Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Key West City Trolley / Conch Train Tour Excursion Reviews

Key West City Trolley / Conch Train Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Explore the famous Key West by trolley or train for a truly special experience. This little island has a lot of history!
Member Image F18Pilot
3 reviews
Oct 2014

We took the Hop On/Hop Off train, but did not buy the tickets from the ship. If you bypass the first “Office” and go to one of the carts, you can bargain your price down (I assume they do this anyway). i.e. kids were free and we got Military discount. The price was 60% less than the ship. The train is a nice narrated ride on a hot day. If you have been to Key West, skip it. They don’t really make that many stops (about 3) where you can actually get on/off. We jumped off to walk back to the Southern Most Point (very end of Whitehead Street) for the obligatory picture (line not very long in October, maybe 10 mins). We then walked back up Whitehead to visit the Hemingway Museum.

Read F18Pilot's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Kiosk?
Member Image cdscooby1
3 reviews
Apr 2014

The Conch train was very informative but a little bit boring. Our tour guide was very into the trees and landscape of the island. I have been on this tour before and it was better the last time I took it. When going past the Hemingway house all our guide said was this is the famous Hemingway house. Really nothing else, what about all the 6 toed cats? I really think it was just our tour guide and this is a good way to see the island. Also total chaos trying to get onto the conch train. Basically wait in a line and they would load you up. They obviously did not have enough trains and we waiting 1 hour to get on a train. There was only 2 ships in port and I can't imagine how long it would take on a busy day.

Read cdscooby1's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image cruisingsince94
2 reviews
Mar 2014

Great 90 minute tour of the history of Key West

Read cruisingsince94's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image senorcruzer0013
1 review
Feb 2014

City View Trolley / Hop on Hop off ... Excellent - driver knowledgeable. Interesting sights. Was able to get off & back on with no issues or lines. Would do this excursion again.

Read senorcruzer0013's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Isako
1 review
Feb 2014

Open air cars bounced hard. No opportunity to get off train and take photos. Too rushed.

Read Isako's full Seven Seas Navigator cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image jaxcruiser1961
15 reviews
Not Rated
Jan 2014

Great tour at a great price!

Read jaxcruiser1961's full Carnival Fascination cruise review
Provider: Shore Excursions Group
Member Image SEALOVER226
1 review
Dec 2013

We all took the conch train tour and enjoyed it very much. Third trip to key west and the first time doing this and wonder why we never did this before.

Read SEALOVER226's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image medicmiami
1 review
Not Rated
Nov 2013

The Conch train tour was great. The driver was very informative and well versed in the city history of Key West. The tour lasted about 1 1/2 hrs and you had the option to hop off on two different stops and hop back on on the next train.

Read medicmiami's full Carnival Victory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image TravelConnoisseurs
1 review
Oct 2013

It is so much cheaper to book your shore excursions on the piers instead of with the cruise lines, many times the price is nearly cut in half. The trolley tour is fun and an opportunity to get on and off at interesting stops.

