Belize City Lamanai Mayan Ruins Excursion Reviews

Belize City Lamanai Mayan Ruins cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Lamanai is the site of one of the more interesting and picturesque Mayan ruins. Most of the area was not excavated until the mid-1970s, but investigation and restoration efforts were concentrated on the Mask Temple, pictured here.
Member Image BillTrek
2 reviews
Apr 2017
AWESOME! Great river cruise to the ruins. The ruins were very interesting and the guide was terrific. Then a great lunch after we cruised back down the river.
Read BillTrek's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image EffieJean
1 review
Apr 2017
very nice tour, wonderful guides for this tour. Enjoyed the history and heritage and the knowledge the guides had on the subject.
Read EffieJean's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image sbmommaut
1 review
Apr 2017
Armondo was our guide and he was great! The ruins were amazing and the boat ride there was fun. We got to see Howler monkeys which was awesome. The food and rum coconuts were really good.
Read sbmommaut's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image hogan8er
3 reviews
Apr 2017
hopped on a bus for an hour and took a river boat ride for 30 minutes. Long but so worth it. The Mayan ruins are amazing and the guide explained all the history behind it. Wild monkeys hopping around in the trees overhead as we hiked through the forest from one ruin to another. Belizian lunch was served after and it tasted amazing!!
Read hogan8er's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image AlbuquerqueRealtor
2 reviews
Mar 2017
A very long day but very enjoyable and amazing culturally. Belize port is a tender so it takes longer to get off he ship. The bus ride was an hour and 20 minutes and then the river boat ride was 40 minutes.
Read AlbuquerqueRealtor's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image jfkimball
1 review
Mar 2017
Tour included the River safari, which made it even better. Compared to Tulem in Cozumel, these were more impressive ruins. very knowledgeable tour guides.
Read jfkimball's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image chrisjordansr
1 review
Mar 2017
Although there was a delay in transportation dur to 1 hour time change. Excellent Job from driver, tour guides, and also lunch.
Read chrisjordansr's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image captaincupcake64
1 review
Feb 2017
Excellent excursion. Friendly and educational.
Read captaincupcake64's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image africanqueen
1 review
Feb 2017
Lamani and The New River Safari Although the bus ride is long, it was an interested ride and our guide Reyna's commentary made the trip go by fast. The boat ride, although lengthy was interesting. We saw quite an array of flora and fauna. the ruins are terrific and our guide timed getting us to each stop so that our group was the only one in that part at the time. The lunch provided was very good.
Read africanqueen's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Snixies
1 review
Jan 2017
More magnificent ruins that you could climb with yet more spectacular views. Riverboat ride to get there was on a high speed launch with a magnificent pilot who knew to a nicety just how fast he can take the many river bends - he could also spot wildlife despite flying along and could bring you to a stop immediately so you didn't miss anything!
Read Snixies's full Thomson Dream cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image ladydi123
1 review
Jan 2017
Elvis was our guide and knew his stuff. Kept it interesting. Again very long tour with no time after to walk around the port. On the up side, I saved shopping money. Lol
Read ladydi123's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Nottingham cruiser
2 reviews
Jan 2017
The Mayan Ruins are excellent, the trip there is not very exciting and the lunch was poor.
Read Nottingham cruiser's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image MLevin
2 reviews
Jan 2017
Fabulous. Highly recommend. Edgar and Gion were fantastic. Ruins were amazing. We selected Lamani and the Amazing River Cruise. FANTASTIC. Again because we booked this through the cruise ship, we were on the first tender off the ship. Everything was organized to a tee. Once off the tender, we met our guides Edgar and Gion who escorted us to a nice air-conditioned bus. The bus ride to the river is an hour long. While not tremendously scenic, it was informative as Edgar explained the history and culture of the Mayan people. It was wild driving in Belize. I am not quite sure there are speed limits or rules on the road. Never felt unsafe…but it was a crazy drive. We then arrived at the dock were we boarded a speedboat that took us on a tour (45 minutes each way) down the river to the Lamani dock. The boat ride was very interesting to see the landscape, birds and wildlife. We even saw an enormous black crocodile. Lamani was stunning. Edgar and Gion gave us great information about the ruins. We were even able to climb to the top of the temple. Unfortunately our tour ran late and rather than having a leisure lunch back at the dock, we had to take our food to go and eat on the bus. I am sure there will be others on the tour who will complain about it…but I would much rather eat my lunch on the bus than risk not making the tender back to the ship. We had about 30 minutes to spare to board the LAST tender. So again……book through the ship and you will be guaranteed not to miss the ship. Great tour…highly recommends it and hope you get Edgar and Gion as your tour guides.
Read MLevin's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image cparrish001
1 review
Jan 2017
We were glad that we booked the tour through the ship as we were given tender preference and were told that the ship would wait for us if the longer tour was late. This was a long day with a 1 hour bus ride, 45 minute high speed river boat ride and a brief tour of the ruins. The tour included a lunch and we returned on the boat and bus to Belize City. We all enjoyed this tour.
