Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Hilo Volcano National Park & Hilo Waterfall Tour Excursion Reviews

Hilo Volcano National Park & Hilo Waterfall Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Pass through lush rainforest and explore a fascinating world of active volcanism, biological diversity, and Hawaiian culture, past and present.
Member Image AnnMimi
1 review
Not Rated
Nov 2014

Started with a drive thru Banyon tree drive in Hilo. Short ride to Rainbow Falls then to the Orchid Gardens. Many varieties of orchids. One smelled just like chocolate. Took a (1) hour ride to Volcanoes National Park. Kilauea was erupting at this time, but we did not see any flowing lava. Saw old lava everywhere. Walked thru Thurston Lava tube, like a cave. Last stop was at the Mauna Loa Macadamia nut Factory. Here you can sample all the varieties before purchasing. Boxed lunch was provided.

Read AnnMimi's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image beisenbp
2 reviews
Jun 2014

This was a pretty neat tour of a caldera, steam holes and finally a volcanic tube. It gave a pretty good feel for a volcano without actually seeing one erupting. The tube was the neatest part of the tour. It was a walk down several steps surrounded by fern woods. Then we went into the actual tube which is a big cave followed by a walk up more steps. I was disabled on this trip but I made this excursion anyway and it was fine. As long as you can walk, you just take it slow.

Read beisenbp's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image OhJinkies
2 reviews
Not Rated
May 2014

Some of my fellow roll call members had booked a Volcanoes National Park tour with Big Island Aina Tours and it was wonderful. There were maybe six of us in a van, and after a brief stop at Rainbow Falls and the Mauna Loa Macadamia Nut Factory to pick up a sandwich for lunch, we spent the majority of the day in the park. We walked on the lava fields, walked through Thurston’s Lava Tube, visited the steam vents, traveled down Chain of Craters road and saw the sea arch, and had a scenic picnic on the oceanside cliff. We viewed the Kilauea Caldera and the Kilauea Iki Crater, and wrapped up the day with a visit to an orchid garden/store. The pacing was great and it was much more beautiful than I could have imagined!

Read OhJinkies's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Big Island Aina Tours
Member Image flgranny4
1 review
May 2014

VOLCANO & RAINBOW FALLS - disappointed that we had rain and didn't get to see much and the Rainbow Falls was not worth all of the hype.

Read flgranny4's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Cruiseman64
1 review
Not Rated
Mar 2014

Saved a lot by booking with Roberts Of Hawaii. First class tour very informative driver. Went to Rainbow falls and Volcanoes National Park Saw Kilauea and walked through the lava tube and finished up at the orchid outlet. Ships tour did not go to the orchid outlet.

Read Cruiseman64's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Roberts of Hawaii
Member Image busygirl53
1 review
Dec 2013

The tour included the macadamia nut company tour. There was no manufacturing going on that day and the company was closed. The videos that they had running did not work properly. Every time you pressed the English button the Chinese language video came on. But the Volcanos were good, and the Rainbow Falls were good. Would have liked more time to walk around. 15 min each place was not enough.

Read busygirl53's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Cozumel Jim
3 reviews
Not Rated
Sep 2013

Amazing!

Read Cozumel Jim's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Roberts
Member Image Loveabeach
1 review
Aug 2013

Laurence of c-big island took us on a private tour of the Volcanoes National Park. It was a wonderful tour and highly recommended. We visited the steam vents, the Kilauea Caldera where you can view the steam plume shooting up out of the Halama'uma'u crater. We also watched a short film at the visitors centre showing footage of the volcanic eruption of Kilauea Iki, and afterwards we walked through the Thurston Lava tube (Nahuku). We also visited Rainbow Falls and the Macadamia farm where we stocked up on goodies to bring home. A great way to do this tour.

Read Loveabeach's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: C-big island
Member Image Kalaki
1 review
Aug 2013

Cousin Jeff took to Volcanoes National Park, Rainbow falls, Mona Loa nut factor, coffee farm and orchid farm. opportunity to take a lot of pictures and do some shopping. He gave us a lot of information about the culture and what we were seeing.

Read Kalaki's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image margipoo
2 reviews
Apr 2013
If "Captain Bob" is your tour guide, you are in for a treat! He was terrific! We saw so much more than the volcano and waterfall
Read margipoo's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image paratrooper888
2 reviews
Mar 2013
We booked Ricky as a result of a previous Cruise Critic review. We found him very informative and knowledgeable about the area as well as humourous. Our small group of 12 received great value for money for our 6 hour tour.
Read paratrooper888's full Sapphire Princess cruise review
Provider: Ricky's Tours
Member Image cat0603
1 review
Jan 2013
Booking the luxury van rather than taking a bus was a great decision and well worth the price difference. Our guide Rett for the Exclusive Waterfalls and Rainforest tour took us places a large bus could not go, and we didn't have to wait for others and have a hard time hearing what he had to say.
Read cat0603's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Shore Excursion Group
Member Image SpendingTheirInheritance
3 reviews
Dec 2012
What waterfalls? I don't understand why they advertise this tour as "Volcano National Park and Rainbow Falls" if there are no falls to see. Not one single drop! Why do they advertise it and, if there is no water, why do they waste our time going there? They provided no water to drink, which I think is ridiculous in a tropical climate. We were supposed to be able to buy lunch, but we didn't get an opportunity until the last stop after 3:30! By then no one ate because we were headed back to the ship where we could eat for free. The driver spent too much time chatting with his local cronies and complaining about how the native islanders were screwed out of their land. The volcanoes were cool, though, and I really enjoyed the orchid nursery.
Read SpendingTheirInheritance's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Green Travel & Tours
Member Image jannielee
2 reviews
Dec 2012
The tour guide was excellent, but we were disappointed that we were not able to go as far into the park as on prior trips due to the size of the bus. Next time we would either rent a car or go on a smaller bus tour, as we have done previously.
Read jannielee's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.