Read TravelConnoisseurs's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image CruisingAg01
3 reviews
Apr 2013
It was a hot day in Key West and some of our group overslept and missed breakfast so we had a rough start to the day and it might have colored the entire experience. We had pre-purchased City View Trolley tickets online. There was a long wait in the hot sun for that first trolley pickup. Long. We had intended to take advantage of the on/off privilege, but after waiting for that first ride I was a bit nervous about getting off. We did stop at the Butterfly Conservatory which is near the Southernmost Point Cafe and beach area. We spent some time with the butterflies (beautiful) and then down at the beach (not as nice as what we would experience in the Bahamas, but not dirty by any means). It was pure luck that we got out of the water and caught the last trolley passing by the Conservatory. That time constraint hadn't been explicitly explained or we just weren't paying attention. When we got back to the first trolley stop we walked around a few stores and then headed back to the ship. The trolley worked for us because we weren't really sure what to do in Key West, but it wasn't a great excursion. I'd definitely do something else next time like rent a little cart and drive around myself or have a plan to do a very specific activity like the Aquarium or the Hemingway House and have other transportation options. The town itself seems very interesting.
Read CruisingAg01's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: City View Trolley
Member Image weedpindle100
3 reviews
Mar 2013
Interesting.
Read weedpindle100's full Majesty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Conch Train
Member Image NewEngland900
1 review
Mar 2013
This is a great way to go - Old Town Trolley was inexpensive, informative, and always on time. A great way to see the island with plenty of stops and the guide was very funny. Loved it!
Read NewEngland900's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image dhernan81
3 reviews
Mar 2013
We stopped in Key West in exchange for Grand Turk, due to the Gastroenteritis in Grand Turk. This was a pleasant stop due to I not visiting there in over ten years. I booked the cruise for Grand Turk and was bummed that we did not go. We took the Conch Train tour, which was expensive, but my 4 yr old wanted to go on the train. Learned a few things, overall an OK tour, not worth the price. Tried Conch fritters at some place that was recommended and they were awesome, Key lime pie anywhere was good, it's PIE!
Read dhernan81's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Conch Train Tour
Member Image cokelbl
1 review
Mar 2013
This was the perfect tour. It was long enough to cover the entire island but not too long to lose your interest. Our tour guide Sheila was great.
Read cokelbl's full Majesty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Conch Train Tours
Member Image well seasoned traveller
3 reviews
Jan 2013
1 !/2 hour tour of the City. Has lots of interesting places for history buffs.
Read well seasoned traveller's full Riviera cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image LawNOrder
1 review
Jan 2013
That train will jar your kidneys loose and it goes too fast for you to take good pictures. The driver/guide gave a very good presentation.
Read LawNOrder's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image celtic1950
1 review
Jan 2013
Loved the Hemmingway house and the city trolley tour was informative and fun!
Read celtic1950's full Carnival Destiny cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Old Man See
1 review
Jan 2013
Nice tour, would rather have been dropped downtown rather than at the tee-shirt market
Read Old Man See's full Carnival Destiny cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image DavidWebster
1 review
Dec 2012
It was a fun little tour of the City with a few stops, so we could look around, we just ran out of time, the ship wasn't in port long enough to look at everything we wanted to see.
Read DavidWebster's full Regatta cruise review
Provider: Conch train tour
Member Image lesser160
2 reviews
Not Rated
Dec 2012
The excursion was quite pleasant.
Read lesser160's full Majesty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image copref
5 reviews
Dec 2012
Had a great time in Key West. Conch Train was a lot of fun and being open worked well. We ate at Sloppy Joes and walked the length of Duvall St. We got many great pics here.
Read copref's full Carnival Conquest cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image hsnowden
1 review
Not Rated
Nov 2012
It was ok. not worth $20, but ok.
Read hsnowden's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image bjohio
1 review
Nov 2012
City Trolley(bought tickets on line) saved our Key West experience because of the short time in port 8am-12:30pm. We did get a snapshot of the town, but no time to shop, have conch fritters. Good thing ship docks right at the start of town. RC needs to make this a longer stop.
Read bjohio's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: City Trolley
Member Image faded1234
2 reviews
Nov 2012
We arrived in Key West and simply decided to do the conch trolley tour. It was great.
Read faded1234's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image MelV
1 review
Sep 2012
The trolley was nice and the drivers were very informative. It was a hot day so we got pretty hot while waiting for the next trolley.
Read MelV's full Carnival Conquest cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image tnndcruiser
2 reviews
Sep 2012
We took the Conch Train Tour because we had shopped that morning and were running out of time and it only had 3 hop on and hop off stops on it. It was a good tour even tho about 1/2 way thru the skies opened up and poured rain for about an hour. We got to see the things we wanted to see and they even furnished up with ponchos. We didn't book this on the ship but the price wasn't much different except we got a little bit of a discount because there was so many of us.
Read tnndcruiser's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Conch Train Tour
Member Image Thor321
1 review
Jul 2012
City Trolley was great. Hop on and off was easy. Trolley comes by every 15 minutes. Trolley drivers provided excellent info about Key West.
Read Thor321's full Carnival Fascination cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image sometime_cruiser
2 reviews
Jun 2012
Entertaining tour around Keywest. Price was reasonable.
