Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Skagway Dog Sledding Excursion Reviews

Skagway Dog Sledding cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Dog sledding isn't just for the freezing Alaskan winter! Let a team of strong huskies pull you through Skagway's trails and countryside.
Member Image ChrisVaile
1 review
May 2016
I loved this. 16 dogs pull you over gravel. Then you meet them and give them rubs, and they are so sweet. Afterwards you go to see the puppies and hold them. Scenery is beautiful on the way up and back- we saw tons of eagles. It was truly breathtaking. Skagway itself is a snooze fest. This is the longest port, and it is by far the most boring. Things are not close by, so you really need to book an excursion or two here because you won't just "find" them by walking around.
Read ChrisVaile's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Tuasdad
2 reviews
Sep 2015
Unfortunately it was too late in the season to take a chopper to the glacier to do real dog sledding. All camps had shut down for the season but still offered the mushers camp experience. You got to meet all the dogs (and puppies too) a good little presentation on Iditarod and dog sledding by a team of dogs through the forrest on a cart. It was an amazing experience and worth every penny. Entire family loved every minute of this excursion.
Read Tuasdad's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image RossandRebecca
1 review
Aug 2015
An actual summer training facility. Do take a ride on a wheeled sled pulled by a team in training.
Read RossandRebecca's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image alaskacruise2015
1 review
Aug 2015
Gold mining bad with Klondike. Adam (employee) told my daughter she was scraping the bottom and yanked her pan out of her hands. Enjoyed sled dogs and Matt (musher) talk.
Read alaskacruise2015's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Angie Randall
1 review
Aug 2015
Kyle was our main guide. Great guy, lots of personality, very intelligent & funny. The dogs however are the highlight of the tour. Such determined hard working animals. Knowing the money goes to caring for the animals I would have paid double. The history of the sport was cool to plus the people were great as well as the unbelievable scenery! The unimog ride is a blast! Definitely a must do when your in Skagway, it's a fun time for a good cause.
Read Angie Randall's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Eski
1 review
Jul 2015
We took the helicopter ride to go to Denver Glacier for dog sledding. We could not land on the glacier because of fog so our dog sledding trip got cancelled. We found out they cancel dog sledding a lot because of weather and disappoint numerous people. The helicopter ride was magnificent and free, but we were so disappointed about not getting to go dog sledding.
Read Eski's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image sammie511
1 review
Jul 2015
The kids enjoyed the ride and have fun playing with the huskies
Read sammie511's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image SJCruisers
1 review
Jul 2015
Lots of fun, very informative. the roads up to the camp and sled dogs was a little harrowing. Still a lot of fun.
Read SJCruisers's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image CineGraphic
2 reviews
Jul 2015
Great ride up the mountain. 16 dogs pull you in a cart with 5 other passengers, then you get to meet the puppies....loved it!
Read CineGraphic's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Alaska Excursions
Member Image blmas
1 review
Jul 2015
Dog Sledding was wonderful. The dogs were beautiful and loving. We were able to pet the dogs. The dogs were so happy to see us and thrilled to take us for a ride even though it was 85 degrees. We were able to pet the puppies and hold them. Fabulous day.
Read blmas's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image ironhead48
1 review
Jun 2015
It rained all day we were in port, boy did we get wet. We did enjoyed our trip to musher camp and sty and trip back. Our 3year old graanddaughter got cold and they show my wife and her where their was a good warm wood stove to sit by. they even got the 3 year old a cup of hot chocolate , no charge
Read ironhead48's full Zaandam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image HONKHONK
1 review
Jun 2015
reasonable and entertaining. th mushers really love their dogs
Read HONKHONK's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image luvcozumel
1 review
Jun 2015
Excellent. Received a lot of knowledge about the racing and then dogs took us on a ride. Played with puppies, which was the best part.
Read luvcozumel's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Tara325
1 review
Jun 2015
Same company as zip lining really the valley was so pretty we could have just stayed there to pick flowers. Dogs were interesting too scenery was one ofa kind.
Read Tara325's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image steph8anie8
1 review
Jun 2015
I am so glad we paid for this! It was worth every penny and not even expensive. The bus picked us up and took us up to the camp where we took a mile run down in a sled! The dog run was so great, the dogs really love their jobs!! The dog trainer explained everything to us while riding. Holding the puppies at the end was the highlight for me!! They were so cute!!!
Read steph8anie8's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image parkeroliviasnana
1 review
Jun 2015
Enjoyed the journey and the education
Read parkeroliviasnana's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image DogSledDel
1 review
May 2015
We were transported from the Terminal to the Helipad. Received safety video and got kitted out with Glacier boots. Enjoyed the scenic Heli Tour up to Denver Glacier where the dog camp was sited. Met the dog mushers and the dogs. Rode on the dog sled and mushed. Took pictures at various stops. Met some of the Huskie pups and Helicopter back to base and bus dropped back at terminal. Absolutely fantastic! Big thanks to M & M Tours who arranged this for us as we saved around US100 byy booking independent of the cruise
Read DogSledDel's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: M & M Tours
Member Image NCL2015
1 review
May 2015
You will never have a chance to meet real sled dogs/mushers on top of a glacier after taking a breathtaking helicopter ride. It is not cheap but it is SO worth it!!!
Read NCL2015's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ATLCruiseCat
4 reviews
May 2015
We went on the dog mushing excursion and it was fantastic, a real highlight of our trip. The scenery alone on the drive up to the mountain in the motor coach was well worth the money. Throw in the Unimog ride up the gravel mountain road to the top and the actual dog mushing and this was a really amazing adventure. The staff was so friendly and knowledgeable. The Iditarod Dogs were the best - it was thrilling riding the cart behind them. Last but not least, we loved playing with the puppies! We would definitely do this again!
Read ATLCruiseCat's full Oosterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image BenjiRodney
11 reviews
May 2015
Loved this excursion, the dive out to the camp is beautiful and then the transfer to the four wheel drive vehicles to take you up the mountain were nice as well. The dogs were so excited to see us and ready to take us on our run. So glad that we did this one.
Read BenjiRodney's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image elevated5301
1 review
May 2015
It took about 30-40 minutes to get up to the camp and it was very authentic with Iditarod dogs and mushers (throughout the cruise). Afterward they took us back down to learn more about the race and dog mushing before spending 15 minutes with pups.
Read elevated5301's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image tbrugger7
1 review
Not Rated
Jul 2014

