Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Roatan Island Tour Excursion Reviews

Roatan Island Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Roatan is the largest of the beautiful Honduras Bay Islands. Roatan Island is rich in history, wildlife, and breathtaking, clear-water beaches.
Member Image sbmcpa
2 reviews
Dec 2015
Did an east-west tour of the island in a taxi. Really enjoyed it.
Read sbmcpa's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image MAP54
1 review
Dec 2015
Bus with ramp for handicap broken so put on old vans and mine was the most difficult to get into of any car or bus or ban I've ever been in! Terrible! But tour guide nice and knowledgable and they helped me on van but difficult.
Read MAP54's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jlkb
1 review
Dec 2015
On Roatan, we booked a private tour with Victor Bodden Tours. We had a private car and driver all to ourselves for 7 hours, and we had a great time. We toured the whole island, went to a local restaurant, beach, and grocery store. Our guide, Kelvin, took us to an out of the way place to buy souvenirs, and we were able to buy Christmas presents for everyone on our list for about half the price they were asking at stores at the pier! We also saw the monkeys and the birds and Victor's house. We highly recommend Bodden tours and especially Kelvin. Ask Kelvin to sing a gospel song for you...I got goose bumps!
Read jlkb's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Victor Bodden Tours
Member Image Nick Romano
2 reviews
Dec 2015
This was a limited mobility tour as I was on crutches. Tour was interesting and showed us a lot of the island. We were taken to a large souvenir shop that was easy to get around in then the next stop was for viewing a resort area and getting something to eat but was fully occupied by the Hinkley family tour. Oh by the way absolutely no one offered a seat to any of us even though many of them were just sitting there and not eating. From here we went to some local shops on a hill top and then to a shop across the road with the best rum cake ever. Sorry , I didn’t buy any ( wife doesn't like rum)and do not remember their name. The tour guide was very nice and we enjoyed ourselves.
Read Nick Romano's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Willem999
3 reviews
Nov 2015
Small van, poor airco. Little info given during the tour
Read Willem999's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image koss78b2
3 reviews
Oct 2015
Carambola Gardens & Island Tour Did this tour through Carnival in October 2015 from the Carnival Glory. All i can say this outfitter was very professional all the way. The level of service was over 100% the whole way as well. You board a nice new bus and with a guide you get a nice island tour. Stopping at the Carambola Gardens. You get to see many species of plants that offer things we use in everyday life. Seeing wild flowers and trees. Also you get to sample fresh pineapple and other fruits that are freshly picked here. There is a nice stop at a town to walk along the beach. Visit the local shops and walk with the locals. Also you get to go to West Side beach. Was pouring rain at the last stop but made it an interesting experience though. Many interesting tree houses in that area. Get to experience some of the local culture and get a great orientation of the island. On route back you drive on the coast through a local town. Get to see the real Honduras which was a great experience. Made me really want to go back to Roatan and gave me a whole new respect for the people of Honduras. Very interesting tour. I highly recommend this tour company. This tour is great for anyone of any age. Whether it be families, singles, seniors or couples. Overall next time I am in Roatan. I would considering using this outfitter for all my tour needs. Thanks
Read koss78b2's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image JDRC_1998
1 review
Oct 2015
Loved the Iguana Sanctuary and had a terrific lunch at a local restaurant
Read JDRC_1998's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image LoloS
1 review
Sep 2015
Excellent value for the price!
Read LoloS's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Victor Bodden Fun-N-Sun
Member Image Sirithiliel
2 reviews
Aug 2015
The Cameo Factory, Rum Cake Factory, and Glass bottom boat were awesome! The hour of downtime sitting in a little bar's deck hiding from local vendors that wanted to sell us bracelets got a bit old after the first 15 minutes of enjoying the view and the nice weather. This stop seemed a bit longer than necessary. If you step off the board walk to browse small shops (of more bracelets and a few blankets), you are surrounded by children wielding rows of bracelets repeating over and over for you to buy them. We stayed on the deck, trying to keep ourselves entertained for 45 minutes.
Read Sirithiliel's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image cowboybooth
2 reviews
Aug 2015
Driver picked us up and toured island..took us to Bananarama on the west end and then wherever we wanted...rum factory, mountain top and then zip lining at Tree Top.
Read cowboybooth's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Bananarama Resort
Member Image JerryK13
3 reviews
Jul 2015
Roatan, Honduras: Fun N Sun Tour This was our first visit to Roatan. Again, we booked our own tour with Vic Bodden tours after reading reviews on CC. For $30 per person we had a a nice tour in an A/C bus, along with 45 minutes with monkeys and Macaws, and then 2 hours on a beach. While the tour was nice, my only criticism is that it is hard to hear the guide if you sit in the back of the bus. They need to use microphones. But sit up front and you'll be fine! Tour price didn't include lunch, but the beachfront restaurant offered good food at reasonable prices.
Read JerryK13's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Vic Bodden
Member Image spunkychk
1 review
May 2015
Maya Caye with snorkeling and lunch was delightful for all ages! The food was fabulous, the wild animals wonderful, and the snorkeling was some of the best I've ever done! For extra you can swim with the dolphins etc.
Read spunkychk's full Carnival Valor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image RobertaV
1 review
Apr 2015
After much trouble finding Steve we had a wonderful time. He is an extraordinary man who is doing so much for his local community. Unfortunately we had awfully wet weather so did an island tours. We met Steve's family and saw his program for the local kids which was educating them and giving them something to aim for. He is such a lovely man and such a trat to spend time with him.
Read RobertaV's full Marina cruise review
Provider: Steve Bush
Member Image Bauman147
1 review
Apr 2015
Lena did an excellent job and was very entertaining during our tour of Roatan, including stops at the Roatan Chocolate Factory, Roatan Rum Factory, the Rusty Fish and at Wallace Beach (I think that was the name) to eat lunch and watch Garifuna tribe members dance and make cassava bread.
Read Bauman147's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image CajunCpl
1 review
Apr 2015
In Rotan, off the ship at 8:30, Hector from Rony’s tours took good care of us, showing us the island, finding the beachfront Barefeet Bar where we had two lobster plates, including beer for $40. He also took us to a nearby place to snorkel on a reef. He dropped us off in town around 2:00, and we shopped a bit, buying the usual t-shirts and stuff. His car’s AC worked well, which turned out to be an exception elsewhere.
Read CajunCpl's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Rony
Member Image K11TEXAS
2 reviews
Apr 2015
Information was delivered by very knowledgeable tour guide and quite interesting. Guide brought fruits from her own garden to explain and share their importance. But 14 adults in a mini-van is not pleasant.
Read K11TEXAS's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image 1stimecruiser
2 reviews
Apr 2015
Had a very nice island tour with Wordy from Victor Bodden's tour company. His monkey island was fun and our tour guide for the monkey farm took pictures of us with our camera. Great experience.
Read 1stimecruiser's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Victor Bodden
Member Image duluthga
3 reviews
Apr 2015
Great tour with Victor Bodden, highly recommend. we did the best of roatan tour with zip line. also toured the animal cages. driver was willing to show as much as we wanted to see
Read duluthga's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Acedublb
1 review
Apr 2015
Karen gave us and another couple an amazing tour including iguana, monkey, sloth and parrot sanctuaries, lunch at Bananrama and all the sights in Roatan. Highly recommended.
Read Acedublb's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Island Marketing
Member Image NCFour
1 review
Mar 2015
We got off the boat, and there are several independent tour operators there at the port. We later learned that to be at the port, those tour operators had to be validated, or verified in some way to be allowed to be there (that made us feel better). But, we really only wanted to see the iguanas, so we didn't want to spend tons of money spending an entire day here. We booked a private tour that came with a driver and a tour guide (Rudolph), and it was perfect! We got to learn a lot about the country and island, as well as do some shopping, se the iguanas, and go to the highest point of the island for a PERFECT photo opp! Saved tons of money doing a private tour. This would have cost us 2-3x more booking through cruise line.
Read NCFour's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image bilboinsa
2 reviews
Mar 2015
Tia was a great guide. $100 got us a private van w A/C. Lots of time to make our own schedule. Did Pirates of the Caribbean Ziplines, Danny's Monkey House, and stopped at the Swamp to give clothes, med supplies and soccer balls to local kids. Tia showed us off the beaten path stops for local food and wine. Love local artists on Roatan!
Read bilboinsa's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Rony's Tours
Member Image united1889
1 review
Mar 2015

