Roatan Island Tour Excursion Reviews

Roatan Island Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Roatan is the largest of the beautiful Honduras Bay Islands. Roatan Island is rich in history, wildlife, and breathtaking, clear-water beaches.
Member Image Petticoat
1 review
May 2017
We did a small island tour to a panaromic view point, the iguanas, a boat trip to a ship wreck, some traditional dancing and then 1 hr at the beach. Iguanas were cool, there were a lot and you could feed them. Beach was nice to cool down in the water because it was very hot, but not the nicest beach I have seen.
Read Petticoat's full MSC Opera cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image conch2b
1 review
May 2017
We did have an air condition bus but was not that happy with the places we went on the bus stops. The tour guide seemed to take us to places that we did not feel was worth stopping at. Made a big deal about the Noni Juice but when we saw how it was produced was concerned with unsanitary conditions with the liquid product.
Read conch2b's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image zstkbrkr
2 reviews
May 2017
Wow...Cleve is the ultimate ball of good energy. Fun and Informative. He has a great a/c 12 passenger van. Book him off the internet on Trip Adviser. We went to the East side and the West side and took the Mangrove tunnel tour for an extra $15 pp. It was all very interesting and we learned a lot about Honduras, the Indians and the pirates. The beaches are beautiful and the views exceptional. He will take you where ever you want. We wanted to see the whole island so thats what we did. Next time I will book him again! He had his wife Jessica give us a afternoon tour as he had another engagement. We had the best of both worlds as Jessica is so nice and also as informative as Cleve! I feel like I actually know this family. We even stopped at their house. You will not regret this trip...his info is on FB and Trip Adviser.
Read zstkbrkr's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Cleve Tours
Member Image AFG
1 review
May 2017
Good but very focused on getting participants to buy local goods.
Read AFG's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image r4golden
4 reviews
May 2017
Roatan – We did a private tour with Rony’s Tours http://ronystours.com/ I have used Rony in the past and have referred others to him. He provides English speaking drivers/guides and air conditioned vehicles. All I can say is you will get your monies worth and then some by using Rony. Our driver (Arnold) met us at the port exit at 10 AM with a van and a guide for 8 people. I was the only one who had been to Roatan before, so I had Arnold show us his island. We saw the good and the not so good parts of the island. We stopped for lunch at a local open air restaurant for local specialties like fresh Caribbean lobster, red snapper, chicken, one person in our party even had iguana! All was excellent. They didn’t have conch that day, bummer. We then went over to the other side of the island for some snorkeling and shopping and a few conch balls at another restaurant, then back to the ship. We were gone for 6 hours and it cost us $25 per person plus tip. Try doing something like that for that price from the ship.----------------------------As far as the ports on this cruise, our first stop was Roatan Honduras. My husband had been there previously and pre-arranged a private tour for our group with Rony's Tours. To be honest, I was not impressed with the town upon arrival as it was dirtier and poorer than I was prepared for. I am not a fan of seeing such poverty, loose dogs roaming the streets and children directly approaching and begging for American money. I am glad we had a pre-arranged tour to take us around the Island and show us different areas as I would not have been comfortable walking around the town without guidance. We went around the entire Island with our guides and stopped at a great location for snorkeling as well as a restaurant for fresh seafood for lunch. Our tour guides were excellent and very informative and also spoke English really well. We spent the majority of the day with them and they made our whole group feel welcomed and safe.
Read r4golden's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Rony's Tours
Member Image cat51he
1 review
Apr 2017
Horrible guide on this tour. Cried poverty the whole time, told too much of her personal life, appeared to be begging for tips!
Read cat51he's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image hogan8er
3 reviews
Apr 2017
I booked this independently. Tour guide picked us up and gave us a tour of the island, took us the Monkey and sloth hangout where we got to hold a sloth, play with monkeys in their cage, and hold parrots! It was absolutely amazing! My kids, my husband and I loved it! Where else can you hold a sloth?? Afterwards they took us to a beach where we swam and snorkeled in the beautiful water for a couple hours before they drove us back to the ship. It was so fun and we felt so safe.
Read hogan8er's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Skullgirl
1 review
Apr 2017
Booked with Victor Bodden tours. Private tour with beach afterwards. Monkey and Sloth farm was a blast! I held a sloth! Driver was fantastic and let us stay on the beach as long as we wanted. Water was crystal clear.
Read Skullgirl's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image reham retep
1 review
Mar 2017
Overall the tour was OK, but too much time was spent at the Butterfly park and Botanical gardens, and not enough time at the beach resort - West End Bay. The Magohany Bay cruise terminal was excellent.
