St. Kitts Brimstone Hill Tour Excursion Reviews

St. Kitts Brimstone Hill Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Brimstone Hill, now a UNESCO World Heritage site, rises 800 feet with steep slopes and possessing a commanding view of the sea, was an ideal natural defense. Work on a permanent fortress on Brimstone Hill began in the 1690s and continued for about a century as the British and French wrestled for control of the island and its valuable plantations.
Member Image VOLLEYBALLDUDE2000
2 reviews
Apr 2017
It ended up being a private tour and it gave us a new view of St. Kitts which normally is not one of our favorite stops (pushy vendors with monkeys).
Read VOLLEYBALLDUDE2000's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Shoreexcursionsgroup
Member Image Jaguar320
3 reviews
Mar 2017
An excellent guide to the history of the island and the area
Read Jaguar320's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image MidnightBuffetFan
1 review
Feb 2017
We used Philip Hurd's company to tour Clay Villa, Romney Manor and Brimstone Hill. Wonderful day, very focused on the history of the island.
Read MidnightBuffetFan's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Philip Hurd
Member Image Prairieson
2 reviews
Jan 2017
Stops at Romney Manor. Fortress, and Timothy Hill were all good but too short. They need to extend tour an hour.
Read Prairieson's full Carnival Fascination cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image geekguy1
9 reviews
Jan 2017
A lot of climbing at the Fortress, which was only of minor interest.
Read geekguy1's full Norwegian Breakaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Keystonekel
2 reviews
Dec 2016
Saw the fort on Brimstone Hill and it was very nice. Great views mixed with some island history. We also saw a lighthouse and had a stop at an overlook of the southern beaches and resort hotels. You can see both the Atlantic and Caribbean from this vantage point.
Read Keystonekel's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image Newbie from Canada
1 review
Nov 2016
It Poured all day. Happy we were in air conditioned bus! If there had been no rain, I am sure I would have rated this Excellent. Thenford was a very knowledgeable guide; toured the entire island, providing interesting information about anything we asked about.
Read Newbie from Canada's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Grey's Island Excursion
Member Image daspork
1 review
Nov 2016
Brimstone Fortress and Batik tour. Need more time in both.
Read daspork's full Koningsdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image hisbabydoll
1 review
Nov 2016
The sites were great. We went to Brimstone and a Manor. The guide wasn't very chatty which was disappointing. He told us some history, but only the basics. The tour said we'd have guided tours of the sites, but basically he drove us there and dropped us off to do our own thing. BUT, we got to hold monkeys at the Timothy Hill lookout and that was awesome! The only thing disappointing about the tour was the lack of enthusiasm from the guide. He was okay. Our boat didn't offer a Volcano tour which was disappointing. That would have been interesting!! Our friends did basically the same tour themselves in a cab, and it was much cheaper. It's not a huge island - easy to get around. Shopping is great here and close to the boat.
Read hisbabydoll's full Carnival Fascination cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Ronn452
6 reviews
Oct 2016
We toured with Grey Tours. Mr. Grey is a truly remarkable guide; blending a rich knowledge of the island's history with humor. It was a wonderful way to see the island and gain some knowledge of its history and inhabitants.
Read Ronn452's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image JBABLPMC
3 reviews
Oct 2016
Very informative tour, Romney Manor is beautiful and interesting, Carambola beach very nice too.
Read JBABLPMC's full Norwegian Gem cruise review
Provider: Island Paradise Tours
Member Image LMK5
1 review
Jul 2016
This tour visited Brimstone Hill fortress, Romney Manor, and was a narrated island tour. The sights were pretty good. After seeing San Felipe del Morro in San Juan I didn't think I'd be impressed with Brimstone but it is situated on a hill and provides some really nice views. Amazing structure too. The guide we had on the bus was OK but unfortunately the bus's air conditioning wasn't working. AC is certainly a minimum expectation in the Caribbean summer. I fault RCI for this because they should only be using the highest quality tour operators or it reflects badly on them. Caribbean Journey Masters was the operator and I would not use them again. RCI did refund 20% of our fee however when we brought up the issue.
Read LMK5's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Kjr3
1 review
Jul 2016
Worth the drive. Amazing scenery. Beautiful site.
Read Kjr3's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image sillychicky
1 review
Apr 2016
We did the Brimstone Hill Fortress excursion and it was a great time. Very poor countryside but also beautiful. Batik fabric making was interesting. We hired the driver to take us to Shipwreck beach after the tour was over. Monkeys, mongoose and a black sand beach made for an unforgettable addition to our vacation.
Read sillychicky's full Carnival Sunshine cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image msmayor
2 reviews
Mar 2016
Loved learning about Brimstone Hill and its importance as a defense; historical society there is doing a wonderful job caring for and restoring parts of the fort; also visited Romney Manor and saw batik demonstration as well as other areas of the island.
Read msmayor's full Serenade of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image jenboggs
1 review
Feb 2016
Loved the Fortress tour and the Batik experience!! Super Fun!
Read jenboggs's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Navy Sailor
1 review
Oct 2015
Tour of the island and ride to Brimstone Fort. Fabulous view from the fort.
Read Navy Sailor's full Carnival Conquest cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Mcrof
1 review
Jul 2015
Could have spent more time at the fort it was awesome. Something to see
Read Mcrof's full Carnival Conquest cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image cruisingwithmyson
2 reviews
Jun 2015
My son is a history buff so he really enjoyed this excursion. Our driver also pointed out may places on the ride there and back. She was very informative.
Read cruisingwithmyson's full Carnival Sunshine cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image atlcruizr
5 reviews
May 2015
We took the brimstone hill tour combined with a trip to the botanical gardens. The fortress is pretty amazing, but this shore excursion is not for those who tire easily or have limited mobility. The top part of the fort is only accessible by climbing a fairly steep ramp. The botanical gardens are very beautiful and have many types of tropical flowers and plants. I wish we'd had more time here to walk more of the trails through the gardens.
Read atlcruizr's full Carnival Conquest cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image WizBang
5 reviews
Apr 2015
This was part of the excursion the "Essential St. Kitts" through Celebrity. The tickets stated it was operated by Caribbean Journey Masters. I admit that when we booked this tour, I was not excited to go to Brimstone Hill Fortress, but it turned out to be one of my favorite stops of all! The views are spectacular from every angle. This is a must see, the photos don't do it justice!
Read WizBang's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image K&P<3Cruises
1 review
Mar 2015
Friendly, interesting guide. Happy to see St Kitts more prosperous than the last time we visited in early 2000s. The fort is well kept for history buffs. The drive through the 'rainforest' and trip to the Batik Colonial Home was also lovely.
Read K&P<3Cruises's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Pat.D
4 reviews
Mar 2015
Great tour, our driver was great fun and the fortress is amazing! Do note that they left most of it in it's natural state, that means no guardrails added and sheer drops everywhere. This place was not dummy-proofed. I loved the authenticity.
Read Pat.D's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image TonyL128
1 review
Dec 2014

