Roatan Snorkeling Excursion Reviews

Roatan Snorkeling cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Roatan is a top-rated snorkeling destination in the Caribbean Sea.
Member Image CruiseMiami
5 reviews
Jan 2017
It was snorkeling at the 'underwater museum'. The water was very murky, and there really was not much to see. The coral was nice and would have been nicer if the water was clearer (better snorkling in Belize or Cozumel). We ate a fish sandwich at the ONLY restaurant at the beach, and my husband and I are both very sick, with a rash and nerve problems in our hands. Would not recommend a Snorkeling excursion in Roatan and PLEASE be CAREFUL with eating the SEAFOOD.
Read CruiseMiami's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image CatInTX
1 review
Jan 2017
Jolly Roger catamaran, snorkel, light lunch, drinks.
Read CatInTX's full Carnival Valor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image mchess1
1 review
Dec 2016
LOVED this excursion. The Cannibal cafe was amazing! The guides were fantastic and we would do this again for sure. West Bay kayak and snorkeling! Highly recommend it!
Read mchess1's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image oneota
1 review
Dec 2016
The Jolly Roger was great. Staff very helpful and friendly. My sons said it was some of the best snorkeling they have done. Lunch was great too.
Read oneota's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image preilly1515
1 review
Dec 2016
We went on the Jolly Roger's snorkeling tour. This includes a going out on a catamaran and a fantastic lunch. The snorkeling was good and the staff was outstanding. My kids loved the A/C bus ride to the catamaran was quite interesting as it is about a 30 minute ride throughout the country and is quite eye opening.
Read preilly1515's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Bucket Listers
1 review
Dec 2016
Jolly Roger Catamaran Snorkel Roatan - My wife and I did this excursion as part of our visit to the island on an NCL cruise ship, and we both found the day to be one of the highlights of our trip.  Jolly Roger operates several vessels, and we were fortunate to end up on the Endless Summer with about 25-30 other guests.   The embarkation point is in West Bay, about a 25min bus ride from Coxen Bay and the cruise ship terminal.   The catamaran itself was excellent, plenty of open sunny deck space, restrooms onboard, and the boat was very clean and well organized.  The skipper and his crew did an excellent job making us feel very welcome from the moment we stepped aboard.  We had our own kit with us, but the excursion was provided all the snorkeling gear needed for the morning, and it all appeared to be excellent gear all in good repair.  It is about a 30 min sail to the reef site, which is a beautiful and breathtaking location of varying depths, full of coral and other sea life, including some sea turtles, small sharks, and a myriad of tropical fish.   The crew took a safety first approach and divided the group by ability, and had plenty of staff in the water with each group to monitor all of us in case anyone had issues.  While we were in the water, a piping hot lunch of roast chicken, rice, beans and watermelon was delivered, which we washed down with complimentary rum drinks and soft drinks after about 60 minutes in the water on the reef.   The crew was simply excellent throughout, friendly and engaged, and the cruise ended up with the Captain handing everyone some Honduran currency as a souvenir.   Overall an excellent experience, and we would not only recommend it, but would happily do the same excursion again on our next visit to Roatan.   Oh, and some very cool souvenir t-shirts available onboard for $20 USD as a great souvenir of the day as well.  Highly recommended!
Read Bucket Listers's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image sturgis95
1 review
Dec 2016
It was great. Just a guy with a boat hanging out on the beach. $20 well worth spending. In the water for about an hour. There were only 6 of us so that was very relaxing.
Read sturgis95's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Island Marketing staff recommendation
Member Image coachjohnp
1 review
Dec 2016
Met outside gate of port and then taken to West Side. Boat snorkelling at 2 different locations. Water, beer and fruit provided. Payment at end of tour only if satisfied, and we were. Opportunity to go to a beach area, however we passed on that. Driven back to the port in plenty of time.
Read coachjohnp's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Eco Tours
Member Image melmul
2 reviews
Dec 2016
Snorkeled with Jolly Roger and enjoyed it very much. They were super hospitable and a lot of fun. Very knowledgeable.
