Become a Cruise Insider
Tips, deals and more in your inbox.
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Cozumel Private Resort Day Pass Excursion Reviews

Cozumel Private Resort Day Pass cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Enjoy excellent cuisine, tropical cocktails, and other fabulous amenities as you relax in the comfort and privacy of a first-class resort.
Member Image Shazzygo
1 review
Aug 2015
We had a good time at Mr. Sanchos though for an all-inclusive they do try to sell you a lot of stuff. The food, drinks, pool and beach were great. Bring your own towels.
Read Shazzygo's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Mr. Sancho's
Member Image Mitzyscorner
1 review
Aug 2015
We took a cab ($17 one-way) without incident. It's a quick 10-15 drive from the port. We checked in with a minor delay (another guest from Carnival had a very similar name, and a party of 20! Uh no, I will not be paying for 20 people to enter TYVM! lol) The beach was gorgeous. We had a cabana -- which was really nice -- not just chaises under a shaded area -- but a real mattress that's covered with linens. My daughter liked the water park -- and I tried it out. But tell the kids (and adults) to be careful -- my daughter climbed to the top of one of the inflatables and then lost her footing and had to "slide" down. She caught her hip on one of the handles and was left with a nasty bruise. There are no lifeguards or staff monitoring everyone -- so use caution and keep an eye on things. The food was awesome -- coconut shrimp and great nachos. The service was stellar. We never waited long for drinks or food. A+
Read Mitzyscorner's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Mr. Sanchos Beach Resort and Water Park
Member Image Iamafairadvisor
1 review
Jul 2015
PlayaMia - everything seemed new. Did not like the beach and that was the main reason we were going. There are lots of rocks right at the entrance of the beach so there is hardly any room to really be in the beach. They did offer canoes, paddle boats, etc. that were nice and in good condition. The water trampoline was way out there. By the time you swam to it you were already tired. Food was okay. Drinks are not strong at all. The drinks do taste good. Definitely did not get my money's worth for what they charge. We paid for the transportation that was around $13 or so per person thinking they had some sort of bus/van that transported you. They get you into a cab that they pay for and send you on your way. Same thing on the way back. It would be cheaper for us to get our own taxi then paying that amount per person. Wish they would have had a package that would be entrance and drink. They force you to get the food if you want the drinks. Island is very commercialized, just looking to get dollars. Did not feel safe in downtown. Found some very rude taxi drivers. Did not find any beauty in the island. Would not come back.
Read Iamafairadvisor's full Carnival Victory cruise review
Provider: PlayaMia
Member Image Donzey560
3 reviews
Jul 2015
Island is beautiful. Food was excellent and the drinks were unlimited.
Read Donzey560's full Carnival Ecstasy cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image JerryK13
3 reviews
Jul 2015
Cozumel: Mr Sancho's Beach Resort. This was our 5th visit to Cozumel and we weren't interested in seeing/doing much there again, so we booked an all-inclusive Beach Resort (Mr Sanchos) a few weeks prior to the cruise. Grabbed an A/C van outside the cruise terminal for 9 passengers ($40) and 15 minutes later we were on the beach enjoying all the amenities offered by Mr Sancho's. Note, this was not a Carnival excursion, but after pouring through CC reviews of the AI resorts, this sounded like a winner and it was! Lot's of sun, food, drinks for all.
Read JerryK13's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Mr Sanchos
Member Image Cajun Burton
1 review
Jun 2015
OMG!! BEST PLACE EVER!!! I will definitely go there next time we go to Cozumel. It's an all inclusive resort that food and drink is included for only $55.00/person. Can't beat the price. Alot of people whom were on the cruise with us went and also enjoyed it
Read Cajun Burton's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Mr Sanchos Cozumel Beach Club
Member Image jamieschindel
1 review
May 2015
DON'T BOOK IT BEFORE YOU GO! You will pay way too much like we did, wait tell you get off the boat. People will be standing waiting for you to take you, for half the price that we did. We went to the Playa Mia...it was FUN and the food and drinks were great! And the Service...was Top of the Line! I was getting sick off the Carnival Dream cruise ship food, however I could actually eat in Cozumel...even there buffet was 20 times better than the Cruise.
Read jamieschindel's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Cruise One
Member Image Computer Lady
1 review
Apr 2015
This was a beautiful beach with lounge chairs under palapas. There was a very nice pool and large covered patio area. Included in the price was a four course meal which was excellent! You were given a menu to make selections. It was all you could drink too! The drinks were very good and the service was excellent! My only complaint was we could not hear the Mexican music which was being played by the pool. The people in back of us brought their own music which was country! It wasn't loud but not what we wanted to listen to. We were in Mexico!!!!
Read Computer Lady's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Nachi Cocom
Member Image tdnosnhoj11
4 reviews
Apr 2015
Then in Cozumel we went on our own to Mr. Sanchos. Although I don’t want to repeat excursions, I know we’ll be back. This place was heaven! We chose the all-inclusive package. Good times there.
Read tdnosnhoj11's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Mr. Sanchos
Member Image ozzie01
1 review
Apr 2015
food and drinks were awesome! was waited on from the minute we arrived tell time to leave! although the beach was a bit rocky was still a beautiful site!
Read ozzie01's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image NCFour
1 review
Mar 2015
Chose the PLaya Mia On your Own pass - the best way to go! We got off the boat, grabbed a taxi at the port, and beat all of the cruise passengers to the beach. We had the place mostly to ourselves for about an hour before all other cruise passengers arrived. Perfect play area for kids!
Read NCFour's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image stephphillips34
1 review
Mar 2015
Sabor resort was horrible. Booked here to have an opportunity to sit by the beach in a lounge chair as advertised on the Web page. Very much not the case. Only spent 3 hrs here and left. Over booked or just lack of chairs. Requested chairs and waited 30 minutes with no response. Also horrible beach area.
Read stephphillips34's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Sabor
Member Image Starflyr3
1 review
Mar 2015
good food, good drinks, nice pools, nice playground. Not sure what was up with the "get a foot massage from fish" thing, but I kinda felt sorry for the fish. (I didnt get one)
Read Starflyr3's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Cave Hill Grammie
1 review
Mar 2015
Short ride to small nice retreat. Private beach house, clean beautiful beach were we found lots of interesting coral. Plenty of loungers, beds and chairs for everyone to use. The food was great and the drinks were flowing. The personnel were quick, efficient and very friendly. This was a great excursion and well worth the fee.
Read Cave Hill Grammie's full Carnival Liberty cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image jpbalser
1 review
Mar 2015