Read sometime_cruiser's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image PawsOnTheGo
1 review
Jun 2012
Went up to the desk as we walked off the ship asking for the Conch Train Tour but was sold the Trolley Tour...not what we asked for didn't notice until we walked up to the Conch Train & they pointed us to the Trolley Tour but too late to walk back & change it out once we walked over to where the Train & Trolley started. Ended up riding way to far around the island from The Main Duvale street with 2 hotel stops so jumped off as soon as we hit the Southeastern most point to walk back to Duvale Street. Not happy about it wasted $29 each!
Read PawsOnTheGo's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image NanaJag3
1 review
May 2012
It was a nice trip. It was also the first time I'd been to Key West in - ok, a long time. Sorry, but I want something else from a cruise to the Carribean.
Read NanaJag3's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Sunshine-lady
1 review
May 2012
Great driver, Best excursion we have taken on Key West.
Read Sunshine-lady's full Majesty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: ?
Member Image AmberTeka
11 reviews
May 2012
Key West is what you think the Caribbean will be like..when you first cruise. It is beautiful. Historic. Clean. Dotted with charming shops that everything from sandals to spices. It is beautiful. Did I already say that. We are going back hopefully, and this time I intend to see inside some of the shops and wonderful smelling bakeries.
Read AmberTeka's full Carnival Fascination cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Uniall
10 reviews
Apr 2012
The 2 trolley compnaies have identical products but City Tours (Gray trolleys) is $10 cheaper per person.
Read Uniall's full Majesty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image jimdanahar
2 reviews
Apr 2012
The price was very reasonable if you ordered online. The tour itself was informative and cute. It was a good way to see the island and then go back to what you were interested in.
Read jimdanahar's full Carnival Valor cruise review
Provider: City View Trolley
Member Image Buckwild
1 review
Apr 2012
This was a nice historical tour. The operator told us about Key Wests History and all the landmarks.
Read Buckwild's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Conch Train
Member Image orleanna1521
2 reviews
Apr 2012
We rode the on again off again trolly, the trolly was not air conditioned but it was very open an breezy, the drivers gave a very nice tour over the PA system as they drove and there were lots of places to get off. We felt like we got to see all there was to see in Key West in one day. If you have not been to Key West before this is a great way to see it all and do it at your own pace.
Read orleanna1521's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image pal6123
1 review
Mar 2012
Easy to hop on/off at spots. $29.99 on the boat. For sure could have gotten it cheaper right in town.
Read pal6123's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image buzzcruiser
1 review
Mar 2012
Very informative and very entertaining with historical stories.
Read buzzcruiser's full Carnival Fascination cruise review
Provider: dirctly with the conch train
Member Image JoAnn&Mike
4 reviews
Mar 2012
Train was informative. Ride was uncomfortable..not because of the train but because of the roads.
Read JoAnn&Mike's full Carnival Destiny cruise review
Provider: Conch Train
Member Image karajeboo
3 reviews
Mar 2012
We love doing tours like this when a city offers a history that you can't learn on your own. This tour only offered 4 on/off stops though, and it was a LONG tour for such a small town. I felt there were a lot of areas visited that were not necessary. Key West is really an adult port. We did a trolley tour and had a couple drinks in Sloppy Joe's. Our daughter referred to the town as "Freakville" after seeing some of the locals..... My husband met up with a college fraternity brother who lived her though, so that was fun for him. If I visited this port again on a family cruise, I would probably allow my daughter to stay on the ship while my husband and I enjoyed Duval Street alone.
Read karajeboo's full Disney Magic cruise review
Provider: Bryan
Member Image stonemanor
2 reviews
Feb 2012
Three of us on a tour of Key West with a very knowledgeable and friendly guide. We toured the entire island from the downtown shops to the lighthouse, by the only road out of Key West, the closest spot to Cuba, and other interesting sites. After which met my widowed sister-in-law in Key West where she spends the winter. We had a leisurely lunch at the Hogs Breath Saloon where I enjoyed a pulled pork sandwich. We then took in the local shops and helped their local economy.
Read stonemanor's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image nolaphile
1 review
Feb 2012
Enjoyed the trolley tour. Fun to learn about Key West. Interesting, beautiful, guide knew lots of facts.
Read nolaphile's full Disney Magic cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image idlenote
6 reviews
Jan 2012
We took the City Trolley and did the tour of the town. The driver/guide was good and gave an interesting commentary about the things we were seeing. Be warned, the seats are very close together, I'm 6'02" and I couldn't get my knees in straight. When we got to the Hemingway House we jumped off before I froze in that position. The Hemingway House was interesting but it's a little on the small side so when they bring the tours through everything gets jammed up. Before the cruise I'd read one of his books and some short stories, so well worth seeing where it was written. Came out and took a few pictures of the lighthouse, then wandered off to Duval Street. Had lunch in a hole in the wall place, excellent sea food, first time we've ever had Crab Nachos. Really good. We hit a few of the art galleries on Duval, picked up a couple of prints for DW, a couple of Margaritas at Sloppy Joes and back to the ship. We are definitely going to have to take a land trip back to Key West, a thoroughly enjoyable day.
Read idlenote's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Mrs Bluer
1 review
Jan 2012
Great experience, knowledgeable guides with great sense of humour. Made the excursion very enjoyable.
Read Mrs Bluer's full Carnival Imagination cruise review
Provider: BJ
Member Image johnnyga
4 reviews
Jan 2012
The highlight of our cruise. Nice tour, nice town, good meals.
Read johnnyga's full Enchantment of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.