Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Roatan Island Tour Excursion Reviews

Roatan Island Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Roatan is the largest of the beautiful Honduras Bay Islands. Roatan Island is rich in history, wildlife, and breathtaking, clear-water beaches.
Member Image No2rdame
1 review
May 2016
Seeing the sights were nice, but it ended up feeling more like a sales pitch to buy overpriced souvenirs.
Read No2rdame's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jetski777
1 review
May 2016
We booked the Norweigen Dawn Tour: Best of Roatan Island for $75 per person. Definitely not recommeded. We were crowded into a ten person van with bad air conditioning. Stops included a lookout at the side of the road, short harbor boat trip, two more stops at small shopping areas. Spent most of the time in the van. Only stop worth anything was the boat trip around the small harbor. Save yourself some aggravation and skip this tour.
Read jetski777's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image studygirl
1 review
Apr 2016
We did the Island Tour and Beach. The coach was air conditioned. There were enough guests for two coach buses. The first bus filled quickly and left the port immediately. The second bus waited for an additional 15 minutes for a guest who lost her husband between the ship and the departure point. There was only one photo stop on this excursion prior to reaching the Iguana Farm. The farm was nice, but caution was needed as the iguanas were everywhere. We walked past the iguanas to the pier over the water. The view was beautiful. There were some lovely wooden crafts for purchase here. The prices were the best we found anywhere. The beach was not crowded the day we were there. However, I suggest making a beeline for the few tables or chairs located in the shade. We only found one small gift shop open here with a small amount of offerings. There is an open air restaurant on the premises. The allotted beach time was approximately an hour.
Read studygirl's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image WendysMom
9 reviews
Apr 2016
We had a private tour of the island and then visited an iguana farm - so very awesome, but it was the monkeys that took our hearts! It was a perfect day and the monkeys appreciated all the peanuts and fruit we both fed them and left for them to enjoy for more tours.
Read WendysMom's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Nash9597
1 review
Apr 2016
The tour was extremely interesting, we stopped to see the monkeys (at first was unsure about the stop, but had a great time!!) The tour took us all over and the tour guide and driver were very nice and have alot to share with you!!! The area has alot of beautiful places to take pictures!!!! The driver is open to what you would like to see and will stop anytime for a photo opportunity.
Read Nash9597's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Victor Bodden (FUN in the SUN)
Member Image rdlc1957@aol.com
1 review
Mar 2016
Not as good as last year's at the same place. Didn't have as much time to get a full island tour. Then, our driver had to take us back earlier because someone on a dive excursion from Norwegian, had a driver who didn't show up to take them back to the ship. He had to go take care of them....guess his company was contracted to Norwegian and he had to go...
Read rdlc1957@aol.com's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Darshan1
12 reviews
Mar 2016
Roatan is very pretty and touring the island just for the photos is fun. Our guide, Monalie, was friendly and stops at a botanical garden, chocolate factory, and butterfly farm were good to excellent. The cultural dance could use dancers who have practiced and the cameo factory didn't feel like anything special even if it's the only one in the Americas. However, the views from the restaurant where the dance took place were worthwhile. Nice day.
Read Darshan1's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image kjames150
1 review
Mar 2016
We loved Rony's and had our best experience for the whole trip in Roatan. Tia was amazing and she took us zip lining, to the monkey farm, the iguana farm, to drop off school uniforms at Sandy Bay Lighthouse Ministries, to eat beans and rice at a local restaurant, and on a tour around the island. We never felt rushed and were able to do exactly what we wanted.
Read kjames150's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Rony Tours
Member Image Oliemaxx
1 review
Mar 2016
Enjoyed the presentation of Mayan Cocoa making along with tasting.
Read Oliemaxx's full Anthem of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Jackwes
1 review
Feb 2016
Roatan was beautiful. We took a 5 hour excursion with Vic Bodden to the interactive monkey experience then to West Bay for a couple hours on the beach. West Bay was extremely busy but still very nice. The water was crystal clear. We unfortunately did not snorkel but heard from other cruisers it was exceptional. We then walked around the Mahogany Bay area and it was also very nice. We could see spending the day there, however, if you have never been to Roatan before you should see more of the island to get a feel for the culture.
Read Jackwes's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Victor Bodden
Member Image Gator83
4 reviews
Feb 2016
Excursion included an island tour, a stop at an animal sanctuary with monkeys and parrots, a stop at a beach resort (Parrot Tree Resort).
Read Gator83's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Victor Bodden
Member Image xpuha1
1 review
Feb 2016
It was a good tour to show you all the highlights of Roatan but not much time in any place. Good for knowing where to go next time.
Read xpuha1's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image sbmcpa
2 reviews
Dec 2015
Did an east-west tour of the island in a taxi. Really enjoyed it.
Read sbmcpa's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image MAP54
1 review
Dec 2015
Bus with ramp for handicap broken so put on old vans and mine was the most difficult to get into of any car or bus or ban I've ever been in! Terrible! But tour guide nice and knowledgable and they helped me on van but difficult.
