Hilo Volcano National Park & Hilo Waterfall Tour Excursion Reviews

Hilo Volcano National Park & Hilo Waterfall Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Pass through lush rainforest and explore a fascinating world of active volcanism, biological diversity, and Hawaiian culture, past and present.
Member Image sojournertruth
1 review
Nov 2016
Fantastic site and volcano was in action and visible. Needed more time in the exhibits area, but the park ranger outside was excellent.
Read sojournertruth's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ldcruising
2 reviews
Oct 2016
The Rainbow Falls part of it was okay but visiting Volcano National Park is a must. The fact that there is active volcanic activity right now made it much more interesting. When we were there, there was active lava flow inside a crater. Our guide was very good.
Read ldcruising's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Alohacriser
1 review
Oct 2016
Fairly interesting. You only get to about 4000 Feet. The lava tube/cave walk is neat. We went to the Macadamia nut factory on the way to the crater. Make sure you get something to eat quickly or you won't get anything, especially if more than one tour is there.
Read Alohacriser's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Hop on hop off with additional Volcano NP add on
Member Image summerinitaly
7 reviews
Oct 2016
Excellent, exciting to see a live volcano.
Read summerinitaly's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image cruiseg18
1 review
Oct 2016
Great to see volcanoes up close.
Read cruiseg18's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: iCruise.com
Member Image dsweeney
1 review
Sep 2016
Good tour. Driver knowledgeable. Walking through lava tube was good . View of craters good. Lunch was poor...gave you a bag when departing ship of a crushed roll which we were sure if it had any meat. Including water, Apple, chips ans 2 cookies
Read dsweeney's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jcvhcv
1 review
Sep 2016
Volcano National Park is a must see. Walking through a Lava Tube was quite an experience. If you expect to see flowing lava, you will disappointed. You do not get to see this. What you will see is lava flows from years ago. It is really something to see. If you want to see a lava flow, you can see it from the starboard side of the ship on the evening when leaving Kona. Bring a tripod if you want to take photos!!!
Read jcvhcv's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image herculepoirot18
1 review
Sep 2016
Excellent hike down into crater (but a little strenuous) and beautiful waterfalls
Read herculepoirot18's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image cavydad
2 reviews
Sep 2016
Rickey's Tour was exceptional. Small tour, typically 12 but only 2 on our tour. We went to the Volcanos and lava tubes. Brief stop at the macadamia nut factory.
Read cavydad's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image theminnow
1 review
Sep 2016
Volcano National Park should not be missed.
Read theminnow's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image SweetPea68
1 review
Sep 2016
We again booked this Volcanoes National Park & Rainbow Falls excursion through Skymilescruises.com and were picked up by Roberts Hawaii. This time our driver was cousin Jeff. This guy was not only intelligent but talented and hilarious. He even played the ukulele for us! I will never forget him. We were told that the Kilauea volcano had been quiet for some time but the day before we were there it started erupting again so we could see the smoke rising and the active lava on the caldera…that was a site to see! After that they take you to see and walk through a lava tube formed by the volcanoes lava. We also went to the Akatsuka Orchid gardens which was beautiful. You can purchase orchids here and have them shipped to your home or bring them with you. We found out that you are allow to purchase fruit, plants, vegetables on this cruise and bring it on the ship since everything is inspected, just make sure to consume it before getting to the airport with the exception of the orchids. I was able to bring them in my carry-on all the way to Florida since the plants are certified. You may want to check out https://hawaiibookmarks.com/ for fashion and souvenirs made with real Hawaiian wood. If you become a fan, make sure to visit them while in Hilo. The owner, Jeff Gomes will welcome you into his warehouse which is walking distance from the Mauna Loa macadamia plant. We got off the shuttle bus and did exactly that and since we were on our own after this we got a chance to see something that you would normally miss during an excursion. It’s called the Boiling Pots which is in the Wailuku River State Park surrounded by a few waterfalls. The water from this river travels and forms the Rainbow Falls but the view from the boiling pots is so much beautiful and you can even get in the water if you want to. To top off the experience, that night as you leave Hilo the captain will turn off the lights on the decks so you can appreciate the lava coming out of the volcano and into the water. You really get to appreciate the power of our Creator. This made the entire cruise worthwhile! Words cannot describe what you get to experience that night.
