Belize City Lamanai Mayan Ruins Excursion Reviews

Belize City Lamanai Mayan Ruins cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Lamanai is the site of one of the more interesting and picturesque Mayan ruins. Most of the area was not excavated until the mid-1970s, but investigation and restoration efforts were concentrated on the Mask Temple, pictured here.
Member Image NJfamilyvacation
1 review
Nov 2016
A good option for sure!!!! THOUGH bus is 1 hour (fine), River boat is 1 hour (a bit too long) and plenty of time at the ruins and definitely great ruins...and lots of howler monkeys which was very cool. Lunch is definitely not kid friendly if your kids are picky so pack accordingly.
Read NJfamilyvacation's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image johndlay
2 reviews
Oct 2016
Tour was great, but a/c out on bus, so the ride to/from was hot
Read johndlay's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image cdstout
1 review
Sep 2016
We loved Belize!! I have read other reviews saying Belize is their least favorite place. We booked a Mayan temple tour with Lamanai Belize Tours. This is a local family operated tour company - run by brothers and their wives. We made sure to get the first tender off the Getaway which was easy because you can book your tender using one of the ships flat screen kiosks which are all over. Do it on your first day at sea. The trip is an hour long van ride, then another hour on a jungle riverboat ride before they take you on a guided tour of Lamanai. What we loved about Lamanai was all of the excavated temples and residential areas are surrounded by jungle so in between you are walking through canopies of huge palm trees, howler monkeys, and still covered ancient ruins. Only 5% of the ancient city has excavated. They take you back on the riverboat then you eat a wonderful home cooked meal of curried chicken, rice and salsa. We made it back to port by 3pm with plenty of time to roam around a shop in port.
Read cdstout's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Lamanai Belize Tours
Member Image Mom of 6
1 review
Sep 2016
We went on the extreme excursion which included a speed boat ride to Lamanai. The ruins are incredible. We wish we'd had more time to climb them all and to explore more, but another family's ship was leaving an hour before ours, and we were cut a little short. Still, we loved our day.
Read Mom of 6's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Island Marketing
Member Image jonjan92
1 review
Sep 2016
This is an excursion I would not do again. Too much time spent traveling to the ruins and back. We spent probably 4 hours of the day traveling and only and hour and a half at the ruins. The ruins were good, just too much traveling.
Read jonjan92's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image JessicaP
1 review
Aug 2016
Large group of people. Long bus ride and boat ride but well worth it to see the ruins - last of the ruins you can still climb on from what I heard. Bus driver, and ruins guide very knowledgeable. AC worked fine on the bus despite what people said. Good way to see Belize countryside. Be prepared for rain this time of year though on the boat! We got drenched but luckily it stopped by the time we arrived to the ruins. Kudos to the drivers for driving through the rain to get us there.
Read JessicaP's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image dcipjr
1 review
Aug 2016
The ruins were very impressive, and Lamanai Belize Tours did a great job of showing us them. I am not going to lie, we got back after the 4:00 "last tender" time, and I was stressed out about missing the ship—but we didn't miss the ship, there were plenty of tenders left. Still, this was a sour point in an otherwise great day.
Read dcipjr's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Lamanai Belize Tours
Member Image NACL
1 review
Jul 2016
Very informative
Read NACL's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image dfriise48
2 reviews
May 2016
This is a family operation and we honestly have mixed feelings about it. Our guide Javier was extremely knowledgeable and friendly and the lunch provided at the end of the tour was very good (chicken, rice, beans, slaw, plantains, fresh fruit and water or soda). It's no fault of the tour operators but it is a bit of a trek to and from the ruins. Javier met us at the port and we then had a one hour van ride (at least it was newer and had functioning seat belts and AC) to their compound at the river where we transferred to an aluminum flat bottomed boat for about an hour on the water. Unfortunately with all the travel time you're only left with 45 minutes to an hour at the site. I'm glad we visited it but not sure it was worth all the transport time to get there and back.
Read dfriise48's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Lamanai Belize Tours
Member Image randycfl
1 review
Apr 2016
You take a LONG (nearly 1.5 hours) bus ride to a speedboat that takes about 45 minutes to get to the ruins. The speedboat is a lot of fun and went really fast through the river. The ruins were really amazing. Some friends have said ruins they have seen turned out to be just piles of rocks. This is definitely not that. this is legit. you get maybe an hour and a half at the ruins then go back to where the speedboat meets the bus for lunch. we had chicken, rice and peas, coleslaw bread pudding and water and juice. they also have beers and cokes to buy. if you want to do ruins, do this one.
Read randycfl's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image cruisecriket
1 review
Apr 2016
Boat broke down on the way to the ruins, time at the ruins was limited as a result. We were rushed through the ruins. Lunch was at 2:30 PM, after returning from river boat ride, too late if one had a 7:00 dinner. Lunch was horrible and they serve you one tiny piece of chicken if you don't ask for more, and if you do there was that look. Most other independent excursions to the ruins that I saw had bottled water and had lunch on site at the ruins. Did I say it was way too expensive?
