Roatan Swimming with Dolphins Excursion Reviews

Roatan Swimming with Dolphins cruise excursion
Overall Rating
An experience like none other, swimming with the dolphins of Roatan is something you will never forget. These calm and graceful creatures won't fail to put a smile on your face!
Member Image justacruisin2017
1 review
May 2017
Excellent experience! Very informative! Got to interact with and touch the dolphins.
Read justacruisin2017's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image ford prefect
1 review
Apr 2017
Played with the dolphins, bought the photo package and got an incredible photo of the two of us with a dolphin !
Read ford prefect's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Cool Rider
3 reviews
Apr 2017
So much fun. We had an 11:30 am excursion and the meeting place was just outside the gangway. Not a far walk at all to meet up. We then walked to airconditioned busses to drive about 20 minutes to the resort. Nice restrooms, gift shop and changing rooms, We then loaded in a boat and rode to the lagoon which was about 3 minutes away. There had to be more than a dozen dolphins. The trainers were awesome and the dolphins so friendly. The photographer took pictures and at the end of the hour tour in the water, you went back to the resort area where they had the gift shop and you could look at your pictures. They had package prices if you had a big family. We bought 3 pictures for $45.00 which were good pictures. The good thing about it was it was emailed to a dropbox and you could print as many of the pictures that you wanted. so easy. We then loaded the airconditioned bus and drove the back way through Roatan to the ship. Arrived in plenty of enough time to shop in the port area, get something to eat or hang out at the bar. Prices at the shops were reasonable. They also have free wifi at the restaurants. Just ask for the password and they were so nice to give it to you.
Read Cool Rider's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Rohhib70
1 review
Mar 2017
Ellie and Mike, her trainer were exceptional! I learned so much about Dolphins, their habits and things they like to do. My Granddaughter wears a prosthetic leg and the Dolphin just couldn't figure out what it was and kept bumping it with her sonar to figure it out. Mike asked if he could do a training with her to show her it was ok and it was the highlight of my Granddaughter's trip!! She told everyone about being part of the training of a Dolphin so she could know if another amputee came that it was ok to see that!
Read Rohhib70's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image alansdale
1 review
Jan 2017
I highly recommend the dolphin swim and snorkel (ITS IS WORTH THE EXTRA $$ to snorkel!!!!) at Anthony's Key Resort in Roatan! The pictures were very affordable and at one point you are able to take your own pictures so bring a waterproof camera or phone case! The staff and trainers were all very friendly! We were paired with a goup of about 6 people and each of us got our own time to do a photo with our small group and get a dolphin kiss! Our dolphin was Maury and trainer Tony and they were a great pair! I would pay the money to do this all over again!!!
Read alansdale's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image 2ws
3 reviews
Jan 2017
transportation was iffy. The dolphin experience was fun. You can also private book scuba diving here.
Read 2ws's full Marina cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image ljmiranda23
1 review
Dec 2016
Best dolphin excursion ever! You spent so much time in the water with the dolphins! My kids loved it.
Read ljmiranda23's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Puppetlady67
1 review
Nov 2016
The "Swimming with the dolphins" is a misnomer. You don't get to swim with them, only get to stand in the water and hold one.
Read Puppetlady67's full Regatta cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image MADDS
1 review
Nov 2016
Fantastic way to get real close to such beautiful and intelligent animals. At this while the staff take picture, they do sell them at a more reasonable price and allow guest to take some pictures of their own as well.
Read MADDS's full Seven Seas Mariner cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image Carnival Crazy Bill
1 review
Oct 2016
Fabulous once in a lifetime event . . . . for our 2nd time
Read Carnival Crazy Bill's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Krimson
1 review
Aug 2016
I have interacted with dolphins on other excursions and this one was definitely more fun than previous ones. A lot of relaxed interaction with your group's dolphin, and some unscheduled fun interruptions by the dolphins who aren't participating. I was disappointed by the free snorkeling afterward though, as the dolphins kept their distance in the large enclosure and only a few people managed to have very brief interactions with them. Since you weren't allowed to carry your camera during this part and you weren't allowed to chase after the dolphins (for safety reasons) the only thing you could really do was float around wishing a dolphin would come and visit with you. The photos they take are expensive, the minimum is $30 for two photos, but you are allowed to take you own photos during the structured part. When they asked if wee were couples of singles, my friends and I should have said singles, so that we'd get to interact individually with the dolphin and the other could take pictures while it was happening.