Read cparrish001's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image bookmomoftwins
1 review
Dec 2016
We learned so much about Belize and the Mayan culture on this excursion! We rode in an air conditioned school type bus for an hour to get to the eco-park, but the time flew by because our guides pointed out wildlife and landmarks and told us all about Belize as we traveled. Then we took a speed boat ride from the eco-park to the ruins, which were breathtaking. The guides led us through the ruin sites sharing information about the Mayans and also the plants and trees we saw. We also had time to explore and in some cases, climb, the ruins ourselves. The speed boat then took us back to the eco park where we had a yummy lunch of local delicacies, and then the bus ride back again. The guides had so much pride in and knowledge about their culture and seeing the different landscapes and areas of Belize beyond the city was fascinating. It could not have gone better.
Read bookmomoftwins's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Aleix.
1 review
Dec 2016
We had so much fun learning about these phenomenal ruins.
Read Aleix.'s full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image SteamboatWillie118
7 reviews
Dec 2016
If you have a cardiovascular condition or physical disability - be careful. We had to step through canopy crossbars into the riverboat, which proved difficult for several people. At Lamanai, it's a rainforest, so it WILL rain. Take a goretex jacket, and if asthma, an inhaler, since the very high humidity paired with the walking may make breathing more difficult. I wore high traction volleyball sneakers, which helped on the at times pretty slippery steps and paths. If it rains, you can only go to the second level of the Big Temple, not all the way to the top, for safety reasons. Since there are a lot of groups, you don't get pushed, but you don't idle by the sites. The guides explain the background/history. More interesting than Lamanai to me was seeing every-day Belizan countryside. I've lived in 3rd world countries, so I don't go sightseeing and expect Diamonds International. Very interesting cultural mix in Belize.
Read SteamboatWillie118's full Oosterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Sue Beers
1 review
Dec 2016
We had "Fat Boy" as our tour guide. That is how he introduced himself because that belly shows that he is healthy. He was great! Lots of fun, and entertaining. The tour was very good. You take a short bus ride to a boat. the boat ride is about an hour each way to the ruin site. You walk through the jungle into the ruin site, where again you can climb the temples. We saw a large group of Howler monkeys. Oh, - and don't stand under the monkeys.
Read Sue Beers's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image pegmor
2 reviews
Dec 2016
My daughter had a great time on the excursion! climbing the pyramid was fun!
Read pegmor's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image kareylacroix
1 review
Dec 2016
Don't do the ruins in Belize. 6 hours (2 boats and 1 bus) of travel for 1 hour of ruins. Waste of time. Guides were great but that is where it ends. It would have been better to rent a vehicle and drive there ourselves. Would have been done in half the time and would have been able to spend more than an hour at the ruins (didn't find that out until after a LONG day in the rain).
Read kareylacroix's full Empress of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image ifly737
4 reviews
Dec 2016
Nice family run outfit. Boat ride is fun, one hour van ride on unimproved roads not so much. All in all Julian and Javier, brothers, did a great job.
Read ifly737's full Riviera cruise review
Provider: Lamanai Tours
Member Image NJfamilyvacation
1 review
Nov 2016
A good option for sure!!!! THOUGH bus is 1 hour (fine), River boat is 1 hour (a bit too long) and plenty of time at the ruins and definitely great ruins...and lots of howler monkeys which was very cool. Lunch is definitely not kid friendly if your kids are picky so pack accordingly.
Read NJfamilyvacation's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image johndlay
2 reviews
Oct 2016
Tour was great, but a/c out on bus, so the ride to/from was hot
Read johndlay's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image cdstout
1 review
Sep 2016
We loved Belize!! I have read other reviews saying Belize is their least favorite place. We booked a Mayan temple tour with Lamanai Belize Tours. This is a local family operated tour company - run by brothers and their wives. We made sure to get the first tender off the Getaway which was easy because you can book your tender using one of the ships flat screen kiosks which are all over. Do it on your first day at sea. The trip is an hour long van ride, then another hour on a jungle riverboat ride before they take you on a guided tour of Lamanai. What we loved about Lamanai was all of the excavated temples and residential areas are surrounded by jungle so in between you are walking through canopies of huge palm trees, howler monkeys, and still covered ancient ruins. Only 5% of the ancient city has excavated. They take you back on the riverboat then you eat a wonderful home cooked meal of curried chicken, rice and salsa. We made it back to port by 3pm with plenty of time to roam around a shop in port.
Read cdstout's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Lamanai Belize Tours
Member Image Mom of 6
1 review
Sep 2016
We went on the extreme excursion which included a speed boat ride to Lamanai. The ruins are incredible. We wish we'd had more time to climb them all and to explore more, but another family's ship was leaving an hour before ours, and we were cut a little short. Still, we loved our day.
Read Mom of 6's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Island Marketing

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?