Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

San Francisco Alcatraz Excursion Reviews

San Francisco Alcatraz cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Walk the halls that once held many of the country's most notorious criminals at the infamous Alcatraz in San Francisco.
Member Image trurotraveler
1 review
Sep 2015
Transportation to and from went very smoothly...very informative.....a must see
Read trurotraveler's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image WEGL81
11 reviews
Sep 2015
A great once-in-a-lifetime type bucket list tour. Very interesting. Boat ride there and back was fine, with excellent views of San Francisco and the Golden Gate.
Read WEGL81's full Celebrity Infinity cruise review
Provider: Alcatraz Cruises
Member Image tipitina
4 reviews
Sep 2015
Alcatraz is worth seeing, but do it yourself, you don't need a Princess excursion. You pick up the cruise to Alcatraz from a pier that is right next to the ship. Just walk over and buy a ticket. $30.
Read tipitina's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image HouseRulz
2 reviews
May 2015
Do yourself a favor and go to Alcatraz at night. It was a very memorable experience with lots of extra goodies provided. Booking well in advance is a must!!!
Read HouseRulz's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image richard1s
12 reviews
May 2015
An interesting and memorable experience. It is very well done and well worth doing for a sense of history about this interesting landmark. Park staff is great.
Read richard1s's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Alacatraz Tours
Member Image crcaldwell
5 reviews
May 2015
Princess fumbled the logistics. Their price is four time cost that one would pay by booking one's self. Learning experience for us! Alcatraz is fascinating but crowded and crumbling before our eyes. Your tax dollars at work!
Read crcaldwell's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image cambriah
2 reviews
May 2015
The Princess representative did not show up. Alcatraz was very interesting and it is one of the sights we wanted to see during our first visit to San Francisco
Read cambriah's full Golden Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Markanddonna
2 reviews
Apr 2015
Be sure to book far in advance- check the website about 6 weeks out. The tours are very well done and the historical aspects are very good. Nice job, NPS.
Read Markanddonna's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image gibsonsgolfer
5 reviews
Apr 2015
I have been there before many years ago but my wife has never had a chance to explore. We were on a wait list for the ship's tour so I booked quite easily online. The cost was less than $30 PP and we enjoyed the prison's guided audio tour of the place.
Read gibsonsgolfer's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Alcatraz tours
Member Image World Gallery
12 reviews
Not Rated
May 2013
Extremely interesting! I wasn't sure what to expect but very much enjoyed it. Views from the Island are great. Bring a jacket because it was much cooler there.
Read World Gallery's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image NJBeast
3 reviews
Sep 2012
Almost missed this one. Immigration held up the entire ship for 3 hours. We were scheduled on the 1:45 ferry to Alcatraz but immigration finally let us off just after 2PM. The people at Alcatraz cruises were very accommodating and got us on the very next ferry. An extremely interesting and informative historical tour.
Read NJBeast's full Celebrity Millennium cruise review
Provider: Alcatraz cruises
Member Image CarlyJax
4 reviews
Sep 2012
They could have left off Sausalito and taken us straight to the boat to Alcatraz. We left at 9:15 didn't get back til 4:00 and the only place for lunch was on the ferry to Alcatraz. Our guide left a lot to be desired. We enjoyed it over all but it's kind of been there done the t-shirt. The next day, we got off the boat and took a hop on hop off bus...much much better guide and saw a lot more of San Fransisco. It COLD bring a coat or sweatshirt...skip Ghirardelli Square.
Read CarlyJax's full Disney Wonder cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image Ntfc1977
1 review
Aug 2012
Booked six months before our trip because they sell out quickly and don't operate every day, certainly if you want an evening tour. Ours was moved from evening to daytime because they had a function on! Best thing to do in San Fran, and interesting boat trip out with great views of the city too. Get your tickets online with Alcatraz tours and pick up your tickets when you get there.
Read Ntfc1977's full Sea Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image sckal
1 review
Sep 2011

don't miss the opportunity to see this amazing place (Alcatraz). I would not mind having a San Francisco city drive replacing the Sausolito drive for the 2nd half of this trip.

Read sckal's full Sapphire Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.