Oslo Viking Ship Museum Excursion Reviews

Oslo Viking Ship Museum cruise excursion
Overall Rating
The Viking Ship Museum is home to a variety of viking age artifacts including wooden ships, beds and tools.
Member Image Crptraveler
1 review
Aug 2016
Lots of history and visits to other sites.
Read Crptraveler's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image erlejo3
1 review
Jul 2016
Saw three museums. Loved it, so interesting and guide knew history and had so many stories, could tell she loved these museums. Only complaint not enough time seemed to be a little rushed.
Read erlejo3's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image NRFBQN
1 review
Jun 2016
A wonderful museum!
Read NRFBQN's full Koningsdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image neetsr
2 reviews
Jun 2016
Great museum with info boards in English as well as Norweigen
Read neetsr's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image phc1683
1 review
Jun 2016
Great tour guide and very interesting tour
Read phc1683's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Gomez25
1 review
Jun 2016
Guide was not right but Kon Tiki with seeing
Read Gomez25's full Azura cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image oskar1956
1 review
Jun 2016
No passenger head count. Was left behind despite being not even two minutes late
Read oskar1956's full Azura cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image dcardy2@cogeco.ca
2 reviews
May 2016
Booked this one with Princess. The Viking Ship Museum was excellent. We had plenty of time there. The Ski Jump is awesome, however we were only given 15 minutes there. Typical Cruise line excursion, they have to get you to a shopping area which seems more important than the actual tour. Getting off and on the bus takes a lot of time and the usual bus politics ie: running for the front seats are annoying. Guide was good and after being dumped in city centre it was a 10 minute walk to the ship.
Read dcardy2@cogeco.ca's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Puffinmoose
1 review
May 2016
With a city tour, the Viking museum was worth a short visit. The history of how the boats were recovered was interesting.
Read Puffinmoose's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Shanty Pete
1 review
May 2016
Clean , interesting .
Read Shanty Pete's full Aurora cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image Alaskapat
2 reviews
May 2016
I was really looking forward to the Viking Ship Museum....The Vigeland Park was amazing
Read Alaskapat's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: SPB
Member Image lisab514
1 review
Aug 2015
This was included with the Ski Jump and the Vigeland Sculpture Park. The pieces in this museum are preserved beautifully and it is a nice museum but it's old ships. An hour was plenty of time for this stop.
Read lisab514's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Marilynfromohio
1 review
Jul 2015
We found this gentleman online and arranged for him to meet us for the day. We did a walking tour of the city for a couple of hours. He then drove us to Vigland Sculpture Park. He then drove us to National Museum to see Viking exhibit. He then drove us to Bygdoy to Viking Ship Museum and then to the Fram Museum. We then took a ferry back to get on the ship. We felt like we got to see and experience quite a bit more than if we tried to see Oslo on our own.
Read Marilynfromohio's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Rami Kavarov
Member Image tipsygirl
2 reviews
Jul 2015
We took the ferry to the peninsula where the museum is located. Both the ferry and the museum entrance fee are included inthe Oslo one day pass. One surprise was the VERY long walk from the ferry dock to the museum
Read tipsygirl's full Crystal Symphony cruise review
Provider: Oslo one day pass
Member Image ladymadeline
3 reviews
Jun 2015
Outstanding! We also had plenty of time to explore the city.
Read ladymadeline's full Seven Seas Voyager cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image pchase1
1 review
Not Rated
Aug 2014

A must see attraction the Kon TIki Museum detailing the adventure of Thor Heyerdahl’s expedition on a balsawood raft from Peru to Polynesia in 1947. Fortunately, we had shown our kids the Kon Tiki documentary so they knew what they were seeing. It was amazing to see it up close and person.

Read pchase1's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: myself
Member Image max_power_000
1 review
Jul 2014

Our wonderful guide took us first to the viking ship museum. It was very busy, crowded and was a small building. It started raining so many were near the entrance. Amazing to see.

Read max_power_000's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image LadyCookie
1 review
Aug 2013

Truly unique-the story of how the ships were found and excavated is as interesting as the artifacts themselves.

Read LadyCookie's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image travel bug 2013
1 review
Aug 2013

We had a very personable and clearly speaking tour guide that narrated our bus ride, and tours of the museums. She answered many questions about life in Sweden and everyone seemed pleased. Our original tour was canceled due to the arrival of some heads of states for meetings before the G-20 summit.

Read travel bug 2013's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?