Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Hilo Volcano National Park & Hilo Waterfall Tour Excursion Reviews

Hilo Volcano National Park & Hilo Waterfall Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Pass through lush rainforest and explore a fascinating world of active volcanism, biological diversity, and Hawaiian culture, past and present.
Member Image GinaAllegraXO
1 review
Jan 2016
This tour was excellent, and the driver/tour guide Earl was amazing! We saw the Rainbow Falls first, then were driven to Volcanoes National Park where we witnessed a volcano steaming sulfur into the air! Be warned, though - the air smells like latex balloons, and the tour guide said that this tour is not for those with respiratory conditions.
Read GinaAllegraXO's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Happy Cruiser plus 1
2 reviews
Dec 2015
Very well organized. Beautiful sites.
Read Happy Cruiser plus 1's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image mikimikimiki
1 review
Nov 2015
Very scenic and informative.
Read mikimikimiki's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image wanderer_deb
1 review
Oct 2015
exciting to stand along the rim of an active volcano and walk through an extinct lava tube
Read wanderer_deb's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Roberts
Member Image kahrah01
1 review
Sep 2015
It was a great tour, but it depends on how well the tour guide talks and explains. Ours was fantastic.
Read kahrah01's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image burningblue
2 reviews
Sep 2015
Derek the driver was phenomenal. Excellent tour ands value.
Read burningblue's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Roberts Hawaii
Member Image CanadianCruiseCritic
1 review
Aug 2015
Crater Hike and Akaka Falls- excellent! The volcanos are at a higher altitude so we stayed nice and cool at 22C for the hike. Beautiful hike through the rainforest and across the crater- was like walking across the moon! A very unique and one of a kind experiences. Our guide was excellent- supplied snack, lunch, water and hiking poles. Akaka falls were beautiful!
Read CanadianCruiseCritic's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image GLENNJACK
1 review
Aug 2015
Awesome day! Great time at Rainbow falls! Loved the lava tube and we got a bonus on ours as our tour guide dropped us off to walk in a lava field! Could have skipped the Orchid nursery, but really enjoyed the Mauna Loa macadamia nut factory! Just another great day!
Read GLENNJACK's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Utjim
1 review
Aug 2015
You have to take this tour and see the volcanoes. I cannot describe how it feels to walk knowing that hot lava is under your feet.
Read Utjim's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Roberts of Hawaii
Member Image LuauLei
1 review
Jul 2015
This was a bus tour with some stops for shopping and sightseeing. I highly recommend seeing the steam rise from the volcano, the lava rock throughout the park, and visiting the steam vents along the way. Walking through the Thurston Lava Tube was a cool experience. The Rainbow waterfall was gorgeous. This was a good tour. I believe that our driver was named James. He was a good tour guide.
Read LuauLei's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Roberts Hawaii
Member Image ashelbie
1 review
Jul 2015
A good way to see a lot of sites around Hilo, but it is most of the time spent on a travel bus. We had a full load, and we ran late several times waiting for stragglers to get back on the bus.
Read ashelbie's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Adessii Austin
1 review
Jul 2015
Interesting
Read Adessii Austin's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image junebugcomputer
1 review
Jun 2015
The hike at the Volcano National Park was awesome. I was great to see what the sure power of what a Volcano has done. The Akaka Falls was beautiful. I would say if you can rent a car and visit both places that would save you some money but the tour was very easy and made it a no fuss situation.
Read junebugcomputer's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image kxb7662
1 review
Jun 2015
Other than waterfalls and volcano, not much to see. Driver good but we made a couple of stops at gifts shops that were waste of time
Read kxb7662's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Hawaiian Discount
Member Image limmerb
1 review
Jun 2015
Great tour but keep in mind you don't see any actual lava flowing, and they have stops at the Macadamia Nut factory shop and a Candy Shop. Tour Guide was very informative and we were glad to not have to navigate our way around on our own.
Read limmerb's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image AJinAZ333
1 review
May 2015
The bus/tour guide was great. I was hoping to get out and hike more. It is more of a here we are, get out, take a photos and get back on the bus type tour.
Read AJinAZ333's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Cookie125
1 review
May 2015
This excursion was cancelled due to a down electric line that blocked access to the volcano. Not Carnival's fault and they refunded our money. However, nothing else to do at this port.
Read Cookie125's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image NauteGirl
1 review
May 2015
Excellent. Tour guide was very informative and friendly. He took us to many places that were not listed anywhere. There were just 6 of us so it was very peaceful and no waiting.
Read NauteGirl's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Wpooh1968
1 review
May 2015
What can I say? Jane was an amazing guide. This stopped at the macadamia nut farm/factory, orchid garden, Akaka Falls, lava tube, and the volcano. It was exciting to see the volcano active (it peaked 3 days after our visit). She also took us down a road of lava and we stopped at another crater and steam ports. I would highly recommend this excursion. At the end we even took a quick drive through a beautiful park in Hilo.
Read Wpooh1968's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Patti217
1 review
May 2015
Great tour, great tour guide. We saw the lava bubbling in the crater and got to walk around the area for a good amount of time. The falls and lava tube were also an unforgettable experience. Highly recommend this one!
Read Patti217's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image wannacruise816
1 review
Apr 2015
Wonderful. There were just 4 of us in a small van with an excellent tour guide. We say a black sand beach, actually walked through a lava flow tunnel, say waterfalls, Mauna Loa. I loved it and highly recommend this tour guide.
Read wannacruise816's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Big island Aina Tours
Member Image CruisingFeline
1 review
Apr 2015
We went with a private tour company called Lavaland. 2nd best excursion we've done globally. Luckily the volcano started to spew 2 days before we arrived so were given a treat!
Read CruisingFeline's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image cardan75
1 review
Apr 2015
Great tour guide and exciting to see lava at the Volcano...had not been seen since 1982. All the tour guides were excited as well. Our guide was really informative and engaging.
Read cardan75's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image KCCAKID
2 reviews
Mar 2015
Great Tour, cousin Jeff was a superb host. also went to Mauna Loa macadamia nut self guided tour. Went to two other Waterfalls, Hilo Waterfall was not open as road work was being done but Jeff took us to to others
Read KCCAKID's full Star Princess cruise review
Provider: Roberts Hawaiian
Member Image Footloose Oz
3 reviews
Feb 2015

Interesting to see the Volcano National Park and lava fields and walk through the lava tubes, which were damp compared to the ones in Australia. The waterfall is not that large and is quite lovely. However once again seven hours of continual chatter was too much. Some time to just seat and admire the scenery is great. Too much of legends and gods become rather confusing after a while

Read Footloose Oz's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Roberts Hawaii

Sponsored links

 
Have you taken a cruise before?
Thank you!

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.