Read melmul's full Oosterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image jmojo7
1 review
Dec 2016
Reef and sea life was amazing. Tour guides did a great job
Read jmojo7's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image purplepirate
3 reviews
Nov 2016
Jolly Roger rocks! Snorkeling on the barrier reef followed by lunch on board the catamaran with rum punch. Crew was outstanding.
Read purplepirate's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image antiqfreq
1 review
Nov 2016
The reef was beautiful. Beautiful fish. About 80 feet deep. Personnel on trip very informative....
Read antiqfreq's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image famvacay2016
1 review
Nov 2016
Maya Key was wonderful. Half our group took advantage of the snorkeling ranging in age from 72 to 9 and LOVED it. For those that snorkeled this was the highlight of the cruise. My son (4) loved seeing the animals and being able to watch the jaguar eat. We were also able to do an encounter with capuchin monkeys and macaws at no additional cost.
Read famvacay2016's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Postwd
1 review
Nov 2016
Great experience but a windy day resulting in somewhat cloudy water.
Read Postwd's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image tailgatemel
1 review
Nov 2016
We did "Jolly Roger" Catamaran snorkeling. Great fun! Cool reefs while snorkeling then good food an drinks (included) on the way back.
Read tailgatemel's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image dcross1244
1 review
Nov 2016
In Roatan we booked Roatan Ocean Adventures for snorkeling - DO THIS!! Herbert and his crew were the best part of our whole trip. He picked us right up from the independent tour guide stop and we got a personal tour of the island to his boat. He caters to smaller groups and works with you to get the best experience if there is weather or strong currents. We had overcast windy weather so he changed up our booking and we ended up going to three different spots where visibility was best - something that would NOT happen on a Carnival excursion. We got to hang out with monkeys, birds and sloths at his friends small zoo, which we chose to do instead of the beach due to weather. The reefs were breathtaking. 2nd largest barrier reefs in the world people. He takes pics in the water and emails them to you for free. My girlfriend was a little new to snorkeling so they coached her through the basics and she was swimming with us in no time. Definitely book with ROA!!
Read dcross1244's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Roatan Ocean Adventures
Member Image MrChocoholic
7 reviews
Oct 2016
Jolly Rodger ripped me off. They went out in the worst weather, I chose to wait on the dock fishing for two and a half hours until the boat came back. Only the dockmaster/marina head jerkoff refused to let me stand there with my rod in my hand, and ordered to "go back to the ship." Refused to refund any of money, and kicked me out of the marina. I found a guide who showed me around, found a nice dock where I fished until it was time to get back to the ship.
Read MrChocoholic's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image davnade
1 review
Oct 2016
Roatan, Honduras - Booked the Tabyana Beach Party and snorkel. Had a lot of fun on that one. Lots of fish to see just 20 feet off the beach. And the beach BBQ and activities were fun.
Read davnade's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image SnowWhiteOz
1 review
Oct 2016
The staff were great - unfortunately the water was a little cloudy due to storms in the area but it was still a great experience.
Read SnowWhiteOz's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image MountainWestWoman
1 review
Oct 2016
Roatan is a beautiful island. We booked with Roatan Ocean Adventures and I think their prices are great for all we got. Look at them on Trip Advisor and you'll see why we booked with them, and why they are 5-star rated. We did the snorkel hopping and animal hangout and either one alone would have been the highlight of our cruise and together made for memories that feel like a dream. My husband and I took our 4 kids, ages 6-14, who had never been snorkeling before besides practicing in a pool. Herbert and his crew were laid back and not in your face like some tours are. You don’t feel like a herd of animals being rushed around-just feels like going out on a boat with friends for the morning. Our tour size was perfect with just us and another easy-going couple. They and our family each had our own guide in the water with us in addition to those above watching the group from the boat. Our family felt safe and comfortable, and within minutes, everyone was snorkeling the reef and dropoff, feeling like we’d done it all our lives. The guides basically kept us heading in the direction of the best views. Our guide would dive down and take pictures of things below us, point at things we should see, but we never felt rushed or guide-driven. We went to three spots and went along the drop-off quite a bit which was amazing. The water was so clear and calm. It really was out of this world. We snorkeled until we felt ready to go and met our driver to take us to the animal hangout that the other couple opted not to do. They missed out! I can’t imagine having an experience like this anywhere else. We entered separate cages with different birds, parrots, and monkeys that would land or climb on us for great photo opportunities! The guide here also took his time and let us lead when we were ready to move along. He was very intuitive when someone wanted a chance or needed a better camera angle and would use seeds to move the animals without being asked. In the end, we each got to hold a sloth which was amazing. Herbert also sent us some pictures for free taken by our guide in the water with us. I attached my favorite taken by our guide below us shooting up to the surface with our family at the top. Herbert, thank you for an incredible day. Well worth the money!