This was the best tour i have ever taken. We booked a private tour with Victor Bodden Tours and this was amazing. We did the Fun-n-Sun tour. This Island is amazing, beautiful, etc. We saw the real island from the slums to the Rich and spent time on the beach. What a great island, Cant wait to go back.

Read united1889's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Bodden Tours
Member Image demac
2 reviews
Feb 2015

In Roatan, we took the "Botanical Gardens, West End Village, Cultural Show & Cameos" excursion, booked through Princess. This provided a nice view of the island as you drove around to four different locations. I'm not sure what they expected us to get out of the West End Village & Cultural Show stop. Mostly, that seems to be a place for scuba divers, with every third business being a dive shop. The "Cultural Show" included a few traditional dancers, not much different than what you see right off the ship in the shopping area for free. The Botanical Gardens and Butterfly/Bird/Animal sites, however, were very interesting and well worth the visit.

Read demac's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Sindar001
1 review
Not Rated
Feb 2015

We had booked driver for the day (Juan Carlos). He wasn't at the gate where the independent operators meet with the tourists. However, the independent operators called him and we got set up with Ismael Matute ismaelpescaymas@yahoo.com. He was great. We told him that my wife wanted to take some scenic pictures around the island, we wanted to see the monkeys, butterflies and get in some shopping.

At first he took us to some of the normal tourist traps to shop. But, in the end we found the best deals to be at the monkey park (they were about half the price of the other locations). We handled monkeys at both the monkey park and the butterfly sanctuary. The guides at both locations were great and gave us all the time we wanted. We did the zip-lines at the butterfly sanctuary and was one of our best memories of the trip. They took pictures and video of us on the zip-lines and then sold us a dvd for only $10.00. I would highly recommend this to anyone.

Read Sindar001's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Ismael Matute
Member Image mdmcghie
1 review
Feb 2015

We arranged for a van to pick us up and take us to several locations, including an iguana experience where we could feed dozens of iguanas that were walking around freely and another small wild animal park where we could interact with capuchin monkeys, a gentle sloth, and several varieties of tropical birds. Our day ended at Parrot Tree Plantation Resort, which is situated next to a beautiful lagoon near the ocean.

Read mdmcghie's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

 
Have you taken a cruise before?
Thank you!

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.