Become a Cruise Insider
Tips, deals and more in your inbox.
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Cozumel Private Resort Day Pass Excursion Reviews

Cozumel Private Resort Day Pass cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Enjoy excellent cuisine, tropical cocktails, and other fabulous amenities as you relax in the comfort and privacy of a first-class resort.
Member Image heids32
1 review
Feb 2015

In Cozumel we opted for a beach day. We ended up spending the day at Playa Mia. They have quite a few things in addition to the beach, fun for all! The food was decent, nothing to write home about in my opinion. They had a lot of chairs, sun and shade, wi-fi.

Read heids32's full Carnival Pride cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image jjesaoqw
1 review
Feb 2015

Playa Mia is a beautiful and clean facility. Our family enjoyed our time there. There is so much for everyone to do. The day we were there it was a little breezy and the temp was in the high 70's so getting in the water was chilly. The water in the kids pools was cold and made it so my kids did not want to go in them. The water slide water also was cold and they did not have much push to get you down very fast. In fact my younger kids would stop mid way through the slide so they mostly played on the beach looking for shells. We did enjoy the free kayaks, and paddle boats and the lunch buffet was really good! I am sure they do not ever heat their pools so this place would be better when the weather is really warm. That way a nice cool pool would be refreshing instead of being too cold to get in! I would recommend this place for the warmer months. Still it was very nice and had lots of options for things to do!

Read jjesaoqw's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Playa Mia
Member Image tlopz
3 reviews
Not Rated
Jan 2015

Great food, drinks and service!

Read tlopz's full Carnival Elation cruise review
Provider: Mr Sanchos
Member Image dmdiver
4 reviews
Not Rated
Jan 2015

Passion Island - we took a boat over, but this was our 3rd time to go here. If you are physically able, take the Twister boat over - it's a blast! Beautiful little island with buffet lunch & drinks. There are restrooms with a changing area as well. There is shopping if you are so inclined. Loungers, shade, tables, water trampoline, kayaking, hammocks on beach & in water are all included. We didn't have kids with us, but there are kids' areas available. I just didn't pay much attention to them since I wasn't using them. Temporary tattoos, massages & water trikes available for additional charge. Staff is great & very attentive.

Read dmdiver's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image shiner6
5 reviews
Dec 2014

Pleasant and relaxing beach day-food and service was good! Felt it was a little pricey because the beach was not usable for the children due to steep drop off, but enjoyed the relaxation by the nice pool.

Read shiner6's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Nachi Cochum
Member Image Itrvlfar
1 review
Not Rated
Nov 2014

We arranged ahead of time (for a nominal fee) day passes to Secrets Azul all-inclusive resort. This is a $15-20 taxi ride from the downtown cruise pier. The resort was very relaxing and we had our choice of beach or pool as well as several restaurants in which to have lunch.

On several other trips to Cozumel we've done the Nachicocom Beach Club and that is still a favorite choice but it was nice to experience this relatively new Secrets resort.

Read Itrvlfar's full Insignia cruise review
Provider: Secrets Azul Cozumel
Member Image unitywillprosper
1 review
Nov 2014

Got the romantic package, massages we're awesome... Food was great and drinks were spectacular not to mention the scenery:)

Read unitywillprosper's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Mr Sancho's
Member Image Hbernabei
1 review
Oct 2014

Great for relaxing and enjoying a beach day. Unlimited Margarita's, need I say more?

Read Hbernabei's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Avelinnne
1 review
Jul 2014

Poor service

Read Avelinnne's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image jenninlaca
3 reviews
Not Rated
Jul 2014

We decided to try a fairly new beach club, Papitos, after reading about it on CC and Trip Advisor. It is on the very tip of the island inside the Punta Sur Eco Park. It was fantastic. Really beautiful, and not nearly the crowds that you encounter at popular beach clubs like Mr. Sanchos that are closer to the port. It took about 35 minutes by cab to get there (about 20-25 minutes to Punta Sur and then another 10-15 inside to get there). The cab rate is $50 each way for 4 people (it is $30 to Punta Sur and another $20 all the way to Papitos). You can reserve the all-inclusive for Papitos online, which was $49 for adults and $39 for kids and it includes the admission required to enter Punta Sur ($12 per adult, $8 per child). We got the AI and a representative from Papitos was waiting for us at the entrance to Punta Sur to pay the admission and give us wristbands. Good thing because our cab driver was not familiar with how to get to Papitos. Cabs do not drive by Papitos as it is very secluded, so if you go it is important to negotiate a round trip with your cab driver and agree on a time to be picked up. We agreed on $100 round trip and we paid our driver when she returned to pick us up. Surprisingly she did not insist on a deposit in advance (but she probably figured we could easily just hop in another cab back even if we wanted to). Our driver was really nice. We asked her to take us to the famous Punta Sur lighthouse on the way back (you pass by it) where you can climb the stairs to the top for a great view of the “wild side” of the island and the entire eco park. We also stopped at the crocodile viewing area (also on the way), but did not see any crocs – apparently it is more common to see them there in the morning. All of that is part of Punta Sur, along with some other sights and a few ruins, so allow time for that and negotiate with your cab driver or tip well!

Once we arrived we got 4 ocean front loungers and two umbrellas. The service was a bit slow but very friendly and the food was delicious. Drinks were standard and all included. There was a clean bathroom and with a changing area. The AI admission included use of a kayak and snorkel equipment. There was a beach volleyball area, too, and a trampoline (nobody was using that because it was so hot). There is a reef right off shore on that part of the island so if you are willing to swim out a short distance (about 10-15 minutes of swimming) you could see a lot of fish.

Papitos was a great experience and I would absolutely go back. It was way more relaxing and beautiful than Mr. Sanchos or the other more crowded beach locations in Cozumel. I cannot compare it to Nachi Cocum because I have not been there, but I highly recommend Papitos. There is no pool or other water sports besides snorkeling and kayaking, though, so if you want to hang out in a pool or do things like parasailing it might not be the best choice for you. The AI is not required but when you factor in the Punta Sur admission and equipment it is not a bad deal.

Read jenninlaca's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Yankeecruiser69
1 review
Feb 2013
At Cozumel we went to a private resort called Mr. Sancho's about 10-15 mins from port, took taxi for $10.00 tip included. Thought we were on the ship with the amount of drinks and food that was brought to us. Had a swim up pool bar, shops to shop and the relaxing beach area. Spent 5 hrs there.
Read Yankeecruiser69's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.