Roatan Snorkeling Excursion Reviews

Roatan Snorkeling cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Roatan is a top-rated snorkeling destination in the Caribbean Sea.
Member Image dansteeler
2 reviews
Feb 2017
Jolly Roger was great trip - amazing varieties of fish!
Read dansteeler's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Lady Patriot
1 review
Jan 2017
This was fun because we got to see Roatan as it really is away from the port. The Weather could not have been better. The bus took the long way through the land, so we got to see Roatan as it really is away from the ports. Unfortunately the catamarans arrived half an hour late with the party before us. Some of the teens made the best of it and swam along the shore. The crew was very friendly and went above and beyond the call to make sure we were safe and entertained.
Read Lady Patriot's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image GaryScales
1 review
Jan 2017
The catamaran was clean and the staff were very helpful. The lunch and drinks provided were good.
Read GaryScales's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Hot Momma Brew
1 review
Jan 2017
Private small boat took us snorkeling along the coral reef not far off the beach. Away from the mass of tourists - locally ran.
Read Hot Momma Brew's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Ecological Tours & Services
Member Image webdwarf40
2 reviews
Jan 2017
Safety was a priority. Two guides in the water and one in a kayak keeping track of both beginners and experienced swimmers. Nice sail, delicious lunch and good crew. Would do it again
Read webdwarf40's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image coffeeNcruise
1 review
Jan 2017
A fantastic day of snorkeling. Leaving the port and driving around the bumpy roads of Roatan was an adventure.
Read coffeeNcruise's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Roatan Sunsplash Tours
Member Image ZebLD
2 reviews
Jan 2017
Jolly Roger catamaran trip was well worth it. 3+ hours on boat, beautiful snorkeling, rum drinks, and lunch.
Read ZebLD's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image CruiseMiami
5 reviews
Jan 2017
It was snorkeling at the 'underwater museum'. The water was very murky, and there really was not much to see. The coral was nice and would have been nicer if the water was clearer (better snorkling in Belize or Cozumel). We ate a fish sandwich at the ONLY restaurant at the beach, and my husband and I are both very sick, with a rash and nerve problems in our hands. Would not recommend a Snorkeling excursion in Roatan and PLEASE be CAREFUL with eating the SEAFOOD.
Read CruiseMiami's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image CatInTX
1 review
Jan 2017
Jolly Roger catamaran, snorkel, light lunch, drinks.
Read CatInTX's full Carnival Valor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image mchess1
1 review
Dec 2016
LOVED this excursion. The Cannibal cafe was amazing! The guides were fantastic and we would do this again for sure. West Bay kayak and snorkeling! Highly recommend it!
Read mchess1's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image oneota
1 review
Dec 2016
The Jolly Roger was great. Staff very helpful and friendly. My sons said it was some of the best snorkeling they have done. Lunch was great too.
Read oneota's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image preilly1515
1 review
Dec 2016
We went on the Jolly Roger's snorkeling tour. This includes a going out on a catamaran and a fantastic lunch. The snorkeling was good and the staff was outstanding. My kids loved the A/C bus ride to the catamaran was quite interesting as it is about a 30 minute ride throughout the country and is quite eye opening.
Read preilly1515's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Bucket Listers
1 review
Dec 2016
Jolly Roger Catamaran Snorkel Roatan - My wife and I did this excursion as part of our visit to the island on an NCL cruise ship, and we both found the day to be one of the highlights of our trip.  Jolly Roger operates several vessels, and we were fortunate to end up on the Endless Summer with about 25-30 other guests.   The embarkation point is in West Bay, about a 25min bus ride from Coxen Bay and the cruise ship terminal.   The catamaran itself was excellent, plenty of open sunny deck space, restrooms onboard, and the boat was very clean and well organized.  The skipper and his crew did an excellent job making us feel very welcome from the moment we stepped aboard.  We had our own kit with us, but the excursion was provided all the snorkeling gear needed for the morning, and it all appeared to be excellent gear all in good repair.  It is about a 30 min sail to the reef site, which is a beautiful and breathtaking location of varying depths, full of coral and other sea life, including some sea turtles, small sharks, and a myriad of tropical fish.   The crew took a safety first approach and divided the group by ability, and had plenty of staff in the water with each group to monitor all of us in case anyone had issues.  While we were in the water, a piping hot lunch of roast chicken, rice, beans and watermelon was delivered, which we washed down with complimentary rum drinks and soft drinks after about 60 minutes in the water on the reef.   The crew was simply excellent throughout, friendly and engaged, and the cruise ended up with the Captain handing everyone some Honduran currency as a souvenir.   Overall an excellent experience, and we would not only recommend it, but would happily do the same excursion again on our next visit to Roatan.   Oh, and some very cool souvenir t-shirts available onboard for $20 USD as a great souvenir of the day as well.  Highly recommended!
