Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Puerto Limon Banana Plantation Excursion Reviews

Puerto Limon Banana Plantation cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Visit a banana plantation for an enlightening look into how bananas are grown, selected, cleaned, and prepared for their trip overseas.
Member Image Gator75
3 reviews
Apr 2016
We really enjoyed the Banana Plantation excursion. Maria our tour guide was excellent and the motor coach was a fairly new coach. Maria provided a wealth of information about her country and the local customs. The drive along the coast to the plantation was very beautiful and provided an opportunity to see wildlife and many fruit and nut trees.
Read Gator75's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image tricia@silverpen.com
1 review
Mar 2016
We visited the banana plantation where we were given a talk and a tour by the plantation manager. Very interesting -- I will never take a banana for granted again.
Read tricia@silverpen.com's full Norwegian Pearl cruise review
Provider: Road scholar
Member Image joetop2467
2 reviews
Feb 2016
Really enjoyed this. Interesting seeing how the bananas are grown, harvested, and processed all the way to shipping. Have seen banana plantations in other islands, but the liked seeing the processing part.
Read joetop2467's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image 4myOpinion
2 reviews
Feb 2016
Boat on canal showed interesting animals. Train ride is fairly pointless. takes a long time to travel about a mile at a snail's pace to try to see some monkeys. Bus took us through some seriously impoverished areas with dirt roads, shacks with iron bars and barbed wire for protection.
Read 4myOpinion's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Glacier Bay
1 review
Jan 2016
Did 3 tours in one . Was interesting learning about how bananas are grown and harvested. Also did a short train ride through forest and gave you a glance at how the people of this country living conditions are( poor) . Did a riverboat ride as well , saw a few birds and slothes and the foliage was interesting
Read Glacier Bay's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Camden lady
2 reviews
Nov 2015
Ok this was listed in the online choice of tours as "Coastal tour and banana plantation". The description was very misleading as this was strictly a banana plantation tour. The tour guide was very good and very knowledgeable. Only caught a brief glimpse of the coast while driving to the banana plantation. Would have chosen something different had I known. As it is, I know more about bananas than I ever cared to know. So if you want to know all about bananas take this tour, if you want to see the coast take something different.
Read Camden lady's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image CARMEN KANE
1 review
Mar 2015
Out tour started at 12pm ,we then proceeded to the banna plantation wheir our guide Jeremy described the various fauna and flowers in the area,and how many snakes red and yellow will kill a fellow coral snake.At the banna farms we noticed blue plastic on all of the bannas,we were told this was to keep the insects and pesticides away from the fruit. I asked if all the bannas were all sprayed as some our sold in the stores back home as certified organic.He replied he was not absolutely sure.We then proceeded to the banna train two coaches and a engine we proceeded threw the plantation stopping to see sloth and howler monkeys in the trees.LIQUIDS and plantain chips were provide as it was very hot and humid.You have to breath a lot of diesel fumes as the stack on the locomotive is to low and comes back into the coaches,we then met our bus and the airconditioning felt grand,back onboard by 430pm.
Read CARMEN KANE's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image italian stallion
4 reviews
Feb 2015

Closed on Sunday, not much to see, but tasted some product and heard a little explanation on the banana industry in Costa Rica. Please note at the port, there is a small bulding with all kinds of shopping from a lively bar, washrooms, local coffee, all sorts of clothing, souveiners of all kinds, massages etc. fully stocked with merchendise,but building is secured and only vehicular traffic is allowed in and out, that is secured which means, no excursion, no exit for you, you must remain in the secured area in port.

Read italian stallion's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image live4247
1 review
Jan 2015

Again interesting and enlightening : the Plantation information was very interesting will never look at a banana in the same way again.
Train journey was an eye opener from the 'houses ' with no roof or walls except mud but the Satellite Dish was in pride of place. The Flora and Forna and the birds and animals were interesting and beautiful

Read live4247's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image yellow09jeep
1 review
Jan 2014

Really very interesting to see a Del Monte banana plantation from the time the bananas are pulled in the assembly line. From the sorting to the washing and labeling of the banana. Our bus driver even stopped and picked up small 3 inch bananas for us to peel and try.

Read yellow09jeep's full Coral Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image cruiserolina
3 reviews
Oct 2013

We saw one of the many banana plantations. There were rows of banana trees. We visited the packing operation and witnessed the bananas being processed and packed for shipping. We were educated about the growing, packing, and transportation of bananas. Very interesting.

Read cruiserolina's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.