Belize City Lamanai Mayan Ruins Excursion Reviews

Belize City Lamanai Mayan Ruins cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Lamanai is the site of one of the more interesting and picturesque Mayan ruins. Most of the area was not excavated until the mid-1970s, but investigation and restoration efforts were concentrated on the Mask Temple, pictured here.
Member Image JessicaP
1 review
Aug 2016
Large group of people. Long bus ride and boat ride but well worth it to see the ruins - last of the ruins you can still climb on from what I heard. Bus driver, and ruins guide very knowledgeable. AC worked fine on the bus despite what people said. Good way to see Belize countryside. Be prepared for rain this time of year though on the boat! We got drenched but luckily it stopped by the time we arrived to the ruins. Kudos to the drivers for driving through the rain to get us there.
Read JessicaP's full Norwegian Escape cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image NACL
1 review
Jul 2016
Very informative
Read NACL's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image dfriise48
2 reviews
May 2016
This is a family operation and we honestly have mixed feelings about it. Our guide Javier was extremely knowledgeable and friendly and the lunch provided at the end of the tour was very good (chicken, rice, beans, slaw, plantains, fresh fruit and water or soda). It's no fault of the tour operators but it is a bit of a trek to and from the ruins. Javier met us at the port and we then had a one hour van ride (at least it was newer and had functioning seat belts and AC) to their compound at the river where we transferred to an aluminum flat bottomed boat for about an hour on the water. Unfortunately with all the travel time you're only left with 45 minutes to an hour at the site. I'm glad we visited it but not sure it was worth all the transport time to get there and back.
Read dfriise48's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Lamanai Belize Tours
Member Image randycfl
1 review
Apr 2016
You take a LONG (nearly 1.5 hours) bus ride to a speedboat that takes about 45 minutes to get to the ruins. The speedboat is a lot of fun and went really fast through the river. The ruins were really amazing. Some friends have said ruins they have seen turned out to be just piles of rocks. This is definitely not that. this is legit. you get maybe an hour and a half at the ruins then go back to where the speedboat meets the bus for lunch. we had chicken, rice and peas, coleslaw bread pudding and water and juice. they also have beers and cokes to buy. if you want to do ruins, do this one.
Read randycfl's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image cruisecriket
1 review
Apr 2016
Boat broke down on the way to the ruins, time at the ruins was limited as a result. We were rushed through the ruins. Lunch was at 2:30 PM, after returning from river boat ride, too late if one had a 7:00 dinner. Lunch was horrible and they serve you one tiny piece of chicken if you don't ask for more, and if you do there was that look. Most other independent excursions to the ruins that I saw had bottled water and had lunch on site at the ruins. Did I say it was way too expensive?
Read cruisecriket's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image TomNick
1 review
Apr 2016
Nice tour (very hot that day) and you get to climb one of the ruins. We saw howler monkeys and tarantula's. Boat ride was nice too but unfortunately we could not take as much pics of the wildlife we saw on the boat ride as it was quite fast. We are animal lovers so we could have done with a slower ride.
Read TomNick's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Venice Cruising
1 review
Mar 2016
AWESOME - about an hour bus ride with a very informative guide describing life in Belize, to boat launch where cookies and drinks were served. Approximately approximately 30 minutes by boat, some of which was at high speed and great fun. Boat driver and guide knew where to see wildlife, and would slow down to point out various plants, birds and animals. We had about an hour, I think, at the ruins with an excellent guide, then back to the boat. Lunch was served when we got back to the boat launch - BBQ chicken and all the fixings. Then back by bus to the ship - I think most of us took a nap on the way back!
Read Venice Cruising's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Cruzonaround
1 review
Mar 2016
This was an exceptional tour!!
Read Cruzonaround's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image kjames150
1 review
Mar 2016
We loved the tour of the ruins. It was amazing and the kids had a blast on it. The boat ride was a bit scary, but the kids loved it. The food was ok, and the tour guides were very nice.
Read kjames150's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image comcox
6 reviews
Jan 2016
In Belize City I signed up for the Lamanai Ruins and River Safari as I figured that would be the best chance to see birds. Our tour was the third one out on the tenders and then we were directed to a bus that was a bit late picking us up. I loved the river boat ride even with the light showers and we did pause to see some birds on the way to the ruins 25 miles upstream. Our ruin tour was a bit brief, but we did see what we came to see and then it was back in the boat and a fast and wet ride back to the restaurant for lunch--a very fast 20 minute lunch as we were running late by this point. We arrived back at the dock 5 minutes before the last tender was scheduled to leave and had to run. This was disappointing as many of us wanted to visit the chocolate shop or do other shopping and we thought the tour would be back earlier.
Read comcox's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Jeep146
1 review
Nov 2015
Expect a long bus trip and boat ride to the site. Our guide was very good, explaining the culture and history of the country. We made several stops on the water when any animals were seen. The Mayan ruins were interesting with plenty of photo op's. We had lunch which was good. This excursion is not good if you want something fast paced. It's rather a educational excursion, if you want to learn about the Mayan culture.
Read Jeep146's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ldedier
1 review
Sep 2015
This was a very nice trip, we enjoyed the day. The biggest thing was they knowledge of the guide was simply outstanding. It was one of those places I can say I have been too.