"Deluxe" Occidental Allegro resort was mid category at best. Nice (crowded) beach. Bad food. Indifferent service. Bar ran out of glasses then made awful drinks. Good idea to do this as Cozumel is sinkhole loaded with fine jewelry stores, but would recommend upgrade to nicer resort . Teens liked this variance on other trip activities.

Read jpbalser's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image wkuheather02
1 review
Mar 2015

We booked the Playa Mia Deluxe Beach Break through the cruise line and had a great time! Cozumel itself is more touristy than we would like, so going to the beach made for a great day! We were welcomed on the buses and once we got to the resort. Unlimited drinks were included with this tour and the waiters started coming around as soon as we got there. Drinks were good and cold. We conquered the inflatable obstacle course (harder than it looks but so fun) and just as a warning that swim is longer than it looks! The pools were really clean and the water slides were a lot of fun. I wish the beach massages had been a bit cheaper, as we had already spent a decent amount of cash on the excursion. The lunch buffet had the best nachos I've ever tasted in my life. The food was fresh. Yes, there was American food on the buffet but as the mom of a very picky child I do appreciate that being an option. The shops at the resort were very reasonably priced and the shop owners were nice. Would definitely return the next time we are in Cozumel!

Read wkuheather02's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image heids32
1 review
Feb 2015

In Cozumel we opted for a beach day. We ended up spending the day at Playa Mia. They have quite a few things in addition to the beach, fun for all! The food was decent, nothing to write home about in my opinion. They had a lot of chairs, sun and shade, wi-fi.

Read heids32's full Carnival Pride cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image jjesaoqw
1 review
Feb 2015

Playa Mia is a beautiful and clean facility. Our family enjoyed our time there. There is so much for everyone to do. The day we were there it was a little breezy and the temp was in the high 70's so getting in the water was chilly. The water in the kids pools was cold and made it so my kids did not want to go in them. The water slide water also was cold and they did not have much push to get you down very fast. In fact my younger kids would stop mid way through the slide so they mostly played on the beach looking for shells. We did enjoy the free kayaks, and paddle boats and the lunch buffet was really good! I am sure they do not ever heat their pools so this place would be better when the weather is really warm. That way a nice cool pool would be refreshing instead of being too cold to get in! I would recommend this place for the warmer months. Still it was very nice and had lots of options for things to do!

Read jjesaoqw's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Playa Mia
Member Image tlopz
3 reviews
Not Rated
Jan 2015

Great food, drinks and service!

Read tlopz's full Carnival Elation cruise review
Provider: Mr Sanchos
Member Image dmdiver
5 reviews
Not Rated
Jan 2015

Passion Island - we took a boat over, but this was our 3rd time to go here. If you are physically able, take the Twister boat over - it's a blast! Beautiful little island with buffet lunch & drinks. There are restrooms with a changing area as well. There is shopping if you are so inclined. Loungers, shade, tables, water trampoline, kayaking, hammocks on beach & in water are all included. We didn't have kids with us, but there are kids' areas available. I just didn't pay much attention to them since I wasn't using them. Temporary tattoos, massages & water trikes available for additional charge. Staff is great & very attentive.

Read dmdiver's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image shiner6
5 reviews
Dec 2014

Pleasant and relaxing beach day-food and service was good! Felt it was a little pricey because the beach was not usable for the children due to steep drop off, but enjoyed the relaxation by the nice pool.

Read shiner6's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Nachi Cochum
Member Image Itrvlfar
1 review
Not Rated
Nov 2014

We arranged ahead of time (for a nominal fee) day passes to Secrets Azul all-inclusive resort. This is a $15-20 taxi ride from the downtown cruise pier. The resort was very relaxing and we had our choice of beach or pool as well as several restaurants in which to have lunch.

