Skagway Dog Sledding Excursion Reviews

Skagway Dog Sledding cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Dog sledding isn't just for the freezing Alaskan winter! Let a team of strong huskies pull you through Skagway's trails and countryside.
Member Image SannyAnnie
1 review
Sep 2016
LOVED this!! Absolutely wonderful - even in pouring rain. The area was scenic, but the best part was snuggling the dogs - both the sled team AND 3 week old puppies! Possibly the best excursion on the trip.
Read SannyAnnie's full Maasdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image magicdreamer
1 review
Sep 2016
The dog mushing camp was a great tour. There was a scenic drive followed by a ride in an all terrain vehicle up a mountain. On top was the mushers' camp where you take a wheeled sled through the woods pulled by sixteen Alaskan Huskies. This was followed by petting the dogs. learning about the Iditarod, and holding puppies. All dog lovers would be thrilled by this experience. Our guide Joseph was a fantastic personality/wannabe comedian. I highly recommend this tour.
Read magicdreamer's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image TexasBelle
1 review
Sep 2016
A dog musher who competed in last year's Itidarod talked and showed us his equipment and dogs and puppies! Great experience, but we had to stand for quite a while while the musher talked. I wish they had benches to sit upon like the had for the short film in the shed.
Read TexasBelle's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image sagafemina
2 reviews
Aug 2016
Booked locally via M&M, had a wonderful educational experience led by a multiple Iditarod contender and a plus was being able to cuddle puppies. Oh yes, and the gold panning and 40 degree below were all at the same site.
Read sagafemina's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image chadcf
1 review
Aug 2016
We enjoyed getting pulled in a sled and visiting the puppies, the employees were mostly friendly and informative and my daughter loved the trip.
Read chadcf's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Kathylou
1 review
Aug 2016
This was fun and very informative. Loved the dogs! The speaker was excellent.
Read Kathylou's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image vickiduncan1987@yahoo.com
1 review
Aug 2016
Met Iditorad racers. Was impressed with new things I learned about sled dog racing and sled dogs.
Read vickiduncan1987@yahoo.com's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image djdd2@juno.com
1 review
Aug 2016
Great run with the dogs
Read djdd2@juno.com's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Anamal Planet Recommended
Member Image pianomom0105
1 review
Aug 2016
Not sure this is the right name for our excursion. We booked a trip to the Klondike Gold Fields, where we learned about the Iditarod race, met 2 mushers who've finished this race, learned about the sled dogs and met them, and played with 5-week old puppies. We decided not to enjoy the -49 degree room (don't like cold weather anyway) and shopped for souvenirs instead. All the staff is very friendly.
Read pianomom0105's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image 7_OUT
1 review
Aug 2016
We did it for our granddaughter. We had been to the same one before. Great excitement the first time. :>)
Read 7_OUT's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image JulieMorr
2 reviews
Aug 2016
Loved it!
Read JulieMorr's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image DayStar
1 review
Jul 2016
Highlight of trip - got to hold 18 day old puppies!!!!
Read DayStar's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Gardengirls12020
1 review
Jul 2016
The Dog Sledding was a blast and the puppies were adorable!
Read Gardengirls12020's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image renata18
1 review
Jul 2016
After driving to the mushing camp and viewing beautiful scenery, it was time to drive up the mountain to go sledding. The mushers are interesting. Some are training for the Iditarod, and some have already participated in other events. After the dog sledding, there was the opportunity to hold the new puppies. Skagway is a charming little town.
Read renata18's full Disney Wonder cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image sgfink
1 review
Jul 2016
So much better than we expected. This is a real Mushers Dog Sledding training camp. It was a beautiful drive with great tour info on the way up to the camp. The camp itself was new and clean. We had fun riding the sleds, meeting the dogs, playing with the puppies, and learning about dog sleg races from an actual musher. We traveled with 4 adults and 5 kids ages 8-13 and everyone loved the experience.
Read sgfink's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image txbargaintraveler
1 review
Jul 2016
We did the Musher's Camp and Sled Dog Experience in Skagway. This was really fun and much better than I anticipated. Some of the guides have actually run or plan to run the Iditarod. The guides are very informative and you get to hold new puppies and pet younger puppies. A team of 16 dogs pulls up to 6 people on a special dog sled on wheels so you get the sense of how these dogs pull an actual dog sled in the winter. It is also great exercise for the dogs to keep in shape for preparing for the Iditarod. The dogs love the chance to run!
Read txbargaintraveler's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image jimsgyrl1
1 review
Jul 2016
The idea of dog sledding on a glacier was better than the actual event. Dogs were not the huskies we expected and some were very old to be pulling sleds.
Read jimsgyrl1's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image rba12345
1 review
Jul 2016
Two excursions - helicopter to glaciers and dog sledding was awesome. The weather was beautiful. The dogs and mushers and a lot of fun. Also did a hike and float trip with Chilkut (sp). The 2 mile, 2 hour hike could be a bit challenging for some - a bit of steep climbs. Great guide and every interesting.
Read rba12345's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image kimleg11
1 review
Jul 2016
Out of this world amazing!!! Well worth the money!! Still can't believe we did this. Very organized trip. Loved all of it especially the puppies!!
Read kimleg11's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image 6thking@gmail.com
1 review
Jul 2016
The elements of this excursion were enjoyable, but it was the only point on the trip that we felt like cattle. The excursion company seemed focused on keeping us on their schedule and boxed in - to their benefit not ours - until they parked us in a gift shop. Also, we paid ($20 per person above the excursion fee) to try the buffet, but it was inedible. That said the dog sledding segment was one of the highlights of the trip.
Read 6thking@gmail.com's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image charris0013
1 review
Jul 2016
Great for kids
Read charris0013's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Lrtalk
1 review
Jun 2016
Daughters had a great time. They got cute pictures holding the dogs and in the sleds.
Read Lrtalk's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Charliedog1121
1 review
Jun 2016
Not exactly dog sleeping, but a "mushers camp" excursion that came with our White Pass railroad tour. The camp was awesome and we learned so much from the owner of the camp and his experiences with the dogs and the Iditarod. My family can never get enough of petting those beautiful dogs and even better, holding the 8 week old puppies!!! We enjoyed this very much.
Read Charliedog1121's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Pennstatedj
7 reviews
Jun 2016
unique experience. puppy were incredible.
Read Pennstatedj's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image shadoweyeone
1 review
Jun 2016
Had a great time with the dogs and the puppies as well as teh tour ride up to their area and the ride on the MOG
Read shadoweyeone's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: M&M tours

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?