Read Bucket Listers's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image sturgis95
1 review
Dec 2016
It was great. Just a guy with a boat hanging out on the beach. $20 well worth spending. In the water for about an hour. There were only 6 of us so that was very relaxing.
Read sturgis95's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Island Marketing staff recommendation
Member Image coachjohnp
1 review
Dec 2016
Met outside gate of port and then taken to West Side. Boat snorkelling at 2 different locations. Water, beer and fruit provided. Payment at end of tour only if satisfied, and we were. Opportunity to go to a beach area, however we passed on that. Driven back to the port in plenty of time.
Read coachjohnp's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Eco Tours
Member Image melmul
2 reviews
Dec 2016
Snorkeled with Jolly Roger and enjoyed it very much. They were super hospitable and a lot of fun. Very knowledgeable.
Read melmul's full Oosterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image jmojo7
1 review
Dec 2016
Reef and sea life was amazing. Tour guides did a great job
Read jmojo7's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image purplepirate
3 reviews
Nov 2016
Jolly Roger rocks! Snorkeling on the barrier reef followed by lunch on board the catamaran with rum punch. Crew was outstanding.
Read purplepirate's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image antiqfreq
1 review
Nov 2016
The reef was beautiful. Beautiful fish. About 80 feet deep. Personnel on trip very informative....
Read antiqfreq's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image famvacay2016
1 review
Nov 2016
Maya Key was wonderful. Half our group took advantage of the snorkeling ranging in age from 72 to 9 and LOVED it. For those that snorkeled this was the highlight of the cruise. My son (4) loved seeing the animals and being able to watch the jaguar eat. We were also able to do an encounter with capuchin monkeys and macaws at no additional cost.
Read famvacay2016's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Postwd
1 review
Nov 2016
Great experience but a windy day resulting in somewhat cloudy water.
Read Postwd's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image tailgatemel
1 review
Nov 2016
We did "Jolly Roger" Catamaran snorkeling. Great fun! Cool reefs while snorkeling then good food an drinks (included) on the way back.
Read tailgatemel's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image dcross1244
1 review
Nov 2016
In Roatan we booked Roatan Ocean Adventures for snorkeling - DO THIS!! Herbert and his crew were the best part of our whole trip. He picked us right up from the independent tour guide stop and we got a personal tour of the island to his boat. He caters to smaller groups and works with you to get the best experience if there is weather or strong currents. We had overcast windy weather so he changed up our booking and we ended up going to three different spots where visibility was best - something that would NOT happen on a Carnival excursion. We got to hang out with monkeys, birds and sloths at his friends small zoo, which we chose to do instead of the beach due to weather. The reefs were breathtaking. 2nd largest barrier reefs in the world people. He takes pics in the water and emails them to you for free. My girlfriend was a little new to snorkeling so they coached her through the basics and she was swimming with us in no time. Definitely book with ROA!!
Read dcross1244's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Roatan Ocean Adventures
Member Image MrChocoholic
9 reviews
Oct 2016
Jolly Rodger ripped me off. They went out in the worst weather, I chose to wait on the dock fishing for two and a half hours until the boat came back. Only the dockmaster/marina head jerkoff refused to let me stand there with my rod in my hand, and ordered to "go back to the ship." Refused to refund any of money, and kicked me out of the marina. I found a guide who showed me around, found a nice dock where I fished until it was time to get back to the ship.
Read MrChocoholic's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image davnade
1 review
Oct 2016
Roatan, Honduras - Booked the Tabyana Beach Party and snorkel. Had a lot of fun on that one. Lots of fish to see just 20 feet off the beach. And the beach BBQ and activities were fun.
Read davnade's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?