Noumea Discovery Tchou Tchou Train Excursion Reviews

Noumea Discovery Tchou Tchou Train cruise excursion
Overall Rating
All aboard! See the highlights of Noumea via the yellow Tchou Tchou Train, an open-air motorized vehicle that tours the peninsula on which this sophisticated city sits.
Member Image mosolo
1 review
Jul 2016
We enjoyed this tour as it took around the main locations on the island.
Read mosolo's full Carnival Spirit cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image firstimersrwe
1 review
Jun 2016
Train picked us up at the ship & a great trip. The commentary was very good, points of interest with time to take photos was appreciated. Refreshment stop was very welcome.
Read firstimersrwe's full Carnival Spirit cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image lucky lad
1 review
May 2016
was informative & interesting was not overly long
Read lucky lad's full Carnival Spirit cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image gram247
2 reviews
Apr 2016
We had a great overview of the entire island with a knowledgeable guide.
Read gram247's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image belinda5d
1 review
Mar 2016
Very informative and great to see outside of the main street of noumea.
Read belinda5d's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image demandpub
5 reviews
Mar 2016
Discovery Tchou Tchou Train tour was a novelty but rather uncomfortable ride in a "train" that travels by road. The train took us to some city sights and up to a monument. It lasted about 2 hours, not a great deal to get excited about, but a quick way to see some of the sights of Noumea.
Read demandpub's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image afftec
1 review
Feb 2016
Great way to get about the joint - highly recommend it
Read afftec's full Legend of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image ging466
10 reviews
Feb 2016
Thoroughly enjoyed this sightseeing tour in a little train
Read ging466's full Voyager of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image mab582014
1 review
Feb 2016
It was a good way to see the highlights
Read mab582014's full Pacific Dawn cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises Australia
Member Image offtherails123
1 review
Jan 2016
Sit in the last carriage if you are hard of hearing. The noise from the prime mover is very loud especially on hills which make s the commentary useless.
Read offtherails123's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image KCandDC
1 review
Jan 2016
Fun way to sightsee.
Read KCandDC's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image bigjsl
1 review
Dec 2015
Cheesy but fun and well run. Just pay for it in AUD cash at the tour centre in town. The ship will put you on a bus and take you there if you don't dock in front of it.
Read bigjsl's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Wicked Wanda
2 reviews
Nov 2015
Richard gave a detailed commentary on the ride around Noumea. He needs to adjust his use of the PA System. LOUD! For $42 I thought it was reasonable value. The cruise excursion from the ship which is very similar with a drink and pastry extra costs about double. Also took local bus Anse Vata. Very affordable @ $5AUD return.
Read Wicked Wanda's full Voyager of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Lyvai
Member Image Kristyp
1 review
Nov 2015
we loved it was a lot of fun.
Read Kristyp's full Voyager of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Kylief86
1 review
Nov 2015
If you want to get around and learn a bit of history about noumea,definitely worth doing, but would recommend doing the tour early in the morning so you can fit more tours in.
Read Kylief86's full Carnival Spirit cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Yalumba
1 review
May 2015
Showed us around the island, had two stops both had beautiful views. The guide was very good and knew his job. Told us the history and present time in Noumea.
Read Yalumba's full Carnival Spirit cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image tuggaboy
1 review
Apr 2015
Not a bad little tour, commentary provided by guide, took us around the island, a couple of lookouts with great views, lasted an hour and a half. (saved $40 by booking onshore)
Read tuggaboy's full Carnival Spirit cruise review
Provider: Noumea Train Tour
Member Image J_Busworth
1 review
Apr 2015
This excursion was a great way to explore Noumea
Read J_Busworth's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image juda
1 review
Mar 2015
Excellent little tour, good commentary and informative and fun. Only complaint was the first "refreshment" stop - a dingy bar, filthy toilets with no seat and a hole in the floor! Drinks provided (weak cordial) and the alleged french pastries were enough for about 1/2 our group - operators should perhaps change venue
Read juda's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image eggshellblonde
1 review
Mar 2015
An excellent tour of the suburbs of Noumea including the beaches and a lookout providing a panoramic view of Noumea. Our guide Isabella was very informative and a delight.
Read eggshellblonde's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image COASTER1
1 review
Not Rated
Dec 2014

An excellent tour of the island, I would thoroughly recommend this excursion. It appears rather expensive at first glance, but it provides an excellent condensed overview of Noumea. Our tour guide was fantastic too, which always enhances an experience. The only shame was that the shops were closed since it was a Sunday that we were in port. Perhaps a suggestion is to alter itineraries so that the cruises can visit when shops are open.

Read COASTER1's full Carnival Spirit cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Libbywithnall
2 reviews
Dec 2014

Really enjoyed this excursion. So much better than sitting in a bus. Only bad thing was we left behind schedule which meant we really didn't have time to get off and do any shopping in town at the end. In hindsight I'd go on an earlier tour. Great tour for a first timer as you saw a lot of what was on offer.

Read Libbywithnall's full Voyager of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image BecH
1 review
Not Rated
Jul 2014

Def do this one was great! guide was amazing and snacks were YUM!!

Read BecH's full Carnival Spirit cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image rebellady
1 review
Apr 2014

I enjoyed the train ride on the Tchou Tchou train but our tour my husband booked in the middle of the day so we couldnt go too far away and do other tours. Our tour guide was good and we were given french pastries and drinks. We were taken to many different areas around noumea and he was very nice.

Read rebellady's full Pacific Jewel cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises Australia
Member Image aotearoacruzin
1 review
Not Rated
Dec 2013

Don't miss the Tchou Tchou train shore tour! A very charming experience, I'm sure people of all ages would enjoy it, not just those with children. You get a fantastic tour of the island and some fresh French pastries and cold drinks at the top of a hill where you can also take in the views. Afterwards do some shopping when the tour guide drops you off in town. Shopkeepers will take small amounts of Australian dollars, otherwise take some local currency for larger purchases. Make sure you know where to get back on the bus to go back to the ship! I didn't and I got delayed lol.

Read aotearoacruzin's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?