Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Nassau See and Sea Excursion Reviews

Nassau See and Sea cruise excursion
Overall Rating
This tour combines the Seaworld Explorer tour with a one hour city tour of Nassau. You'll board an underwater-viewing vessel for a chance to see a shipwreck and dozens of colorful, tropical fish. After exploring the underwater world, board a minibus for your tour of Nassau.
Member Image avgsuperheroine
3 reviews
Dec 2014

This was fun! Our third cruise and very first excursion. There was a fun harbor cruise, but it was hard to hear the lady that was talking--I think it was the speakers. It was beautiful though. Then we did a boat where you sit in the bottom and watch the fish. It was a tight squeeze but even so it was fun, plenty to look at and the guide was fun and entertaining. The bus tour was also great, our tour guide was very personable and fun. The stop at the fort was just the right amount of time at 20 minutes, not really a lot to do there but it's fun for pictures. We really enjoyed getting to see more of the island and wouldn't have walked around the port again on our own.

Read avgsuperheroine's full Disney Dream cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image Ozzie's Mom
2 reviews
Feb 2014

At the pier, we were met by our first tour boat which collected us and took us eastward into Nassau Harbor. The guide was very funny as he pointed out the different home sites of the rich and famous, expounded on the going rate for condos on Paradise Island and other interesting tales. He left no room for boredom if one could be bored surrounded with such beauty.

We soon arrived at the SeaWorld Explorer which is not a glass-bottomed boat but, rather, a boat which has a second deck five feet below the water line with glass windows, ample seating and air conditioning! The guide was well informed about the various sea life as the boat maneuvered around the reef. This was the perfect way to experience undersea life without a snorkel or tank (which my mother would never do).

After the tour, our transport boat returned and took us back to the pier near our starting point where an air conditioned luxury coach awaited. This one hour city tour of Nassau was also very interesting and, afterward, we were dropped the pier. We opted to go shopping before returning to the ship.

Read Ozzie's Mom's full Norwegian Sky cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ric032369
1 review
Feb 2014

Its a nice boat ride through the harbor where the guide gives neat little pieces of info about Nassau and some of the celebrity houses you see on the way. He was informative and funny at times. We transferred over to the glass bottom boat. It was more of a semi-submarine. We walked down stairs into the lower part of the boat which was underwater with windows you could see out to the fish. They fed the fish outside the windows. It wasn't amazing, but it was neat. Plenty of fish and a couple of turtles were swimming around. When we were done with that boat, we transferred back to the first boat and they took us back to where we started and we loaded on a small bus/van. They took us to a fort and the queens staircase for about 30 minutes, then drove us back to the pier, pointing out interesting landmarks on the way.

Read ric032369's full Carnival Fascination cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image graycat274
1 review
Dec 2013

In Nassau, we [unfortunately] bought into the "amazing shopping experience" hype and spent too much only silly Tanzanite jewelry. (Don't buy the "hurry before it's all gone" bull they feed you). But we got some good deals on t-shirts at Del Sol with the $25 coupon book (good for all shops in the Carribean/Bahamas, so keep it for your next cruise!) After shopping we had lunch at a local Asian restaurant and it was great. Then we headed to Tortuga's where my husband got a bottle of rum and enjoyed the rest of his day! In the afternoon, we took the Sea & See tour which was a little lame, but at least we got to see the town of Nassau without having to navigate our selves and we got a great boat ride down the inlet to see the over-priced movie stars' homes.

Read graycat274's full Carnival Ecstasy cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image gkwan99
1 review
Jul 2013

First part of the excursion was a pretty cool underwater viewing of the reefs on the "submarine". Saw lots of fish (it helped that the crew chummed the water to encourage the fish to come up close), a shark and two barracudas. Bus tour was the land part of this tour. Didn't really excite us that much this time as we did something similar 2 years ago.

Read gkwan99's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Mom0511
2 reviews
Mar 2013
The submersible part of this experience was AWESOME. The boat was clean, felt safe, and the reefs were amazing. This was a great way to enjoy the underwater experience with my small kids who can't swim well enough to snorkel or dive. The staff on both the tender boat and the submersible were very nice and entertaining as well. Be warned that you do have to transfer from the tender to the submersible in the middle of the bay. On a very choppy day, this could be pretty scary with small kids. The staff was very helpful with the transfers though. The bus tour for this experience was so-so. The bus was very clean and the driver was very nice. Nassau just isn't the best town to explore - there is a lot of poverty and the sights reflect that. The stop at the Fort at the top of the island was a bit rushed - you had 15 minutes to explore the fort. Be aware that to actually go in an see the fort, you have to pay the fort a small feed per person. It was reasonable, but we were not aware of it ahead of time. Fortunately we had the cash with us.
Read Mom0511's full Disney Dream cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image Fisherwoman
3 reviews
Jan 2013

Nice mix of a tour. We enjoyed it very much.

Read Fisherwoman's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image bullet33912
2 reviews
Jan 2013
Sea part was great, the see (land) part was so-so at best. Nassau and I have no love for each other and this trip did nothing to change my opinion of it being a hell hole.
Read bullet33912's full Carnival Destiny cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Old Man See
1 review
Jan 2013
The short boat ride out to the main boat was the best part of the trip, very disappointed in restricted view of reef. Poor cometary. Nassau is a government town, narrow streets, run down, (everything needs a coat of paint) and again at the end of the tour instead of being dropped in the business district we found ourselves at the tee-shirt shops.
Read Old Man See's full Carnival Destiny cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image ulivonce
1 review
Jul 2012
Just ok. The bus was dirty. Sea portion - boring. After the first few fish you see, they do not change. It was hot, too. Crew was nice - but wouldn't do it again.
Read ulivonce's full Disney Dream cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image JKB001
1 review
Feb 2012
Nassau is gorgeous! We did the Sea and See Tour, and loved it! We are first taken by boat to a glass bottomed boat where we toured around the waters enjoying the marine life, taking pics and enjoying the tour guide. You then board the boat again and are taken back to port for the bus tour of the island. This was quite an interesting experience! The traffic is crazy wild... frightening to me actually. We toured several places and were given history of the island but I could never get beyond the traffic and drivers blocking traffic and drivers yelling at drivers! Wild!
Read JKB001's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.