Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Aruba Ayo Rock Formations Excursion Reviews

Aruba Ayo Rock Formations cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Towering stone boulders, placed in such close proximity and in unusual designs, combined with the tranquil environment of Ayo, create a sense of awe and an understanding of why the area was once considered a sacred site by the island's original inhabitants (the Arawak Indians).
Member Image rolanduzer
4 reviews
Nov 2014

There is much more to see at this stop then they allow time for. It takes 15 minutes just to climb to the top and come down. that was all the time they gave us. No time to explore and take really good pictures.

Read rolanduzer's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image GaNewSeniors
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2014

Nice

Read GaNewSeniors's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image LDEE
4 reviews
Jan 2014

As we did not book a cruise line tour we were quite delighted to find buses ready to take us on an island joint for just $20 a person! If you want an air-conditioned, luxury bus this is not for you. Instead we found ourselves in a converted school bus that had all the windows removed!

The tour lasted about 2.5 hours and covered the highlights of Aruba. At the end of the tour we had plenty of time to explore the downtown. Don't miss the new Anthropology Museum. Its free, and its quite interesting.

Read LDEE's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image keithm
3 reviews
Not Rated
Jan 2014

Really strange rock formations caused by erosion. Great views from atop the highest formation. May be hard to climb for folks with limited mobility.

Read keithm's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Hired small van
Member Image terrycoles
1 review
Not Rated
May 2013

Hot and dry, steep rocky paths to walk along.

Read terrycoles's full Horizon cruise review
Provider: Pullmantur
Member Image MAGNUM PI
1 review
Feb 2013
Very interesting; loved Arawak Indian drawings.
Read MAGNUM PI's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image lisamarch
1 review
Jan 2013
Our son loved this. Climbing and scenery. I'd rather be at the beach.
Read lisamarch's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Gojirart
1 review
Dec 2012
Interesting park-like setting. A cave-like cluster of rocks had metal bars to protect the cave paintings inside. It was easy to take photos through the bars. We only had about 20 minutes to explore the area due to earlier bus mechanical problems. I would have liked a bit more time to do some exploring and climbing. We did find it more interesting than the CasiBari rock formations we visited on a past cruise. We developed more mechanical problems on the bus, so had no time at all for the planned shopping and in fact were late by about 1/2 hour in returning to the ship. This is why we generally book excursions from Princess, you never know what might happen and the ship will wait for you.
Read Gojirart's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Seacucumber
13 reviews
Dec 2012
Aruba a dry island with desert type climate and vegetation. We took the tour to butterfly farms, natural bridge and some natural rock formation. The landscape is covered with 21 different types of Cactus plants, the predominant one is pipe organ Cactus.
Read Seacucumber's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image AmberTeka
11 reviews
Not Rated
Dec 2012
Great Guide explained them and then led the walk. Great day
Read AmberTeka's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.