Read Krimson's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image nwskeptic
1 review
Aug 2016
This was a bucket list excursion. Roatan was beautiful, and the dolphin adventure was great. It's set up so that you pretty much need to pay for any decent picture, but compared to the cost of the whole trip it was worth it.
Read nwskeptic's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image lordbaron
1 review
Jul 2016
kids loved it, my wife and I didn't participate but they still charged us $25 to go and watch. They tried to charge us $50 but I worked out a deal. Kids really loved it. Make sure you do the encounter and the swim portion after which is better then just the encounter. Don't book this through the ship do in on shore and you will save a lot of $
Read lordbaron's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image L1211
1 review
Jun 2016
Anthony's Key dolphin swim was amazing. Only redeeming factor to terrible stop. Island tour horrific waste of time and money. No idea why they stop there.
Read L1211's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Anthony's key
Member Image kathyashmeyer
1 review
May 2016
Best excursion EVER. We have done it twice now.
Read kathyashmeyer's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Tybro
8 reviews
May 2016
20 minute van ride to Anthony's Key, then a 3 minute boat ride over to the area where the dolphins live. They split us into small groups and each group had it's own trainer and dolphin to pet and take pictures with. Best part was after all the pictures when we put on snorkel gear and swam out into the lagoon and the dolphins came and swam with us. Was amazing. Pay the extra to snorkel with the dolphins. It's totally awesome. Only downside was the $45 they wanted for the pictures they took of us with the dolphins. Very few people bought them. All in all, an excellent excursion.
Read Tybro's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image nutterbutter818
4 reviews
May 2016
Meet & greet with the dolphins and education followed by time swimming with them in the lagoon.
Read nutterbutter818's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image randycfl
1 review
Apr 2016
I did the less expensive dolphin encounter and it was pretty fun. it was a lot more structured that i had anticipated but still nice. After a 20 min ride to the other side of the island you go to a gift shop to wait for a small shuttle boat. A 2 minute ride later you are at the dolphin institute. You cant bring your camera into the water at the beginning while you are petting the dolphin. After they take your picture kissing the dolphin you can go get your camera for about 10 minutes and you can take whatever you want. The pictures at the gift shop are somewhat expensive but worth it if this is a once in a lifetime thing. There was a family with 2 small kids that had a great time.
Read randycfl's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image George C
10 reviews
Apr 2016
Excellent excursion, except for the fact they packed us on a very uncomfortable bus with no leg room to get there
Read George C's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Garziegirl
1 review
Mar 2016
A long bus ride but great experience with the Dolphins. Beautiful scenery and small groups with the Dolphins made it enjoyable
Read Garziegirl's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Bookwizerd
4 reviews
Mar 2016
Interacted with the Dolphins but the actual snorkel part with them was cancelled. Not sure why. The Dolphins were very active during this excursion and we loved it!
Read Bookwizerd's full Carnival Valor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image cruisingallie
1 review
Jan 2016
The cruise line made sure that we connected with the excursion staff. All went well
Read cruisingallie's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image krbeau00
2 reviews
Dec 2015
Nice port, short walk from gangway. Loved this island, could zipline right at pier, but it was pricey. Nice shops, not pushy. Dolphin encounter and snorkel. This was the best excursion. Did the encounter in Margarita years ago and this was so much better. Dolphins were interactive with snorkelers after a little bit of time to get used to the strangers. Whole encounter not in a pool and dolphins have freedom to leave the enclosure where the encounter occurs. The resort held at was incredible, plan to return. Pictures a little pricey, Can take pictures on own except during snorkel.
Read krbeau00's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image patonleeward
3 reviews
Dec 2015
very nice. Takes place in the bay near the Anthony's Cay resort.
Read patonleeward's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image TheBuick
2 reviews
Oct 2015
This excursion was actually entitled "Dolphin Encounter". I was very nervous initially -- that went away as soon as I got in the water. A locked box is provided to store your personal items. We were all separated into groups, the trainers encourage smaller groups for more interaction with the dolphins. I have never experienced anything like it and I cannot imagine anything better. The trainers are informative and it was very apparent how fond they were of the dolphins. Gosh, is it weird to say the dolphins were so sweet? They were like very well behaved (and at times mischievous) children and very intelligent. We stood about waist deep in the water to touch them, take pictures with them, and watch them perform and eat! Would do this again in a flash! Best excursion I've participated in hands down!
Read TheBuick's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?