Rostock (Warnemunde) Schwerin Castle Excursion Reviews

Rostock (Warnemunde) Schwerin Castle cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Sitting on the banks of Germany's third-largest lake, the Schwerin Castle has a fairy-tale air. Explore the castle's seemingly endless rooms as well as the surrounding gardens.
Member Image happyp5
1 review
Jul 2016
Very interesting castle. Great guide. Wish we had more time to explore the city after the castle tour
Read happyp5's full Silver Wind cruise review
Provider: Silversea Cruises
Member Image The Roys
1 review
Jun 2016
The tour included a one hour train trip to and from the Castle. Well worth seeing.
Read The Roys's full Koningsdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image maynas
2 reviews
Jun 2015
nice tour but a bit slow and very very hot, more free time in the old town please
Read maynas's full Seven Seas Voyager cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image Rosethorn40
17 reviews
Jun 2015
Fairytale Castle in a romantic setting. Worth the train trop
Read Rosethorn40's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Alla Tours
Member Image CruiserGal62
2 reviews
Jun 2015
Enjoyed Schwerin Castle Tour and as with all our tours on this trip, we had an excellent guide. Once again, however, the tour did not allow time to stop and shop in the town, even though the scheduled departure of the ship was several hours after the tours conclusion. We did have time to wander through what turned out be the very charming town of Warnemunde.
Read CruiserGal62's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image hockley1
1 review
May 2015
Whilst most people headed for the included Berlin tour, Schwerin was fantastic. The castle has a fairy tale look and was approached by boat. inside, you were allowed to take photos (subject to purchase of a camera licence for three euro). The town is also very pretty, but more free time here would have been nice. Our ship was actually docked in Warnemunde. We were there on a Sunday when there was lots going on - outdoor eateries and entertainment and locals promenading. This was highly atmospheric and I would recommend that you do look around Warnemunde before boarding your vessel again.
Read hockley1's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image wolfg
1 review
Sep 2014

We skipped the Rostock/Warnemunde stock tours and rented a car through Sixt and hot-tailed to Schwerin for lunch and the Castle tour) and then Lubeck which we were able to do (comfortably) with time to spare and a two hour guided tour (won't give you the guide's name as he was not very good). It was a fun and interesting experience and the car rental was easy as pie (we booked on line) and got a terrific Audi. The whole trip cost about 130 euros which included the gas fill up at the end of the trip. We even got an English speaking GPS system that was a life saver.

Read wolfg's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: none
Member Image karbop1
2 reviews
Not Rated
May 2013
We chose Friends of Dave for our tour and it was fabulous. We had a walking tour of Warnemunde and Rostock and took the train to Schwerin to visit the castle. It was a great excursion.
Read karbop1's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Friends of Dave
Member Image ronnieb
1 review
Not Rated
May 2013

First Class...........Very knowledgable guide...and good prices....

Read ronnieb's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: spb
Member Image jilbymitch
2 reviews
May 2013

Beautiful.

Read jilbymitch's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?