Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

St. Kitts Brimstone Hill Tour Excursion Reviews

St. Kitts Brimstone Hill Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Brimstone Hill, now a UNESCO World Heritage site, rises 800 feet with steep slopes and possessing a commanding view of the sea, was an ideal natural defense. Work on a permanent fortress on Brimstone Hill began in the 1690s and continued for about a century as the British and French wrestled for control of the island and its valuable plantations.
Member Image Mcrof
1 review
Jul 2015
Could have spent more time at the fort it was awesome. Something to see
Read Mcrof's full Carnival Conquest cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image cruisingwithmyson
2 reviews
Jun 2015
My son is a history buff so he really enjoyed this excursion. Our driver also pointed out may places on the ride there and back. She was very informative.
Read cruisingwithmyson's full Carnival Sunshine cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image atlcruizr
5 reviews
May 2015
We took the brimstone hill tour combined with a trip to the botanical gardens. The fortress is pretty amazing, but this shore excursion is not for those who tire easily or have limited mobility. The top part of the fort is only accessible by climbing a fairly steep ramp. The botanical gardens are very beautiful and have many types of tropical flowers and plants. I wish we'd had more time here to walk more of the trails through the gardens.
Read atlcruizr's full Carnival Conquest cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image WizBang
4 reviews
Apr 2015
This was part of the excursion the "Essential St. Kitts" through Celebrity. The tickets stated it was operated by Caribbean Journey Masters. I admit that when we booked this tour, I was not excited to go to Brimstone Hill Fortress, but it turned out to be one of my favorite stops of all! The views are spectacular from every angle. This is a must see, the photos don't do it justice!
Read WizBang's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image K&P<3Cruises
1 review
Mar 2015
Friendly, interesting guide. Happy to see St Kitts more prosperous than the last time we visited in early 2000s. The fort is well kept for history buffs. The drive through the 'rainforest' and trip to the Batik Colonial Home was also lovely.
Read K&P<3Cruises's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Pat.D
1 review
Mar 2015
Great tour, our driver was great fun and the fortress is amazing! Do note that they left most of it in it's natural state, that means no guardrails added and sheer drops everywhere. This place was not dummy-proofed. I loved the authenticity.
Read Pat.D's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image TonyL128
1 review
Dec 2014

The Essential St. Kitts Tour, KT21. This was a narrated bus tour through downtown Basseterre, a visit to the Romney Manor/Caribelle Batik Studios to watch a demonstration of the Batik dyeing technique and a visit to the Brimestone Hill fortress. The downtown tour was really just a drive by with nothing really grand to see. The Romney Manor was just a large house with a garden and the Batik demonstration only lasted about 10 minutes. The highlight of this excursion was the visit to Brimestone Hill fortress. It was located on top of a hill via a stretch of narrow dirt road which was barely wide enough for the bus. The fortress is being restored and it does offer some terrific windy views. This was a self guided tour and there were just not enough placards to tell us what we were looking at nor explain the history of the fort; a far cry from the ones in San Juan.

Read TonyL128's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image GottaKnowWhen
2 reviews
Not Rated
Nov 2014

Same thing as above. We had been here before, had done the train trip (and thoroughly enjoyed it). Didn't see any tours from the ship that met our to-do list; all spent way too much time at one beach or another. So I got some suggestions (on this site?), did some on-line search, and found Royston. Royston's cousin Ashton gave a van full of us a good drive around the island with good photo stops, scenic views, history, batik, etc. At the end, after a good lunch, he dropped off those who wanted to stay at a beach, took the rest of us back to the port to enjoy the rest of the afternoon in the town.

Read GottaKnowWhen's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royston
Member Image farmer6
1 review
Not Rated
Mar 2014

We have been to St. Kitts twice on two different cruises with Carnival.

In 2012 we took Royston Tours. This happened by luck! I did not set up an excursion at this port. We were approached by taxi drivers. I didn't trust anything, but when I saw the Royston yellow shirted driver I knew we should go with him. Right choice. We were taken to Brimstone Hill Fortress, Batik shop, black rocks. We were asked if we wanted chicken or beef and then the driver made a call. We stopped at a shop were he picked up sandwiches and dropped us at the beach. He had beverages for us to take with us to the beach. The sandwiches were avocado and meat wrapped in a tortilla. So good. He picked us up after some time on a black sand beach and took us back to the ship.

The 2nd time we were in St Kitts in 2014 we went on a catamaran with Leeward Island Charters. We sailed to Nevis. This one was really good too. Followed the directions in the e -mail and we were on the catamaran. Stopped along the way to snorkel with the snorkels provided. Then we went on to Nevis. This beach was deserted! We walked across the sand and into a shaded area where the served us chicken, hot dogs and salads. Beverages flowed all day. Dancing on the way back to St. Kitts. I would do this one again in a minute! The beach area when we got to Nevis was something I had never seen before....ever. The water here was so wonderful.

Read farmer6's full Carnival Valor cruise review
Provider: Royston Tours
Member Image Shipahoy12
2 reviews
Mar 2013
Problem start when we discovered the ship had berthed at a different jetty from that expected. However with friendly advice and help from locals in the port we managed to reach the correct meeting place in time as they had waited 20 minutes for us after hearing about the ship being in different jetty. Tour was ok but we found St Kitts a little limited in interesting places apart from Brimstone Hill. The driver/guide was good but battled to maintain our
Read Shipahoy12's full Thomson Dream cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image sfpen66
2 reviews
Feb 2013
Brimstone Hill was a neat fort. The views from atop were fantastic.
Read sfpen66's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.