Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Hilo Volcano National Park & Hilo Waterfall Tour Excursion Reviews

Hilo Volcano National Park & Hilo Waterfall Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Pass through lush rainforest and explore a fascinating world of active volcanism, biological diversity, and Hawaiian culture, past and present.
Member Image ruecatt
1 review
May 2016
The volcano was very interesting though you don't get to see any lava just steam.
Read ruecatt's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image awhfy
3 reviews
Apr 2016
Booked through Big Island Marketing, highly recommend this reasonable tour. We not only did the park, lava tubes & rainbow falls, but also the macadamia nut factory, cookie factory, black sand beach & orchid farm
Read awhfy's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Green Tours
Member Image searaider
2 reviews
Apr 2016
Great to see the area, but too many buses from the ship there at the same time. This tour was booked with Roberts which offered a package of tours for all the islands on this cruise.
Read searaider's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Roberts Hawaii
Member Image bellamed
5 reviews
Mar 2016
beautiful scenery ,very good tour guide, we had a great time.
Read bellamed's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image stasut
6 reviews
Mar 2016
Enjoyed the crater hike very much. Around trip mileage was a little over 5.5 miles. This included the Thurston Lava Tube. The hike is not easy but most adults in good shape should have no problem. It is gorgeous. Mauna Lau was great. The Rainbow Falls was disappointing not really too much there to see. Our guide Ben was terrific.
Read stasut's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image RJ in SC
1 review
Jan 2016
From the ship, we drove down Banyan Drive and through Queen Liliuokalani Gardens, then went to Rainbow Falls. From there, we stopped by a macadamia nut farm and an orchid garden before heading to Volcano National Park. You get to see the national park exhibit and can see the active crater from a distance, plus steam vents, an older crater, lava tube and a lava field. The lava tube is the most interesting. Afterwards, they stop by a "candy" company, which is largely a shopping stop. It's a long day and they encourage you to buy a packaged lunch while at the mac nut farm, which you eat on the bus. Great tour, but they could have cut the last stop and it would have been fine.
Read RJ in SC's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Roberts
Member Image GinaAllegraXO
1 review
Jan 2016
This tour was excellent, and the driver/tour guide Earl was amazing! We saw the Rainbow Falls first, then were driven to Volcanoes National Park where we witnessed a volcano steaming sulfur into the air! Be warned, though - the air smells like latex balloons, and the tour guide said that this tour is not for those with respiratory conditions.
Read GinaAllegraXO's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Happy Cruiser plus 1
2 reviews
Dec 2015
Very well organized. Beautiful sites.
Read Happy Cruiser plus 1's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image mikimikimiki
1 review
Nov 2015
Very scenic and informative.
Read mikimikimiki's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jhawkkarla
1 review
Oct 2015
A OK. Large bus, good, informative driver, beautiful scenery
Read jhawkkarla's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image wanderer_deb
1 review
Oct 2015
exciting to stand along the rim of an active volcano and walk through an extinct lava tube
Read wanderer_deb's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Roberts
Member Image kahrah01
1 review
Sep 2015
It was a great tour, but it depends on how well the tour guide talks and explains. Ours was fantastic.
Read kahrah01's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image burningblue
2 reviews
Sep 2015
Derek the driver was phenomenal. Excellent tour ands value.
Read burningblue's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Roberts Hawaii
Member Image CanadianCruiseCritic
1 review
Aug 2015
Crater Hike and Akaka Falls- excellent! The volcanos are at a higher altitude so we stayed nice and cool at 22C for the hike. Beautiful hike through the rainforest and across the crater- was like walking across the moon! A very unique and one of a kind experiences. Our guide was excellent- supplied snack, lunch, water and hiking poles. Akaka falls were beautiful!
Read CanadianCruiseCritic's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image GLENNJACK
1 review
Aug 2015
Awesome day! Great time at Rainbow falls! Loved the lava tube and we got a bonus on ours as our tour guide dropped us off to walk in a lava field! Could have skipped the Orchid nursery, but really enjoyed the Mauna Loa macadamia nut factory! Just another great day!
Read GLENNJACK's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Utjim
1 review
Aug 2015
You have to take this tour and see the volcanoes. I cannot describe how it feels to walk knowing that hot lava is under your feet.
Read Utjim's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Roberts of Hawaii
Member Image LuauLei
1 review
Jul 2015
This was a bus tour with some stops for shopping and sightseeing. I highly recommend seeing the steam rise from the volcano, the lava rock throughout the park, and visiting the steam vents along the way. Walking through the Thurston Lava Tube was a cool experience. The Rainbow waterfall was gorgeous. This was a good tour. I believe that our driver was named James. He was a good tour guide.
Read LuauLei's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Roberts Hawaii
Member Image ashelbie
1 review
Jul 2015
A good way to see a lot of sites around Hilo, but it is most of the time spent on a travel bus. We had a full load, and we ran late several times waiting for stragglers to get back on the bus.
Read ashelbie's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Adessii Austin
1 review
Jul 2015
Interesting
Read Adessii Austin's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image junebugcomputer
1 review
Jun 2015
The hike at the Volcano National Park was awesome. I was great to see what the sure power of what a Volcano has done. The Akaka Falls was beautiful. I would say if you can rent a car and visit both places that would save you some money but the tour was very easy and made it a no fuss situation.
Read junebugcomputer's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image kxb7662
1 review
Jun 2015
Other than waterfalls and volcano, not much to see. Driver good but we made a couple of stops at gifts shops that were waste of time
Read kxb7662's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Hawaiian Discount
Member Image limmerb
1 review
Jun 2015
Great tour but keep in mind you don't see any actual lava flowing, and they have stops at the Macadamia Nut factory shop and a Candy Shop. Tour Guide was very informative and we were glad to not have to navigate our way around on our own.
Read limmerb's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image AJinAZ333
1 review
May 2015
The bus/tour guide was great. I was hoping to get out and hike more. It is more of a here we are, get out, take a photos and get back on the bus type tour.
Read AJinAZ333's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Cookie125
1 review
May 2015
This excursion was cancelled due to a down electric line that blocked access to the volcano. Not Carnival's fault and they refunded our money. However, nothing else to do at this port.
Read Cookie125's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image NauteGirl
1 review
May 2015
Excellent. Tour guide was very informative and friendly. He took us to many places that were not listed anywhere. There were just 6 of us so it was very peaceful and no waiting.
Read NauteGirl's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.