Become a Cruise Insider
Tips, deals and more in your inbox.
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Tallinn Old Town of Tallinn Excursion Reviews

Tallinn Old Town of Tallinn cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Tallinn's medieval Old Town is known around the world for its well-preserved completeness and authentic Hanseatic architecture.
Member Image MargaretNC
1 review
Jun 2015
Tour guide spoke excellent English but she kept turning away from crowd when talking even after we mentioned it to her. Headsets would be helpful.
Read MargaretNC's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image grandmamoose17
1 review
Jun 2015
Very interesting area, very old and diverse history.
Read grandmamoose17's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image hockley1
1 review
May 2015
An excellent and highly enjoyable walking tour with a knowledgeable guide. There was also free time at the end to wander at leisure
Read hockley1's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image gwauncelyn4
1 review
May 2015
Guide took an inordinate time giving a detailed history lesson. The "lecture" she gave in a church at Tallin deprived her group of seeing more of the town. The meal was acceptable but the concert at another church was awful! Undoubtedly the worst guide I have encountered for information overload!
Read gwauncelyn4's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image EmmyLaBlonde
3 reviews
May 2015
Loved it but needed more time. It ended at 2:30 and we did not need to be back to the ship until 4:30, so it would have been nice if instead of rushing us back to the ship we could have stayed in tallin for a few extra hours. Folk art show was excellent as was the tour guide kuile aka kelly
Read EmmyLaBlonde's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image BarbaraDae
1 review
May 2015
Giina, our guide, was informative and we listened closely since she did not have a loud voice or mike which would have been helpful. She explained where the aristocrats lived in the upper village and the merchants (guilds) in the lower village. I could easily imagine life in this historic village while walking the cobblestone streets.
Read BarbaraDae's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Hunt1530
5 reviews
May 2015
Charming old town unspoiled by "progress" with mostly undisturbed city wall.
Read Hunt1530's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Priusprof
9 reviews
May 2015
We walked the Old Town starting at the top and worked our way down. We enjoyed the churches, scenic views, and narrow cobblestone streets. We stopped in a a very old pharmacy, a bakery, and went into one of the Orthodox churches. We had some free time to explore on our own so we geo cached and found one.
Read Priusprof's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: TJ Travels
Member Image Roy Ellison
1 review
May 2015
The guide was very knowledgeable and spoke very good English. We had been here and enjoyed the sites and culture of the area. We had time for shopping and time on our own. We enjoy churches and cathedrals and architecture.
Read Roy Ellison's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Devilaw
4 reviews
May 2015
We knew little of Tallinn before our trip and we were more than pleasantly surprised. We took a mini bus to the Old Town, and Tiina our travel guide led us around to all the main sites. She was highly knowledgeable Incredibly charming. City square was beautiful. After the tour we had a few hours to wander on our own.
Read Devilaw's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: TJ Travel
Member Image Steve Dixon
1 review
May 2015
There is nothing better than to have the man standing with a sign with your name at the end of the Pier - a well appointed mini-van with only 6 in the party, and almost half the cost of the same excursion booked through the ship
Read Steve Dixon's full Queen Elizabeth cruise review
Provider: Shore Excursions
Member Image barcos
1 review
May 2015
Outstanding! Tour guide was knowledgeable, helpful, honest. Wonderful!
Read barcos's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image gringorn
3 reviews
May 2015
The Tallinn tour was also good. We elected not to go to Berlin as I was worried that the ship would leave without us if we weren't on a Celebrity tour. I wish we had gone on the Berlin tour as it has much more interesting things to see. Our guide was interesting though, and we enjoyed it.
Read gringorn's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: SPB
Member Image jimsmith249
1 review
Not Rated
Aug 2014

Despite the pouring rain Talinn was a huge surprise. I had no idea it offered so much in such a small city.

Read jimsmith249's full Marco Polo cruise review
Provider: Cruising excursions
Member Image pchase1
1 review
Not Rated
Aug 2014

