Montego Bay Plantation Tour Excursion Reviews

Montego Bay Plantation Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
If you need a break from the beach, visit the manicured plantation grounds in Montego Bay. Taste the local culture, literally-- on many tours, visitors sample honey, sugarcane and pineapple.
Member Image May B
6 reviews
Nov 2016
The plantation great house we visited was owned by Elizabeth Barrett Browning's grandfather, when he was the sugar baron. All kinds of historic things in the home. As somebody else said, not as scary as Rose Hall! Still, there is one photo that includes a ghost in it.
Read May B's full Crystal Serenity cruise review
Provider: Crystal Cruises
Member Image MortKahn
1 review
Sep 2016
We purchased this excursion on Jamaica directly from Carnival. The Croydon Plantation staff must have messed up on the total count of people who elected to take this trip because there was a mad rush to hire a third bus to accommodate all of the people. As luck would have it, we ended up on the third bus. The trip started 1.25 hrs later than the scheduled time. Keep this in mind when reading the rest of the story. After the plantation, which was fun in the rain, we started back to the ship and no less than 4 mins after departing, that third bus…. The one we were on… Well it over heated and broke down in the middle of a small stream that crosses over the single lane road which has moon like craters every 10 - 15 feet. After about 30 mins, we got the privilege of walking into the stream to help push the bus out of the water and into someone’s driveway which was up a muddy dirt hill. Heavy bus up a muddy dirt hill. Remember that as you read forward. Now we have a mass of people from three buses trying to fit into two physical busses. No attempt to request another bus. I got the stairwell of the bus and believe you – me, this road is 1.45+ hrs back to the ship with potholes the size of small VW beetles. This was a back breaking trip to be sure as we were sitting on the hard floor of the stairwell with no AC because the bus was so over loaded. Not wanting to stand in yet another 2-3 hrs long line at cruise ship customer service desk when we did get back to the ship, I elected to wait to contact Carnival Cruise Line to request some type of refund for this excursion. When I was back home, I contact Carnival and they researched the event and came back to me about 4 hours alter and stated that they had provided the excursion and that they would not be offering any type of refund; not even 10% This should tell you about the company you are dealing with. They simply want your money; they charge you for breathing air on the ship and they when they or their partners cannot perform what they should be doing and what you have paid for; they won’t even make a gesture to refund some portion of your funds. Take this excursion at your own risk. You may not make it back to the ship on time!
Read MortKahn's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image irisdeane
1 review
Sep 2016
Beautiful scenery, great guide. Yummy pineapple and bananas to sample. Nice change from the beach excursions.
Read irisdeane's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image IAkrs
1 review
May 2016
Very informative and enjoyable.
Read IAkrs's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Jagged.Shard
1 review
Nov 2015
Visited Croydon Plantation and, although it was a 90-minute trip to get there, we found this to be very interesting trip through the different parts of the island. All the people were very friendly and the lunch provide at the plantation was excellent mix of local dishes - thoroughly enjoyable!!
Read Jagged.Shard's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image CruzinTampa
1 review
Oct 2015
This was a good tour of an old plantation whose 18th century owner was known as the White Which of Rose Hall. Scary story with duty-free shopping opportunity at the end of the tour. The guide offers to take you "downtown" after the official tour is over for an additional fee.
Read CruzinTampa's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image julianne16
1 review
Feb 2015
We went to the Croydon Plantation. It was a fairly long bus ride to get there (1.5 hours). Our tour guide wasn't bad but she wasn't good either. She was silent for much of the trip when I thought she would be sharing information about Jamaica in general. However, when we got the plantation itself, we had a new tour guide (Winston) who was much more informative and friendly. We got to try lots of different items grown on the plantation and at the end of the tour, we were fed lunch which consisted of jerk chicken, rice and peas, and pickled cucumber. It was delicious. They also had sodas and Red Stripe beer available for $3.00.
Read julianne16's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image KFMCruiser
1 review
Jul 2013

Enjoyed the coffee plantation tour and the meal provided. Very knowledgeable guides. The Blue Mountain Coffee was wonderful and my husband enjoyed the Dolly Parton Mountains. Got some great gifts for the grandchildren from a local craftswomen. Reasonably priced.

Read KFMCruiser's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Keva
3 reviews
Apr 2012
We thoroughly enjoyed our day at Croyden Plantation, however the trip up and back was harrowing. Our driver seemed to drive very recklessly and we felt like we had barely escaped having several collisions. This may have been due to the short amount of time allowed for the trip but didn't lessen our anxiety.
Read Keva's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Love2gocruise
1 review
Apr 2012
Great guide on the ride up and back. Learned alot about Jamaica and helped take our minds off of the roads and crazy drivers. The plantation was beautiful and situated in the mountains. Learned much about various plants and trees. Sampled fresh pineapple and other fruit grown there. A good lunch was also provided. I think good value for the money ($69)
Read Love2gocruise's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image xriva
8 reviews
Dec 2006

We visited the Appleton Rum Estate. The tour guide was wonderful and the Estate tour was informative and fun - and the rum tasting was unlimited! However, it is a two to two and a half hour bus ride from Montego Bay to the distillery, so that's almost five hours of travel time on steep, narrow, sometimes bumpy roads. As much fun as the tour was - you learn a lot about distilling rum - I'm not sure it was worth the travel time.

The Appleton Estate is in a valley surrounded by mountains in the middle of the island, so there probably isn't a good way to get there from either port, which is unfortunate, because it was a very good tour. The included "snack" was a reasonable lunch - chicken and rice with salad. The tasting was at the end - the tour guide put out bottles of rum, reminded people not to overdo it, and left. However, the thought of a two-hour bus ride with a buzz was enough to keep everyone from overdoing it.

Read xriva's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?