Read SweetPea68's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Skymilescruises.com
Member Image bonnierph
1 review
Aug 2016
Rainbow Falls was disappointing as it's just a small waterfall with no rainbows because Hilo is always overcast. Volcano National Park was interesting.
Read bonnierph's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image cwysocarski
1 review
Jul 2016
beautiful
Read cwysocarski's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Elvis_The_King
2 reviews
Jul 2016
Very nice, was a bit rushed but so are all of these cruise excursions. Bus was crowded and cramped, but no more than you'd expect.
Read Elvis_The_King's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image nisky
6 reviews
Jun 2016
We booked a 5-tour Hawaii package from Roberts Hawaii – much less expensive that the same NCL tours (they us Polynesian Adventure Tours). We took a great tour to Volcanoes National Park and Rainbow Falls. There were extra stops at an Orchid Farm (with a nice Hawaiian gift shop) and the Mauna Loa Macadamia Nut factory/store. Both were ok stops. Here, we had an excellent driver/tour guide.
Read nisky's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Roberts Hawaii
Member Image Yogi B
1 review
May 2016
Fabulous tour of Hilo and VNP - very informative about Hawaiian culture and history
Read Yogi B's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Akaima Adventures
Member Image JDOUGLEJ
4 reviews
May 2016
Enjoyed the tour and cousin Earl our driver was great.
Read JDOUGLEJ's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image billslowsky
4 reviews
May 2016
We booked with Roberts again, but had a horrible guide. The Rainbow Falls are very nice. The Volcanoes park took up maybe an hour of the entire six plus hours. A rental car tour would have been preferred.
Read billslowsky's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Roberts Travel
Member Image Cruiser2044
1 review
May 2016
Tour was excellent. Really enjoyed Sun, our tour guide.
Read Cruiser2044's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Roberts Hawaii
Member Image ruecatt
1 review
May 2016
The volcano was very interesting though you don't get to see any lava just steam.
Read ruecatt's full Carnival Legend cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image awhfy
3 reviews
Apr 2016
Booked through Big Island Marketing, highly recommend this reasonable tour. We not only did the park, lava tubes & rainbow falls, but also the macadamia nut factory, cookie factory, black sand beach & orchid farm
Read awhfy's full Celebrity Solstice cruise review
Provider: Green Tours
Member Image searaider
2 reviews
Apr 2016
Great to see the area, but too many buses from the ship there at the same time. This tour was booked with Roberts which offered a package of tours for all the islands on this cruise.
Read searaider's full Radiance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Roberts Hawaii
Member Image bellamed
7 reviews
Mar 2016
beautiful scenery ,very good tour guide, we had a great time.
Read bellamed's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image stasut
6 reviews
Mar 2016
Enjoyed the crater hike very much. Around trip mileage was a little over 5.5 miles. This included the Thurston Lava Tube. The hike is not easy but most adults in good shape should have no problem. It is gorgeous. Mauna Lau was great. The Rainbow Falls was disappointing not really too much there to see. Our guide Ben was terrific.
Read stasut's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image RJ in SC
1 review
Jan 2016
From the ship, we drove down Banyan Drive and through Queen Liliuokalani Gardens, then went to Rainbow Falls. From there, we stopped by a macadamia nut farm and an orchid garden before heading to Volcano National Park. You get to see the national park exhibit and can see the active crater from a distance, plus steam vents, an older crater, lava tube and a lava field. The lava tube is the most interesting. Afterwards, they stop by a "candy" company, which is largely a shopping stop. It's a long day and they encourage you to buy a packaged lunch while at the mac nut farm, which you eat on the bus. Great tour, but they could have cut the last stop and it would have been fine.
Read RJ in SC's full Pride of America cruise review
Provider: Roberts

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?