet in 20 miles. The valley views and trestles were all spectacular. Once we were at the summit the trip continued on via bus to the suspension bridge. The bridge was very interesting with numerous opportunities for pictures, and a great story of why it was there. Got to spend a little over an hour there, which is more than enough time for pictures and a quick bite to eat at the restaurant or a quick snack. Don’t let a little bad weather stop you; this tour was well worth it.
Read evatonyp's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Bourbon Believer
2 reviews
Sep 2015
Travel agent put us on to booking the White Pass Railroad trip and was very glad we did. We took the first trip of morning and finished as the Princess group were lined up outside shivering. We enjoyed a half empty train car and got a cheaper rate than if booking thru Princess.
Read Bourbon Believer's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Alaska Pass
Member Image Mfanwy
1 review
Sep 2015
We traveled from the ship to the Yukon by coach, had a nice meal, saw lots of beautiful lakes and mountains and huskies. We took the train back. Beautiful well arranged tour and well worth the money. I think I would go up by train and back by coach if I did it again. Thanks to Nathan our driver and guide for helping make the tour so enjoyable.
Read Mfanwy's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image DACzuhause
1 review
Sep 2015
Good narration during ride. Our bus driver was very good. The company did the tour for us, even though we were the only two people at 7:30.
Read DACzuhause's full Volendam cruise review
Provider: Chilkoot
Member Image ricearoni161
1 review
Sep 2015
I enjoyed this 3-4 hour trip very much. The view and history shared really gave you a feel for what it was like when the railway was created. The only thing I didn't care for was the plugs at the end to tip the guide that you only heard over the intercom. You never interacted, it wasn't personal, and to me, I paid over $100 and expected a narrated tour, so it was her job. They did offer a nice deal onboard for a hat, video, and book all for $20 so you could take something with you if you missed pictures!
Read ricearoni161's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Carollee71
1 review
Sep 2015
Stunning scenery! Great ride on a train! You don't want to miss it! Train picks you up right next to the ship!
Read Carollee71's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image tlewi999
1 review
Sep 2015
Well worth the money. This was our second trip on the train and would do this again. Took over 300 pictures from train porch. Some of our best pictures.
Read tlewi999's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image west1215
3 reviews
Sep 2015
Train is worth the trip...take lots of pictures. Wildlife scarce for us, but time of year is tied to amount of wildlife you might see. Don't for get your passports as they check as the train goes in to Canada.
Read west1215's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image gwwyjjliu
1 review
Aug 2015
Fun but hyped a little too much so our expectations were sky-high. Views will depend on the weather and your ability to snap a photo before it disappears. Too bad you can't get out and walk around at the top.
Read gwwyjjliu's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.