Read ldedier's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Eco Tours
Member Image texhusky
1 review
Sep 2015
About 2 1/4 hours travel by bus and boat to get to Lamanai but worth the experience.
Read texhusky's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Island Marketing
Member Image courtneyk1221
1 review
Jul 2015
Lamanai and New River Safari- LOVED IT! Be sure you are prepared for a 1.5 hour(ish) bus ride, and 1.5 hr boat trip to the ruins. The boat trip back is only about 45 minutes. This was really great tour! The tour guide was very informative all the way through Belize and provided a lot of insight into the city. The boat ride was amazing! Saw a few animals, spider monkey, iguanas, etc. Once you arrive at Lamanai, be prepared for a bit of a walk. This excursion was pretty physical actually, but that is probably because we decided to climb the ruins. WHICH WERE AMAZING! This was my husband's birthday and he absolutely LOVED IT! Great excursion, great guides, great food!
Read courtneyk1221's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image tommyrk
1 review
May 2015
long ride, short time at the ruins but still worth the trip.
Read tommyrk's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image mironosica
1 review
Apr 2015
Bus was not too conditioned. Tendering boat was crowded. But finally it was OK. Roads in Belize are too dusty. There were not too much comfort in the bus. We drove one hour and a half , and when we arrived I was too tired.
Read mironosica's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image snafyensid
6 reviews
Apr 2015
Allen, with Explore Belize Tours, was incredible. This was definitely the highlight of our cruise. The Mayan ruins were spectacular and his knowledge and skill in explaining them was outstanding.
Read snafyensid's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image DMH15
2 reviews
Apr 2015
We did the ruins and riverboat ride that was seven hours. As I mentioned in the main part of my review the only frustrating thing was getting back much later than we anticipated. That cause some anxiety. However, the excursion itself was wonderful. I always marvel at seeing ruins that give a glimpse into a civilization. The riverboat ride was really fun too. Again, the staff and guides were all top-notch.
Read DMH15's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image scottmeredith
1 review
Apr 2015
The tour begins with an hour long bus ride with narration from the guide. The narration was very informative, made the time go by quickly, and added value to the excursion. Once you arrive at the restaurant/ boat location, you load the boats and head for an hour ride down the river...nothing too spectacular here as most of the ride is at about 30 miles an hour. The ruins themselves are worth seeing if you like history. I would recommend visiting. We then reversed the process. loaded the boats, drove for an hour to the restaurant. Ate a tasty local lunch and boarded the bus for an hour trip back to the port. 7 hour excursion..so be prepared
Read scottmeredith's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image deetrvl
1 review
Mar 2015
If the bus air conditioning had worked on the return I probably would have given this a 5. It is a long tour but you know that when you book. I do think that the tour part of the boat ride could be skipped so you have more time to explore the ruins. I enjoyed it, and our guide Beans, very much.
Read deetrvl's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image kirkbays13
1 review
Mar 2015
It's a long way to Lamanai. It starts with an hour bus ride, which is hard to make great. Along the way we learned a lot about Belize from the tour guide though. Then there is an hour boat ride - this was a lot of fun. The river is beautiful, there is wildlife (a monkey ate out of our hands, though it almost seemed trained), and the boat goes quite fast, which is fun. Then there was a lunch (delicious) and the Mayan ruins themselves. The site is huge (800 temples) but you can only visit 3 temples (the rest are still unexcavated). Those 3 temples are well worth it though, and includes the biggest temple at the site, which is enormous and you can climb to the top off. Then the same boat and bus back. We got back in time to shop for 30 minutes and then make the last tender. A long excursion, but worth it.
Read kirkbays13's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: lamanaibelizetours.com
Member Image sue_sd
1 review
Mar 2015
Fabulous tour of the ruins! And they accommodated a vegetarian for lunch! The tour guides were the best, providing a lot of information during the bus rides, and stopping along the river to point out the various wildlife (mostly birds) and plants. One of the best shore excursions!
Read sue_sd's full Riviera cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image Straightlinespeed
1 review
Feb 2015
Had a long 1 hour bus ride to a nice little stop where we got lunch and then jumped on a boat for another 1 hour ride. The boat traveled at high speed as you went down the river. Taking the corners was so much fun! Once we got to the Mayan ruins we had a local give us the history of what they know of the Mayans. It was so neat to see buildings and structures so old! We also got to climb to the top of a 125 tall temple. It is not for someone afraid of heights. The steps are tall and steep. I would had rated it excellent but our guide only talked on the way to the temple about her country. On the way back she didnt say anything and it was a very long ride back.
Read Straightlinespeed's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Lu Bear
2 reviews
Feb 2015

Personal Private tour by superior tour guide (David is incoming president of national tour guide association). Just about perfect. Respectable pricing anytime but exceptional for private tour.

Read Lu Bear's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: FantaSea Belize
Member Image rosa@rose
1 review
Feb 2015

Fantastic. What a great excursion. Excellent guides. It starts with a boat ride to the ruins, than the visit and climing of the the mayan temple.
Of all the cruises we have taken this is one of the top excursions we have enjoyed.
The highlight of the cruise.

Read rosa@rose's full Vision of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?