Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Barbados Catamaran Tour Excursion Reviews

Barbados Catamaran Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Board a luxury catamaran and enjoy a relaxing day boating around the scenic island of Barbados.
Member Image Magicandbird
3 reviews
Jun 2014

Barbados was a lot of fun and were it not for the crowds at a couple of the snorkel stops, I would have scored this higher. We took the catamaran and snorkel tour which apparently there are a ton of companies offering the same tour with the same stops at the same time as part of their offering. We snorkeled at the shipwrecks where we got to see a wide variety of fish as well as several of the wrecks in the area. We then moved over to snorkel with the sea turtles and while there were not as many as I had hoped, it was a great treat to swim with these animals in such close proximity. We wrapped up as we anchored about 100 yards off shore for lunch and then you could stay on board and drink, swim to the beach or just swim around the catamaran. Whichever you chose you were sure to have a good time. Our crew was great and went out of their way to make sure everyone had a great time.

Read Magicandbird's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Cool Runnings
Member Image jstikkel
1 review
Jun 2014

Swimming with the turtles was neat but with 40 people crowding around 8-10 turtles, it was a bit over-rated. If 20 minutes out of 4 hours is spent swimming with the turtles, don't title it "Swimming with turtles." It was a catamaran ride and the turtles weren't even "guaranteed" according to our captain-LOL. Barbados always rains (for the past 3 times we've been) and the island offers nothing special. Don't even try to wander off because it's a bit scary....We had several people walk right up to us, talking really loudly and aggressively wanting to stop us (?) The unemployment rate isn't great and it's obvious with how we were approached...and how the prices kept going up when we asked.

Read jstikkel's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image indylee
1 review
Not Rated
Apr 2014

Great, this was one tour not two, we boarded the catamaran and were brought out to the area to swim with the turtles, we say about a half a dozen, the current was very strong but the crew helped us get back in, we then were brought to another spot to swim on the reef, music played while on board, lunch was served on board, chicken, fish, rice mac n cheese and a variety of drinks, everyone on board was happy!

Read indylee's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image lanzie99
2 reviews
Not Rated
Mar 2014

Nice sailboat and we stopped at two snorkeling spots. Then they did a BBQ onboard with lots and lots of yummy food along with any drink you wanted. Top notch operation and a very fun day.

Read lanzie99's full Riviera cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image russell jack
6 reviews
Jan 2014

Our final ship's excursion was a Sunset and Champagne catamaran sail in Barbados, and tho we never saw the sun set, and the quality of the champagne was questionable, it was still a good trip, and the crew were friendly and entertaining.

Read russell jack's full Azura cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image firstbadger
2 reviews
Oct 2013

We joined a catamaran tour and were treated well. We did two snorkeling sites...one with the turtles which was fun. Also treated to lunch and all you could eat and drink. Just a nice day other than our only rainy day...but didn't ruin it.