Read MAP54's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jlkb
1 review
Dec 2015
On Roatan, we booked a private tour with Victor Bodden Tours. We had a private car and driver all to ourselves for 7 hours, and we had a great time. We toured the whole island, went to a local restaurant, beach, and grocery store. Our guide, Kelvin, took us to an out of the way place to buy souvenirs, and we were able to buy Christmas presents for everyone on our list for about half the price they were asking at stores at the pier! We also saw the monkeys and the birds and Victor's house. We highly recommend Bodden tours and especially Kelvin. Ask Kelvin to sing a gospel song for you...I got goose bumps!
Read jlkb's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Victor Bodden Tours
Member Image Nick Romano
2 reviews
Dec 2015
This was a limited mobility tour as I was on crutches. Tour was interesting and showed us a lot of the island. We were taken to a large souvenir shop that was easy to get around in then the next stop was for viewing a resort area and getting something to eat but was fully occupied by the Hinkley family tour. Oh by the way absolutely no one offered a seat to any of us even though many of them were just sitting there and not eating. From here we went to some local shops on a hill top and then to a shop across the road with the best rum cake ever. Sorry , I didn’t buy any ( wife doesn't like rum)and do not remember their name. The tour guide was very nice and we enjoyed ourselves.
Read Nick Romano's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Willem999
3 reviews
Nov 2015
Small van, poor airco. Little info given during the tour
Read Willem999's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image koss78b2
3 reviews
Oct 2015
Carambola Gardens & Island Tour Did this tour through Carnival in October 2015 from the Carnival Glory. All i can say this outfitter was very professional all the way. The level of service was over 100% the whole way as well. You board a nice new bus and with a guide you get a nice island tour. Stopping at the Carambola Gardens. You get to see many species of plants that offer things we use in everyday life. Seeing wild flowers and trees. Also you get to sample fresh pineapple and other fruits that are freshly picked here. There is a nice stop at a town to walk along the beach. Visit the local shops and walk with the locals. Also you get to go to West Side beach. Was pouring rain at the last stop but made it an interesting experience though. Many interesting tree houses in that area. Get to experience some of the local culture and get a great orientation of the island. On route back you drive on the coast through a local town. Get to see the real Honduras which was a great experience. Made me really want to go back to Roatan and gave me a whole new respect for the people of Honduras. Very interesting tour. I highly recommend this tour company. This tour is great for anyone of any age. Whether it be families, singles, seniors or couples. Overall next time I am in Roatan. I would considering using this outfitter for all my tour needs. Thanks
Read koss78b2's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image JDRC_1998
1 review
Oct 2015
Loved the Iguana Sanctuary and had a terrific lunch at a local restaurant
Read JDRC_1998's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image LoloS
1 review
Sep 2015
Excellent value for the price!
Read LoloS's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Victor Bodden Fun-N-Sun
Member Image Sirithiliel
2 reviews
Aug 2015
The Cameo Factory, Rum Cake Factory, and Glass bottom boat were awesome! The hour of downtime sitting in a little bar's deck hiding from local vendors that wanted to sell us bracelets got a bit old after the first 15 minutes of enjoying the view and the nice weather. This stop seemed a bit longer than necessary. If you step off the board walk to browse small shops (of more bracelets and a few blankets), you are surrounded by children wielding rows of bracelets repeating over and over for you to buy them. We stayed on the deck, trying to keep ourselves entertained for 45 minutes.
Read Sirithiliel's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image cowboybooth
2 reviews
Aug 2015
Driver picked us up and toured island..took us to Bananarama on the west end and then wherever we wanted...rum factory, mountain top and then zip lining at Tree Top.
Read cowboybooth's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Bananarama Resort
Member Image JerryK13
4 reviews
Jul 2015
Roatan, Honduras: Fun N Sun Tour This was our first visit to Roatan. Again, we booked our own tour with Vic Bodden tours after reading reviews on CC. For $30 per person we had a a nice tour in an A/C bus, along with 45 minutes with monkeys and Macaws, and then 2 hours on a beach. While the tour was nice, my only criticism is that it is hard to hear the guide if you sit in the back of the bus. They need to use microphones. But sit up front and you'll be fine! Tour price didn't include lunch, but the beachfront restaurant offered good food at reasonable prices.
Read JerryK13's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Vic Bodden
Member Image spunkychk
1 review
May 2015
Maya Caye with snorkeling and lunch was delightful for all ages! The food was fabulous, the wild animals wonderful, and the snorkeling was some of the best I've ever done! For extra you can swim with the dolphins etc.
Read spunkychk's full Carnival Valor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image RobertaV
1 review
Apr 2015
After much trouble finding Steve we had a wonderful time. He is an extraordinary man who is doing so much for his local community. Unfortunately we had awfully wet weather so did an island tours. We met Steve's family and saw his program for the local kids which was educating them and giving them something to aim for. He is such a lovely man and such a trat to spend time with him.
Read RobertaV's full Marina cruise review
Provider: Steve Bush

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.