Cabo San Lucas Whale Watching Excursion Reviews

Cabo San Lucas Whale Watching cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Naturalist guides lead you on an adventure in search of the gray whale as it navigates the waters from Alaska to the Sea of Cortez on the longest migration of any mammal.
Member Image jrlm59
1 review
Feb 2017
Staff was great. Free drinks and snacks. Not to many whales on this one but still fun!
Read jrlm59's full Carnival Miracle cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image 1MOTxn
1 review
Feb 2017
Pleasant boat ride to search for whales. We did see a few but couldn't convince the whales to breach the surface and put on a show for us.
Read 1MOTxn's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image SusieKIslandGirl
2 reviews
Jan 2017
This was a fun trip. It started off with a rum punch at 9:30 in the morning with margaritas to follow and finally lots of whale sightings (and no, they weren't pink elephants after all the cocktails). The crew was very good at pointing out where the whales were and a good narrative on the whales and their habits and migration. Chips and granola bars were also provided. It was a great excursion.
Read SusieKIslandGirl's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Caliope
1 review
Jan 2017
The Pirate Ship and pirates were fun and we saw MANY whales up close and personal. The snacks were also delicious
Read Caliope's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image vmom
6 reviews
Jan 2017
Saw a lot of humpbacks. Staff was great.
Read vmom's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image topcat326
2 reviews
Jan 2017
Well organised and we saw quite a few whales.
Read topcat326's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Brabus08
5 reviews
Jan 2017
We always try to go whale watching when we can and this was a great experience being so close to the two humpback whales we saw from our Zodiac R.I.B.
Read Brabus08's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Gardener222
8 reviews
Dec 2016
New ship, great crew and lots of snacks & drinks. We saw whales. Everyone commented on the cleanliness of the ship.
Read Gardener222's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image asksuzie
1 review
Dec 2016
excellent tour guide- not far from ship. discount if paid with cash, tracks marine wild life and shares with other scientists- send download of pictures from your tour so you can watch whales and not have to worry about taking pictures-excellent in every way!
Read asksuzie's full Carnival Miracle cruise review
Provider: whale watch cabo
Member Image ttempl69
1 review
Dec 2016
Excursion was fun but never got very close to whales saw nothing more then water spouts and tails.
Read ttempl69's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Jonandbeth
1 review
Dec 2016
We used a TripAdvisor rated company that was great. 3 hour boat ride. We were lucky to see three whales breaching the water and treating us to an amazing performance.
Read Jonandbeth's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image birdie55
1 review
Dec 2016
Small boat with oceanographer guide. Boat Abel to move quickly to whale sightings.
Read birdie55's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Whale Watch Cabo
Member Image fedexpackage
8 reviews
Dec 2016
Great excursion with a nice boat and great crew Offered great views of the arch but only saw aouple of whales
Read fedexpackage's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image SomethingFuntoo13
1 review
Dec 2016
Super. Lot of whales!!!
Read SomethingFuntoo13's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Ree5676
1 review
Dec 2016
This was the only port I planned an excursion directly. We planned a Zodiac Adventure Tour with Whale Watch Cabo. The tour included a visit to the Arch, Sea Lion Colony, Lovers Beach, and Lands End. We had a short 5-10 min walk to the other side of the marina to check in. The zodiac ride was very smooth! We saw and followed a few sets of humpback whales. We saw a few breaches and flukes. My favorite set was a mama and her baby. I got the best pictures and video of mama breaching in front of the Arch! We were having so much fun the time flew by! Wishing we didn't have to be back on board by 1:30pm and had more time to spend there! Defiantly worth the $89
Read Ree5676's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Whale Watch Cabo
Member Image Boschmann
1 review
Dec 2016
Again we had a short stop from 7am to 2pm (tendered), so several CC roll call members independently booked a 2.5 hour covered boat excursion with Whale Watch Cabo. WWC is located an easy walk along the port perimeter, the office is on the backside of the front shops and could use a sign. We had 12 people on our clean, newer boat. The only downside is that government whale disturbance laws are not enforced and it was a bit of wild west mentality with competing tour companies. Our guide was obviously well educated in the marine biology field and would not infringe on the whales space, unfortunately other competing ships didn't care and would practically hit the whales trying to get close. WWC also emailed us photos after the cruise.
Read Boschmann's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Whale Watch Cabo
Member Image wangfam
3 reviews
Feb 2016
Very much fun riding pontoon boats out to see the whales. A bit bumpy, which we thought was fun!
Read wangfam's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Stanf3
1 review
Jan 2016
Nice boat ride and saw a few whales from afar. Beautiful coast line made up for the lack of whales. The complementary drinks were very diluted, in my opinion.
Read Stanf3's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image blustig77
2 reviews
Dec 2015
i booked whale watching thru princess, we boarded a big catamaran which only had our group on it so there was plenty of room to see. they had an open bar and served appetizers. we saw whales right away once we left the port area, it was a 2 hour trip and well worth it
Read blustig77's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Girl7Seas
1 review
Dec 2015
We were on a large boat that offered plenty of room to move around. We stayed on site where two humpback whales were located for almost two hours. Our guide was knowledgeable about the whales and was constantly telling us what the whales were doing through their movements.
Read Girl7Seas's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Shore Cruiser
1 review
Mar 2015
A nice large boat provided good stability on the rough sea of Cortez, but it was well worth it! Saw several humpback whales and their calves, and also a pod of Pilot whales. Fantastic views of Lands End and Lovers Beach. Good value, we were out on the water quite a while. Warning -- tequila punches were VERY strong!
Read Shore Cruiser's full Legend of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Carolly
1 review
Mar 2015

Very enjoyable and we did see whales. Was well worth the cost.

Read Carolly's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image SharkieRools
1 review
Feb 2015

Whale watching through Princess, saw many whales - some really up close! Also saw the Arch, Lover's Beach, and other sites. Free beer and margaritas the entire trip and chips/salsa on the way back.

Read SharkieRools's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Terre
15 reviews
Feb 2015

Saw many whales!

Read Terre's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Whale Watch Cabo
Member Image ghough
3 reviews
Feb 2015

Excursion: Cabo San Lucas CSLS 0611 Deluxe Coastal Cruise & Whale Watching Cruise 2 1/2 hrs. on board the150 PASSENGER CATAMARAN CABO MAR. Try getting on among the first of your fellow passengers, go straight to the top deck and forward. By sitting facing forward rather than towards the stern, you've an excellent vantage from which to lean upon the forward railing--AND YOUR LAP, LEGS, AND FEET are in the shade. The crew was splendid in passing among us numerous times offering free Rum Punches, Margaritas, colas, and water. Later, as the voyage was winding down, we were offered bags of potato chips and cookies. Neither the sea, nor the crew nor the whales could have been more hospitable. Our trip was Feb 27, near the end of, but clearly during the much anticipated whale migration from their birthing home to points north. In editing my pictures for our DVD of our trip, I had to trash over 50-70 pics of whales surfacing, rolling, breathing and slipping beneath the surface. Trust them when they say that from _____ month to March, expect to see whales. WHAT A WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE.

Read ghough's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?