Roatan Island Tour Excursion Reviews

Roatan Island Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Roatan is the largest of the beautiful Honduras Bay Islands. Roatan Island is rich in history, wildlife, and breathtaking, clear-water beaches.
Member Image cat51he
1 review
Apr 2017
Horrible guide on this tour. Cried poverty the whole time, told too much of her personal life, appeared to be begging for tips!
Read cat51he's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image hogan8er
3 reviews
Apr 2017
I booked this independently. Tour guide picked us up and gave us a tour of the island, took us the Monkey and sloth hangout where we got to hold a sloth, play with monkeys in their cage, and hold parrots! It was absolutely amazing! My kids, my husband and I loved it! Where else can you hold a sloth?? Afterwards they took us to a beach where we swam and snorkeled in the beautiful water for a couple hours before they drove us back to the ship. It was so fun and we felt so safe.
Read hogan8er's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Skullgirl
1 review
Apr 2017
Booked with Victor Bodden tours. Private tour with beach afterwards. Monkey and Sloth farm was a blast! I held a sloth! Driver was fantastic and let us stay on the beach as long as we wanted. Water was crystal clear.
Read Skullgirl's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image reham retep
1 review
Mar 2017
Overall the tour was OK, but too much time was spent at the Butterfly park and Botanical gardens, and not enough time at the beach resort - West End Bay. The Magohany Bay cruise terminal was excellent.
Read reham retep's full Thomson Dream cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image machoman2
2 reviews
Mar 2017
3 1/2 hour tour was actually about 2 hours. Saw very little of island. tour took us to top of a hill to see cruise harbor, where there were "shacks" put up to sell cheap trinkets by locals. went from there to a chocolate factory that was a retail store for chocolate bars. probably owned by the tour company. Waste of time and money
Read machoman2's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image TKCarmack
1 review
Mar 2017
snorkeled with a large group with inexperienced snorkelers that kicked us and rammed us as we were supposed to stay close to the guide. the area we were taken was isolated with really no special fish. The iguanas were neat.
Read TKCarmack's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Bluebonnet100
3 reviews
Feb 2017
Took a tour with Jimmy from Victor Bodden Tours. What a nice guy. Drove us around the entire island, told us a lot about Roatan. Couldn't recommend the tour company and Jimmy more.
Read Bluebonnet100's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Victor Bodden
Member Image kevinsta
2 reviews
Feb 2017
Took a private tour for $25 a person. Went to the monkey farm, toured the Island and went to Tabyana Beach. Great beach with exceptional snorkeling off the beach. Saw tons of beautiful fish. Went for a lunch a block away from the beach, which was awesome. $11 for a lobster dinner, which included 2 small lobsters, rice, beans and fried banana's. Excellent. The lobster was cooked perfectly, and was better than the lobster on the ship.
Read kevinsta's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Victor Bodden.
Member Image kbunyard
1 review
Feb 2017
We ended up doing the Victor Bodden Fun and Sun private excursion in Roatan. This tour made this my favorite of all the ports. Dahlia was a wonderful guide who made the day special. This tour gave you time for shopping, tour of the island, trip to see the monkeys and birds as well as a few hours at a great beach resort where you could order lunch.
Read kbunyard's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Victor Bodden
Member Image SALAMANCA2014
6 reviews
Feb 2017
Long ways to the castle and the river. Allow extra time for travel. Roads are single lane highway with heavy traffic in the port area. The roads are in need of major repair.
Read SALAMANCA2014's full Marina cruise review
Provider: Island Quest Tours
Member Image cowboygene
6 reviews
Feb 2017
only $30 pp, air conditioned small bus, got tour of island, scenic stops, interacted with animals at Monkey Business and then 31/2 hours at West Bay Beach highly recommended
Read cowboygene's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Victor Bodden
Member Image mike_tony
2 reviews
Jan 2017
Well worth the $26pp charge. Rained all day so it was good that we didn't select a tour that included being outside. Took us all over the island and explained the sites. Very depressed island for most of the residents but the rich sure have beautiful homes. Don't understand why they don't do more farming to improve their existence instead of importing most everything
Read mike_tony's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Cardy's Roatan Island Tour plus
Member Image Travelin people
1 review
Jan 2017
Great tour of the island even though it was raining. Toured a chocolate factory, and toured a rum cake factory. Samples were awesome, and bought a cake.
Read Travelin people's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image EnviroChick14
1 review
Jan 2017
Took a private tour that cost less for three than NCL charged for one. Our driver took us all over the island and stopped at the iguana farm, sloth sanctuary and for a snorkel. Fabulous day!
Read EnviroChick14's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Victor Bodden
Member Image mrandmrso
1 review
Jan 2017
Great island. Very friendly. Beach and glass bottom boat excellent saw turtles, close up unusual fish and the 2nd largest coral reef - great day
Read mrandmrso's full MSC Armonia cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image agparrotta
1 review
Jan 2017
Had a great day exploring the island of Roatan. Our family fell in love with this place. Our driver Hector took us all over, starting with the monkey and sloth preserver. We got to play with the animals. We drove to West Bay and drove through a resort and had a beer on the beach. We went to the cameo factory and my wife purchased a unique souvenir. We then went to Sandy Bay beach to see the local snorkling area and then to West End to see the boardwalk. Overall a wonderful day and we want to go back (maybe for good).
Read agparrotta's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Rony's Tours
Member Image Nottingham cruiser
2 reviews
Jan 2017
Seems to be that most of the best of Roatan are retail outlets which are not very exciting, enjoyed the Iguanas though, the dancing and singing was a bit lack lustre.
Read Nottingham cruiser's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image plannertogo
1 review
Jan 2017
The monkeys and birds were so fun to interact with. Fun was had by all.
Read plannertogo's full Carnival Pride cruise review
Provider: Victor Bodden
Member Image marti0127
1 review
Dec 2016
Roatan, it was ok they take you to see the mangrove in a little boat and to visit and see the dance of the native "Carifuna" first and last at least I got that experience, but is not worth the money paid. Not much to see in Roatan.
Read marti0127's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image cheggy
2 reviews
Dec 2016
Did tour around the area then sloth sanctuary . After that we went to the beach . About 5 hours in all.
Read cheggy's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Island tours
Member Image gemginger
1 review
Dec 2016
This was so much fun. We saw the city and saw ignuanas.
Read gemginger's full Oosterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image pegmor
2 reviews
Dec 2016
What a great day! We took a tour of the island and it was very informative and interesting! Then on to the Sloth sanctuary! We had a great time learning about the sloths & monkeys! and were able to hold them! Then on to a great lunch! I would highly recommend this excursion!
Read pegmor's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Daniel Johnson
Member Image swirlofhues
1 review
Dec 2016
Hired a private taxi for the "Best of Roatan" tour. We were a little disappointed because there wasn't much for us to do (we aren't the most adventurous people and didn't want to zipline or snorkel), but we realize we should have researched the island a little better to know what we should have done there.
Read swirlofhues's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Victor Bodden Tours
Member Image kareylacroix
1 review
Dec 2016
It was great being able to play with the moneys and seeing all the different types of birds. We did not book this through the cruise line. It was not offered. We actually found this on Trip Advisor.
Read kareylacroix's full Empress of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Bodden Tours
Member Image ifly737
4 reviews
Dec 2016
Know where you want to go in Roatan. There is not much you actually want to see. Go to Daniel Johnson's sloth reserve and West Bay Beach, don't waste time with anything else.
Read ifly737's full Riviera cruise review
Provider: Can't remember...

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?