Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Roatan Swimming with Dolphins Excursion Reviews

Roatan Swimming with Dolphins cruise excursion
Overall Rating
An experience like none other, swimming with the dolphins of Roatan is something you will never forget. These calm and graceful creatures won't fail to put a smile on your face!
Member Image randycfl
1 review
Apr 2016
I did the less expensive dolphin encounter and it was pretty fun. it was a lot more structured that i had anticipated but still nice. After a 20 min ride to the other side of the island you go to a gift shop to wait for a small shuttle boat. A 2 minute ride later you are at the dolphin institute. You cant bring your camera into the water at the beginning while you are petting the dolphin. After they take your picture kissing the dolphin you can go get your camera for about 10 minutes and you can take whatever you want. The pictures at the gift shop are somewhat expensive but worth it if this is a once in a lifetime thing. There was a family with 2 small kids that had a great time.
Read randycfl's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Garziegirl
1 review
Mar 2016
A long bus ride but great experience with the Dolphins. Beautiful scenery and small groups with the Dolphins made it enjoyable
Read Garziegirl's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image cruisingallie
1 review
Jan 2016
The cruise line made sure that we connected with the excursion staff. All went well
Read cruisingallie's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image krbeau00
2 reviews
Dec 2015
Nice port, short walk from gangway. Loved this island, could zipline right at pier, but it was pricey. Nice shops, not pushy. Dolphin encounter and snorkel. This was the best excursion. Did the encounter in Margarita years ago and this was so much better. Dolphins were interactive with snorkelers after a little bit of time to get used to the strangers. Whole encounter not in a pool and dolphins have freedom to leave the enclosure where the encounter occurs. The resort held at was incredible, plan to return. Pictures a little pricey, Can take pictures on own except during snorkel.
Read krbeau00's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image patonleeward
3 reviews
Dec 2015
very nice. Takes place in the bay near the Anthony's Cay resort.
Read patonleeward's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image TheBuick
2 reviews
Oct 2015
This excursion was actually entitled "Dolphin Encounter". I was very nervous initially -- that went away as soon as I got in the water. A locked box is provided to store your personal items. We were all separated into groups, the trainers encourage smaller groups for more interaction with the dolphins. I have never experienced anything like it and I cannot imagine anything better. The trainers are informative and it was very apparent how fond they were of the dolphins. Gosh, is it weird to say the dolphins were so sweet? They were like very well behaved (and at times mischievous) children and very intelligent. We stood about waist deep in the water to touch them, take pictures with them, and watch them perform and eat! Would do this again in a flash! Best excursion I've participated in hands down!
Read TheBuick's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image sanapier1954
2 reviews
May 2015
The most awesome experience on a cruise ever.
Read sanapier1954's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image IslandGrl411
2 reviews
Apr 2015
Dolphin Encounter at Anthony's Key!! This was an amazing excursion. I could not believe I was holding and kissing a dolphin while standing in waist deep water in the ocean (not a platform). Everyone was professional the dolphins were beautiful. They give you about 20 minutes with the trainer and dolphin. Then you can get your own camera and take pictures. The picture they took were professional and absolutely beautiful. You will need $45 for the pictures and $15 for each additional person in your group (bring cash if you can).
Read IslandGrl411's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image MikeatGlamLaw
1 review
Mar 2015
The highlight of our cruise, and worth the price of the cruise by itself. A really amazing excursion with dolphins who are obviously well treated in a fantastic aquarium where they have the freedom to come and go, but stay because they love playing and they get free food! Honduras was surprisingly nice - I thought it was going to be completely different and I was totally wrong
Read MikeatGlamLaw's full Seven Seas Navigator cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image KDebreuil
1 review
Mar 2015
This dolphin encounter is held at Anthony's Key Resort and is beautiful. We really enjoyed the open setting, we didn't feel like the dolphins were held captive at all. They told us that they even take the dolphins out to the open sea for exercise, and that they mainly come back because they get free food.
Read KDebreuil's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image smurfwkm
1 review
Not Rated
Dec 2014

Highly recommend-- magical experience to snorkel with six dolphins all around you-- will go back and do again one day, for sure!

Read smurfwkm's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image WallabyGal
1 review
Not Rated
Dec 2014

Fabulous & worth every penny. It's pricey (I think $149, plus we bought the amazing photos of course). But the experience of interacting with the dolphins was fabulous. The trainers & staff at Anthony's Key Resort clearly respect the animals and treat them very well. We also did the snorkeling with them, & that was amazing too, as well as seeing the other fish and animals around the reef. We'd do this again in a heartbeat!

Read WallabyGal's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image MTdreaming
2 reviews
Feb 2014

Roatan, we did Anthony's Cay and the dolphin encounter, yes very kitschy thing to do, but oh what fun. We did learn a lot about dolphins and thoroughly enjoyed having 30 minutes of close up time with "Bailey". I liked that they let the dolphins swim out with dive boats so they get out of the cove periodically, also each dolphin only has a small group of folks (6 in ours). They really are like puppies of the sea, the experience made me want to learn more about these amazing animals. Everyone in our group of very mixed background and ages seemed to really enjoy this excursion. We spent some time after the excursion just chilling at Mahogany Bay, good day altogether.

Read MTdreaming's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Burtnlydia
1 review
Apr 2013

Very expensive.... This was our splurge for the trip and we enjoyed it, but it is expensive for what you get.

Read Burtnlydia's full Carnival Conquest cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.