Read firstbadger's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image richnjca
2 reviews
Not Rated
Apr 2013
Catamaran "Elegance" - The excursion is every bit as the name implies - Elegant! We did the lunch cruise. We were picked up right by our cruise ship and taken straight away to Elegance. The boat is a wonderfully nice cat and would never be crowded even with the max they take on of only 14 passengers on board. I observed some of their "competition" sailing about, and those boats seemed like a mob scene. This is a great trip to take to get away from the still more crowded cruise trip excursions or to take as part of your on land vacation on Barbados. Crew tends to your every needs. Lunch was wonderful and you are never without a beverage if that is what you want. Of course, the whole object of the trip is snorkeling and that was great. We saw turtles, ship wrecks and great reefs and fish. Someone from Elegance is in the water to help those who need it. I know a lot of cruise ship passengers are concerned about getting back to the ship on time and hence take the cruise ship excursion as some sort of insurance. Coming from off of a ship, the duration of this lunch trip is perfect. No rush to get back to the ship. Timing allowed plenty of time to get back, shower and relax a bit before dinner. We've done lots of snorkeling around the world and let me say that in Barbados - this is the trip to take regardless of your age.
Read richnjca's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Elegance
Member Image JAN2355
2 reviews
Feb 2013
Picked up and taken a few minutes to the catamaran. Excellent crew. Complementary snorkelling gear, lifejacket and drinks. Free instruction on snorkelling if you want it. A member of the crew in the water with you all the time and helped you if you had any problems. Nice scenic ride down the coastline.
Read JAN2355's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image ChrissieB
2 reviews
Jan 2013
Tiami Catamaran trips - have used them before and they are lots of fun and very professional. They stayed alert to anyone in the water who became in need of assistance.
Read ChrissieB's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image gr8times4us
4 reviews
Jan 2013
In Barbados we independently booked the Elegance Catamaran luncheon tour for Saturday 2/2/13. We were warmly greeted by Sarah, Cally and Ashley. We were offered warm banana bread with coffee at the outdoor table, in case we hadn't had time for breakfast. Then off to the snorkeling sites. First we snorkeled with sea turtles. What an experience! Then they repositioned over several shipwrecks - where myriads of fish were hanging out. Cally was our captain & he was always smiling (who wouldn't like to have his job!) The cost, $100 per adult, included transportation to & from the catamaran, use of snorkel gear for the sea turtle & shipwreck sites, Bajan lunch consisting of chicken, flying fish, "cheesy" macaroni pie, rice casserole, a black bean salad and a tossed greens salad. If you had room, Sarah served a homemade moist carrot cake for dessert. Drinks (beer, wine, Rum punch, soda, water and a full bar setup for mixed drinks) served often by Mr. Ashley. The best part of this catamaran tour is that they limit it to only 14 passengers. Plenty of room either in the shade or in the sun, we personally liked the front trampoline area with the warm sun on our faces while having a cold beer! They also had very convenient steps in the back on both sides where you could get into and out of the water easily.
Read gr8times4us's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Elegance Catammaran
Member Image Madmaxcruisecritic
1 review
Dec 2012
great catamaran and staff was friendly; saw turtles and many fish snorkeling; great food and drinks
Read Madmaxcruisecritic's full Carnival Victory cruise review
Provider: Silver Moon
Member Image Phlyn
4 reviews
Dec 2012
Catamaran sailing cruise along the west coast with stops for snorkelling. sea was not clear on the day of the trip.
Read Phlyn's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image the bruin and the duck
1 review
Nov 2012
Loved Barbados-clearest turquoise waters with glistening powder white sand. Swam with turtles and snorkeled around shipwrecks. Booked catamaran tour with SilverMoon for 12 person catamaran ($115/per person which is more than the cruise ship price @ $99) but you get more space. Limited snorkeling time with turtles though. Relaxing day at sea and would recommend! Free wifi at the visitor center which is convenient! Carlisle Bay is a must visit if you don't do the catamaran just make your way there for the gorgeous beach.
Read the bruin and the duck's full Carnival Victory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image tcbfast
3 reviews
Nov 2012
An excellent catamaran with a wonderful and fun crew. Very helpful for us not so experienced snorkelers.
Read tcbfast's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Cool Runnings
Member Image seagypsea
1 review
Nov 2012
We took the 5 Star Tiami Catamaran excursion. I cannot say enough about how great it was. The crew was fantastic. We hugged the shoreline on part of the sail and the captain told us all about the homes and condos on the coast. On our snorkel stop we swam with the turtles. They served a lunch onboard of fish, bbq chicken, rice, a pasta casserole, bean salad and regular salad. In the morning when we boarded they had coffee, pineapple, orange and apple juice and water. After lunch we headed to a beach stop and they rolled out the liquor. The bar has these poles and the bottles hook upside down to it and it is dispensed from there. This is the first trip like this that had a real bar and would make anything you wanted and didn't have pitchers rum punch. They also put out lemon and chocolate cake. Our beach stop was fantastic - beautiful clear water. I didn't want the day to end. I most definitely recommend this tour.
Read seagypsea's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image roch342
2 reviews
Nov 2012
Again, booked thru Island Marketing Ltd, and very satisfactory. Two snorkel stops, first to see turtles (in the rain), then a wreck and reef which was enjoyable and plenty long. Ocean water was warmer that the rain! Drinks were available.
Read roch342's full Riviera cruise review
Provider: Barbados Catamaran Snorkeling Excursion
Member Image MizzouCardsPT
1 review
Jul 2012
Awesome experience with the Five Star Catamaran Sail and Snorkel with the Turtles booked through Carnival Cruise Lines. We had about 8-10 turtles swimming around us and we were allowed 45 minutes to swim with them. They also took us to a coral reef and we could snorkel there or lay on the beach. They served us lunch on board with an open bar after snorkeling was over. Then we took a 45 minute narrated tour back to the boat. I would do this excursion again!
Read MizzouCardsPT's full Carnival Victory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image LarCourt
2 reviews
Jun 2012
Very nice catamaran and crew. Good food and drinks. Snorkeling with the turtles. Saw one turtle. I was looking forward to snorkeling at the shipwreck, but they did not stop there. Was also looking to stop at a nice beach to swim, but they stopped at the worst looking beach I saw all day for that, but overall it was fun.
Read LarCourt's full Carnival Victory cruise review
Provider: Calabaza Sailing
Member Image nohoyas
1 review
Apr 2012
Great tour with a maximum of 12 people, lots of room on the boat with a staff that is quick to make sure that you always have a drink, answers questions, or let your 13 year old daughter drive the boat ( with his help) a relaxing 1/2 day with A delicious lunch and snorkeling with sea turtles. If you have a chance book them.
Read nohoyas's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Calabaza
Member Image Boston Beach Family
1 review
Mar 2012
We had booked with Silvermoon Charters directly online. What a great day! They met us at the terminal, drove us 5 minutes to the beautiful catamaran and we were off! We were on the 24 person cat but I don't think there were more than 18 of us. We did see another catamaran loaded with probably 50 people and we thought "how lucky are we!" Crew was great - friendly, knowledgable. We made 2 stops for snorkeling. Second stop was to visit with the turtles - which was just unbelievable! Third stop for lunch....delicious food. Then we hung out a while so you could swim or just chill on the boat before heading back. It was a perfect day! We did hear later that night about how some fellow passengers had been harassed all day at a beach by the locals so we were glad we had chosen to do this instead!
Read Boston Beach Family's full Carnival Victory cruise review
Provider: Silvermoon
Member Image msinden88
2 reviews
Not Rated
Feb 2012
Beautiful catamaran sail around the coast of Barbados. All you can drink on board was nice :)
Read msinden88's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image ChocolateZen
2 reviews
Feb 2012
We did a private tour on the Good Times Catamaran, (www.goodtimesbarbados.com) swam with the turtles and snorkeled over an underwater shipwreck. We didn't do the full day tour as it was our first time to Barbados, & we wanted to spend a little time walking around. We recommend going with a private catamaran as you will have a chance to swim with the turtles quietly before the cruise ship catamarans come by with 80+ passengers on them. Our catamaran held only 16 passengers -- 2 of them were folks that lived part time on the island and have done the cruise several times with their visiting guests.
Read ChocolateZen's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: GoodTimes

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.