Become a Cruise Insider
Tips, deals and more in your inbox.
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Freeport Perfume Factory and Brewery Tour Excursion Reviews

Freeport Perfume Factory and Brewery Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Tour the production and bottling facility of a local Bahamian Brewery - then try some! At the perfume factory, go behind the scenes of a working fragrance production operation, and take advantage of the opportunity to mix your own special fragrance, bottle it and name it.
Member Image Tracymay
1 review
Apr 2015
If you want to be laughing all day then this is the thing to do. Tiny was our guide and he was so funny. He made jokes left and right, but was very informative at the same time. Make sure you get back to the bus though because he will leave you if you are to late. Make sure before you get on the bus you have thought up some corny joke because he likes to hear one in order for you to get back on. watching people try to come up with jokes was pretty much the best thing ever. after the brewery tour they take you into the bar area to taste test the brew and you get more time to talk with tiny and he basically is just one joke after another keeping everyone joking, drinking, and laughing. It was amazing. We wanted to get a picture of Tiny which is quickly posed for, but just as quick as he went to pose did he break it. he then proceeds to ask if we wanted to see tinys funny face. the answer was with out a doubt yes. Well that face was pretty much priceless. He was a bundle of personality and made Freeport a wonderful experience. He was fun and but also knew so much about the history and a lot of other general knowledge about the island. We had a blast. His funny face is making it into the scrap book and a permanent memory for us for life!
Read Tracymay's full Carnival Fascination cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image harlingencruiser
2 reviews
Apr 2015
As many of you will notice from reading the other comments, Tiny was very good. He has a plethora of information on the Bahamas. The perfume factory seemed to be more of a tourist trap stop to purchase perfume. It was this little house and there was no productivity going on, they spent a lot of time in the initial living room space explaining how their sales floor was set up. Port Lucaya was a nice shopping experience with local people selling their products. Nothing seemed to over priced and they were not pushy at all. Final stop was the Bahamian brewery. This had lots to see of the brewing process and finally samples at the end. There were plenty of samples to be drank. The tour got you back to port in time to spend some time there. It is recommended to make sure you stop by the coconut guy with the machete and get a drink.
Read harlingencruiser's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image dbits
3 reviews
Not Rated
Dec 2014

Our driver Tiny was exceptional, kept us entertained, giving us the history and information on the areas we drove through. Perfume factory isn't a good stop if you are allergic to scents. The shopping area is now defunct, though there were a few"shops" in the abandoned buildings. The Lucaya shopping area was good, but not enough time to get any food. The Brewery tour was informational, and the beers were great. First taken aback when you were forced to slug down six quick samples, but then adequate time and quantities for you to try your favorites.

Read dbits's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image skunklady
1 review
Not Rated
Apr 2014

Great time, great experience. Perfume factory was in an old house. Then a little shopping, then on the the brewery. The brewery was interesting. Then on to the bar in the brewery, What fun we had. Our tour guide was fantastic. Would do this tour again

Read skunklady's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image poprok17
1 review
Jan 2014

This tour was great! Well worth the money. The perfume factory is quick and somewhat enjoyable. The shops are great, wish we got more time to spend there, as there is a beach there as well. We ran to it for 5 min and ran back to the bus because we only had 30 minutes. The brewery tour was great. Awesome tour leader and all the beer you can drink. The bus ride is also fun and you can learn a lot about the city.

Read poprok17's full Carnival Splendor cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Englishfirsttimecruisers
1 review
Sep 2013

Brice was great and Ash at the brewery was awesome.

Read Englishfirsttimecruisers's full Carnival Sensation cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Thechesapeakecruiser
1 review
Not Rated
May 2013

This was a spur-of-the moment stop on an independent taxi tour of Freeport. The Sands Brewery offers tours, we were told they were normally $15, but since we can in a taxi they would only charge us $5. The tour lasted about 30 minutes, then we sampled the 6 or 7 beers the plant produces for another half-hour or so. Again, we hadn't planned this, but we drove past the brewery on the way back to the ship.

Read Thechesapeakecruiser's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Taxi Driver Mr. B
Member Image rapunzel18
3 reviews
Jan 2013
The perfume factory tour was about 5 minutes but was interesting and it was fun to smell the scents of the different perfumes and colognes. The brewery was also fun. We enjoyed seeing the huge vats where beer and ale are fermented. Although we're not drinkers, we enjoyed sampling so many ales and meeting nice people.
Read rapunzel18's full Carnival Miracle cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.