The Essential St. Kitts Tour, KT21. This was a narrated bus tour through downtown Basseterre, a visit to the Romney Manor/Caribelle Batik Studios to watch a demonstration of the Batik dyeing technique and a visit to the Brimestone Hill fortress. The downtown tour was really just a drive by with nothing really grand to see. The Romney Manor was just a large house with a garden and the Batik demonstration only lasted about 10 minutes. The highlight of this excursion was the visit to Brimestone Hill fortress. It was located on top of a hill via a stretch of narrow dirt road which was barely wide enough for the bus. The fortress is being restored and it does offer some terrific windy views. This was a self guided tour and there were just not enough placards to tell us what we were looking at nor explain the history of the fort; a far cry from the ones in San Juan.

Read TonyL128's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image GottaKnowWhen
3 reviews
Not Rated
Nov 2014

Same thing as above. We had been here before, had done the train trip (and thoroughly enjoyed it). Didn't see any tours from the ship that met our to-do list; all spent way too much time at one beach or another. So I got some suggestions (on this site?), did some on-line search, and found Royston. Royston's cousin Ashton gave a van full of us a good drive around the island with good photo stops, scenic views, history, batik, etc. At the end, after a good lunch, he dropped off those who wanted to stay at a beach, took the rest of us back to the port to enjoy the rest of the afternoon in the town.

Read GottaKnowWhen's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royston

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?