On several other trips to Cozumel we've done the Nachicocom Beach Club and that is still a favorite choice but it was nice to experience this relatively new Secrets resort.

Read Itrvlfar's full Insignia cruise review
Provider: Secrets Azul Cozumel
Member Image unitywillprosper
1 review
Nov 2014

Got the romantic package, massages we're awesome... Food was great and drinks were spectacular not to mention the scenery:)

Read unitywillprosper's full Norwegian Jewel cruise review
Provider: Mr Sancho's
Member Image ojycart123
1 review
Nov 2014

My family and I selected The Sunscape Sabor Cozumel resort for a day pass while stopping in Cozumel on Thanksgiving day. We had 5 so took a larger cab and it was $22 there and $20 back. Check in was friendly and easy enough. The resort was pretty small and boasted a lot of water (non motorized) activities is the reason we selected it. Unfortunately the weather was windy and the water choppy so they had no activities going on. The beach was nice where you could walk a long direction in front of other resorts with a pier next door you could walk out on. They had chairs and umbrellas on the beach you could get with no extra charge. The open bar was easy to get a drink from but I think I was just getting full from the cheap mixer and ice in a blender. I never did taste any alcohol or feel any of the alcohol after drinking several. And they weren't very tasty - like I said a cheap mixer and ice. The snack bar at the pool had decent onion rings and great nachos and the highlight of the place was them preparing Paella right there at the pool over a grill. We opted for a later lunch and snacked here. We walked down to the buffet a bit later for lunch and once they ran out of an item they did not replace anything. The food was really really bad. I would have cried to be stuck there at this resort for days and having to face that food. Staff friendly, beach nice but that's about all you can expect here. It was one of the cheaper day options at $50 for adults and $25 for kids. I wouldn't return here.

Read ojycart123's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Sunscape Sabor
Member Image Hbernabei
1 review
Oct 2014

Great for relaxing and enjoying a beach day. Unlimited Margarita's, need I say more?

Read Hbernabei's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Avelinnne
1 review
Jul 2014

Poor service

Read Avelinnne's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image jenninlaca
3 reviews
Not Rated
Jul 2014

We decided to try a fairly new beach club, Papitos, after reading about it on CC and Trip Advisor. It is on the very tip of the island inside the Punta Sur Eco Park. It was fantastic. Really beautiful, and not nearly the crowds that you encounter at popular beach clubs like Mr. Sanchos that are closer to the port. It took about 35 minutes by cab to get there (about 20-25 minutes to Punta Sur and then another 10-15 inside to get there). The cab rate is $50 each way for 4 people (it is $30 to Punta Sur and another $20 all the way to Papitos). You can reserve the all-inclusive for Papitos online, which was $49 for adults and $39 for kids and it includes the admission required to enter Punta Sur ($12 per adult, $8 per child). We got the AI and a representative from Papitos was waiting for us at the entrance to Punta Sur to pay the admission and give us wristbands. Good thing because our cab driver was not familiar with how to get to Papitos. Cabs do not drive by Papitos as it is very secluded, so if you go it is important to negotiate a round trip with your cab driver and agree on a time to be picked up. We agreed on $100 round trip and we paid our driver when she returned to pick us up. Surprisingly she did not insist on a deposit in advance (but she probably figured we could easily just hop in another cab back even if we wanted to). Our driver was really nice. We asked her to take us to the famous Punta Sur lighthouse on the way back (you pass by it) where you can climb the stairs to the top for a great view of the “wild side” of the island and the entire eco park. We also stopped at the crocodile viewing area (also on the way), but did not see any crocs – apparently it is more common to see them there in the morning. All of that is part of Punta Sur, along with some other sights and a few ruins, so allow time for that and negotiate with your cab driver or tip well!

Once we arrived we got 4 ocean front loungers and two umbrellas. The service was a bit slow but very friendly and the food was delicious. Drinks were standard and all included. There was a clean bathroom and with a changing area. The AI admission included use of a kayak and snorkel equipment. There was a beach volleyball area, too, and a trampoline (nobody was using that because it was so hot). There is a reef right off shore on that part of the island so if you are willing to swim out a short distance (about 10-15 minutes of swimming) you could see a lot of fish.

Papitos was a great experience and I would absolutely go back. It was way more relaxing and beautiful than Mr. Sanchos or the other more crowded beach locations in Cozumel. I cannot compare it to Nachi Cocum because I have not been there, but I highly recommend Papitos. There is no pool or other water sports besides snorkeling and kayaking, though, so if you want to hang out in a pool or do things like parasailing it might not be the best choice for you. The AI is not required but when you factor in the Punta Sur admission and equipment it is not a bad deal.

Read jenninlaca's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Yankeecruiser69
1 review
Feb 2013
At Cozumel we went to a private resort called Mr. Sancho's about 10-15 mins from port, took taxi for $10.00 tip included. Thought we were on the ship with the amount of drinks and food that was brought to us. Had a swim up pool bar, shops to shop and the relaxing beach area. Spent 5 hrs there.
Read Yankeecruiser69's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.