On our way up to the train depot our tour made a stop at the dog musher camp. The man giving the tour has run the Iditarod race 7 times and shows all of his equipment and explains everything vividly- he is wonderful at his job! He had our small group quite captivated. Our 5 year old is extremely afraid of dogs so we worried about this part of our tour but it went very well actually. When you are introduced to the dogs they are behind a gated area and she was able to stand WAY back, while everyone else could go up to them fence and love on the dogs as much as they wanted. They hooked up a 6 dog team and showed us how they run with a sled and how excited the dogs get when they realize they have been picked to GO. Then comes the best part- you get to hold and love the puppies! Even our very scared daughter got in on the action - of course the 12 day old puppies were the thing;) If he hadn't counted them out exactly I'm sure a few would have gone home with the guests, including us, as they were so sweet and cuddly. Wonderful Experience- A MUST DO!

Read tbrugger7's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image cameocameo
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2014

We could not afford the glacier dog sled excursion so we settled for the MUSHERS camp excursion. Well we were surprised at how awesome it was. I highly recommend it

Read cameocameo's full Disney Wonder cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image DebbraLee
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2014

Great experience - Guide, Autumn was delightful and the dogs were everything we expected. Puppies too! Note, we happened to see two Grizzly bears outside the camp!

Read DebbraLee's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Travelgoer
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2014

We booked independently with Chilkoot Tours: Yukon Rail & Bus Tour w/dog sled ride. It's always best to take the train up and bus ride down. We went into Yukon Territory and transferred to a SMALL 20 passenger mini van to Caribou Crossing for lunch and the Dogsled ride (we could have opted out for this which is optional). Great BBQ lunch, beautiful scenery and lots of photo stops up there and on way down mountain. On the train we passed 3 bears alongside the train and 2 caribou. The captain told us we were very lucky to see them.

Read Travelgoer's full Disney Wonder cruise review
Provider: Chilkoot Tours

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.