Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Strasbourg Notre Dame Cathedral Excursion Reviews

Strasbourg Notre Dame Cathedral cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Visit the Notre Dame Cathedral, a superb example of French Gothic architecture that took 300 years to complete. The cast iron spire is the largest in France and the central portal features an elaborately painted "Tree of Jesus." Explore the interior, which features a Lady Chapel, the tombs of Rouen's archbishops, secure behind wrought iron gates, and impressive 15th-century stained glass windows.
Member Image karenbod
1 review
Mar 2016
Impressive
Read karenbod's full Viking Mani cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image Augustjuana
1 review
Nov 2015
good
Read Augustjuana's full Viking Hlin cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image fjgoodman
1 review
Oct 2015
Bus to Strasbourg. Cathedral impressive although annoyed by the many beggars. This tour required a 20 minute walk to return to the bus to get back to the boat.
Read fjgoodman's full S.S. Antoinette cruise review
Provider: Uniworld Boutique River Cruise Collection
Member Image SuzyCraw
1 review
Oct 2015
Magnificent
Read SuzyCraw's full River Queen cruise review
Provider: Uniworld Boutique River Cruise Collection
Member Image zephyr77
1 review
Oct 2015
Very good
Read zephyr77's full River Queen cruise review
Provider: Uniworld Boutique River Cruise Collection
Member Image sanantoniogirl58
1 review
Oct 2015
Ok. The best part of excursion was when we took off on our own.
Read sanantoniogirl58's full AmaCerto cruise review
Provider: AmaWaterways
Member Image marianne/jerry
1 review
Sep 2015
Cathedral and walking tour were great as was tour guide Terry. However, we did not have enough time in the city. Tour should be shortened or Alsace afternoon tour made later. Definitely missed seeing Strasbourg on our own.
Read marianne/jerry's full Viking Mani cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image Dunworkin2011
1 review
Sep 2015
This was by far the best port of call for the cruise. The city is absolutely beautiful.
Read Dunworkin2011's full Viking Kvasir cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image Well Seasoned
1 review
Sep 2015
Big, a bit cut-up. Weird mechanical clock.
Read Well Seasoned's full Viking Eir cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image Louwsma
1 review
Sep 2015
For some reason, we didn't actually go into the cathedral, I forget why. But, we loved Strasbourg.
Read Louwsma's full Viking Hlin cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image Debcorky
1 review
Aug 2015
This excursion was included, a nice walk through town - we just looked at the cathedral from outside and did our own thing
Read Debcorky's full Viking Kara cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image dfrey58023@AOL.com
1 review
Jun 2015
We love touring the old cathedrals. It is amazing to see these ancient buildings. The bus was comfortable to travel to and from the Viking Eir and the guide was good and spoke excellent English which is appreciated.
Read dfrey58023@AOL.com's full Viking Eir cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image leo178
3 reviews
Jun 2015
The astronomical clock was worth seeing once. You don't need to wait 45 minutes, I went in at noon, and got a place to the side. The movie (in four languages) shows you what to look for, and what everything means.
Read leo178's full AmaCello cruise review
Provider: AmaWaterways
Member Image 30th anniversary cruisers
1 review
May 2015
Very informative guide.
Read 30th anniversary cruisers's full Viking Idi cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image birthdaygal
2 reviews
May 2015
One of the best guides we have ever had and what a town! I want to go back and stay there for a few days. Love the macaroons and the shops and the people!
Read birthdaygal's full Avalon Tranquility II cruise review
Provider: Avalon Waterways
Member Image Stella's Favorite
1 review
May 2015
We had a bus tour around Strasbourg & then had a walking tour around the city, and was able to go to Notre Dame Cathedral. Lovely architecture -easy walk.
Read Stella's Favorite's full Viking Sun cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image z06vett
3 reviews
Apr 2015
It was a nice church what else can I say. A church is a church and after a while they all look alike. Rating A for all of the nice frescos and the organ.
Read z06vett's full Viking Odin cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image Cruise Newbie 2015
1 review
Apr 2015
favorite city on cruise. a real gem
Read Cruise Newbie 2015's full Viking Lofn cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image MariannePB
3 reviews
Apr 2015
The gal who was our tour guide was excellent! She was a wealth of knowledge not only of architecture, but also of the history.
Read MariannePB's full Viking Odin cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises
Member Image rrgator
1 review
Not Rated
Dec 2013

I was really interested in seeing Strasbourg as I have always heard what a fabulous city it is. I was not disappointed. Strasbourg is fabulous. One of the things we really like visiting in Europe are the churches. The cathedral in Strasbourg is no exception. It is incredible. At this time of year, with schools out and people getting ready for Christmas, the crowds are pretty big in the cities we visited. Especially in Strasbourg, Cologne, and Amsterdam. We were able to get into the cathedral and tour it, even with a lot of other people trying to do the same thing. They have a little gift shop right in the cathedral that we were able to buy a few Christmas presents. I found some first day covers (envelopes) commemorating Pope John-Paul II's mass he said at the cathedral in 1988. Those are some nice Christmas presents for some of my friends who collect stamps. All in all, Strasbourg was everything I ever heard about it and was great getting to see it.

Read rrgator's full Viking Rinda cruise review
Provider: Viking River Cruises

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.