Walt Disney could not have built a more picturesque, cobblestone village. It was so quaint and pretty and well maintained. We docked in Tallinn and walked 20 minutes through some unattractive hints of Soviet occupation before we reached the entrance into the old town next to the church with an observatory tower. We went through the gate of the old city, along the cobble stone streets (hint: wear comfortable walking shoes) passed shops and restaurants. The city was just waking up as it was about 8:30 AM and nothing was open yet. It began to rain and none of us were prepared because we left the ship under blue skies. (Note to self: it rained for a few minutes every day during our 12-day cruise in Northern Europe so take an umbrella or light rain coat everywhere). We took refuge under café umbrellas that were starting to leak when a kind gentleman opened the door to his subterranean restaurant Wana Wiipuri (Pikk 33 street in Tallinn) and invited us in to stay dry. Before we knew it he ushered us (a party of 7) into a private dining room and served us coffee, Coke and water. His name was Heinrick and he was eager to meet us and tell us about his newly opened restaurant. We visited for about 40 minutes and once the rain let up I paid him for the coffee which he never charged us for. We were all touched by his hospitality that we promised to return for lunch later that day. We enjoyed walking the cobble stone streets and looking up at the beautifully maintained buildings from long ago. The city was beginning to come alive, restaurants and shops and cafes had opened, waiters standing outside dressed in clothes of yesteryear speaking with tourists and warmly giving directions and advice on where to go and what to see. Tallinn looked like it was out of a fairytale village that Disney animated artists had created. There was plenty of shopping, especially in the town squares, where vendors had set up an outdoor market. Prices were very reasonable. Woolen hats, mittens, sweaters were plentiful. Wooden souvenirs like kids’ toys, cheese knives, cheese boards, trivets were hand crafted and lots to choose from. Back to Wana Wiipuri for lunch that did not disappoint. Heinrick was happy to see us and saved his best waiter Igor, who spoke perfect English, for us. He welcomed us with complimentary vodka shots and we dined on typical Tallinn appetizers of pickles and pickled onion shoots with a dipping sauce. The food was fresh and delicious. Everyone enjoyed their meal and the warm hospitality Henrick and Igor provided.
On our way back to the ship we went to a wonderful chocolate shop across the street from Wana Wiipuri and climbed the observation tower of the church. The climb is not for claustrophobics or people with knee problems. It consisted of about 150 – 200 steps (a ladder type climb at one point) to the top of the tower where you walked around outside and got a spectacular view of Tallinn. It was crowded as the stairway was narrow about 4 feet wide at best and people were coming up and down simultaneously. Often times you had to wait for people to pass before you could proceed.

My advice for Tallinn: Walk around the city, bear in mind it doesn’t really wake up until about 10, but enjoy a café while you are waiting. The streets are easy to navigate, just wander and let yourself get lost. There are few cars in the old section, so walking in the street is fine. Prices are a welcome change from Norway, so indulge yourself in a sweater or souvenir. Don’t miss lunch at Wana Wiipuri and if you are game, climb to the top of the church tower only a few minutes from Wana Wiipuri. We found the people to be extremely warm and hospitable and English was not a problem. This was a great port.

Read pchase1's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: myself
Member Image Irish lover
1 review
Jul 2014

Our guide Thea was very knowledgable and gave us a wonderful history lesson on Estonia. The Soviet influence can still be seen today in the form of the cheaply made apartment complexes that housed the Soviets during their control up until their independence in 1991. Old Town was full of history and wonderful quaint European architecture. However, if you have hip, knee, or back issues the original cobblestones back from the Middle Ages will not be your friend. There is a lot of walking on this tour. Our photos are awesome and the bright sunny day certainly helped. Our lunch was very good, roasted chicken, veggies, good European bread. A market full of hand made items called to us more then dessert, so we had a little time to shop. As with all tours there was little time to purchase gifts - you would think they would want our money!

Read Irish lover's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image tipitina
3 reviews
Jun 2014

Very charming.

Read tipitina's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Purdue71
1 review
Aug 2013

Intersting.

Read Purdue71's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image gbucky
5 reviews
Aug 2013

Tallinn was one of my favorite cities on the cruise. Could easily spend two days there. The country has become more prosperous than the other Baltic countries and given the history, that is almost a miracle.Learning of the history from a knowledgeable guide was a highlight.

Read gbucky's full Nautica cruise review
Provider: SPB Tours
Member Image NantahalaCruiser
1 review
Jul 2013

Madli was the most superb guide of our entire cruise - took us on a walking tour - her stories were filled with both humour and sadness. The most poignant moment was when she talked about her father being bannished to Siberia when he was only a 3-year old child - followed with a discussion of the peaceful "singing revolution" and her a cappella rendition of their national anthem.

Most reasonable place in the Baltic to shop - purchased some ceramic items in a handicraft shop and some knit goods along the "Sweater Wall"

Read NantahalaCruiser's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: SPb-tours
Member Image SJDMD
1 review
Jul 2013

You can certainly do Tallin on your own but for the minimal additional cost, it's a worthwhile add-on with SPB tours.

Read SJDMD's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: SPB
Member Image discerningdiner
1 review
Jul 2013

We booked the chocolate tour which was interesting in that you could meet this elderly chocolate baker... it was expensive and quite brief but interesting none the less.

Read discerningdiner's full Seven Seas Voyager cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image karbop1
1 review
Not Rated
May 2013
Took a taxi to the top of Old Town and slowly made our way down and throough town back to the ship.
Read karbop1's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: N/A

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.