Key West Ernest Hemingway House & Tour Excursion Reviews

Key West Ernest Hemingway House & Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Journey inside Ernest Hemingway’s book-filled writing studio on a tour of his home and property.
Member Image Jsenter
1 review
Dec 2016
Enjoyable educational tour on the history of Key West.
Read Jsenter's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image JB_MN
1 review
Dec 2016
We thought it was worth the $14 price of admission.
Read JB_MN's full Empress of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image sandy toes
1 review
Sep 2016
This is a must see. The tour is leisurely paced. The guides are really well versed in Hemingway history. I house, his writing study and grounds are lovely, and maintained. Lots of historical photos and personal items to be seen. Of course, there are lots of the polydactyl cats, descendants of Hemingway's cats. (We saw 17 plus kittens).
Read sandy toes's full Enchantment of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Medic9701
2 reviews
Sep 2016
Hemingway House was awesome! We didn't have a guided tour, but the guides were still helpful and willing to volunteer information when something caught our eye.
Read Medic9701's full Enchantment of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Deckpals
1 review
Sep 2016
Part of a walking tour. Very hot day but enjoyable. If you are not especially mobile, a guided bus/coach tour might be better with the benefit of air conditioning.
Read Deckpals's full Enchantment of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Texas Tourist
1 review
Aug 2016
MY FAVORITE PART OF THE ENTIRE TRIP! The tour of the house was great, and the 54 cats that roam the property were so much fun to see. Not to be missed!
Read Texas Tourist's full Empress of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Trusted Tours and Attractions
Member Image LHoward812
1 review
Jun 2016
Informative and loved the cats
Read LHoward812's full Empress of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image JuanitaRogers
1 review
May 2016
We enjoyed Hemingway's house.
Read JuanitaRogers's full Empress of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Luke Page
1 review
Apr 2016
Fascinating example of a Colonial style house built in the 1850's and preserved internally with the same interior decor and fixtures and fittings as there would have been during Hemingways occupancy (most of the 1930's) The resident and beautiful cats are a real bonus for Cat lovers. If you don't like Cats then it's probably best avoided - they are everywhere and rightly believe the house is there for their comfort and convenience
Read Luke Page's full Oriana cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image Rick1818
1 review
Feb 2016
Very cool experience
Read Rick1818's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image HarpersFerry
1 review
Dec 2015
Wonderful even though crowded. I am an animal lover, so had to see these Hemingway cats!
Read HarpersFerry's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image TemujinvonPorkin
1 review
May 2015
Thoroughly enjoyable and informative. Loved the six toed cats! House is very is very well maintained and tour guides very knowledgable. Fantastic landscaping.
Read TemujinvonPorkin's full Carnival Victory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image KarenRH55
1 review
May 2015
Ernest Hemingway's House & Tour is a must see... Beautiful home and such an interesting history. The gardens were beautiful. The six-toed cats were so sweet... I enjoyed seeing the home and hearing about the history of Mr. Hemingway.
Read KarenRH55's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Old Town Hop on Hop off Tour
Member Image lagunabaybie
2 reviews
Apr 2015
We did not do a guided tour, but we should have. Looking around the rooms is not very informative and it only took us about 30 minutes to go through the entire property. If you like cats, you can pet all the cats on the property.
Read lagunabaybie's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Beware2015
1 review
Mar 2015
The Ernest Hemingway house was a good experience; make sure you go in for the tour. The older guy with the pony tail was very informative. Also took the Conch Train Tour. The tour itself was interesting and we were able to see a lot of area in a short span of time.
Read Beware2015's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image nightsky81
1 review
Dec 2014

Lots of walking/Had to take a taxi back.Guide was good, but couldn't hear what he was saying.

Read nightsky81's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image F18Pilot
3 reviews
Oct 2014

Tickets were purchased at kiosk and were the same price as advertised on line. The tour was very interesting. The house was gorgeous with an in-ground pool! Tour guide was very good. The kids were fascinated with the polydactyl (six-toed) cats! There were 52 at the time and they lounge everywhere. All are named after famous people because Hemingway did.

Read F18Pilot's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Kiosk
Member Image Bellastella
1 review
Aug 2014
We walked from the port to the Hemingway House. We had been to Key West, so we knew how to get around. We loved the Hemingway House being cat lovers, but we also learned a lot about the most interesting man, Hemingway. I was inspired to go back and read his books. It was a beautiful property. Low ticket price, great guides, and highly recommended!
Read Bellastella's full Carnival Ecstasy cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image shiner6
5 reviews
Dec 2013

Liked the tour-The narrator helped immensely.

Read shiner6's full Disney Wonder cruise review
Provider: Trolley Tour
Member Image candle in the wind
1 review
Dec 2013

Well worth the visit. Tour guide at house very engaging.

Read candle in the wind's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image da_p-potts
2 reviews
Not Rated
Apr 2013
Excellent guide! Recommended.
Read da_p-potts's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image kneedoc
4 reviews
Feb 2013

Informative and enjoyable. Lots of walking.

Read kneedoc's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image celtic1950
2 reviews
Jan 2013
Lovely home and lovely gardens. The tour guide was funny and informative!
Read celtic1950's full Carnival Destiny cruise review
Provider:
Member Image robint1956
1 review
Jul 2012
Interesting and fun for a short while.
Read robint1956's full Carnival Conquest cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image deserttreehouse
2 reviews
May 2012
This tour is completely on foot throughout a large area of town, so pls be aware that you should be in pretty fair shape to take this walking tour. The tour guides at the house will give you more info about Mr. Hemingway than you ever wanted to know ;) Key West is super muggy with beautiful flowers. The tour ends at Sloppy Joe's, where the staff, entertainment, food, and beer are a blessing, indeed. We enjoyed the tour and recommend it. Tip: I would make an effort to get to a beach, as well, if I had it to do over again.
Read deserttreehouse's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?