Maui Hiking Excursion Reviews

Maui Hiking cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Maui's hiking trails allow you to experience the beauty of the Magic Isle. Visit the Haleakala Visitor's Center for more information on guided and self-guided hikes.
Member Image Amma24
3 reviews
Apr 2016
We did the Rainforest hike. It lived up to its name as the day was constantly drizzling. But we had a great guide and thoroughly enjoyed the tour. We were not able to swim as the water was too high so we made an additional stop in the Iao valley. Lovely,
Read Amma24's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image MH1Cruiser
1 review
Apr 2016
We booked this through the ship because we knew US Immigration was going to be checking passports at this port and the ship would ensure we were checked early to meet the tour. The tour was with Hike Maui and our guide was Pali. The hike took us through the rainforest, through streams and up steep climbs. Lunch was provided at a lagoon fed by a high waterfall. This was an excellent experience and thoroughly recommend it.
Read MH1Cruiser's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image KristaJGizzo
1 review
Nov 2015
Hiked the Pipiwua trail at Haleakala Park. Great walk through the bamboo forrest and to the water fall. Pretty easy trail. Lots of kids, pregnant women and people carrying babies doing the trail. Problem is you have to get to that part of the park by driving the road to Hana which can be stressful. Lots of twist and turns and 1 lane roads for both directions of traffic all alone side steep cliffs with no railing.
Read KristaJGizzo's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ashelbie
1 review
Jul 2015
Nice hike to waterfalls off the Road to Hana. All on public access, so expect lots of other people (and kids, and dogs) in the areas where you swim and hike.
Read ashelbie's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image rbrady25
1 review
May 2015
Waterfall Hike was amazing. There is not much at the dock/port to tell you where to go or how to get there. You have to figure it all out. Taxi wanted $85 a person to get to Lahaina or Whalers Beach. Happy that we did not do it and found out that a mile down the road is a mall and the bus will take you for $2 or $4 a person. Wish the cruise had people out to answer questions or give recommendations on what to do or where to go.
Read rbrady25's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Paulinewhite375
1 review
May 2015
Excellent trip. Guide was fantastic and very knowledgeable.
Read Paulinewhite375's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image SharlaU
1 review
May 2015
This was my favorite excursion. The guide was very knowledgeable about the area and the scenery and the hike were beyond words. Best I can do is unforgetable and amazing. So worth going.
Read SharlaU's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image HappyCoupleForever
1 review
Apr 2015
The Rain Forest and Waterfall Hike was spectacular. Our guide was very informative. The Hike was not bad at all. A couple places you just had to take your time. Water shoes are definitely needed. The waterfalls are beautiful and you can swim a few of them. This excursion was positively one that everyone should do.
Read HappyCoupleForever's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image twinwaters
2 reviews
Apr 2015
We loved the chance to see many waterfalls that were off the beaten path. We had a delicious lunch and a hike to see 5 different falls whIle learning about the areas plants. Beautiful!
Read twinwaters's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Hike Maui
Member Image TM0214
1 review
Not Rated
Feb 2014

Did the rainforest and waterfall hike. Very physical, but what an experience. Our guide Erik was awesome and a wealth of knowledge. Some of the most beautiful scenery you will see.

Read TM0214's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image edgeplot
1 review
Dec 2012
This excursion started and ended with a drive across half the island, which was interesting. Maui is beautiful and driving across the island you can see desert areas, farms, towns, huge crashing waves on the north shore beaches, and lush vegetation in the mountains. Once we reached the excursion site, we had a nice tour of some forested areas with lots of streams, waterfalls and irrigation canals. The tour started and ended in a private farm and we sampled some of the tropical fruits and plants growing there. The guide was friendly and helpful. The hike was muddier and dirtier than I expected, but also a lot of fun. Overall a very positive experience which made me want to come back and explore more.
Read edgeplot's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?