Read MountainWestWoman's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image jefftberg
1 review
Oct 2016
On Roatan we did the Jolly Roger sail & snorkel. The meeting area for this was on board, which was nice, and we departed on time. The lowlight of this particular excursion was the 30 minutes ridesign to the dock. At least the driver was pleasant and the van was air conditioned. The Jolly Roger catamaran is nice and large and the sail to the snorkeling spot was smooth. The snorkeling reef was only OK, by Caribbean standards. The staff was extremely helpful and understanding. One son had a problem with his mask, which was resolved on the water by a host, who was following us by kayak and had spare equipment with him. My other son had a full on freak out when he thought he saw a shark. Again, it was Mr. Kayak to the rescue, towing our son quickly back to the boat. Total snorkeling time was adequate, at least 45 minutes. Theasy ride back was accompanied by food (Delicious roast chicken), drinks (including alcohol), and music & dancing. It was great fun without feeling like a raucous "booze cruise" I highly recommend the Jolly Roger.
Read jefftberg's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Landsharks
1 review
Oct 2016
Tour guide was friendly and knowledgeable
Read Landsharks's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Victor Bodden Tours
Member Image Tanya.Roedell
1 review
Oct 2016
We booked thought the internet not with the boat with Island Marketing LTD to go zip lining and snorkling. We went with an independent contractor of the Island Marketing LTD company. There was supposed to be a group but we were the only one's off the boat to book this excursion. So we basically had our own personal guide. He grew up on the Island and knew alot about America. It was amazing to see how poor the country was but this guy was really smart and you knew he was doing really well. He took us to a zip lining course that was awesome!!! While we zip lined our guide hung out close buy waiting for our return. One of the guys that was guiding us thought the Jungle on the zip lines knew i was apprehensive about going and went with me on 4 of the 10 zip lines. They took our pictures and let us video it. it was awesome! Then we left there, our guide brought us down off the mountain and went snorkeling. He took us in his boat about 100yards off the beach and his first mate showed us the reef. We saw some amazing coral. Then our guide showed us a local eatery and we had baleadase, basically the local burrito. I think the guy owned the place or knew the owner because he was very interested in our review. they were only $1.50 each and was half the size of the burritos at Chipotle.
Read Tanya.Roedell's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Island Marketing Ltd
Member Image PacificMountain2012
4 reviews
Oct 2016
Did the Jolly Roger snorkeling trip through Carnival. This was a blast. First its only about a 100 yards off the ship, so no walking or driving. Once on board the catamaran the fun begins. the crew is great. We reached our snorkeling spot in about 30 minutes and it was just the "our" snorkeling spot, no other boats or people. The snorkeling was fantastic, whether you're experienced or a beginner. Fish, coral, fish, and coral plenty of everything in living color. Our guide took us out to the "drop-off" where the coral ended the the ocean floor appeared to fall to a dark and murky infinity! No one was rushed in the water. The whole trip was kicked back, take your time. When we got back on board, the party and lunch began. Chicken, rice and beans for lunch and plenty of rum punch, or soft drinks to drink; all included. There was a photographer on board snapping pictures the whole time and they were available for free off their website once we were home. We arrived back at dock around four hours later with smiles on our faces, great trip!
Read PacificMountain2012's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Thomas82
1 review
Oct 2016
Jolly Rogers - would definitely do it again. Fantastic snorkelling and delicous lunch.
Read Thomas82's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?