Skagway Dog Sledding Excursion Reviews

Skagway Dog Sledding cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Dog sledding isn't just for the freezing Alaskan winter! Let a team of strong huskies pull you through Skagway's trails and countryside.
Member Image sgfink
1 review
Jul 2016
So much better than we expected. This is a real Mushers Dog Sledding training camp. It was a beautiful drive with great tour info on the way up to the camp. The camp itself was new and clean. We had fun riding the sleds, meeting the dogs, playing with the puppies, and learning about dog sleg races from an actual musher. We traveled with 4 adults and 5 kids ages 8-13 and everyone loved the experience.
Read sgfink's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image txbargaintraveler
1 review
Jul 2016
We did the Musher's Camp and Sled Dog Experience in Skagway. This was really fun and much better than I anticipated. Some of the guides have actually run or plan to run the Iditarod. The guides are very informative and you get to hold new puppies and pet younger puppies. A team of 16 dogs pulls up to 6 people on a special dog sled on wheels so you get the sense of how these dogs pull an actual dog sled in the winter. It is also great exercise for the dogs to keep in shape for preparing for the Iditarod. The dogs love the chance to run!
Read txbargaintraveler's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image rba12345
1 review
Jul 2016
Two excursions - helicopter to glaciers and dog sledding was awesome. The weather was beautiful. The dogs and mushers and a lot of fun. Also did a hike and float trip with Chilkut (sp). The 2 mile, 2 hour hike could be a bit challenging for some - a bit of steep climbs. Great guide and every interesting.
Read rba12345's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image kimleg11
1 review
Jul 2016
Out of this world amazing!!! Well worth the money!! Still can't believe we did this. Very organized trip. Loved all of it especially the puppies!!
Read kimleg11's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image 6thking@gmail.com
1 review
Jul 2016
The elements of this excursion were enjoyable, but it was the only point on the trip that we felt like cattle. The excursion company seemed focused on keeping us on their schedule and boxed in - to their benefit not ours - until they parked us in a gift shop. Also, we paid ($20 per person above the excursion fee) to try the buffet, but it was inedible. That said the dog sledding segment was one of the highlights of the trip.
Read 6thking@gmail.com's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image charris0013
1 review
Jul 2016
Great for kids
Read charris0013's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Lrtalk
1 review
Jun 2016
Daughters had a great time. They got cute pictures holding the dogs and in the sleds.
Read Lrtalk's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Charliedog1121
1 review
Jun 2016
Not exactly dog sleeping, but a "mushers camp" excursion that came with our White Pass railroad tour. The camp was awesome and we learned so much from the owner of the camp and his experiences with the dogs and the Iditarod. My family can never get enough of petting those beautiful dogs and even better, holding the 8 week old puppies!!! We enjoyed this very much.
Read Charliedog1121's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Pennstatedj
7 reviews
Jun 2016
unique experience. puppy were incredible.
Read Pennstatedj's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image shadoweyeone
1 review
Jun 2016
Had a great time with the dogs and the puppies as well as teh tour ride up to their area and the ride on the MOG
Read shadoweyeone's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: M&M tours
Member Image LEFTBUFFALO
1 review
Jun 2016
Was part the the excursion above. Total hours on tour was 8 hrs.
Read LEFTBUFFALO's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image debndar
1 review
Jun 2016
Got to go on a dog sled ride and play with the dogs. The guide was awesome and the people at the camp were wonderful.
Read debndar's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image kaila.petty@yahoo.com
1 review
Jun 2016
AWESOME experience
Read kaila.petty@yahoo.com's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Temsco
Member Image daddy1164
1 review
Jun 2016
The dog sledding occurred in a wheeled cart on a road but still gave a you a sense of what the actual sledding my feel like. Sixteen dogs pulled an 800 pound cart containing 6 people. For the time we arrived the dogs were excited about being able to run and pull the cart. A short talk about the dogs and equipment used during the Iditerod Race was very informative. Being able to hold the 5 week old sled dog puppies was an added bonus.
Read daddy1164's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image cherylandmikem
1 review
Jun 2016
Bucket list tour. Rode on a dog sled with a champion junior dog musher (Denver).
Read cherylandmikem's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Actionbronson
1 review
May 2016
Great trip! Very knowledgable tour guide. Dog Mushing was great. Rode in a Unimog on the way there. Lots of fun!
Read Actionbronson's full Disney Wonder cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image bluazure
2 reviews
May 2016
Excellent presentation on dog sledding with opportunity to meet dogs
Read bluazure's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: AAA
Member Image ILoveJamaica2008
3 reviews
May 2016
Informative and a great tour
Read ILoveJamaica2008's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image disillusi
1 review
May 2016
Our dog sled guide was awesome and funny and made sure everyone got to ask all the questions they wanted and pet the puppies they wanted.
Read disillusi's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image mumbub
1 review
May 2016
A bit expensive for a snack that wasn't. Just a drink of powdered lemonade. The dogs were wonderful.
Read mumbub's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image ChrisVaile
1 review
May 2016
I loved this. 16 dogs pull you over gravel. Then you meet them and give them rubs, and they are so sweet. Afterwards you go to see the puppies and hold them. Scenery is beautiful on the way up and back- we saw tons of eagles. It was truly breathtaking. Skagway itself is a snooze fest. This is the longest port, and it is by far the most boring. Things are not close by, so you really need to book an excursion or two here because you won't just "find" them by walking around.
Read ChrisVaile's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Tuasdad
2 reviews
Sep 2015
Unfortunately it was too late in the season to take a chopper to the glacier to do real dog sledding. All camps had shut down for the season but still offered the mushers camp experience. You got to meet all the dogs (and puppies too) a good little presentation on Iditarod and dog sledding by a team of dogs through the forrest on a cart. It was an amazing experience and worth every penny. Entire family loved every minute of this excursion.
Read Tuasdad's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image RossandRebecca
1 review
Aug 2015
An actual summer training facility. Do take a ride on a wheeled sled pulled by a team in training.
Read RossandRebecca's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image alaskacruise2015
1 review
Aug 2015
Gold mining bad with Klondike. Adam (employee) told my daughter she was scraping the bottom and yanked her pan out of her hands. Enjoyed sled dogs and Matt (musher) talk.
Read alaskacruise2015's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Angie Randall
1 review
Aug 2015
Kyle was our main guide. Great guy, lots of personality, very intelligent & funny. The dogs however are the highlight of the tour. Such determined hard working animals. Knowing the money goes to caring for the animals I would have paid double. The history of the sport was cool to plus the people were great as well as the unbelievable scenery! The unimog ride is a blast! Definitely a must do when your in Skagway, it's a fun time for a good cause.
Read Angie Randall's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.