Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Tallinn Old Town of Tallinn Excursion Reviews

Tallinn Old Town of Tallinn cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Tallinn's medieval Old Town is known around the world for its well-preserved completeness and authentic Hanseatic architecture.
Member Image Arvy
1 review
May 2016
This is the same company that does the highly recommended free walking tours, but we decided this time we'd like to a private walking tour, and were so glad we made that choice. Tallinn was very busy with cruise ship tour groups that day, but because it was just the three of us, my dh, myself, and our wonderful guide, Maria, we were able to scoot around the pokey tour groups and really make the most of our time. Maria was fantastic - so upbeat and knowledgeable, it really felt like we were visiting with a friend and we were sad when it was time to say goodbye.
Read Arvy's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Tallinn Traveller Tours
Member Image wnesbitt
1 review
Sep 2015
Part coach, part walking. Included brief time for shopping, coffee and cake while watching folk dancing. Good fun. Lovely medieval place. Fascinating.
Read wnesbitt's full Black Watch cruise review
Provider: Fred. Olsen Cruise Lines
Member Image JuleS0464
1 review
Aug 2015
Our tour guide was great but the tour moved a little slow. After getting the highlights from her, we wandered off on our own to experience Old Town and had a great day.
Read JuleS0464's full Nautica cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image Rconce
1 review
Aug 2015
our guide Stina was very nice and friendly, and knowledgeable. I enjoyed learning about Estonia's history and historical places and seeing the beautiful medieval town.
Read Rconce's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: SPB tours
Member Image epwish
1 review
Jul 2015
Beautiful city!
Read epwish's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: SPB Tours
Member Image Cruise for Enjoyment
1 review
Jul 2015
nice tour - not for people with mobility issues .
Read Cruise for Enjoyment's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image bhimbhuvanKY
1 review
Jul 2015
It was good to go through the old medieval town market on Sunday. Wish had more time to shop
Read bhimbhuvanKY's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image df2616
1 review
Jul 2015
Decent tour, guide could have been a little more knowledgeable.
Read df2616's full Silver Cloud cruise review
Provider: Silversea Cruises
Member Image ian whitehead
1 review
Jul 2015
Very good a little to in depth on the history side for me.
Read ian whitehead's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image parmen123
1 review
Jun 2015
very educated and well informed guide
Read parmen123's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Trip Advisor
Member Image Questracker1
1 review
Jun 2015
Lovely tour guide. Very informative and had a good sense of humor.
Read Questracker1's full Seven Seas Voyager cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image Bookwizerd
2 reviews
Jun 2015
This was just ok. The town is beautiful but we really just saw the highlights without much time off the bus.
Read Bookwizerd's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image CruiserGal62
2 reviews
Jun 2015
The walking tour could be better described as the very crowded shuffling tour, although our guide did an excellent job of getting us to all the important spots of the upper and lower cities, despite the large number of visitors. A lovely charming Medieval City with its roots in the Hanseatic tradition, as were many of the ports we visited. Once again there was little time for shopping or a refreshment break.
Read CruiserGal62's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image twmerrick@gmail.com
1 review
Jun 2015
Very enjoyable
Read twmerrick@gmail.com's full Silver Cloud cruise review
Provider: Silversea Cruises
Member Image MargaretNC
6 reviews
Jun 2015
Tour guide spoke excellent English but she kept turning away from crowd when talking even after we mentioned it to her. Headsets would be helpful.
Read MargaretNC's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image grandmamoose17
1 review
Jun 2015
Very interesting area, very old and diverse history.
Read grandmamoose17's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image hockley1
1 review
May 2015
An excellent and highly enjoyable walking tour with a knowledgeable guide. There was also free time at the end to wander at leisure
Read hockley1's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image gwauncelyn4
1 review
May 2015
Guide took an inordinate time giving a detailed history lesson. The "lecture" she gave in a church at Tallin deprived her group of seeing more of the town. The meal was acceptable but the concert at another church was awful! Undoubtedly the worst guide I have encountered for information overload!
Read gwauncelyn4's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Holly2
7 reviews
May 2015
We had a private walking tour for our family of 5. We were met at the port by Tanya, a graduate student, who helped us plan our time. We went to a newly developing neighborhood and then did an intensive tour of Old Town. I had heard Tallinn described as a DIY port but I feel I would have been overwhelmed and not seen nearly as much ( or realized what I was seeing) without a guide who added so much to our experience.
Read Holly2's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Tallinn traveller tours
Member Image EmmyLaBlonde
3 reviews
May 2015
Loved it but needed more time. It ended at 2:30 and we did not need to be back to the ship until 4:30, so it would have been nice if instead of rushing us back to the ship we could have stayed in tallin for a few extra hours. Folk art show was excellent as was the tour guide kuile aka kelly
Read EmmyLaBlonde's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image ptcandy
1 review
May 2015
It was ok. Took a tour with TJ tours. You can really do it on your own and read up to see what you see. Very busy with lots of tourists as there were several ships in port. It's really a small town.
Read ptcandy's full Celebrity Silhouette cruise review
Provider: TJ Tours
Member Image BarbaraDae
1 review
May 2015
Giina, our guide, was informative and we listened closely since she did not have a loud voice or mike which would have been helpful. She explained where the aristocrats lived in the upper village and the merchants (guilds) in the lower village. I could easily imagine life in this historic village while walking the cobblestone streets.
Read BarbaraDae's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Hunt1530
6 reviews
May 2015
Charming old town unspoiled by "progress" with mostly undisturbed city wall.
Read Hunt1530's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Priusprof
9 reviews
May 2015
We walked the Old Town starting at the top and worked our way down. We enjoyed the churches, scenic views, and narrow cobblestone streets. We stopped in a a very old pharmacy, a bakery, and went into one of the Orthodox churches. We had some free time to explore on our own so we geo cached and found one.
Read Priusprof's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: TJ Travels
Member Image Roy Ellison
1 review
May 2015
The guide was very knowledgeable and spoke very good English. We had been here and enjoyed the sites and culture of the area. We had time for shopping and time on our own. We enjoy churches and cathedrals and architecture.
Read Roy Ellison's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.