Read reham retep's full Thomson Dream cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image machoman2
2 reviews
Mar 2017
3 1/2 hour tour was actually about 2 hours. Saw very little of island. tour took us to top of a hill to see cruise harbor, where there were "shacks" put up to sell cheap trinkets by locals. went from there to a chocolate factory that was a retail store for chocolate bars. probably owned by the tour company. Waste of time and money
Read machoman2's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image TKCarmack
1 review
Mar 2017
snorkeled with a large group with inexperienced snorkelers that kicked us and rammed us as we were supposed to stay close to the guide. the area we were taken was isolated with really no special fish. The iguanas were neat.
Read TKCarmack's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Bluebonnet100
3 reviews
Feb 2017
Took a tour with Jimmy from Victor Bodden Tours. What a nice guy. Drove us around the entire island, told us a lot about Roatan. Couldn't recommend the tour company and Jimmy more.
Read Bluebonnet100's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Victor Bodden
Member Image kevinsta
2 reviews
Feb 2017
Took a private tour for $25 a person. Went to the monkey farm, toured the Island and went to Tabyana Beach. Great beach with exceptional snorkeling off the beach. Saw tons of beautiful fish. Went for a lunch a block away from the beach, which was awesome. $11 for a lobster dinner, which included 2 small lobsters, rice, beans and fried banana's. Excellent. The lobster was cooked perfectly, and was better than the lobster on the ship.
Read kevinsta's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Victor Bodden.
Member Image kbunyard
1 review
Feb 2017
We ended up doing the Victor Bodden Fun and Sun private excursion in Roatan. This tour made this my favorite of all the ports. Dahlia was a wonderful guide who made the day special. This tour gave you time for shopping, tour of the island, trip to see the monkeys and birds as well as a few hours at a great beach resort where you could order lunch.
Read kbunyard's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Victor Bodden
Member Image SALAMANCA2014
6 reviews
Feb 2017
Long ways to the castle and the river. Allow extra time for travel. Roads are single lane highway with heavy traffic in the port area. The roads are in need of major repair.
Read SALAMANCA2014's full Marina cruise review
Provider: Island Quest Tours
Member Image cowboygene
6 reviews
Feb 2017
only $30 pp, air conditioned small bus, got tour of island, scenic stops, interacted with animals at Monkey Business and then 31/2 hours at West Bay Beach highly recommended
Read cowboygene's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Victor Bodden
Member Image mike_tony
2 reviews
Jan 2017
Well worth the $26pp charge. Rained all day so it was good that we didn't select a tour that included being outside. Took us all over the island and explained the sites. Very depressed island for most of the residents but the rich sure have beautiful homes. Don't understand why they don't do more farming to improve their existence instead of importing most everything
Read mike_tony's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Cardy's Roatan Island Tour plus
Member Image Travelin people
1 review
Jan 2017
Great tour of the island even though it was raining. Toured a chocolate factory, and toured a rum cake factory. Samples were awesome, and bought a cake.
Read Travelin people's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image EnviroChick14
1 review
Jan 2017
Took a private tour that cost less for three than NCL charged for one. Our driver took us all over the island and stopped at the iguana farm, sloth sanctuary and for a snorkel. Fabulous day!
Read EnviroChick14's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Victor Bodden
Member Image mrandmrso
1 review
Jan 2017
Great island. Very friendly. Beach and glass bottom boat excellent saw turtles, close up unusual fish and the 2nd largest coral reef - great day
Read mrandmrso's full MSC Armonia cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image agparrotta
1 review
Jan 2017
Had a great day exploring the island of Roatan. Our family fell in love with this place. Our driver Hector took us all over, starting with the monkey and sloth preserver. We got to play with the animals. We drove to West Bay and drove through a resort and had a beer on the beach. We went to the cameo factory and my wife purchased a unique souvenir. We then went to Sandy Bay beach to see the local snorkling area and then to West End to see the boardwalk. Overall a wonderful day and we want to go back (maybe for good).
Read agparrotta's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Rony's Tours
Member Image Nottingham cruiser
2 reviews
Jan 2017
Seems to be that most of the best of Roatan are retail outlets which are not very exciting, enjoyed the Iguanas though, the dancing and singing was a bit lack lustre.
Read Nottingham cruiser's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image plannertogo
1 review
Jan 2017
The monkeys and birds were so fun to interact with. Fun was had by all.
Read plannertogo's full Carnival Pride cruise review
Provider: Victor Bodden
Member Image marti0127
1 review
Dec 2016
Roatan, it was ok they take you to see the mangrove in a little boat and to visit and see the dance of the native "Carifuna" first and last at least I got that experience, but is not worth the money paid. Not much to see in Roatan.
Read marti0127's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image cheggy
2 reviews
Dec 2016
Did tour around the area then sloth sanctuary . After that we went to the beach . About 5 hours in all.
Read cheggy's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Island tours

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?