Read cruisecriket's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image TomNick
1 review
Apr 2016
Nice tour (very hot that day) and you get to climb one of the ruins. We saw howler monkeys and tarantula's. Boat ride was nice too but unfortunately we could not take as much pics of the wildlife we saw on the boat ride as it was quite fast. We are animal lovers so we could have done with a slower ride.
Read TomNick's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Venice Cruising
1 review
Mar 2016
AWESOME - about an hour bus ride with a very informative guide describing life in Belize, to boat launch where cookies and drinks were served. Approximately approximately 30 minutes by boat, some of which was at high speed and great fun. Boat driver and guide knew where to see wildlife, and would slow down to point out various plants, birds and animals. We had about an hour, I think, at the ruins with an excellent guide, then back to the boat. Lunch was served when we got back to the boat launch - BBQ chicken and all the fixings. Then back by bus to the ship - I think most of us took a nap on the way back!
Read Venice Cruising's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Cruzonaround
1 review
Mar 2016
This was an exceptional tour!!
Read Cruzonaround's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image kjames150
1 review
Mar 2016
We loved the tour of the ruins. It was amazing and the kids had a blast on it. The boat ride was a bit scary, but the kids loved it. The food was ok, and the tour guides were very nice.
Read kjames150's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image comcox
6 reviews
Jan 2016
In Belize City I signed up for the Lamanai Ruins and River Safari as I figured that would be the best chance to see birds. Our tour was the third one out on the tenders and then we were directed to a bus that was a bit late picking us up. I loved the river boat ride even with the light showers and we did pause to see some birds on the way to the ruins 25 miles upstream. Our ruin tour was a bit brief, but we did see what we came to see and then it was back in the boat and a fast and wet ride back to the restaurant for lunch--a very fast 20 minute lunch as we were running late by this point. We arrived back at the dock 5 minutes before the last tender was scheduled to leave and had to run. This was disappointing as many of us wanted to visit the chocolate shop or do other shopping and we thought the tour would be back earlier.
Read comcox's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Jeep146
1 review
Nov 2015
Expect a long bus trip and boat ride to the site. Our guide was very good, explaining the culture and history of the country. We made several stops on the water when any animals were seen. The Mayan ruins were interesting with plenty of photo op's. We had lunch which was good. This excursion is not good if you want something fast paced. It's rather a educational excursion, if you want to learn about the Mayan culture.
Read Jeep146's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ldedier
1 review
Sep 2015
This was a very nice trip, we enjoyed the day. The biggest thing was they knowledge of the guide was simply outstanding. It was one of those places I can say I have been too.
Read ldedier's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Eco Tours
Member Image texhusky
2 reviews
Sep 2015
About 2 1/4 hours travel by bus and boat to get to Lamanai but worth the experience.
Read texhusky's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Island Marketing
Member Image courtneyk1221
1 review
Jul 2015
Lamanai and New River Safari- LOVED IT! Be sure you are prepared for a 1.5 hour(ish) bus ride, and 1.5 hr boat trip to the ruins. The boat trip back is only about 45 minutes. This was really great tour! The tour guide was very informative all the way through Belize and provided a lot of insight into the city. The boat ride was amazing! Saw a few animals, spider monkey, iguanas, etc. Once you arrive at Lamanai, be prepared for a bit of a walk. This excursion was pretty physical actually, but that is probably because we decided to climb the ruins. WHICH WERE AMAZING! This was my husband's birthday and he absolutely LOVED IT! Great excursion, great guides, great food!
Read courtneyk1221's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image tommyrk
1 review
May 2015
long ride, short time at the ruins but still worth the trip.
Read tommyrk's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image mironosica
1 review
Apr 2015
Bus was not too conditioned. Tendering boat was crowded. But finally it was OK. Roads in Belize are too dusty. There were not too much comfort in the bus. We drove one hour and a half , and when we arrived I was too tired.
Read mironosica's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image snafyensid
6 reviews
Apr 2015
Allen, with Explore Belize Tours, was incredible. This was definitely the highlight of our cruise. The Mayan ruins were spectacular and his knowledge and skill in explaining them was outstanding.
Read snafyensid's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image DMH15
2 reviews
Apr 2015
We did the ruins and riverboat ride that was seven hours. As I mentioned in the main part of my review the only frustrating thing was getting back much later than we anticipated. That cause some anxiety. However, the excursion itself was wonderful. I always marvel at seeing ruins that give a glimpse into a civilization. The riverboat ride was really fun too. Again, the staff and guides were all top-notch.
Read DMH15's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image scottmeredith
1 review
Apr 2015
The tour begins with an hour long bus ride with narration from the guide. The narration was very informative, made the time go by quickly, and added value to the excursion. Once you arrive at the restaurant/ boat location, you load the boats and head for an hour ride down the river...nothing too spectacular here as most of the ride is at about 30 miles an hour. The ruins themselves are worth seeing if you like history. I would recommend visiting. We then reversed the process. loaded the boats, drove for an hour to the restaurant. Ate a tasty local lunch and boarded the bus for an hour trip back to the port. 7 hour excursion..so be prepared
Read scottmeredith's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?